Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cove Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Cove Caravan And Camping Park
Watermillock
Ullswater
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 01768 486549
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kazcro 1 review from this member

Lovely site with really great facilities both on site and very close by. On site washing and drying facilities and also a microwave drier, iron, ironing board, hair drier and plug for straighteners (if needed).

The play area was really good our grandchildren loved it.

Very clean site.

Spectacular views and great facilities nearby.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Winky9557 6 reviews from this member

This site is lovely but a bit dated. The toilets are really clean but a bit cold as heater not adequate to heat the toilets. There is no wi-fi and the tv reception is very poor.

Saying that the pitches were ok, and the views were beautiful. We had to move pitches to get better tv reception and the wardens helped. The wardens are an asset to this site and a few improvements by the owners could make this a great site to visit. Would return but only because of Brian and Michelle.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged600 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site with helpful and friendly wardens. Stayed here on last weekend in August as we love the lakes. Lovely set out site with elevated pitches with a view of Ullswater. Shower block was heated and cleaned daily, each pitch has e. H. U. And water, with large pitches. There was only a few vans and a couple of Motorhomes on our stay so very quiet. There is a dog walk on site just past the gate, a playground, recycling etc. They have a static park behind the touring park.

Walks are all around the site we walked to waterfalls( Aira force) which was around 4 miles away. We drove down to the town of Pooley bridge nightly just to see the sunsets and walk part way round the shore. There are pubs and cafes shops in the village/town which looked packed. We had a meal in the Sun inn which was good but expensive for drinks and food, there are other pubs in the village. The stars at night on the site were amazing as we had clear nights with no light pollution. There is another site across the road with a bar but we never visited.

Overall lovely site and will return next season.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerryco 2 reviews from this member

A very well-run and quiet site where the wardens, often in evidence but never overbearing, go the extra mile to ensure campers have a pleasant experience.

The sanitary block is modern and very clean, each pitch seems to have its own mains water supply, and unless the site is completely full there is a good deal of space and privacy despite the absence of dividing hedges or shrubs. Ullswater is just visible through the trees, but don't expect a true lake view from this elevated position.

There is an excellent field provided for dog walks, and for serious trekking the 26-mile Ullswater Way runs just below the site (you do not need to do the entire loop - a comfortable day's walk to and from Aira Force waterfall provides magnificent views). My only regret was not meeting any red squirrels in the site or the nearby forest.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Houghta 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 5 fabulous nights at cove caravan and camping park. Brian and Michele were friendly and fantastic and couldn’t do enough to help.

The facilities were great with a lovely clean toilet and shower block and a dog walking field which must have some of the best views in the uk. All the pitches have electric hookup even the camping pitches are spacious and you get your own water tap on each pitch.

You can take a walk down a quiet lane for about a mile to the brackenrig pub for a drink and a meal and Pooley bridge is only a few miles away. We would highly recommend a visit to cove caravan and camping park and we are sure you won’t be disappointed and we will certainly be back for another stay. They say they are the peaceful site and they certainly are.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roseh1p 1 review from this member

It was rather wet when I arrived and I was glad I'd chosen a site where the tent pitches were on pea gravel - as two other sites I'd looked at were unable to open due to waterlogging.

Brian was fabulous - I was having trouble putting my tent up (something that I'd never had an issue with before) but it turned out one pole was split and my rock pegs were just not long enough. He leant me a full set of long sturdy pegs and helped get the tent up and dry inside.

Electricity to the pitch meant I could have light and heat whilst it was wet and cold outside.

The loo/shower block was warm and spotless.

There was lots of lovely walking direct from the site.

It was only a short stay of two nights, I'll be back for a longer stay soon I hope.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bestford 4 reviews from this member

Nice quiet, tidy site with play area, good dog walk area. Mainly caravans but advertised for tents too. Description of pitch is superior tent pitches on dry base of pea gravel. It is not pea gravel but rough larger gravel and this was uncomfortable to walk on inside your tent and once home we discovered that the gravel had made holes in the tent base so beware.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Unigirl 1 review from this member

Just returned from a lovely week here, our second visit. Lovely quiet site with good facilities and a simple playground that our girls (10 and 13) enjoyed using. A massive thank you to Brian the warden. We arrived to discover we had a problem with our gas and with such low temperatures we thought we would have to leave, but Brian loaned us a heater to keep us going until we got sorted and checked in that we were doing OK several times. Both wardens are great and I would definitely recommend this site!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Molenpad 2 reviews from this member

Been here twice, the first trip about 6 years ago without kids, the second in July 2017 with a 5 year old. Our lives have changed drastically, but not much has changed here. Still a great quiet, simple site in a beautiful area between Penrith and Keswick. Good facilities (though only one block) and free hot showers.

Lots more seasonal units on site nowadays which means there a shortage of pitches with EHU, so we pitched up without EHU on the camping field which is in the center of the site.

The field is fine, but it doesn't drain well in the rain (Which we had a lot of!) and around the tent and inside the awning it was a bit like a bog. If we'd have been staying any longer I think we'd have given up and gone home. The field slopes down from the toilet blocks to the front of the site so any place to pitch is on a hill.

Very quiet site, and even though it was the beginning of school holidays, we were one of only two sites in the camping field.

It's not a site to visit if you want to stay up all night drinking or let the kids run around all day. There is a small natural park made of logs, but really there are no facilities for kids - the great outdoors are the main attraction here.

Would return again, but probably not leave it as long this time!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Genanorman 2 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site very clean shower and toilets best dog walk I've ever seen. Friendly helpful owners. Nice views of ullswater lake. Lots of information on where to go and where to eat selection of menus as well. Recommend for anyone looking for a smaller quieter site.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!