Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Morecambe > Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts Reviews

Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts
Moneyclose Lane
Heysham
Morecambe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA3 2AX
Tel: 0330 123 4981
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 139
Open: 11/02/2022 to 14/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (10)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs M Weatherhead 1 review from this member

 Excellent caravan, clean and spacious with fenced patio at French windows and door. Wider than usual double bed, and comfy armchair in lounge.

A bath in the ensuite, and roomy bathroom with shower. BV 36 caravan situated near large grassy area, handy for exercising our dog.

The site was well maintained. , with plenty of refuse bins, which sadly were always full and overflowing, maybe should be emptied more frequently during busy season.

Overall a great experience which we hope to repeat in the near future. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yvette 1 review from this member

 The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The children enjoyed the pool, arcade and play area.

The dog friendly area in the restaurant was really great for us and the caravan was well appointed and clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bookworm 1 review from this member

 Just had a really lovely holiday here.

The site is nestled between Morecambe and Lancaster and we were surprised at how much there was to do in the area.

The site itself was clean and spacious with all amenities you would expect.

We stayed in a holiday home and can see why they changed the name from caravan, it was spacious and very much home from home with every comfort we needed.

The staff were very friendly with no pushy sales. There was a heated pool and sauna but we didn't use it however it would have been handy had the weather not been so kind.

The club was nice with a good atmosphere. Billy Beaver and the party dances were brilliant for the children and there was no commercialism at all which was a breathe of fresh air especially with three children. The cabaret played up to date tunes and managed to keep the dance floor filled helped by the entertainment team who seemed to really enjoy thier job, my daughters loved them!

The views over the sea were stunning and worth a visit in itself we even went pond dipping in the nature reserve and found frogs and newts.

Had a fully relaxing time and will certainly be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 This site is very easy to find and not too far from the motorway, but far enough from all roads to be peaceful

Upon arrival we tried to check in, but we were an hour early, so we took the dog for a walk along the nature reserve path at the entrance to the site. This was large enough to let the dog have a good run and plenty of poo bins.

Back to checking in and a mistake had been made on the booking and they had omitted the dog from the booking, however they acted swiftly and were able to accommodate us after all. Very helpful and cheerful reception staff.

We were given the keys and directed to the caravan. It was very clean, spacious and with all the utensils, equipment required. It was a private static that the owners let out and we booked it through the sites website. The caravan also had a veranda with table and chairs and was fenced and gated, so perfect for the dog to sit in the sunshine and chill.

We checked out the shop on site and this stocked all the usual daily required items, newspapers and a selection of fresh fruit and veg.

We then checked out the bar and games room. The bar was spacious and being Whitsun entertainment was on, but the place was not heaving. It was typical holiday park entertainment, but fine for the younger kids. Plenty of gaming machines, pool tables etc. To keep the kids amused. Also an outdoor play area, but we did not use it so cannot comment too much.

We ate in the bar area and four adult meals cost less than 20 and the food was lovely, cooked to perfection. Bar prices were very reasonable too. There is also a cafe and tv area in this section.

We used the swimming pool and this was a good size with a lifeguard on duty to make sure all behave. They had a few water toys to play with when we were there. The pool opens all day from 9am to 5pm, but 9 - 10am was for adults only.

The site location is so very peaceful at night and the views are stunning out across Morecambe Bay. Yes if you look to the right there is a power station there, but we hardly noticed it and it certainly was not noisy or intrusive in anyway. Nice walks from the site too onto the beach and around the park.

Local shopping can be found with Asda in Lancaster which takes about 10 mins to get to. Tesco express can be found on outskirts of Morecambe with plenty more shops in both Lancaster and Morecambe

Lancaster is a lovely old town with plenty of great shops and restaurants and worth an afternoon there if that is your thing. Morecambe is much more run down and although they are trying, for shopping I would suggest Lancaster. There is still restaurants and shopping in Morecambe, but not as much choice.

The site is perfectly located for the Bowland Forest and walking is aplenty. So many great places to hike if that is your thing and all around half an hours drive away. The North Yorks Moors are also up this way, but are about an hour away

Blackpool is 45 mins away, but we did no venture there. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S.Ball 15 reviews from this member

 This site has lots of facilities- not many I'd recommend I'm afraid, small pitches very tight to get caravan in (ours 23ft), noisy neighbours and security not in a hurry to come to our rescue! Entertainment hit and miss, typical bingo, singers etc. Showers and toilet facilities- messy and cold- thankfully we didn't have to use them more than once!

Worst bit?- power station view and beach 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MATTY 42 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed three nights at Ocean Edge for 35 which I thought was really good value. Food ok, drinks reasonable. Childrens entertainment went on till about eleven o'clock, full marks to the entertainment staff who never stopped. Toilet and washing block could do with a major overall, as I had only one warm shower during my stay and the area is starting to look tired. Was woken at 5am by a chorus of dogs barking, which went on for some time. The local watering hole is the Duke of Rothesay public house which does great food and beers. Its only a fifteen minute walk away and only 3.50 in a taxi. Will be going back at Easter so hopefully the few little niggles will be sorted out by then. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gummie bears 2 reviews from this member

 Sorry but this is the worst campsite we have stayed at.

The location is next to the sea, but is also right next to the Heysham docks and a huge power station.

Everything about the site looked scruffy. The toilets were dirty and were never cleaned during the 3 nights we were there.

I think campers deserve better for the price of 19. 00 per night.

The pitches were cramped, you had no where to sit outside your tent.

I would NOT recommend this site at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jamescummings 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 12 nights and found the site ok. It has everything you want in a big commercial site but doesn't do it very well. Our 3 year old liked the soft play area but the smell of the kitchen put us off going.

The touring field is as the name suggests on the ocean edge and as so is very exposed, many tents blew away/down during our stay and people were just leaving them and going home with their belongings. I would suggest heavy duty steel pegs and a mallet for your tent/awning as the wind is relentless.

This site is not as bad as some of the reviews but do not expect too much when booking. The beach is difficult to get to and is mostly mud, rubbish and concrete blocks close to the shore but is ok if you keep going further out. The shower/toilet block is clean enough and there is plenty of hot water, the warden is also very helpful, it is best to see him before you pitch as the layout is unclear. All in all not a bad site if you look at the price compared to some with far fewer facilities 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillychick 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and to be honest we were not impressed. The toilet facilities were not great. The ground was really hard to peg into and we spent about 2 hours getting the pegs in. Me and hubby did not use the facilities but the girls went swimming which we had to pay for, they said the pool was ok. Location was good for the lakes and visits to Blackpool but pitching was very open to the elements and it was always windy, I would suggest spending some money on good pegs and a big hammer. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magical 1 review from this member

 Well I liked it, cheap and cheerfull!

A group of 4 of us went for a long weekend and we were surprised by the amouth of facilities they had. The toilets and showers were OK, could do with being a bit cleaner but what do you expect for the price and so many people using them, they were never full so didn't have to wait for ages like some places and plenty of hot water. The warden was really nice, friendly and helpful. We camped right next to the beach, not for swimming but nice to have a walk. They had a very nice swimming pool, sauna and several games rooms.

You have to put a deposit down for keys etc, but you do get it back when you leave, and I guess thats why the site was kept clean and tidy, no litter at all (otherwise you wouldn't get the deposit back). In your welcome pack you also get vouchers, 15% for drinks and 25% for food!

The bar was really nice, and not to badly priced, food was very cheap and good. They had bingo and live music every evening so if you want to stay on camp always something to do, something for people of all ages to enjoy.

The only negative we had was the ground, very hard to ptich a tent and put pegs in (without a mallet, we forgot ours so had to borrow one).

I would go back again. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ocean Edge Holiday Park Parkdean Resorts dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morecambe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement