Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park Reviews

Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Fenny Bentley
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1LE
Tel: 01335 350228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 76 Reviews
                7/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigglesworth 1 review from this member

 Three elements of our family visited in 3 touring caravans all for 3 nights. One retired couple, and family's in the other two.

Location is fine, it's a beautiful area, and the children's play/ activity area is great. Staff were in short supply and not especially helpful.

However none of us were happy with prices, especially when we saw the facilities. No food prep sinks/area, incredibly few toilets for the amount of visitors, and smelly by mid afternoon. Also few showers. All facilities are very few tired and dated.

The approach road is badly potholed and needs attention, there was no one at the gate to show us where to go when we arrived, (but there was the following day) so you end up abandoning your unit whilst trying to find Reception, the final bit of the single track approach road had extremely muddy verges so two vehicle can't pass without the potential for getting stuck when its wet.

We had booked direct and were told we had to pay the whole amount 10 weeks before we went We told the booking agent (?) we thought that was out of order and would not.

We had to call a number of times and were often referred to the Overspill line, and sometimes did not get any response whatsoever. We felt the booking line was very inconsistent.

Overall a disappointing trip and at a high price. We will not be going again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynda1993 1 review from this member

 Liked: Facilities were clean and tidy.

Staff were helpful.

Children's park was great and spacious.

Useful and reasonable priced shop on site.

Disliked: Nothing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Outwellcamper 8 reviews from this member

 This small site set in beautiful surroundings boasts awesome views and epic sunrises.

Although the same couldn't be said for the touring pitches.

On green acres the pitches contours resembled the north sea and with only one working toilet and one shower in both the male and female block located near the area for over 20 pitches wasn't ideal.

Couple this with the loud party thrown in the adjacent communal rally area for owners of the distant static caravans which seem to be the bias of the site.

Maybe I dropped on a bad weekend but I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone with young families if this is the norm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Threepints 1 review from this member

 We camped here for three nights in July. The camping field consists of one field and has 50-55 pitches. Whilst we were here there were only a maximum of 8 tents at anyone time and that was fine.

The toilet and shower block is very near but only has (gents) five showers and five toilets. If the field was at maximum capacity I think you'd have a long wait!

The field itself could do with marking out. Apart from the outer pitches which have a stone with a number painted on to signify pitch number there was absolutely nothing to signify where the boundaries of any pitch were. I can't help feeling that in high season when at maximum capacity the site would be akin to a festival site with guy ropes over lapping each other and a free for all if you have a pitch that's not on the perimeter.

Overall the reception staff were helpful and friendly. Although I did pop to the shop for gaffer tape and the member of staff was on the phone to a supplier. I only waited about 3-4 minutes but during that time she never even looked to acknowledge that I was there, despite standing directly in front of her. Then when she did finish the call and serve me, it was as if I was an inconvenience.

The site is very convenient for the Tissington Trail and there are several pubs within easy walking distance.

They have a rally room. However although we were told on booking in that it was open until 11pm, I popped to just have a look at it at around 1015pm and it was locked.

So, overall impression from me would be that whilst I have no major complaints they have a few things that need improving.

Would I stay here again? Probably not and I'd most definitely not stay at the height of season and I think the field and facilities are way to small if at maximum capacity. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eldraco 3 reviews from this member

 Courteous staff on arrival who showed us to our pitch. Usual literature given.

Spacious pitch on the Greenacres field next to the children's play area.

My little one is nearly two and just started walking about on his own so there wasn't that much for him to do as a toddler but this isnt a criticism as there was plenty for the older kids to do, whether on the park, on the football field at the top of the site, in the woods below the site, high peaks trail on the entrance to the site.

Was impressed with the neatness of the site, the spacing of pitches on Greenacres. No problem with the hook up.

As I like space round me, I would use any of Greenacres, Dale View or The Avenue pitches that's not saying any of the others are bad.

There's a tent field too.

Good dog walking nearby from the site.

Usual attractions nearby and various local pubs.

Didn't use the showers but they looked clean and toilet blocks were also.

There is also a communal room on site and a pool which is hired out in blocks (didn't use) there is a on site shop and launderette though I didn't use these.

Overall I rated the site and are returning later in the year, cant think of anything that I didn't like and enjoyed the stay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah+Simon 6 reviews from this member

 There's potential but management need to catch on.

Arrived Thursday of half term at just gone 5 to find the office shut. The wardens mobile phone kept going through to answer machine. Eventually got pitched - between the playground and the rally room.

Playground was noisy until 10. 30 on two nights and 11 on our final night. No response from wardens. Park quiet time was displayed as 9. 30! We didn't stay a fourth night as planned as we were too exhausted. The rally room was definitely being used more as a club house than a quiet respite space.

The pool is very deep and has high sides-so not ideal for new/non swimmers. It's crowded too.

The playground is lovely and the kids really played happily. The paths on site were lovely for new cyclists gaining confidence too.

The showers were fine, though there aren't enough hand basins-4 for a showerblock with 4 showers and 8 toilets.

Site staff were friendly.

It was great to be so close to the Tissington trail.

We left the site management a note on our early departure but didn't hear back from them, so we will definitely not be returning! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peachmould 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site, perfect for our needs and good value.

Our 9 year old son enjoyed the play park and the swimming pool was a big bonus. The rally room was another big plus, better than spending the evening in a small tent.

The location is good with direct access to the Tissington walking/cycling trail and a short walk to Dovedale, avoiding the crowds.

We will be back to this site, our favourite Derbyshire site. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ricardobald 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for 7 days with a caravan, lovely play area, rally room to watch TV and meet friends, cosy shop with plenty of goods.

Down sides NOT enough toilets or showers which were rarely cleaned, full bins, filthy cubicles even after wardens had been in to sign silly sheets which were probably done for the managers paperwork.

I took a shower and the extractor looked like it had been wrapped up in a fur blanket it was that clogged and filthy, grass was about 6 inches tall when we arrived and never got cut !

Poorly managed site with NOT enough money being spent on it, staff, grass cutters etc. Will Never visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisymayandco 3 reviews from this member

 We spent the weekend here with family, one caravan and one tent. Where we were placed was not particularly nice. We were placed on the side of the driveway into the site. It was constantly busy as you can imagine and not at all private or restful.

We found the facilities to be spotless but lacking in the amount available. This is a massive site but there are only 2 small blocks with 3/4 toilets in each and just one shower in one. On a site with over 200 pitches, half of which are camping, you would expect them to have a lot more toilets and showers available.

We have our own facilities and used them but having to queue for your shower was not pleasant and I can only imagine how bad it would be in the summer.

The site was kept very clean, the staff were very helpful and generous with their time when needed. I do find the prices charged quite high especially when there is a lack of facilities. I have to say had I realised there was a camping and caravan club site next door I would probably have booked there instead, it would certainly have been cheaper.

This is not a site for those of us looking for somewhere cheap. Great for children with the play area and great for those like us who want to walk the trail.

The dogs area was a small wooded area which was great but I don't agree with being charged for the dogs to stay. We wont visit again but that is our own personal opinion and feelings. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flojo619 1 review from this member

 Just got back from our first visit to this lovely campsite, there are more showers you just have to look on map.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The kids loved the playground and swimming pool, it felt safe to allow the children to come and go as their pleased to the playground.

No extra charge for showers or hot water for washing up. We will be going back. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement