Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stanah House Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Stanah House Caravan Park
River Road
Thornton
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY5 5LR
Tel: 01253 824000
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Delma cook 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site very well kept, had a very pleasant long weekend took grandchildren they loved it. Very good, clean toilet and shower block, 30 pence for a shower lasted quite a long time water very pleasant temp. Very clean washing up area with large sink, washing machine and dryer, plenty of hot water. Caravan site is on slight slope but the field for the tents is quite flat well kept and very clean, pitches are large and you don't feel cramped, very nice walks, dogs are welcome would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping Prince 1 review from this member

As a local I have Been visiting a couple of times a year with my son now 7 (the back garden doesn't shout adventure). The owner is lovely and friendly alays fin ding u's space at shot notice. The site is well kept with the toilet/shower block just revamped. There used to be a small park on site but there is another down the track so no big issue. There is a basic shop. It's quiet, safe and you may as well be miles away from civilisation with the trees and animals in feilds that line the camping area and the river a 2 minute walk away. Rates are fair. Many happy memories had and to come.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clarky213 11 reviews from this member

We booked 5 Pitches for Easter as a group of families.

Arrived Thursday and was shown to the bottom field, all our pitches were on Grass. I was then warned not to drive on the grass as it was very soft. Remainder of the groups arrived Friday and we had to push their Caravans into place

Friday was good weather so no problems.

Next day, Saturday, then the problems started. Firstly, Microwave would not cook anything, thought it was broken. Then low wattage kettle took about 30 minutes to boil instead of the usual 10. Then I realised we were on some sort of reduced power. I've never encountered this before on any site.

Went out for the day and upon our return found water running down the campsite and through my awning. This meant it was un-usable for the remainder of the weekend. Everytime it rained, the water would flow through the awning. Our whole Pitch turned into a Mudbath for the remainder of the weekend.

Sunday night at approx 6pm the Electric on all our pitches went off. Reported it to the owner who did get it back on for about an hour before going off again. We were then told there was nothing they could do.

Very disappointed at the fact they knew the ground was flooded and still let us on the pitches. When we looked up this site the pictures showed Hard Standing, but these all seemed to be full of Seasonal Tourers.

Unfortunately these problems outweigh the good points which are:

Toilet block spotless, showers 30p tokens (Not a problem for me)

Great location.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Natasha greig 1 review from this member

Having visited stanah 4 times now, we wouldn't go anywhere else. Lovely to see the changes happening, saw this year there was the new reception/shop finished being built and open, and men's toilet block given a complete overhaul. Hubby raved that much I had to stick my head in, very nice!

Sad to see the play park on site almost gone as the children could go on their own to play, however there is a lovely park at the bottom of road as you approach the camp site. Wouldn't let the children go to this one on their own even though it's a couple of mins walking.

Campsite owner was as lovely as ever, even allowing us to have child's inhaler posted to the camp address while we were there. Everyone is friendly and we have booked to go next summer already.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeberry 2 reviews from this member

Again another fantastic weekend break at Shannah house caravan and camp site in Thornton Clevleys. Very very clean site, quiet location. The owner was fantastic once again, great customer service. Looks like changes are a foot, a new reception block is nearing completion, this will house reception, shop and storage. Also the owners are hoping to start work on the toilet and shower blocks during the colder months, but stick with it guys, the owner does keep a clean and tidy pong free toilet and shower block

Still good place to try camping if your not sure. Will be back again in a few weeks. Good walks near the site, along the river, ideal for your galloping dog, oh by the way dogs welcome but must be tethered up while on site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshgreen 12 reviews from this member

Just back from 3 nights at this Site. We were looking for a Site near Fleetwood / Thornton Clevellys as we were going to Civil Partnership Ceremony. All other Sites in the area were booked, but Stanah had a non-awning pitch available, so we booked it. I was a little worried by the lack of reviews here and the absence of a Web in this day and age!

We found the Site easily without and directions and the entrance is easy to negotiate. The Lady checking us in, was very friendly, pointed out the location of the facilities and showed us our Pitch (hardstanding). It cost 18 per night with ehu and 2 Adults.

The Facilities block is very dated, and in need of a refurbishment, and there are just 2 Cubicles and 2 Showers in the Gents. I can't comment on the Ladies. 30p for a Shower token. We didn't use the Showers, and are glad our 'van has a spacious Bathroom. I had to queue on the only occasion I went to the Toilet.

The Pitches aren't as generous as we're used to, and the bulk of the Site seems to be given over to Seasonal Pitches. The Grass could benefit from a more frequent cut. The 'Residents' Were friendly enough, and the Site generally quiet.

The Site sells essential provisions and Ice Cream.

Stanah is in a great location, next to the Wyre Country Park, which is great for walking and we saw people out on Boats (when the Tide was in). There's a Cafe just down from the Site serving everything from Coffee and Cake to a full a English Breakfast.

Very handy for Blackpool and the rest of the Fylde Coast.

Not sure if we'd return, but only because we went here for a specific purpose.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beccibebop 1 review from this member

We wanted a cheap place close to home because we were with my younger sister. We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. People on the sight were friendly we even all had a bbq together on one of the nights. Staff were very considerate and friendly and helped us put up the tent.

Toilets were clean but basic, showers were cold but nothing can be perfect and it means they were always free for use. The staff were very helpful as my partner kept losing everything they gave us stuff that we couldn't get at there little very basic shop. We're going again in July and I'm looking forward to it.

There is also a great pub restaurant near by called the bay horse it 2 for 1 on all main meals and the food great as is the service

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeberry 2 reviews from this member

Again another fantastic weekend break at Stanna house caravan and camp site in thornton clevleys. very very clean site, quiet location. The owner was fantastic once again, great customer service. The only thing this site needs is an update of the shower block, looks to be stuck in the 70's, but don't let this put you off, good place to try camping if your not sure. Will be back again in a few weeks. Good walks near the site, along the river, ideal for your galloping dog, oh by the way dogs welcome but must be tethered up while on site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouters 1 review from this member

Well, , , this is a gem of a find. Accidentally found it a few years back and have camped here on-off for the past 2 yrs. Camping ground is fine with electric hookups. Pylon can be a tad irritating but not the sites fault. Toilets are dated but they are clean and lets be honest, its a campsite toilet not a 4* hotel you have paid for.

Slightly over priced fees but I don't mind paying the extra for the peaceful surroundings. Kiddies play area is great for little ones and the warden is a star.

Only real gripe is the few tax dodgers who reside here. They seem to be above the rules ref: noise and think they run the place.

Will continue to visit for many more years.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monag 1 review from this member

We have been paying for storage and going on site for fifteen years the site is small and friendly site, owner and caretaker friendly and helpful.

Yes the toilets are basic but very clean I think that this is reflected on the cost of stay.

My daughter loves having the playground on site and the horses nearby also having the breathtaking scenery nearby.

We have seen a change of father to son and two other good caretaker couples.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019