Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Southport > Riverside Holiday Park Reviews

Riverside Holiday Park
Southport New Road
Banks
Southport
Merseyside   (Browse area)
PR9 8DF
Tel: 01704 228886
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300
Open: 14/02/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 158 Reviews
                6/10 from 158 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  158 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Newallgreen 1 review from this member

 Really lovely site

Very friendly and lots of social distancing, check temperature and take your name and phone number when entering club.

Would highly recommend

Bus into Southport straight outside entrance (X12) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1608theowens 8 reviews from this member

 This is a site you can neither Love or Hate. We visited the site for a 3 night stay and went to recpetion and received our pack and directed to our pitch. I had booked a superior pitch at 30. 00 a night. , disappointingly the pitch was far from superior. An unkempt gravel pitch with a hook up and water point, no drainage facility for grey waste. For a site of this size there is one very tired in desperate need of upgrade shower block, male toilets some had no seats and needed cleaning. Showers had no dry changing space within the cubicle or shower curtains they showers however despite the problems were very good.

The elsan point is a toilet fenced in and no sluicing hose so you can rinse out your cassette out.

The park itself is huge and mainly designed for statics and well maintained and in perfect condition, there is a large play and entertainment area away from the accommodation. The bar is pricey and only at present only taking card payments. Staff cheerful enough.

Despite what I have mentioned we had a nice quiet stay and to Harrison Leisures credit placing the play area away from the accommodation and pitches hardly any noise.

Resort of Southport 10 minute drive and Liverpool 30 minutes.

Personally we will not be returning to Riverside as the park is really catered for young families who can let the kiddies run around safely and unless some pride is put back into the touring pitches it is not worth the 30. 00 per night. If I was Harrison's Leisure I would make the site all static as this is were it appears the money is being spent as sadly we felt a poor and forgotten relation. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Didydave 3 reviews from this member

 Granny and granddad with the little fella. great park for kids. lots of work going on. Looks like a lot of money being spent on statics, hope that overflows to touring pitches, which are very tight if no mover fitted. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Windingdown 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed 5 nights at this site in our Motorhome end of January. Number plate recognition Security barriers were being installed together with sleeping policeman. The website said the pool was closed until March but apparently it was open. A new children's playground was nearing completion. We didn't use the clubhouse so unable to comment.

Our pitch was hard standing with hookup and water but no grey water drain. Only 2 other MHs on touring site and a few caravans. More MHs arrived at the weekend. This is a large, mainly static site and is undergoing major construction work to put down more hardstandings for the statics so the road to the touring pitches and toilets etc was quite muddy. Despite heavy construction vehicles there was not much noise. The ladies toilet block needed a key to gain entry, which we were not informed about and the notice said a 20 deposit was needed. However when we went to reception we were given a key and just asked to return it on departure. The showers/toilet facilities were very clean if a little tired. We could not find a dedicated MH grey water disposal grate despite asking at reception but we were informed by a resident that MHs had used the grate in the middle of the old site entrance road behind the clubhouse.

The site has a bus stop at the entrance which goes to Liverpool, 90 minutes journey via Southport, 15 minutes and runs about every 30 minutes. Birkdale Village, which is next to Southport, was also worth staying on the bus for as it had some nice independent shops. From the site you could also cross the dual carriageway and catch the bus to Preston.

We would recommend a couple of places to eat. In Southport we had lunch twice at the Nostalgia cafe on Lord Street. We also ate twice at the Legh Arms in Mere Brow which is a 25 minute walk from the site. The walk is on a wide path/cycle route along the dual carriageway towards Preston.

We enjoyed our stay and if wanting to visit the area again would use this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wind rush 2 reviews from this member

 This is a basic site. Not very well managed site. They select you a pitch to find someone else is on it, then becomes a free for all. Pitch up where you want not very well organized. The toilet and showers are not the best but not the worst I've seen either.

But after all it's not a bad site, still enjoyed our stay.

Two star site I'm my opinion. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynles 20 reviews from this member

 Well somebody must have read the past reviews for this site as they have been throwing a lot of money at it. We haven`t been for a few years, my review was as scathing as most of the others, plus they still do not accept tents which was our unit until recently. Biggest gripe is the constant power failures in the evening around various parts of the camp. The security guard blamed the national grid, but one of the bar staff said it was demand when everybody was getting ready to go out at the same time eg. Hairdryers, straighteners, televisions etc. The site must be double what it was since we were last there, all on electric. The club is due to be rebuilt and is closed but the bar is still open. I didn`t notice the arcade so that must have gone for now too. The grass pitches need the drainage sorting, a few of us got stuck towing off. Thankfully the Ford Transit caravan club don`t seem to be welcome any more. Would go back as they are trying to improve and it is work in progress.

Les 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gruffster 1 review from this member

 A warm welcome from staff at the site office with useful information pack. We were staying here for Southport Air Show so didn't make use of the on-site shop or club. Secure barrier entry system with Reg No recognition was good (better than remembering codes) and the approach to the main site was well lit and good roads. Some extra signs directing to the various pitch nos / zones would be helpful We booked a superior pitch. Apart from parking on chippings and having a cold tap next to the EHU, it was difficult to see the benefit of upgrading from a standard pitch. The pitches gave a feeling of being 'hemmed in' though this is probably because we normally stay on CLs. Our main bug-bear however was the general state of the toilet facilities nearest to our pitch. Four toilets, two of these locked out of service, one blocked and the other not very nice. No hot water (signs up to advise this but looked like they had been there quite a while). Toilet paper and water on the floor is not the sites fault; some dirty campers around, but no signs of regular checks either. Upon leaving, the ELSAN point was surrounded by spillage from toilet cassettes - again the users not the sites fault but this needs looking at. In summary, a nice area, convenient for Southport & nice welcome but some policing improvements needed. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kaz DORAN 1 review from this member

 Reception staff were very professional but also friendly and offered any help we may have wanted. Wounderful caravan, home from home. Extremely clean and tidy. The clubhouse was great with pretty good entertainment and the bar staff were wonderful and friendly. Drinks were fairly priced. The shop needs a bit of an upgrade and a more friendly face but wasn't really a problem as we took all our own shopping. Southport town centre was easily accessible by both car and bus (stop right outside the camp). Swimming pool looked good but we didn't use the toilet block or playground as we had no children with us. The campsite was clean and tidy and year round residents were very friendly. All in all a fab weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dac230 1 review from this member

 Great welcome, clean toilet and shower block, good public transport into Southport. Great entertainment and bar in the evening. Will be staying again. 


Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobsbabes 15 reviews from this member

 This was our third new year at Riverside and the first one to disappoint :( Elsan point was blocked and over flowed ( due to freezing weather and people still using it despite it being full ??? why ?surely if its so blocked its better to take inside and empty down the loo ??) warden when made aware quickly cleared it.

Lots of road works going on and the heavy diggers etc have to go past the caravans at an early hour ( I'm on holiday 8am is too early) this wouldn't be so bad if they didn't make the caravan rock ( not just ours we checked several times to ensure the legs were fully down)

We went mainly for the New years entertainment and the bar. The bar we were informed would be shut on the 29th ( my birthday !)and 30th surely the busiest 2 days for people arriving ? ( 20 to 30 units arrived on those 2 days ) I assume it was closed due to being a Monday and Tuesday ?. The lovely lady that runs the bar managed to organised it so she was allowed to open on these days but such bad planning. ( we made other arrangements as they knocked on caravans to inform people they would be opening)

If you had booked on site and not pre purchased your New Year tickets then you would luck out as they had sold all tickets but not offered them to tourers that booked ( I had checked in advance but some hadn't )

Bar was very cold as the only heating they had was a big gas industrial space heater which was not giving out enough heat to heat the room.

Entertainment (singer)was disappointing no get up and go to get us up and going. Nice buffet.

Shop closed as was the arcade and cafe. All in all a disappointment.

Very doubtful if we will return.

Childrens play areas are lovely. 


Previous     158 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Riverside Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement