Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gelderwood Country Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gelderwood Country Caravan Park
Oak Leigh Cottage
Ashworth Road
Heywood
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL11 5UP
Tel: 01706 364858
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 34
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Digital Doris 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site in February. Well located for walking during the summer months. Very pretty site and pitches good in size. Toilet block is modern with good showers. We were very disappointed that the advertised heated toilet but was only heated if you knocked on the owners door and asked them to put it on. Thought it was very expensive for facilities provided.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beechy 1 review from this member

The site is well laid out but as said on previous reviews only one water point which if centrally located on the site wouldn't be so bad.

The greeting we got was very friendly & informative. The toilet/shower block was clean but not heated, the hot water wasn't all that hot even though the signs were there saying 'Caution Very Hot water'. Perhaps they could also offer more that than one key per unit for the toilet block, I must admit I didn't ask as we were only there for 2 nights

There were not many units on site so we had free choice where to pitch and used 2 pitches as advised by the owner one for the caravan & awning and the other for the car.

TV signal was intermittent whch was probably due to the close proximity of the trees and the very heavy rain over the 2 days we were there.

All in all very quiet and tranquil but there was some noise during the day from people leaving or entering the Scout Camp opposite

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AnnieBl 3 reviews from this member

This site is very neat and well maintained although a little too quiet for us. There were 13 units on site but only three were tourers, the rest appeared to be permanent, or semi-permanent residents, most were working men who left the site before 7:00 each morning returning each evening.

The toilet block was clean and tidy but the hot water was very limited and on some days there wasn't any at all.

There is an unofficial dog walk, out of the site, down the steep lane and then on a steeply sloping path to the field. The path is very pretty though and wends its way down to the stream in a woodland setting.

Lots of footpaths around but you have to walk down the steep lane to access them and the one by the brook behind the site was quite hilly, OK if you are fit and fully able but a little too much for me.

The site webpage indicates there are pubs within walking distance, if there are any nearby we didn't find any.

Sorry to be so negative but this was our first visit to a 'Tranquil' site and we couldn't help be disappointed.

On the positive side, most pitches were level, the site is quiet, hook ups are good and the site has clean toilets, water, Elsan point and a little tourist info area and is very prettily landscaped.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scek21 7 reviews from this member

Our first time here and we were very pleased with the site, its facilities and the owners.

The site is very tidy, neat and well arranged. It has been said that the road to the site is narrow which it is, but we managed easily over the narrow bridge in our 8m motorhome.

The toilet block is immaculate, though it was unheated.

A great site for walking, especially around the nearby reservoirs - Greenbooth and the 3 Naden reservoirs.

We will be back very soon.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teddy3 2 reviews from this member

Once again had a wonderful weekend at gelderwood. The trees and daffs are just coming out. The toilet block is great. Had a restful time as always. We are coming back at Easter and looking forward to i. , by Easter all will be in full bloom. Bury market is getting bigger. I think we will be going for black pudding,

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeplessinadderbur 3 reviews from this member

All the other reviews are correct.

The shower cubicles are small and clothes could get wet, but we used our own facilities.

The lane up to the site is narrow, but I have had worse, most cars are aware of the site and will move to let you through.

Yes there is only 1 tap, but there are only 34 pitches, your not that far from it wherever you are.

There were only 3 units on site and 3 not being used so no queue for the block.

Lovely and peaceful. Spent a fortune in Bury market, which is easy to get to if you don't retrace arrival instruction, but go on the old road. I wouldn't like to come this way with a van on the back as the entrance into the lane would be too sharp, but fine with just the car.

Had a pleasant weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhinouk 12 reviews from this member

Very nice site and well looked after, facilities spot on but like others have said could be made better with more water points. Only 2 pitches with grass for awning so take your rock pegs if putting up. Gate locked at night and you have your own key so very secure. Plenty of walking with footpaths going in every direction for miles. Road is ok but very narrow at bottom of hill. Had a lovely stay and will return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandma Jill 6 reviews from this member

What a super little site! We will definitely go again. We won't let the road put us off.

We had a lovely day riding on steam trains on the East Lancashire Railway (Heywood station is within 5 minutes' drive).

The toilets were spotless and the only downside was that it took a long time for the water to run warm for washing up.

There is an information room and the owner was very helpful when we asked about local buses.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 31 reviews from this member

A lovely site well situated and easy to find. There are woods around the site for walking the dog. It is situated on a busy lane, but the traffic is not noticeable. The site is well kept, clean and landscaped. It is a very secure site with a locked gate and restricted height bar. Once site entered you are given a key to the gate.

The facilities are spotless and cleaned more than once a day. In the ladies there are two showers, three toilets and three sinks. There is an hairdryer and hand dryer. The downside is the showers are the size of a toilet cubicle and its difficult to have a shower and keep clothes dry, remember to take a plastic bag to put them in. I found hanging the towel over the cubicle frame kept it dry. There are similar facilities in the Gents. There are disabled facilities, but I don't know what they are like. The washing up area consists of two sinks and drainers with plenty of hot water. We parked on the bottom end of the site, this meant a bit of a trek to the facilities. There is only one water tap on the whole site that we could find and the one waste disposal point which is actually in the same area as the chemical disposal point at a higher level. It would benefit the site to have a second water tap in the lower end of the field. The owner is very friendly and helpful. I marked site facilities as 8 out of 10 this is due to the one water point. We will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teddy3 2 reviews from this member

Had the Easter weekend at gelderwood. It was great the weather was hot and the sun was shining. Each time I come back to this site things have improved. There are great walks and even nicer pubs not too far away. No kids is great, my caravan was safe no chance of footballs hitting it. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The toilet block is very clean and new. The site is getting better and better each visit. I will be back as soon as I can. The road to the site is ok, two cars can pass. I give this site 10 out of 10 each time.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


717 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019