Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Hall Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Carnforth > Old Hall Caravan Park Reviews

Old Hall Caravan Park
Capernwray
Carnforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA6 1AD
Tel: 01524 733276
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sb001j80654kkp 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great weekend at this site, itís location is ideal. Also the site itself is excellent, we where met on our arrival by Kate a very pleasant member of staff. She gave us our site map and directed us to our pitch. I must confess I had some reservations about the touring area after reading some previous reviews.

However we where happy with our pitch, although on gravel we where surrounded by lovely trees and a brook running along side the touring area.

There are several lovely woodland walks on this site, we enjoyed a. Walk along the canal on Saturday and had a pub lunch at the canal turn pub, the staff there where also very pleasant and helpful, even giving us a phone number of a lovely lady taxi driver who allows dogs in her cab. So we didnít have to walk back to the site!

I must also add the shower and toilet block on this site are the best we have ever seen, also spotlessly clean, it was like having your own individual bathroom, each room having a toilet shower and wash basin !

We didnít have any of our grandchildren with us, but you could see it was very child friendly, also the other campers where very friendly. All in all a great site. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 Firstly, I always find a positive and here there are a few. Reception staff pleasant, bathroom facilities impeccable and surroundings very well maintained over all.

I am unfortunately going to be very negative about the pitch we were given.

We were pitched on number 10 on what can only be described as concrete hardstanding right next to the toilet block with absolutely zero pitch marking so in effect, the immediate outside space of our motorhome was a free for all. The amount of fellow site users that were all very pleasant and friendly but had zero pitch etiquette that walked within an open door width of our unit was unbelievable. We couldn't wind out our canopy as even our most durable pegs could not penetrate concrete. We had to endure children playing ball against the toilet block wall and skidding on their bikes and scooters at breakneck speed. The space outside the toilet block was often used as a turning circle for cars also.

Within 2 metres of our motorhome on one side was neighbours awning and the view from the other window was of the toilet block wall.

This pitch was serviced by water, ehu and drainage so wasn't an emergency add on for busy periods.

Were we allocated this pitch because we use a motorhome and therefore assumed we didn't want an awning up or our own space to sit out? The question of type of pitch required was not asked of us when booking so we made the presumption that all pitches were of the same size and quality. This really isn't so.

£25 per night for something no bigger nor private than a car parking space??? Well, I would have probably paid less to stay overnight on a motorway services and probably had a better view!

Did I complain, no, I had set up and got everything out and it was only when we were sat having our tea that we discovered what an awful pitch we had been given. Staying only 3 nights, we decided to tolerate it rather than having to pack up and move. Looking at the few empty pitches, they would have been no better.

We left feeling disappointed and it will not be on our list of sites to revisit which is a real shame because in this case, the big negative was enough to swallow up the many positives. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mingingmule 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite. Friendly staff. Immaculately clean. Best showers ever. Beautiful setting. Very peaceful. Close to coast, dales and lakes. If there was a pub within walking distance I would live here. Pub 5 mins away in car so not to bad. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judy1 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived at site for a long weekend. Lovely welcome when we arrived. Quiet site, small touring area, all hardstanding with electric, waste, t. V ariel and water on pitch. Facilities are lovely and clean.

The Gents have just been refurbished (so my husband said) Ladies are getting done at the end of season. Quite a few static caravans on the site but most are spread out and can't be seen. Lovely walks around the site and a short walk to the Lancaster canal.

There is a small village shop in Over Kellet. In Carnforth there is a Tesco, Booths and an Aldi as well as a select of smaller shops My husband had a heart attack on the Sunday and was taken down to Blackpool Hospital where he spent a week there.

The staff were FANTASTIC and made sure I was looked after, nothing was too much trouble, Andrea even called round to the van to make sure everything was ok. We look forward to returning back there and seeing more of the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marc2283 2 reviews from this member

 This place is fantastic. I don't usually leave reviews however this is definitely worth leaving one for. Really quite site set in magnificent surroundings. Outstanding facilities all round for everyone's needs.

Not a bad thing to say about this site. I shall be getting booked up for the October half term. Really worth a visit. 10/10 for this place. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxidoodle 5 reviews from this member

 Our first, one night stay was magnificent. It was lovely and quiet ( we had sunshine), the staff were lovely, the facilities excellent (tap, drain and electricity on the pitch), good sized and hard standing pitches, smart and clean toilet block, excellent dog walks in the surrounding woods.

There is a dog friendly pub about a mile along the canal and we will be back to try it out soon (dependant on vacancies - in which case am wary of giving such a good review). No shop but we arrived prepared - other than a lemon for the gin ). 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnB600 16 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as we were timing a motorcycle sprint at Leighton Hall, and wanted a site which was close by. It is an excellent site with excellent facilities, the pitches are all hard standing with all services including water, drainage and TV, the toilets are spotless, hotel standard with keypad access.

The only downside for us is that there are, as mentioned in previous reviews, a lot of `static tourers`which limits the amount of pitches for genuine touring `vans, which could be a problem at busy times. All in all though, it is an excellent site which we will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CampPaul 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. Very convenient for the M6 but far enough away that you can't see or hear it. In touching distance of the lake district. Some great walks from the site including the Lancaster Canal into Carnforth.

The toilets and showers are immaculate. Nice adventure play area for young children.

Pitches are all hardstanding with electric, water, TV & drainage. One criticism is that they are probably just a bit close together - particularly as there's no screening or planting between the pitches. Most of the pitches are seasonal and although occupied, very few people were actually there. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mel Clark 4 reviews from this member

 My visit to this site prompted me to join the club.

It is a very nice site with superb facilities, the toilets and showers opened by key codes that sometimes took 4 or 5 times to activate was a nuisance but you couldnít wish for better when accessed.

What really was out of order was offering us a pitch on their new development for statics, expecting us to do a trip with our waste to dispose of it that was a quarter of a mile to it, yep, half a mile trip to use the great facilities and the new development was work in progress, a building site with work starting just after 8am. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Otoole48 1 review from this member

 This was our first ever visit to any site with a touring caravan.

We found Everyone to be extremely helpful from assisting us to park the caravan to setting it up correctly.

The site itself was very quiet and relaxing. It's set in beautiful wooded surroundings with a very enjoyable walk.

The facilities were extremely good and immaculately clean. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

It is within easy walking distance of the canal leading to Carnforth and the Marina. We would definitely go back. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Hall Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Old Hall Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Old Hall Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnforth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6178 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement