Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ringstones Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > High Peak > Ringstones Caravan Park Reviews

Ringstones Caravan Park
Yeardsley Lane
Furness Vale
High Peak
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK23 7EB
Tel: 07795 226532  or  01663 732152
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 19
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the May spring bank holiday weekend, along with a couple of friends in their caravan. We chose the site based on its proximity to some walks we wanted to do in the area, and because it had a good pub within walking distance (the Soldier Dick in Furness Vale, which was very good).

The road up to the site is very bumpy and pot-holed and makes for an interesting last half mile! The site itself is a little shabby, but functional and the toilets were clean. The washing-up area was rather grotty though. The wardens were friendly and so were the chickens who came to look for crumbs!

If you're not particularly bothered about having manicured grass, pristine tarmac and swish looking facilities, this site is fine. For us the location outweighed the appearance, as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time on-site. However we'd probably try a different site next time as a site has to be pretty special to draw us back twice. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madglampers 1 review from this member

 I read the reviews before coming and was a little sceptical about staying here, but because we decided late on to go away for the Bank Holiday we didn't really have much choice in campsites.

That being said, my boyfriend and I have stayed all over Buxton in many many campsites in the last 18 months, some have been brimming with sparkling facilities and others have had the most glorious views but what Ringstones has we have never come across before, fantastic customer service. The site warden Mick was absolutely brilliant, he always had a smile on his face and he was just so helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble for him. He deserves a review of 10/10 just for him.

The pitch we had was in the electric hook-up section and not the camping field. It was flat, peaceful and perfect. The toilets/showers and washing up area were a bit of a treck but nothing we couldn't handle. There are cold water taps on the site within easy reach and free hairdryers in the toilets as well. Like other reviews have said they are very basic and there isn't much power to the water pressure but they do the job.

We drove to Edale, which isn't far had a walk around this beautiful village and then stopped at a lovely pub called the Old Nag's Head for a drink and a game of pool.

We also went for a bike ride down the lanes from the campsite and stopped at the social club at the bottom of the lane, . Everyone was very welcoming and friendly.

There is a Tesco nearby (car required) if you run out of anything or you want to stock up on booze and food for a cosy night around the camp fire.

It's not a site geared for children and there are no provisions for them.

We paid £37. 50 for a two night stay which I did think was quite steep considering the facilities.

I have never left a review before and didn't really know what to say, however the customer service we received here was second to none and totally deserved a mention.

Thanks Mick 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carman345 1 review from this member

 Had already booked this site before I read the last review. We were really worried by what the last person said and nearly didn't go. But I'm glad we did. The camping field is on a bit of a slope but there are lots of flatish areas to put up even a big tent like ours. If you choose to put your tent on a sloping bit, well that's up to you!

The toilets were nice and clean, and had free hairdryers! My wife was thrilled! The showers were a bit tired but clean and functional with plenty of hot water. The older toilet block had just been refurbished and was lovely inside with a cubicle for privacy if you wanted a strip wash instead of a shower. Maureen, (the site owner) was pleasant and helpful and said she was upgrading the showers for next year. It's not a great big site and its fairly obvious where the toilets are, because you can see them as you go into the camping field but I suppose a couple of signs would be useful.

The road in is a bit bumpy in places but it's mostly tarmac so not too bad. Our small car was was loaded to the gunnels with 2 adults, 2 kids and all the camping gear but coped very well with the road! But it's worth it because when you get there, the views are second to none and because it's a dead end, the only traffic you meet is what is going to the site.

There was a nice relaxed atmosphere about the place which seemed to affect the kids - never seen them have so much fun without their gadgets etc. The lack of a play area didn't bother them at all. There was plenty of room in the field for them to run around and make their own fun.

All in all, a lovely peaceful country site with fantastic views. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MeOverHere 2 reviews from this member

 Found the site ok, as previously described the tent pitching area is on a slope, this is an understatement, it's a HILL, not at all suitable for tents. No signs for the toilet block at the very bottom of the steep hill amongst the resident static caravans.

The previous reviews described it as being quiet but while we were there someone appeared to be working a chainsaw constantly and then there was the distant hum of traffic from a distant major road. We managed to get a spot at the top of the hill which had a slight flatter area.

The newer toilet block appeared clean enough but the older showers in what looked liked old stables did not look appealing one bit, did not use this facility choosing to strip wash in our tent instead. Unfortunately the other off putting thing was the stench from the septic tank for the toilet waste.

We didn't have a brilliant experience, everywhere looked tired which is a shame cos the couple that greeted us were pleasant folk. Won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dee_101_42 4 reviews from this member

 This site is way off the beaten track it is a lovely site BUT when camping in the tent field boy is it a slope we all slipped down over night had to move up a couple of times in the night.

The toilets are not signposted had to ask someone in the static caravans and the loo's, washing up area and showers were the far end from the field they are a good walk.

The loo's were clean, showers were tired, plenty of hot water.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheryldm 1 review from this member

 We went to this site, there was quite a large group and we did book it. We were approx 8 families and we had a great time. Really friendly and although not always necessary there were showers. Both toilets and shower were clean and the kids loved it! We all had a nice time. We respected the country side and the other people camping, and so did everyone else there. Thank you 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam sharman-dunn 1 review from this member

 We loved this site!

A very quiet site, up an extremely bumpy lane. The tent field was on a bit of a slope but was not too much of a problem. The worry of getting the car stuck in the muddy field only heightened the sense of excitement!

There are unique, higgeldy piggeldy static caravans to wander through on your way to the basic toilet block, along with very friendly residents.

Loads to see and do in the surrounding area. We happily stumbled across a beer festival at the Dog and Partridge pub in Whaley Bridge, where the food they served was superb.

Our young children didn't care at all about the lack of a play area etc.

We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazburns 1 review from this member

 OK, my first ever review for ukcampsite!

Used to go camping with OH before we had kids, but never since.

Until. Found ace site that you could HIRE a tent from, so thought we'd have a go at family camping. 3 kids now aged 8, 5 and 3

Hired a Vango Nile 800 - MONSTER tent with 4 bedrooms!

Decided to go to a campsite close to home, so could 'abandon ship' if it was a disaster. Live in South Manchester. First choice campsite was Hayfield, but with kids hols it was chocca. Closest to home is Elm Beds at Higher Poynton - we stuck our noses in and could probably have squeezed on, but it was a bit crowded for our liking. (might try it on another occasion though) So. Next closest was Ringstones at Furness Vale.

No site office, just ring site owner (Maureen) on number on noticeboard and get go-ahead (tbh I'm sure you could just pitch up without even phoning)

Seemed to be mostly static caravans: don't remember seeing any tourers/motorhomes (I wouldn't fancy towing a caravan up the steep/narrow/bumpy road to the site)

Small flat area for pitching tents next to main access road - room for about 4 small tents or 2 family ones - didn't look very appealing spot to us, lut, Large (sloping) field for tents at back of site - HURRAH!

The field was completely EMPTY when we arrived at 6pm-ish on Friday evening, so we chose a slightly flatter bit near the top of the field, with awesome views over the valley to Chinley Churn.

Spent ages putting the tent up (but were in no hurry)

Grass was a bit on the long side, which was no problem other than the fact that it was wet from a recent shower and we hadn't brought wellies (newbie mistake!) so our shoes/trouser-bottoms got soaked (after the grass dried out in the sunshine the following day, our 2 lads had a great time crawling around in it playing soldiers)

Couple of other parties arrived just before dark

Toilet/showers/washing-up were down at the bottom of the site, so a short walk down/up hill each time (but good exercise, and we weren't in a hurry) They were clean enough, functional enough and plenty of hot water, so no complaints there.

The folks in the statics were all very friendly/helpful.

The kids got a bit bored (there is no kiddies play-area), but when camping in anger we would probably go off-site more anyway

As it was, we just slobbed around for 2 days relaxing and staring at the scenery :o)

It's a great area for walking - although we prefer running - and I did a great 2 hour jog through the hills over to Lyme Park and back

Although it's not far to walk back down to Furness Vale, there's not much there - mostly pubs and take-aways

Best bet for shops is Whaley Bridge which is 10mins by car

Someone told us about a path from the site that leads straight down to Whaley Bridge - maybe we'll try that next time!

Maureen came round in the morning to collect money (£5/adult+£2.50/child over 5/night, so £15/night for us) - very friendly/helpful/relaxed.

One other party came onto the field on the Saturday (and the flat/manicured pitching area filled up), making a grand total of 4 tents on big field on a weekend in school hols - result!

Overall, a surprisingly nice site within 30min drive from our house, that we never even knew existed before!

Would definitely go back for a relaxing weekend, and actually not a bad base for a week exploring this corner of the Peak District.

Oh, and we're now going to BUY a Nile 800 and a trailer! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thecamper2008 1 review from this member

 This was the first time we've been camping and with us not having a clue about camping we thought we'd try somewhere close to home as we live in Manchester.

It was really windy and let me tell you, it wasn't easy erecting a 8 man tent, lol.

Anyway, back to the review .

Ringstones Caravan Park is set in lovely countryside just of the A6 on the way upto Buxton with excellent rail connections and the station being close.

The road upto the site is VERY bumpy and full of potholes, no problem for a car and tent but I could imagine trying to get up it towing a caravan and it wouldn't be much fun !

We decided to go camping on a Bank Holiday Sunday for one night and made the mistake of not booking in advance (i did tell you we hadn't been camping before). After ringing 3 sites prior to Ringstones we were starting to get dis-heartened and then delighted when we found out Ringstones had room for us.

There is no site office, when I rang to check if there was room for our tent the lady just said, turn up, pitch your tent, get yourselves comfy and we'll pop around and see you later on, which she did, the fees where as follows :

£5 p/adult, £2.50 5yrs - 14yrs, under 5's free

The staff were very friendly, pretty much left us to our own devises and came around in the morning on a rather funky quad to collect our refuse.

The field where the tents are is on a slope and the grass was very long and in desperate need of a cut. Being amateur campers this was quite hard to deal with but we managed.

The site has 2 male, 2 female toilets and 3 showers. All clean, with hot water and useable.

To the side of the toilet block there is a sheltered area for the washing up to be done.

There is NO childs play area, the site could be marked out a little better, i.E. Signs etc and the site can generally be improved in a number of ways.

If your after a basic site for a quite quick getaway from reality then this is the one for you.

If I was to give this site a mark out of 10 it would be a 7. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tony Waight 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we've stayed at this site. After the first time in the Spring of 2006, we were determined to come back.
Lovely peaceful and friendly site with good clean toilets and free showers. Arrival without booking was a bit confusing, but a quick 'phone call to the number on the notice board by the entrance, and we were in! The local pubs are really friendly, there's the Soldier in the main high street and the Crossings by the station. Both pubs offer a full menu and the prices are reasonable. Good rail links to Manchester, Sheffield and the Dales make this one of our favourite† campsites in Britain. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ringstones Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ringstones Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ringstones Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near High Peak      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement