Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cove Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Cove Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Cove Caravan And Camping Park
Watermillock
Ullswater
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 01768 486549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

Photos (10)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardJCB 14 reviews from this member

 The toilet and shower facilities were not open when we visited, due to the coronavirus crisis. There are lovely views from some pitches over the lake.

The site is about 1 mile up the hillside, up quite a step and narrow road. There is a regular bus service along the lakeshore between Penrith and Kendal. Many pitches, perhaps all, have a tap and electric point.

The Quiet site is over the road, with an attractive pub on site (which does not do food). 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonylorna74 2 reviews from this member

 Having just spent 7 nights at Cove Park, The Peaceful site, with superb views of Ulswater lake. This site is 5 minutes from Pooley Bridge and 10 minutes drive to Aira Force water falls.

The site is well kept and a large dog walking field available. The wardens Brian and Michelle, were very helpful with local knowledge of the area, and nothing was to much trouble for them. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kazcro 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with really great facilities both on site and very close by. On site washing and drying facilities and also a microwave drier, iron, ironing board, hair drier and plug for straighteners (if needed).

The play area was really good our grandchildren loved it.

Very clean site.

Spectacular views and great facilities nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Winky9557 6 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely but a bit dated. The toilets are really clean but a bit cold as heater not adequate to heat the toilets. There is no wi-fi and the tv reception is very poor.

Saying that the pitches were ok, and the views were beautiful. We had to move pitches to get better tv reception and the wardens helped. The wardens are an asset to this site and a few improvements by the owners could make this a great site to visit. Would return but only because of Brian and Michelle. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ged600 17 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with helpful and friendly wardens. Stayed here on last weekend in August as we love the lakes. Lovely set out site with elevated pitches with a view of Ullswater. Shower block was heated and cleaned daily, each pitch has ehu and water, with large pitches.

There was only a few vans and a couple of Motorhomes on our stay so very quiet. There is a dog walk on site just past the gate, a playground, recycling etc. They have a static park behind the touring park.

Walks are all around the site we walked to waterfalls( Aira force) which was around 4 miles away. We drove down to the town of Pooley bridge nightly just to see the sunsets and walk part way round the shore. There are pubs and cafes shops in the village/town which looked packed.

We had a meal in the Sun inn which was good but expensive for drinks and food, there are other pubs in the village. The stars at night on the site were amazing as we had clear nights with no light pollution. There is another site across the road with a bar but we never visited.

Overall lovely site and will return next season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gerryco 2 reviews from this member

 A very well-run and quiet site where the wardens, often in evidence but never overbearing, go the extra mile to ensure campers have a pleasant experience.

The sanitary block is modern and very clean, each pitch seems to have its own mains water supply, and unless the site is completely full there is a good deal of space and privacy despite the absence of dividing hedges or shrubs. Ullswater is just visible through the trees, but don't expect a true lake view from this elevated position.

There is an excellent field provided for dog walks, and for serious trekking the 26-mile Ullswater Way runs just below the site (you do not need to do the entire loop - a comfortable day's walk to and from Aira Force waterfall provides magnificent views). My only regret was not meeting any red squirrels in the site or the nearby forest. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Houghta 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 5 fabulous nights at cove caravan and camping park. Brian and Michele were friendly and fantastic and couldn’t do enough to help.

The facilities were great with a lovely clean toilet and shower block and a dog walking field which must have some of the best views in the uk. All the pitches have electric hookup even the camping pitches are spacious and you get your own water tap on each pitch.

You can take a walk down a quiet lane for about a mile to the brackenrig pub for a drink and a meal and Pooley bridge is only a few miles away. We would highly recommend a visit to cove caravan and camping park and we are sure you won’t be disappointed and we will certainly be back for another stay. They say they are the peaceful site and they certainly are. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roseh1p 1 review from this member

 It was rather wet when I arrived and I was glad I'd chosen a site where the tent pitches were on pea gravel - as two other sites I'd looked at were unable to open due to waterlogging.

Brian was fabulous - I was having trouble putting my tent up (something that I'd never had an issue with before) but it turned out one pole was split and my rock pegs were just not long enough. He leant me a full set of long sturdy pegs and helped get the tent up and dry inside.

Electricity to the pitch meant I could have light and heat whilst it was wet and cold outside.

The loo/shower block was warm and spotless.

There was lots of lovely walking direct from the site.

It was only a short stay of two nights, I'll be back for a longer stay soon I hope. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bestford 4 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet, tidy site with play area, good dog walk area. Mainly caravans but advertised for tents too.

Description of pitch is superior tent pitches on dry base of pea gravel. It is not pea gravel but rough larger gravel and this was uncomfortable to walk on inside your tent and once home we discovered that the gravel had made holes in the tent base so beware. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unigirl 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely week here, our second visit. Lovely quiet site with good facilities and a simple playground that our girls (10 and 13) enjoyed using.

A massive thank you to Brian the warden. We arrived to discover we had a problem with our gas and with such low temperatures we thought we would have to leave, but Brian loaned us a heater to keep us going until we got sorted and checked in that we were doing OK several times.

Both wardens are great and I would definitely recommend this site! 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cove Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cove Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cove Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement