Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gelderwood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Rochdale > Gelderwood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Gelderwood Country Caravan Park
Oak Leigh Cottage
Ashworth Road
Heywood
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL11 5UP
Tel: 01706 364858
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Digital Doris 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in February. Well located for walking during the summer months. Very pretty site and pitches good in size. Toilet block is modern with good showers. We were very disappointed that the advertised heated toilet but was only heated if you knocked on the owners door and asked them to put it on. Thought it was very expensive for facilities provided. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beechy 1 review from this member

 The site is well laid out but as said on previous reviews only one water point which if centrally located on the site wouldn't be so bad.

The greeting we got was very friendly & informative. The toilet/shower block was clean but not heated, the hot water wasn't all that hot even though the signs were there saying 'Caution Very Hot water'. Perhaps they could also offer more that than one key per unit for the toilet block, I must admit I didn't ask as we were only there for 2 nights

There were not many units on site so we had free choice where to pitch and used 2 pitches as advised by the owner one for the caravan & awning and the other for the car.

TV signal was intermittent whch was probably due to the close proximity of the trees and the very heavy rain over the 2 days we were there.

All in all very quiet and tranquil but there was some noise during the day from people leaving or entering the Scout Camp opposite 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AnnieBl 4 reviews from this member

 This site is very neat and well maintained although a little too quiet for us. There were 13 units on site but only three were tourers, the rest appeared to be permanent, or semi-permanent residents, most were working men who left the site before 7:00 each morning returning each evening.

The toilet block was clean and tidy but the hot water was very limited and on some days there wasn't any at all.

There is an unofficial dog walk, out of the site, down the steep lane and then on a steeply sloping path to the field. The path is very pretty though and wends its way down to the stream in a woodland setting.

Lots of footpaths around but you have to walk down the steep lane to access them and the one by the brook behind the site was quite hilly, OK if you are fit and fully able but a little too much for me.

The site webpage indicates there are pubs within walking distance, if there are any nearby we didn't find any.

Sorry to be so negative but this was our first visit to a 'Tranquil' site and we couldn't help be disappointed.

On the positive side, most pitches were level, the site is quiet, hook ups are good and the site has clean toilets, water, Elsan point and a little tourist info area and is very prettily landscaped. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scek21 7 reviews from this member

 Our first time here and we were very pleased with the site, its facilities and the owners.

The site is very tidy, neat and well arranged. It has been said that the road to the site is narrow which it is, but we managed easily over the narrow bridge in our 8m motorhome.

The toilet block is immaculate, though it was unheated.

A great site for walking, especially around the nearby reservoirs - Greenbooth and the 3 Naden reservoirs.

We will be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Teddy3 2 reviews from this member

 Once again had a wonderful weekend at gelderwood. The trees and daffs are just coming out. The toilet block is great. Had a restful time as always. We are coming back at Easter and looking forward to i. , by Easter all will be in full bloom. Bury market is getting bigger. I think we will be going for black pudding, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sleeplessinadderbur 3 reviews from this member

 All the other reviews are correct.

The shower cubicles are small and clothes could get wet, but we used our own facilities.

The lane up to the site is narrow, but I have had worse, most cars are aware of the site and will move to let you through.

Yes there is only 1 tap, but there are only 34 pitches, your not that far from it wherever you are.

There were only 3 units on site and 3 not being used so no queue for the block.

Lovely and peaceful. Spent a fortune in Bury market, which is easy to get to if you don't retrace arrival instruction, but go on the old road. I wouldn't like to come this way with a van on the back as the entrance into the lane would be too sharp, but fine with just the car.

Had a pleasant weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rhinouk 12 reviews from this member

 Very nice site and well looked after, facilities spot on but like others have said could be made better with more water points. Only 2 pitches with grass for awning so take your rock pegs if putting up. Gate locked at night and you have your own key so very secure. Plenty of walking with footpaths going in every direction for miles. Road is ok but very narrow at bottom of hill. Had a lovely stay and will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandma Jill 6 reviews from this member

 What a super little site! We will definitely go again. We won't let the road put us off.

We had a lovely day riding on steam trains on the East Lancashire Railway (Heywood station is within 5 minutes' drive).

The toilets were spotless and the only downside was that it took a long time for the water to run warm for washing up.

There is an information room and the owner was very helpful when we asked about local buses. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 37 reviews from this member

 A lovely site well situated and easy to find. There are woods around the site for walking the dog. It is situated on a busy lane, but the traffic is not noticeable. The site is well kept, clean and landscaped. It is a very secure site with a locked gate and restricted height bar. Once site entered you are given a key to the gate.

The facilities are spotless and cleaned more than once a day. In the ladies there are two showers, three toilets and three sinks. There is an hairdryer and hand dryer. The downside is the showers are the size of a toilet cubicle and its difficult to have a shower and keep clothes dry, remember to take a plastic bag to put them in. I found hanging the towel over the cubicle frame kept it dry. There are similar facilities in the Gents. There are disabled facilities, but I don't know what they are like. The washing up area consists of two sinks and drainers with plenty of hot water. We parked on the bottom end of the site, this meant a bit of a trek to the facilities. There is only one water tap on the whole site that we could find and the one waste disposal point which is actually in the same area as the chemical disposal point at a higher level. It would benefit the site to have a second water tap in the lower end of the field. The owner is very friendly and helpful. I marked site facilities as 8 out of 10 this is due to the one water point. We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Teddy3 2 reviews from this member

 Had the Easter weekend at gelderwood. It was great the weather was hot and the sun was shining. Each time I come back to this site things have improved. There are great walks and even nicer pubs not too far away. No kids is great, my caravan was safe no chance of footballs hitting it. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The toilet block is very clean and new. The site is getting better and better each visit. I will be back as soon as I can. The road to the site is ok, two cars can pass. I give this site 10 out of 10 each time. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gelderwood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gelderwood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gelderwood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rochdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3899 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement