Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lowther Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Lowther Caravan Park Reviews

Lowther Caravan Park
Eamont Bridge
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2JB
Tel: 01768 807996
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ericdviking 1 review from this member

 Not the best value for money. 33 a night and stuck on an un-level grass pitch next to the kids play area. Pitch was allocated on arrival and we had no say in it.

Welcome was good, even though we we slightly put off by a group of lads (other guests) chuffing on their fags outside reception.

Its mainly a static site. The usual set up with an on-site club. Lots seemed to be sat out mid afternoon enjoying the limited sunshine and having a few beers. Id say the site was set up for families with kids. We had a great walk to the castle and to Askham.

Facilities not open due to COVID. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deesha 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very clean toilets and showers.

Great shop, lovely walks.

Only gripe I have is we paid 4 per night each for our two dogs and had to sit outside the pub, not dog friendly, in a waterproof mini marquee. Fine if weather is ok but it lashed rain and was chilly 🥶 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fraser62 1 review from this member

 Great site, very child and dog friendly which wasn't a problem to us, good sized pitch with a slight slope. One slight criticism was pitches were very close together.

Toilet/shower block was cleaned regularly, showers were good and not too hot ! The Squirrel Inn was very reasonable and food was good as was the service.

Definitely will be worth another visit in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boyrangerus 1 review from this member

 Used this site about 6 times last year and adore it that much that we've just bought a holiday home here. For camping it's out of this world; immaculate, level, spotless big facilities, picturesque with a pub and restaurant. What more could you ask for! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 10 reviews from this member

 Used this great site as a half way stop off (up and back down) during our recent trip to Scotland, and we were very happy with the site.

The touring pitches are all pretty level and of a good size.

The ablutions are very clean and well supplied.

The MH point is well sited.

The Bar/Restaurant -'The Squirrel' has a good sized bar with a limited take away menu available outside of periods of high occupancy, the food was not bad at all and well cooked, a good selection of Beers etc. At a decent price. The on site shop is extremely well stocked, and offers all you may need at sensible prices.

The Staff all over this site were very friendly and helpful, and thank you all for your assistance.

Overall - Easy to book, on line and by phone, good access from the M6 (5 miles), well laid out, good facilities, and although I didn't get chance to try it this time, the on site fishing is well priced and looks like a lovely venue, the price is fair and reasonable.

This is a site we will use again as a stop over point, (next time I think we will stay a couple of nights) and I would happily recommend a stay here - I'm just surprised there haven't been any other reviews for so long, but don't let that put you off, This is a good site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynles 20 reviews from this member

 Just had another enjoyable weekend at this beautiful site. Ideal base to explore the lakes and Scottish borders. Decent beer in the clubhouse, makes a change from the mass produced stuff you normally find. Immaculate shower blocks. They have themed nights in the clubhouse, we have just been for the country nights. Camping field slopes slightly but not as bad as we first thought. Touring pitches are hard standing and they have a couple of pods too. Well stocked shop, games room and access to riverside walk. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at short notice as the nearby campsite field was unsuitable. I was warmly welcomed by the gate reception lady who signed me into the site. I was given the toilet block key(5 deposit refunded on exit) and a map of the site. I was told the opening times of the mini market shop, club house and house rules. I was informed that I could pitch up near the children's playground grassed area.

The campsite is well organised with large caravans positions in rows of avenues with Tarmac roads. The wash areas were heated and very good with plenty of hot water. The shop keeper was very informative and friendly. As a solo traveller with a dog, I was made to feel very welcome. (8 per adult and 1. 50 per dog per night). It was disappointing that dogs were not allowed in the clubhouse. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Techydude1 2 reviews from this member

 This site is down a long tarmacced road a couple of miles from Penrith centre. Whilst it feels remote, the M6 and a rail line runs very close to the site (in fact you pass under both on the way in)so its not as quiet as you would think. Noise is however, not really a problem.

Penrith itself is a very pleasant town to visit with a good range of shops and easy parking.

On arrival at the gatehouse, we were met by an extremely courteous woman who went through the formalities and allocated our pitch.

The site was full during our stay. We had booked a pitch with awning.

The pitch itself was small with what I assume was once a grass area but was now pretty much all mud to erect the awning upon. Space to put the car was extremely tight.

The toilet facilities were reasonably clean, there is a well stocked shop and a bar/ restaurant.

There is a very pleasant riverside walk around the site and plenty of opportunities to walk the dogs.

The site is very large, and filled with a large number of static homes. In fact this is what the parks primary business is. The touring pitches appear to be an adjunct. If you approach your stay from that point of view then you will probably enjoy you stay as indeed a number of people who I spoke to really liked it.

There were a number of seasonal pitches dotted around. Some were well looked after but a fair few were a bit of a mess with bits of old wood and junk on the pitch surrounded by weeds.

To sum up this site review, it's not really my cup of tea. Site dominated by statics, touring pitches very much on the small side and lots of seasonals looking 'unkempt'.  


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa390 12 reviews from this member

 We were two adults with a two berth touring caravan and we came here with the idea of using the site as a regular base so we could see our grandchildren and family who live in the area. In the end we disliked the site so much we left a day early.

The facilities were reasonably clean except for the chemical WC emptying point which wasn't cleaned during the three days we were there. It was vile.

The site was well maintained with the grass cut and the litter collected although the un-emptied bins were all overflowing when we were there.

The area for touring caravans to which we were sent was really chaotic and frankly awful. There were few designated pitches, ours wasn't signed at all so we just guessed where to go and finished up on a very sloping pitch. The touring area was a crazy mix-up of tents and caravans and also doubled up as a play area for children so it was very noisy all day and into the evening because the children seemed to have no other open area to go to let off steam, apart from a nearby place with play equipment. They were hardly to blame for the noise just bad design.

Units were very close together so parking was a chaotic problem and this made access to our pitch very narrow between vehicles when we arrived.

Our pitch was less than 20 metres from a football pitch with a low fence around it, again really bad design layout. This meant that footballs were frequently landing in the camping area and had to be retreived. This coupled with the other football play going on all around us all afternoon and evening, meant that we were constantly disturbed by children retrieving balls from under our car and caravan until dark and we were

Always worried at the prospect of one hitting us and causing damage.

It was evident that many of the occupants of the tents around us were there to drink from lunch time, all though the afternoon and then back to the site pub in the evening for the proverbial skinful. So we had loud voices and the thud thud of music until after 1am when we were there.

The rules such as they were, were not enforced anyway. There were no officials around to enforce them, no rules at all regarding ball games, children on cycles and powered scooters were allowed to run amok on the site and dogs barked endlessly. Dogs were also exercised on site by some owners.

As far as we are concerned, we have learned our lesson and that is to give Lowther Holiday Park a very wide berth indeed from now on. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JamesLyndaStewart 12 reviews from this member

 Great site, very friendly staff. The facilities were fine, apart from the shop closing for 4 hours in the middle of the afternoon with no notice, which wasn't handy, as we needed supplies. Take a walk to the top of the site, there's a forest walk up there which is lovely. There's loads of wildlife, the first thing we saw was a red squirrel, and also a hare was running round the site. Amazing. Be careful where you pitch, we were under some trees, so everything got covered with crow poo, including the car, which is still marked. Lesson learned! 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lowther Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lowther Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lowther Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement