Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandside Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Carnforth > Sandside Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Sandside Caravan And Camping Site
The Shore
Bolton Le Sands
Carnforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 8JS
Tel: 01524 822311
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mercedes280 1 review from this member

 Site toilet block has had a terrific upgrade over the winter months. It's a credit to ray and Claire, the owners. Plenty of hard work and costs put in, s can be seen when you go in.

Great work well done!

Always a pleasure to be on this site, been using it since mid 70s, now use it on a seasonal pitch 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Metermaid 1 review from this member

 Location good but what a pity the site is let down by poor shower/toilet facilities. Shower block reminds me of 1960 school playing field hut. Sufficient toilets and showers are hot but when other sites around the Morecambe bay area can provide 5star facilities for similar fees I would advise to look around. These facilities do not accommodate anyone with motorbility issues. Come on sandside you can do better 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foxyg 6 reviews from this member

 This a nice site with lovely views from one of the fields ( but I think these are all seasonals).

We were on an upper field where the caravans were quite close together. Don't think the 6 meter rule is applied here. (is this legal).

There is also a main line railway running past the site in the lower field, although that didn't really affect us.

Good location, close to Morecambe, bus service about a 15 minute walk away. Same distance to a couple of pubs.

Shower block has about 8/9 loos and 7//8 sinks, 4 showers. But the showers are dreadful - very small, no stool or anything. So impossible to dry your feet. If you have your footwear in the shower they would be soaked, it's so small. All very clean though.

Overall, this is a nice site, but caravans too close together, and showers need updating to give a nicer, roomier experience. At 19. 50 per night, plus electricity cards, plus about 3 per night for an awning, quite pricey. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SteveOppy 3 reviews from this member

 We visited in July this year as a last minute tent holiday for the weekend. Very clean and well kept site which is tailored to caravans, however the tent area was absolutely spot on and pretty flat with enough of a slope should the heavens open!

The facilities are good, plenty of showers and toilets, all very clean and well maintained. Friendly owners who made us very welcome upon arrival and offered extensions for power etc.

Only down side is there is not much for the kids to do on site but its so close to everything it wasn't an issue as we went out and about anyway with Morcambe only 3 miles away!

Yes there is a train line which is very close to the camping area but in all honesty, you do get used to the trains coming past - our first night was the worst as its a shock to hear them thundering past but the second night we were used to it and we all slept through (even the kids did - result!) Saturday night was even better as there were no trains. Anyway, the kids loved seeing them whoosh past so I felt it was something a little different for them!

We will definitely go again as it ticks many boxes for location and quality of site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheryl P 1 review from this member

 Newbies, so tried 1 night at Sandside. Site spotlessly clean, in a beautiful location, 3 horses in next field, a lovely surprise, field and ehu brill, plenty of grass for child to play on,

Only downside were trains thundering past all night, apparently every night except Saturday. Was pre-warned about this, however, unfortunately, we will be venturing elsewhere next time.

Sorry Sandside! But it definitely hasn't put us off camping. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Veema 12 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a lovely weekend away at Sandside. We took our folding camper and awning and had an electric hook up. We were right beside the railway line, and the trains were pretty frequent throughout Friday night and all day Saturday and Sunday, but they did stop late Saturday evening until about 9am Sunday morning. They were noisy, but it's something you do get used to.

The pitch we had was an all grass pitch, which I thought would be a problem with the amount of rain there was on Friday, but it wasn't muddy at all. It was on a slight slope, but not a problem.

The lady owner was really pleasant and helpful. Many of the pitches seemed to be seasonal / permanent pitches, and the residents were nice and friendly, one offering us a cup of tea as we were waiting for the torrential rain to subside so we could start setting up.

There isn't much for children on the site, no playground, but our 5 year old just loves to run about and the field was perfect for that.

The site was lovely and clean with clean and tidy toilet & shower facilities. The showers were the push button type and nice and hot (might have trouble trying to shower a small child / toddler in them though)and good pressure.

One tip to bear in mind is do not follow internet / satnav directions to this campsite as we had to unhitch the camper and turn around in a very tight spot when we got to a bridge that was only 6' wide! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The elms 1 review from this member

 Just come back from sandside. Spent five days there. It was fab and I didn't want to come home,

Clean showers and toilets. Big field for kids to play on. We read other reviews before we went and yes trains run frequently, but not a problem,

We are booking now to go back. Touring field was a good location. Water tap was at the side of your caravan. Waste was at same location,

People very friendly, just enjoyed it 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irene baxendale 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site, the showers/toilets were very clean, lovely force on showers, grass kept very short, hardcore for both caravan and awning, very friendly, a while since we last stayed here but no hesitation again, the improvements made are great.

The trains close if you are in the bottom field but not too noisy, site very peaceful. Altogether one of the best holidays we have had. Shops and pub 10 minute walk, Carnforth Morecambe Lancaster bus route 10 min walk, only 10 min drive from Morecambe which is so much better and still improving, good market there and lots to do for small children.

Great shops and market in Lancaster and loads of museums to look at there. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dididave 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with a outstanding friendly couple running it. I took my Son there because he loves the trains and he was in his element with the West Coast Main line running about 50 feet from our tent. The wash room is perfect and the site has great views, a must for anybody who doesnt mind the sound of trains passing by every 5 mins. We had to leave a day early than we wanted due to the weather but we will be heading back there for sure very soon. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill.dearden@hotmai 1 review from this member

 I have put my caravan on sandside caravan park all season this year, it is a nice clean site and the grass is kept very short

The owners Clair and Ray are very friendly people and if you have any problems they will sort it out quickly

There is a main coast railway line that runs near the bottom of the tourer and tent field at first you can hear them at lot but you soon get used to it (its a great place for train spotters )

There is no club on site I think that's why I like it so much if you want a drink you can walk to the royal pub its only about 10 mins walk

I would recommend anybody to go to this site as me my husband and my 9 year son loves it here 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandside Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandside Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sandside Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnforth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement