Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Edale > Highfield Farm Camp Site Reviews

Highfield Farm Camp Site
Nr Upper Booth
Hope Valley
Edale
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZJ
Tel: 01433 670245
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 24
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

What a lovely little working farm site.

There are two fields, a school group was in the lower field during my stay so I was advised to use the upper field if I wanted a little peace. They weren't actually that bad at all :)

If you pitch beyond the fenced off hazard in the upper field you have phone signal (at least on EE) which you will not be able to get lower down into the site/valley. Alternatively, you can pitch more centrally, close to the exceptional toilet and shower black and just wander up the hill if you desperately need to re-connect to the world (but why would you, it's so peaceful here)

I followed the signs to the booking in door and was happily greeted with a warm welcome on a cold day. £6 cash for the pitch was more than fair and they have a charging point in the shower room with a 3 pin plug socket. It's 20p into the box for around 30 mins of juice which is just enough to give your devices a boost or plug in your shaver/hairdryer etc. For use.

Lovely little site which is quite basic in terms of overall facilities on first impression but with an exceptional central toilet and wash up area in a sheltered dry stone wall surround.

If you want electricity and all the mod cons, this site isn't for you. If you are walking the pennine way I highly recommend walking out of Edale in the evening and enjoying your first night here in readiness for the nearby Jacobs ladder in the morning :)

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ness117 1 review from this member

Highfield farm is about as close as you can legally get to wild camping in the peak district. If you want total peace, rolling hills, and don't mind camping with a few dozen sheep, this is for you. I visited on a Tuesday for 2 nights in mid July and I was the only camper there. The site consists of an open field, on which you can camp where you want and park next to your tent too if you wish. There is one (very old) toilet next to the farm house, but it's nothing that would put me off, at least it flushes! No loo roll or lights though- take your own. The owner told me there is usually a tap too, but due to the warm weather the only water available was bottled, which was fine as I'd brought plenty of my own. The ground was lovely and soft despite the drought like conditions so I had no trouble pitching my tent. I was charged £4 a night for me and my car. There are loads of amazing walks to do straight from the site, and a good pub within walking distance.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich1975 1 review from this member

Have stayed here the past 5yrs & I love it! Basic for sure but what more do you need for a few days in the hills. It does now have a tap for drinking water so you don't have to bring your own but I never found that a problem, just make sure you bring toilet roll and a torch for the toilet trip. The pubs are just down the round so depending on where you finish your walk you can still trundle a mile or so later on for a well earned drink. The views are beautiful and last year was the busiest by far but it was the royal wedding weekend. If your after some kind of luxury go elsewhere but if you enjoy great views quiet camp and as close to wild camping as you can get next to your car try highfield farm it's great! Currently planning the first of this years trips to highfield and taking the wife this time!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitch96 1 review from this member

Very good campsite in general, friendly enough owner, Very windy as quite exposed. Very good ice cream shop close, and good walks all around!

Toilet is very basic and would put me off returning unless they renovate it. It's falling down and rather an ordeal to use, and I'm not exactly fussy.

Stayed with my girlfriend and even though we were quite young (15) no one was judgemental which I enjoyed. Had a bbq there which was very enjoyable.

Worth a visit yes, although if you are looking for a luxury get away this is not for you.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lescargo 5 reviews from this member

This is a basic campsite,as described in other reviews and has a tap and a toilet.

What makes up for that is the fantastic views from the field!

We were there during lambing season and the farmer was out working hard all day on the fields surrounding, he even brought a new born to show us whilst he was taking it back to the farm.

We booked on for 2 nights fri-sat and ended up staying an extra night, Sunday where we had the entire site to ourselves.

Will stay again for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alard 1 review from this member

Where do I start?

Never camped before but thought we'd give it a try-after all millions do it.

Anyhow,bought the tent and headed for the hills.

I knew from the other reviews that this was a basic site so wasn't expecting the Savoy and sure enough it wasn't. What it was though was a field of sheep and lambs, broken farm machinery, one toilet and one cold water tap, not sink, tap! and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.

The scenery we experienced was spectacular.I say experienced because when you stay on this site you become part of it.

Who needs to shower if you're only staying a couple of days?

We can't wait to get back there and if you really don't mind getting back to how nature intended us to live, I would urge you to do the same .Just pack a deodorant and enjoy.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 23 reviews from this member

I visited that last weekend of September and had a great stay!

Finding it: it is on the map as Highfield Farm, which does help. If you don't map read, this place is not going to be the site for you! Leave the Edale-Mam Nick road where it's signposted for Upper Booth, under the railway, past the walker's car park, and as you come to a right angle right hand bend, you'll see Highfield Farm in front of you where the gated track is. There's the sign that says 'camping by permission only' to help you.

The track up to the farmhouse is a little bumpy but not impassable; you have the option of going up the grass parallel to the track if you think your vehicle will bottom out.

Knock on at the back door (there was a temporary gate held on with baling twine to stop 2 lambs escaping) and it's £2 a head and 50p for your car. The welcome was friendly and pleasant.

The facilities are just as listed here - a tap and a loo. No sinks, and no light in the loo. The water is for washing only, which I've come across on a few sites where I presume what this actually means is the water is straight out of the hills and hasn't been fluoridised etc. so they can't risk you drinking it. As usual, I dropped a steritab in every litre and am still alive to type this.

The camping field is shared with sheep - or rams to be more accurate. It slopes a fair amount, and I think you'd struggle to find a flat enough space for a large family size tent, but for smaller tents, you'll soon find a place. How far you take your car down the field depends on how confident you feel about driving on wet grass but I set off fine in mine on a moderate slope. It's fairly exposed in that there are no hedges or walls to make wind blocks but this wasn't really a problem.

The site has fine views back down the Noe valley -you can see the Great Ridge all the way down to Lose Hill. Looking the other way, fine views of Jacob's Ladder and Crowden. At night, there's fun watching cars snaking over Mam Nick. I'll post some images soon - look on Photobucket for Astroshed, then under Peak District 2008.

The site was very quiet - I had it to myself Friday then one other couple came on Saturday - whereas Upper Booth was full (Air Cadets I think?) and the Edale sites seemed to pretty jammed too. The only passing traffic was on the road to Upper Booth, and most of that was on foot or on cycles. I was pitched right down next to the road, and it wasn't in anyway obtrusive, in fact sitting there with a glass of claret as my steaks fried probably got a few hungry ramblers' mouths watering.

Nearest food/drink is at Edale - 1.25 miles over the fields (take the Pennine Way from Upper Booth, it's so well defined you could walk down it in the pitch black). The Old Nag's Head still serves good beer! Also have a look at Upper Booth - as I cam back from a walk I passed through and saw there was some kind of cafe / icecream parlour in one of the barns that was open to the public; a possibility they may do snack food if you want a quick breakfast?

All in all great - best value for money I've had this year. Yes there's more than a few gates held on with baling twine, and the usual collection of disused farm machinery around the farmhouse itself, but the lack of facilities and the nature of the site keeps the larger groups away, and you get peace and quiet by the gallon!

If you want all streams fenced off, no cars near tents, all sheep on a lead, etc so the little ones can roam unsupervised, this isn't the place; it's camping au naturel, not Butlins with canvas.

Totally recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarawhit1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic very basic site - only two pounds per person for a great farm at bottom of Edale. Lots of walks, but the farm is slightly difficult to find - don't use sat nav. You need your own water for drinking. One old toilet and washing water tap available at the farmhouse. Chance to experience the farm camp tradition and plenty of space for groups of campers,etc.

We didn't find anywhere to put rubbish so had to take with us!

We enjoyed the site - shame it rained!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leon3277 1 review from this member

Well where do I start! just got back from 3 nights at this campsite, it was a last minute booking like most but it was just what the wife and I were looking for. It was situated as a perfect walking base for exploring the Hope valley and surrounding areas. The farm itself had so much character as the did the owners. With only one run down toilet it was back to basics camping, just watchout for the spiders in the toilet!

As already said in previous reviews if you want old fashioned camping then this is the site for you. The nearest pub and shop is about 2 miles away in Edale. The price for a night is £2.00 per person and 50p for a car.

Our final night was slightly ruined by the 'shameless' family that appeared from nowhere with their crates of stella and BBQ and not forgetting their dog!

So as long as you avoid them then you will enjoy your stay! We even stumbled across some badgers next to the campsite which was a first!

Would defiantly go back again

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireorwin 2 reviews from this member

Nothing much different to put than the others really.  The site was extremely windy and high up; but worth it as the views were amazing.  If you are after somewhere quiet and cheap then this is the place.  The sheep were in a different field to us however one did stray and I found it outside the toilet at 2.30 in the morning!
 
All in all, basic.  The toilet was outside with no light and take your own toilet paper.  The site was extremely quiet except for the sheep.  We would go back again, but would probably leave it until the summer months as it did get quite cold at night as you are literally in the middle of nowhere.
 
The site hasn't got a name, but if head for Upper Booth, go under the bridge and past a couple of bends it is on a sharp right hand bend dead ahead of you.
 
There was no designated area to leave rubbish, so we took ours home.
 
The nearest supermarket & petrol station we found was Chapel-en-le-Frith where we also had breakfast at Morrisons.
 
The house does look redundant and dated, but is lived in so knock on the door where you will be dealt with.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019