Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tanglewood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Tanglewood Caravan Park > Reviews

Tanglewood Caravan Park
Causeway Head
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4PE
Tel: 016973 31253
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junen4 1 review from this member

 Camp site was great but very disappointed with entertainment on a night, no where open for food after 10pm

Camping reception were great very helpful

Not sure if I would return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandy Wilson 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site. Mostly Statics and seasonal pitches for touring caravans.

I will start with the positive things about the site, was told I could arrive at anytime so left home early to make the most of the first day. When we arrived we were told to pitch wherever we wanted, this was great as we had the pick of the whole tent area, so pitched in an area with access to an electric hook-up where we could get the sun in the morning and evening (yes we had a lot of sun). There is a bar on site (open at weekends) we could not really make use of this as we had our dog with us. There is a set of swings at the edge of the camping area for kids. It is a quiet site most of the time so perfect for a relaxing holiday. It is value for money at 20 a night as we had a large tent 7. 5m x 5. 4m and price includes electricity.

The site is near the coastal town of Silloth and is an ideal base to visit the coastal towns and villages and the most northern of the lakes within the lake district, so you can get the best of both worlds.

The toilet block is next to the camping area, which is great. The previous reviewer stated that toilet block was clean, however, that was not our experience. The toilets did not appear to be cleaned / checked on a daily basis and therefore not as clean as they could be, also if toilet roll or hand towels ran out it can be a couple of days before they are replaced which is quite inconvenient (this happened in both the gents and ladies while we were there). There is a laundry with coin operated machines and within the laundry area is a dish washing facility, however, there was no hot water available.

There is no drinking water area to fill a water carrier, only the cold tap at the sink in the laundry area so you can only fill a small water container or a kettle.

I would have given this site the highest rating if it were not for the toilet and dish washing issues.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulapaul 1 review from this member

 We visited Tanglewood caravan park Mayday weekend 2013 and What an excellent camp-site, toilet block was clean and close to the tent pitches, the swings were also close by,

The residents in the static caravans are all very friendly

The staff were very hospitable and are prepared to help regardless or our requirements

The Siloth market is about a mile down the road and is well worth visiting (Sunday and bank holiday)

Would defo recommend this camp-site and I will defo be booking again 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bonnie + Clyde* 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Break. We stayed here in a static with our dog - a wee westie. It was brilliant. The owner even suggested best walks for the dog so definitely a paws up from him. Good market on a sunday. Fresh produce.

Site was quiet. Static caravan we stayed in was perfect. Good area for parking the car. Other visitors and residents friendly. Going to return to this site again but with tent! x. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loverofchaos 5 reviews from this member

 This is a small and friendly site, a mix of statics and tourers in about three areas separated by hedges. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. She suggested we pitch near the children's swings and that we express disapproval of the children on bikes if they were a problem. They weren't. We only stayed one night as we were touring along the coast.

The site is mature - I wouldn't be at all surprised if it has been trading for 40-50 years or more. The toilet block was clean and well-kept. The laundry machines looked very new and there was also an old ironing board and coin-pay iron.

The pub/club has a 1970s working-class style to it. Friendly enough though and has an american-style pool table. Drinks prices about average. Curiously had a strong smell of Jeyes fluid or some other disinfectant.

The local Solway Coast is very beautiful and Silloth has the most amazing wide cobbled streets. Not a lot else though. Great place for twitchers and those in search of peaceful places. A bit too far from the Lakes to make a good base for their exploration but would return for a long weekend to take in the Solway Coast a bit more.

At 10 (discounted from 18 as we used no hook-up) a night it was very good value, especially by comparison with other sites local to Silloth. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arlene m 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 days here on our way to the lake district and one on our return home. A very friendly site thanks to our neighbours on either side. Maurice and Bill, who were a great help with the awning! The owner is lovely and very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a pub onsite which opens about eight and appears to do well with the permanent caravaners. Toilets are vey dated but do the job. The washing machines were the best and the cheapest we found. There is not much about in the line of shops,so have enough food with you! Eating out is much the same However if you're after a quiet break with nothing to do then this is the place for you! A good place to stop over. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site in our touring caravan. We could not fault it. The toilets were clean. And the club house was good we enjoyed our game of pool. I don`t think there was a shop on site the staff were. Very frendly, Silloth just a short drive away. There is a market on once a week in Silloth. And a carboot on sunday there is also a small funfair along the prom. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Martin F 2 reviews from this member

 Wanted a family holiday in the Lake District but Static prices in the area pretty high, so selected Tanglewood. A bit out of the way but the very competitve price more than made up for the additional mileage. Stayed for two weeks. Probably the friendliest site we have ever visited. Owners very helpful and the static was almost brand new and fully equipped. The small club/bar was a bonus. Laundry facilities good and actually worked for once. Not a great deal at Silloth but Co-op/Spar very useful as were a v.Good Chippy and a Chinese Takeaway. Nearest large Supermarket is Sainsbury's at Cockermouth which is about 14 miles; or a bit more without a Sat Nav to navigate the country lanes! Will definitely by making a return visit. 


Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 days just to get away for the weekend. Nice little site, split into 3 sections with hedges and trees in between. Clean toilet and shower block. (there are 2 blocks I wasn't in the first one as you come on site) 4 toilets and 1 shower.
1.5 miles from nearest shop, a co-op at Silloth which opens at 8 a.M every day 7 days, great for early risers wanting papers etc. As another reviewer said, not much in Silloth but Keswick etc not far by car.
Was on a hardstanding pitch with electric and water hook up 15.00 per night. If you like a quiet site this is for you. It was a bit too remote for me. Didn't use the bar so can't comment on it. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stuartandjulie 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend (its only 20 minutes from home). We were in the tent with the 3 kids and our friends were in their Camper Van (with awning) next to us.

Toilet block is a bit dated but clean. The shower is nice and free. Rained for the whole weekend so the Dryers in the laundry came in handy.

We were in the Paddock which was near the toilet block, a bit boggy but didn't spoil the weekend.

Pub came in handy when we ran out of beer on the Saturday night.

Nothing much at Silloth but it does have some nice takeaways (Pizza place delivers for 2 - we left some menus at reception). 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tanglewood Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tanglewood Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tanglewood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement