Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Shaw Hall Holiday Park Reviews

Shaw Hall Holiday Park
Smithy Lane
Scarisbrick
Ormskirk
Lancashire   (Browse area)
L40 8HJ
Tel: 01704 840298
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Winks wright 2 reviews from this member

 Worst site I have ever been on, staff were rude and unhelpful, website said 1 thing and staff told us another, definitely will not be going back or recommending this site to anyone, ended up leaving the site after 1 night because it was so bad 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mayo22 1 review from this member

 An excellent park to visit. It was our first time camping with the kids so we didn't want to venture to far from home just in case we needed to come home. I can safely say we all loved it. It had a park for the kids, bar and entertainment, and a launderette and wash room and toilets with showers. We will definitely return in the future and at 15 a night you cant grumble at all. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 25 reviews from this member

 The site has everything you could need although the shower block is a bit dated it is ok.

Big plusses are the children's play area, with a massive brand new climbing frame and Leeds/ Liverpool canal running along the site. Canal walks are restricted on the nearside to Scarisbrick Marina, but to the right is a short walk to the lovely Heatons Bridge pub. Unfortunately the chef was on holiday so we could not eat there. Canal tow path is much better on the far side.

There was no sign of the previously mentioned travellers, and the site was very quiet.

Location is fantastic with lots to do in the area.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Did not eat on site, but lots of eateries within a short drive.

The site is not 5 star but improvements are on going, and the fully serviced pitches are good with fake grass for the awning area. We even thought of telling the site worker who was strimming nearby to stop as it was fake grass for crying out loud, ha ha.

Southport ( with all the attractions) is so delightful as is Formby beach.

Lots of static caravans but the site is spacious and not claustrophobic. The large dog walking field/ camping field is good. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Howardebbie 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back after visiting this site, site was reasonably priced, pitches good fully serviced and flat, the food available was nothing like menu said, food we wanted wasn't available even at early evening, so drove out to the elephant an had best curry ever. Shower blocks dated and poorly cleaned which resulted in me showering in the caravan! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glittering-prize 3 reviews from this member

 First time we have been to this part of uk. The site is ok, shop is closed and no sign of refurb as yet. All touring pitches are fully serviced but would benefit from a tidy up. Apart from a few sited tourers and 2 travellers vans it was empty, which was good as the road is very narrow and its a struggle. Overall the club was good, we saw the blues brothers who where excellent. Showers and toilets were clean and we had peice and quiet. Its only a few mins drive to southport or ormskirk both of which are great places to see. The on site travellers were polite and friendly and even helped us get the van out on leaving. The club is clean and has 2 pool tables and a dart board, which we made use of. I do believe the site has new owners and the previous ones let it go a bit. They are working hard to please us but rome was not built in a day. Its clean, nicely situated and everyone is friendly. We will go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marie and Chris 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place as we drove in the surroundings were lovely. The showers clean, toilets clean, Park great for kids. On arrival the people were really friendly, just don't were a Liverpool top (joke) had a laugh. The tent feild was lovely easy to peg down tent grass lovely cut and not a swamp when rained. Only down side was the shop on site is closed due to refurb, but over all, all I can say is will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taximan2 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of days here recently, before moving off else where. They have Irish travellers staying on the site. There was 3 caravans and there working vans parked there to. Their waste rubbish was pilled against a fence for a short while, rather than walk down to the waste skips. There was also a small dog left tied up to either a hook up post on an adjacent plot. And also to their caravan. It would bark at anyone walking past day or night. They don't acknowledge or speak to you, I did try to be friendly. The site itself was pretty good. Concrete hard standing on all pitches, and you could connect to water/electric and tv from their hook up points. Quiet site, with the occasional chatter of children playing. Elson point was ok, showers ok, toilets ok. Seen a lot worse. Laundry room contained a few out of use machines. Loads of reading material left there from other visitors I guess. Very handy though. Over all a good site, but if the travellers are their again be weary. PS. I have just been told there is still one of their caravans left on there. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marion 10p 1 review from this member

 Booked for a 12 month season in march. Boy was it cold. Showers were clean hot water but lacks heating and the lights went out while I was in the shower. Reported it next day and problem fixed could do with a lick of paint. And an hair dryer. Janet on the desk is more than helpful. The site is under new management now and they are cracking on with smarting the place up. Its clean and well planed out only this morning they were jet washing outside the shower block. The club is brilliant. The Artist wasn't the best and nothing early doors for the kids [disco/games] playground is good for smaller children and they have opened a mini golf not had a go yet. Dogs are welcome as long as there on a lead. There is a launderette and dryers very useful.

My 2 sons came at Easter with there tourers and lots of little people. They love it. The boys loved the pool room over the lounge. Keeps them happy, food was fantastic and not to expensive. The drinks are very reasonable. Its a great site but needs a little tidy up round the touring pitches other than that it as my vote. Keep up the good work guys. Got to say the 3 caravans that came at Easter [last review] had more children than the rest of the site and moaned from day one didn't even say good morning. Mmmm makes me wonder if they like touring sites. With other people there. I didn't see or hear anything bad only the weather but that's in the hands of god. Great site and so friendly. Love it. Yes it need some TLC. But its getting there.

Stayed April 2015, travelled with family 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sv246 22 reviews from this member

 Arrived for Easter as a group of 3 tourers booked together. Initial views of the drive to reception were good but then it all went badly wrong. The receptionist told us to ' sort out ourselves' which of the 3 pitches together we'd booked even though we were staying for different durations! She also told that there were some group bookings and it might be a bit 'rowdy'. We then followed the map she drew on straight down the tourers roadway the wrong way! As stated in previous reviews the tourers are just one narrow road between 2 rows of vans. Vans approaching from both ends. Carnage!

Pitches were raised concrete for the van, astro turf for the awning and badly laid broken slabs at the front. The small amounts of grass area were fairly flooded so it was quite a disappointing start.

Toilets were dated, cold as the door was permanently open and poorly cleaned. We didn't use the shop but the bar was reasonably priced but we didn't try the food.

Kids play area is well out of sight of the tourers and when we took the kids we found it in a poor state and very wet!

On the Saturday night the rowdy group had a firepit in the roadway and kept the music and swearing going into the early hours.

Away from the site we did Albert Dock, Southport and the Red Squirrells at Formby. We love the area as there is a lot to do but would not return to the site as it is very biased towards the static owners and the tourers are very poorly catered for. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LittleRuby 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a week staying here which ran into the halloween weekend, the site is very well kept. Mostly a static caravan park which do seem a little squeezed in and approx 40 touring pitches.

During our stay the toilet/shower blocks remained clean and tidy, the shop isn't particularly well stocked but has the basics needed and it was low season. The staff are super friendly (the lady in the shop was lovely), we've stayed on a few sites that mainly cater for residential statics and I must say the people living here were exceptionally friendly which was a nice surprise, we never visited the on site pub but it looked nice on the outside.

Took a walk down the canal which is nice but a shame shaw hall have blocked access to carry on down but can understand why for security purposes I presume.

The pitches are equipped with ehu, water and a tv aerial point although our aerial point wasn't working but we had our aerial so didn't really matter. They aren't overly spacious pitches and the car parking seemed a bit strange as we weren't sure which side to park and that notion was shared amongst other tourers.

The site is ideally situated for Southport just 5-10mins away, I'm not sure we'd visit in high season due to the pitches being close but that's just our personal choice as we are adults only and like our space, in low season we'll come back time and time again. The price was great and I'm glad they never felt the need to abuse October half term and charge more and as such they had a full site. Thanks for a pleasant week. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shaw Hall Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Shaw Hall Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ormskirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5753 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement