Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Blackpool > Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays)
Mythorpe Road
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY4 4XN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 325
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 103 Reviews
                7/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DFMids 50 reviews from this member

 Terrible site! We have been motorhoming for ten years and this is by far the worst site we have ever been on.

Booked in the black Friday sale and the price was very low £53 for four nights but we could only manage two as it was so bad. No signage on arrival then the security guard didn't like it because we didn't stop.

Drove through the static vans to get to the touring area, nice greeting there but was told the toilet block was closed and porta cabins were in use.

Drove round four times trying to find a decent pitch but they are all so bad, roads are all pot holes and so flooded, concrete area on pitch very narrow and uneven, rough gravel area to step out onto or use for awning, all grass areas were muddy.

Lots of rubbish around the site which was never cleaned up. Talking to a couple who needed to use the disabled facilities, only one available and for two days the toilet was blocked it was reported on the first day but nothing was done.

We were asked to go back and tell them which pitch we were on which was unmarked so we had to check the site plan, when I went back after setting up the office was locked so we never got to tell them.

We left after the second night as it was so bad. Will never return 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mickproc1 13 reviews from this member

 For visiting Blackpool the site is ideal with a regular bus from the site entrance to the centre of Blackpool and the pleasure beach.

It is a typical Haven family resort, so it is not somewhere to go for peace and quiet.

The facilities block is dire, one shower out of 4 and 3 toilets out of 6 working in the ladies, the gents was not much better, also the pitches in poor condition.

Good value if you have your own facilities, and you can get it for the £10-£15/night that we paid, otherwise avoid. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as a base for visiting various places around the North West.

We used the bar a couple of times, being a typical Haven site, it was overpriced and the food/service wasn't great.

The touring pitches were ok but the showers in the toilet block were either hot or cold and were those ones you have to press the button every 10 secs or so, the toilets were clean though.

Laundry was 7. 50 a machine/dryer.

Our biggest problem was with some of the numerous travellers who use the site.

I have no issue if they follow the same rules as everyone else but the ones we had around us had their own rules.

Urinating in the bushes between pitches, rubbish left outside doors, kids and adults shouting until the wee small hours. When we got woken at 730 with a football being kicked off the van, the dogs abuse we got from their feral kids for having a moan at them was disgusting.

If we want to enjoy the company of travellers again, we will be sure to book this site, otherwise, we will avoid like the plague. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliedud 1 review from this member

 Fabulous campsite close to Blackpool pleasure beach.

Amazing facilities, something for everyone.

Great entertainment for the kids and the oldies which was amazing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Daz147 4 reviews from this member

 We go to Blackpool every year for a short break and to enjoy a cracking night out in the town. I know its not everyone's cup of tea but the site is ideal for what we need.

Firstly, if you book early and out of season the site is cheap. We paid £21 per night for a fully serviced pitch.

These were euro pitches (whatever that means) and were tidy, level and had more than enough space for the unit and awning with a place to sit out on grass. The toilets and showers were very clean and tidy.

The only down side is that there only seemed to be one Elsen point. The site is easy to find, not far off the M55 motorway and close enough fir a £10 taxi ride to town although buses ran to and from the main gate.

We didn't use the main facilities as its not our bag but did have a meal in the restaurant.

The food was reasonable and not over priced but the service was shockingly bad.

We popped our heads into the show bar and there was a reasonable sounding Meatloaf tribute playing. Had we not had several nice bottles of red waiting for us at the van we may have stayed for a drink.

Haven sites often get a bad name and they are usually well deserved however this site is great as long as you know what your going to and don't expect a tranquil site with flower displays.

Another big draw for us was the Mere nature park, some fantastic walks all the way to the Zoo and Stanley park which really is worth a visit. We've already booked for next year. £69 for 3 nights. Winner winner chicken dinner.

Low star rating reflects the restaurant and not the overall site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carryoncampingclair 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, it has everything you need to enjoy your stay.

It's a stone's throw away from Blackpool but in a nice peaceful spot.

It has some great countryside walks with your pooches 🐕🐕

Highly recommend that you visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Daves mate 23 reviews from this member

 I wouldn't normally pick a Haven site but as this trip was all about some pre start of school fun for my 2 daughters and 1 of their friends it did tick all of our boxes, on paper.

We arrived at about lunchtime on the bank holiday Monday, smack bang in the middle of the park's check in/out time! It was a bit of a squeeze getting in through the narrow gate with traffic backed up in both directions but we made it unscathed and were directed by security to the tourers area.

We were then greeted by the touring warden and told what was where and what we could and couldn't do. One thing she shared with us was the bizzare rule that under 18's had to be escorted to/from the toilet block! Really? I'm away with 2 teenagers and a 10 year old and every time one of them wants to use the facilities I've got to go with them? Sorry, that's not happening!

We were asked to choose any available pitch in our section. There are 2 types of pitch here, I forget what Haven refer to them as but it's pretty much basic and premium. All pitches have hardstanding, ehu, tap and waste so you can choose to go fully mains or not.

From what I could gather the premium pitches come with a tv antenna socket and hedges between them. That said they do seem to be better looked after than the basic pitches. Others have written about the litter, suffice to say it would seem to be less of an issue if you're willing to pay a higher pitch fee. The basic pitches, although perfectly serviceable, just seem to be a little uncared for.

THE toilet/shower block was a little basic but had all you need. The timber floor felt a little spongy to me around the showers, which were of the push button variety, if you can get it to work for more than 15 seconds per push you're a better man than me. It gave me the feeling that it had been built as a temporary block about 20 years ago that nobody got round to replacing. That might be just me though.

The main centre complex here does what it does very well. There's an indoor pool with a space bowl slide and an outdoor lazy river and large bubble pool/hot tub type thing. It's all really good but shuts around midday for 'paid for' activities. The arcade is great and we spent a fair bit of time both there and in the pool.

There's a cafe/bar with outdoor seating overlooking the lazy river and in a sperate area there's the showbar for evening entertainment. Haven do all this stuff well but it just feels a bit like everything is designed to part you from your hard earned cash and it can feel a little overwhelming.

Don't get me wrong, I understand that parks like this need to take advantage of alternative cashstreams after the initial pitch fees are paid and Haven are very adept at this, it can be done with a little more subtlety though. We enjoyed the pool complex, the arcade and the showbar but didn't use the cafe bar. We did get food from the fish and chip shop, a little on the pricey side but decent quality.

There's a bus service from the park to the seafront at Blackpool. Very handy for day trips but if you want a night out on the town you'll need to get a taxi back.

All in all the place served it's purpose for our trip, although I think the touring area needs some tlc. I'm not really a Haven fan to be fair and this trip has done nothing to change that.

We'll return to Blackpool one day and will very probably stay at Marton Mere again when we do. It's definitely not in my top ten holiday parks though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keencamper5711 6 reviews from this member

 We liked that this site is situated next to a nature reserve. We cycled around the Mere to the nearby Stanley Park which has a good cafe.

We also liked the bus service from the site into Blackpool- unfortunately it didnít run in the evenings/night. Regrettably we were disappointed with the site.

Our pitch poor and lots of rubbish in the hedge bottom behind our pitch. On request this was cleared but this needs to be done regularly as obviously not everyone leaves the site as they would wish to find it!

We didnít use the restaurant or bar as prices a bit steep. Canít think we would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Celtic john 1 review from this member

 I visited martin mere on the 26th july for 9 days. On arrival I was shocked all the pitches were empty, only two people on the euro pitches.

I booked a super pitch which cost me £410. The euro pitch they wanted £700, no wonder all the pitches were empty.

I think haven should think about lowering touring pitch prices, may get more people going.

There is nothing wrong with site. Good holiday place to go. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winky9557 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 13 nights. I picked a euro pitch as I like to watch tv. When I got there I thought they would hire or sell tv cable no such luck.

So I went and bought one. When I plugged it in it didn't work. Reported this, a guy came and put on a new cable said that was it, no it wasn't.

A couple of days later another guy appeared said it was a fault at aerial output and would need to get someone in 8 days before it was fixed.

Showers were far too warm my wife and I couldn't go in them, reported this and was told they were within guide line temp. The entertainment was terrible so stopped going there.

The kids play park for touring area was disappointing only one swing and not much else.

Would I go there again no chance, even my 8 year old granddaughter said she wouldn't want to go back. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Marton Mere Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12237 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement