Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stanmore Hall Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Stanmore Hall Touring Park Reviews

Stanmore Hall Touring Park
Stourbridge Road
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV15 6DT
Tel: 01746 761761
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SAMMEEE 3 reviews from this member

Visited during the winter- there had been some rain but hardly torrential.

The wardens located us on a pitch which was the furthest possible from the facilities meaning that I had to use the car to use the shower and loo. The remainder of the site was empty!

When we asked the wardens why we, and all the other units had been allocated pitches so far away from the facilities they said 'it was to avoid the road noise'.

The road outside the campsite was busy during the day but really quiet at night.

I suspect that the real reason was that they were using the good old caravan club rationale of 'protecting the campsite first' as the area where we were placed on was the highest part of the site and thus drained the best.

Shame they don't put their customers first!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site, toilets and showers aplenty and all clean. Shop on site sells lots of camping accessories. A lovely lake with ducks and moor hens dominates the centre of the site. Pitches are well spaced and roomy. However, as with other Morris Leisure sites the toilets/showers are accessed using a key, one between two is not enough so I was given one for each of us after asking for a 2nd key and it can be a problem if you set off to the shower block early morning and discover you've forgotten to bring the key, it's a fair walk back to get it! Morris Leisure sites are more expensive than all other sites we've visited.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 22 reviews from this member

An attractive, clean, well maintained site with good (heated) facilities and shop. Road noise quite persistent near road- suggest going nearer to the lake. Short, convenient bus ride into Bridgenorth. Good value for money (CMC discount) but wifi a bit expensive.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dening515 1 review from this member

Check which pitch you're allocated. We have just returned from a 2 night weekend break at Stanmore Hall and unfortunately due to the location of our pitch it was not a enjoyable stay. The site in general is well maintained and facilities spotless but if you are thinking of going please check where you are staying as we were on a hard standing pitch right next to a busy main road and the noise was awful.

It is mainly some of the hard standing pitches effected but there were a couple of grass pitches located near the road.

I do think the site should make you aware of this issue when booking as it is a very noisy issue and totally spoilt the weekend, however I do feel if you are located around the main field it would be a different experience.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 158 reviews from this member

This is a very attractive, well-maintained site with a variety of pitches - grass, hard-standing, fully serviced, and adults only. At the centre of the site is a lovely lake with water lilies and an entertaining population of ducks and moorhens, who come pecking round the grassy areas and appreciate titbits (we always carry a box of duck food in the car. ) The resident peacock is also very friendly - the peahen and her chick were more wary!

We opted for a grass pitch, and were glad we did because they seemed more spacious and less regimented than the hard standings. There's one area of hard standings which was just like a car park, with no greenery to relieve the expanse of gravel - but on the plus side, these pitches were closer to the toilet block. It was quite a hike from the far side of the lake, and quite dark at night - a torch is useful.

The reception staff are friendly, there's a well-stocked shop, and a very useful information room. We didn't use the laundry or washing-up rooms but they looked well-equipped.

There are some tall trees on site, including some lovely giant redwoods, but they can make TV reception difficult from some pitches. We also found phone reception was poor. Wifi is available but rather expensive.

There are numerous interesting places to visit in the surrounding area. We bought a 'passport' which gave entry to all 10 of the Irongorge museums, using one of the the 25% off vouchers in the information room. This was excellent value. We particularly enjoyed Blists Hill Victorian Town - you could spend a whole day there! There were lots of activities aimed at children, so the area would be great for families. We also visited 3 National Trust properties not far from the site. We thoroughly enjoyed the five days we spent at Stanmore Hall and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Les and Jenny 24 reviews from this member

Arrived at this lovely site to be greeted royally by the lady warden. Nothing was too much trouble and the next day, we went into Bridgnorth with one lady warden breaking off from her duties to find us bus timetables and directions. The pitches are wide and well separated allowing wide spaces between units. Pitch surface is a coarse gravel which doesn't tend to lodge in your shoes only to be brought in to the 'van. The site vista is one of rustic charm with the lake dominating the scene. A lounge, overlooking the lake, is provided for the guests to watch the wildlife in comfortable surroundings. The shop is stocked with every requisite for the caravanner and is as beautifully kept as the rest of this site. We'll certainly visit again when in the locality.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dollchickgb 19 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site! We visited Stanmore after someone recommended it to us. It didn't disappoint at all. The scenery is lovely, the site is immaculate, the toilet/shower facilities are spotless and the staff are friendly & helpful. Need we say more? The pitches are more than big enough for the caravan, awning and car. In fact, everyone we spoke to on the site raved about it and said they'd either been before or will definitely be returning. It's a well-kept, tranquil site, not far from Bridgnorth itself (which is lovely). Well worth a visit. We will be back for sure!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daizee554 14 reviews from this member

Lovely Caravan park.

Good security with barriers into the park.

We stayed on a fully serviced pitch which had plenty of room for a full awning plus car.

Nice play area, plus a area for football.

This park has a beautiful lake in the middle with ducks and resident pecocks who love a fuss from the children.

Laundry room is clean and tidy.

Didn't use the shower rooms so I cant comment.

Overall we loved this site and stayed an extra night.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Liamandkatie 7 reviews from this member

EXCELLENT! We turned up here after leaving another site, we hadn't booked but they had room for us. Well sign posted. The prices aren't cheap but we were given a discount! (but worth every penny!) We were given a map to show us where to pitch and where the facilities were. A man showed us where to pitch and how he wanted us. Great customer service! The site was very well maintained, they had cut the grass and picked it up, no nasty grass cuttings in the awning! Toilets were very clean, lots of loos and enclosed cubicles for washing. Close to Bridgnorth for shops, pubs, etc. Close to a country park to walk the dog, very pleasant and a lovely night spent here! Would recommend to anyone!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the Spring Bank holiday, and not having booked were very lucky to get a superb grass pitch in the adult section overlooking the lake. (We had in fact booked into a CL a few hundred metres away, but were disappointed with this so did a quick flit!) Staff were great, helping us find a local mobile caravan engineer even though the office had closed. We were glad to have the grass pitch because a lot of the hardstanding ones looked quite cramped, especially as the site was busy. Despite being busy, the toilet block was always clean, though my wife had to queue for a shower late one evening. Road noise was not a problem though the resident peacock certainly was! Pitch fees are quite high, especially if you have an awning kids and dog. (We don't!)

During our stay we visited the Iron Bridge gorge, but were a bit disappointed at the Iron Museum. It was expensive, not very imaginative and several of the 'interactive' models didn't work. If you want to do all the museums, there are 25% discount vouchers at the site reception. We also visited a couple of nearby NT properties - Dudmaston was the more interesting, but opening hours are limited. Our best trip out was undoubtedly to Cosford RAF museum. We spent over 7 hours there and still didn't see everything - and it's free!

By the way, the B4364 between Ludlow and Bridgnorth is an unpleasant road to tow a caravan along!

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019