Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Oak Head Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Newby Bridge > Oak Head Caravan Park Reviews

Oak Head Caravan Park
Ayside
Newby Bridge
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6JA
Tel: 01539 531475
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics Only
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tighmar 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site on many occasions as it provides an excellent base for South Lakes.

It is predominantly a static caravan park but the camp area is nicely situated for tents and hard standings for static caravans. The toilet block is kept clean and is adequate although it could do with some heating early/late season.

Lovely views of the fells from the site which is always nice and quiet all the occasions we have stayed there.

The owners are friendly and helpful and live in the cottage adjacent to the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nebear51 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with all the facilities you could possibly need. Ideal for a restful break.

Very quiet and secluded, a bit of a hidden gem. Owners very friendly and helpful. Excellent pub (The Crown) about one mile's walk. Note: no mobile signal and if you want to watch TV you'll need a satellite dish.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeanieb1974 1 review from this member

 A really lovely site. A small site which didn't feel crowded like others. Good size pitches and friendly owners. Facilities are sufficient and clean. Coin operated showers and hot water for washing up didn't cause any problems- I found 1 x 20p was enough to have a decent shower. 1 x 20p gave 5 minutes of hot water for washing up which was plenty of time to wash up a family of 4 set of dishes. The only negative was the bins. It was bank holiday when we stayed so the site was quite busy which meant a lot of rubbish and so the bins were overflowing- I'm sure this couldn't be helped but it was quite smelly in this area of the site. It certainly won't stop us returning. Although our children didn't use it, the field across the track was great for children to play ball games etc. It was just a bit too out of sight for us to let our young children play there unsupervised. Perfect for older children. I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CandP 4 reviews from this member

 Going to keep this simple.

This is a cracking site, its a hidden gem of a site, that you can only find by searching.

Very quiet, very clean and very well looked after. The owners are very friendly and keep the site in great condition.

The toilets appear to have been recently refurbished. Showers cost 20p for five minutes, plenty of time for us and stops water wastage.

We will be back.

Should be a featured site here. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familyo5 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on a very hot July weekend. We telephoned on the morning and got a pitch for that evening.

When we arrived the owner was very helpful and saw us to a pitch. The site is quiet and accommodates tents, statics and caravans.

The toilets were clean and well maintained (although there was not any soap in there!). We didn't use the showers but they looked fine, but you did have to pay.

There was not a lot for the children to do, but it was a base for exploring the lakes so did not matter to us.

The site was very handy for getting to lake Windermere and surrounding areas. Fell foot park being a 5 minute drive. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clev2k 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite. There were 5 of us in our group in 3 tents. They were able to place us close to each other, even after a short-notice request for us to also have a power outlet.

The showers were good, hot, but did cost 20p for 5mins of water. A small price to ensure that water doesn't go to waste. There was an issue with the showers on our 2nd morning, but this was rectified promptly.

There's a conservatory that's left open with plenty of guides for activities around the area.

The owners of the site and nice, helpful and easy to talk to. So nice that when we couldn't get a taxi, they gave us a lift to the local pub.

Would definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aliandjohn 8 reviews from this member

 Booked in here as it was handy for Cartmel Races. The owners were really helpful moving us onto a bigger pitch when we asked if we could put up our awning.

The site has plenty of level hardstanding pitches although not many level tent pitches on the grass!

Laundry room on site and the toilets/shower block was always clean with 20p showers, however these caused some amusement when trying to enter without getting your towel wet!

Lots to see/do in the local area, great for kids/walking/cycling etc.

We're booked in for the next bank holiday races! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bmacky 9 reviews from this member

 Friendly site with good shower and toilet facilities although the mechanism for paying for the shower was interesting! We paid 16 for 2 adults, campervan and electric hook up.

Pitches were level with hard standing for campervans and caravans and a grassed area for tents. We did not notice any road noise at all even though it is situated near a main road. There is no shop on site so bring your own supplies. I believe there is a shop a few miles away.

There is a pub a few minutes drive away called the Crown which served some fantastic food. Would recommend this for an evening meal.

This is a great site if you are touring and want a quiet place to stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Outandabout33 16 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for our first camping trip of the year. On arrival we were met by a friendly lady who took us to our pitch, which was grass which we prefer rather than hard standing. Our plot had E.H.U and also a water tap close to our unit.

There were plenty of toilets and showers in one block that was used for all the camp site. They were clean, tidy and adequate. I have to say we were a little surprised to have to pay for hot water to wash our pots after having a meal ( not seen that before ).

The location of the site was ideal. Very close to newby bridge and the village of cartmel, both nice places and a 25 min drive to lovely Hawkeshead. We had great weather, which always helps ! The site was very quiet, possibly because it was the week after easter bank holiday and still fairly early in the season. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AlanHardware 17 reviews from this member

 A very good, quiet site with decent owners that is very handy to all that Windermere and environs offers. Steam Railway connects with Lake Steamers.

Hardcore pitches, some with slight slopes but we coped without blocks / levellers, roomy enough. Electric hook up coped with our lights / microwave / TV. By the way, to get Digital TV, point a goof aerial in the general direction of the toilet block, not down the valley, around ten channels available.

Clean and decent facilities but basic, disabled catered for with own toilet / shower. Could do with a curtain in the main showers to keep your clothes dry, a small point overall. Good supermarket within ten minutes.

Good pubs / restaurants close by, within five minutes. If planning to eat at the closest, at the Texaco garage, it is advisable to book. A discount is available to caravan park customers. All in all, two thumbs up. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oak Head Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oak Head Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oak Head Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newby Bridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December