Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cold Springs Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Cold Springs Farm Camp Site Reviews

Cold Springs Farm Camp Site
Manchester Road
Longhill
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 6ST
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 You cannot fault the location of this site - just a mile from the centre of Buxton, with views over the valley, but there the positives end.

I'm really sorry to say that it appears that the facilities here haven't been cleaned since Chrissey and Grant's stay in 2015. I understand the nature of the 'barn' housing the facilities and the use by back packers and youth groups, but its not acceptable to fail to tell visitors that there's a blocked drain in the toilets (the only excuse we can find for the stench of human sewerage), or for the shower tiles being thick in some sort of growth, and green algae surrounding the washing up sinks. Yes there was lots of hand wash supplied in the toilets and some paper, but as the majority of visitors are not in self-contained motorhomes, the facilities are sub-standard.

This place has such great promise, but for whatever reason the owners seem to have lost interest or ability to keep up with the plans they clearly had when layout out the site. It's probably just as well I can't attach photos, but they don't lie about the current state of this site.

Really sad, I hope change is afoot. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrissy and Grant 9 reviews from this member

 This site has some good and some bad points. First the good stuff. This site has a great location only 10 minutes walk from Buxton with amazing views over the Peak District, lovely hot showers and all for only 15 per night. What's not to like I hear you ask? Well, the washing up area is rather less than hygienic, the showers and toilets, although in themselves fairly clean, were housed in a dirty shippon, the wet weather lounge advertised on the website was no more than an old sofa in the aforementioned barn and the site generally is pretty scruffy. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian Douglas 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here.

Coming from up north east was a bit of a journey but got there.

Very pleased with site. Showers were fantabulous - very powerful with lots of hot water, . Owners very helpful, great location for Buxton as only a short walk to town centre but felt like the middle of the country with plenty of great views, would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nickwhiteley 14 reviews from this member

 This site looks like someone has taken care at some point in the past with electric installed and terracing but that care has dried up. The signage is poor, the reception we got was frosty and the facilities weren't great. We didn't notice the kennels, mentioned in other reviews, but the road was a little noisy. It's cheap so for a stop over or if on a tight budget then it has its place. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

 As mentioned in other reviews, there is a kennels next door, but this didn't bother me. I used it as my alarm clock to get up & get on with my day out. Of course there may be some people who may just want to relax on the campsite, then this may be troublesome to them. The campsite is within easy 20 minute walking distance to Buxton town centre. It is downhill going in & uphill returning. There is also a number 61 bus that will drop you outside & you can also pick it up from there. This is handy for anyone like myself without a car. The owners of the campsite are helpful & very informed about the surrounding areas. They even offered me a lift into Buxton to catch my onward bus to be in time for the start of my painting course. This was very much appreciated. The showers, although a little tired, were free, hot & powerful. Wonderful hot water for washing up. No plugs in sinks, but I managed without. I didn't see any child play area, so the site may not be a good choice for people with children. If you're looking for mod cons this is not the site for you. But, I personally prefer a less commercial site, & this suited me. There are lovely views to wake up to. All in all, good value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PamelaH 7 reviews from this member

 This site has beautiful view out over a valley, we were pitched on the second tier with plenty of space.

The toilet block is a little old and tired but the showers were very powerful and hot. The radio was a nice touch! Yes the toilet paper ran out but there was always some to be found in the cleaners cupboard so we never went short. Wash-up facilities were fine. Very little else in the way of facilities but was cheap to match.

The nearby kennels were a little noisy in the early mornings, so pitch as far to the right as you can, and I guess the even lower tier would be quieter.

Easy walk into Buxton, and some lovely restaurants and cafes around. Also easy access to the Peaks if you're there for walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy Barlow 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here on several occasions over the past few years as part of groups doing their D of E. The site has fantastic views and is quite friendly, something you don't always expect when shepherding large groups of teenagers.

As others have said, the various pitches are tiered, so that different types of user can be separated which is really good.

The toilet blocks and showers are very rudimentary, but they do do their job just about the right side of okay. This is reflected in the very reasonable cost.

Obviously, it's very close to Buxton and the Peak District but it will appeal more to 'outdoors' minded people more than to Glampers. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BzzAngel 1 review from this member

 As many other people have said, the views and location of this site are fantastic.

Good hot water & indoor space for washing up. Separate area was set aside for 'groups' on the top field which was advantageous to both them & the families camping.

The hard standings for caravans could be a bit tight for some people to manoeuvre into but they were well spaced (saw one caravan with a small tent pitched beside it - plenty of room for that)

Negatives: distinct smell of 'drains' (stagnant water not sewage) in the toilet block & tiny cubicles. Wasn't a problem for me but there was no chance of a parent & child fitting in, or a very large individual!

Poor signage on the site - you were told that the toilets were over there but they were badly labelled - it was pretty much a case of follow somebody else to work out which side was male & which was female! I was never told about the vending machines/wet weather room etc

Bit of noise late Saturday night from some people walking to/from the toilet blocks, though these were not the DofE teams who were barely noticeable - they were all gone by 9am, and very quietly too! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The weekenders 1 review from this member

 Just spent the Easter weekend at Cold Spring Farm with friends ( two tourers)' on a positive note the views are fantastic and the owners helpful but sadly that was it! The site is situated next to a boarding kennels with the dogs howling and barking from 7am till very late at night. The facilities on site are very basic I could not get any hot water in the shower even though I let it run a good 10 mins gave up in the end and used my caravan. The Elsan Point has a tap that doesn't work so you have to use the drinking water tap hose to rinse out you toilet cassette ( must be a health and safety issue there ) The site advertised fishing on site the pool was very difficult to access and had never been stocked with fish, the Owner couldn't remember the last time anyone used it a big disappointment for me and my mate as we had planned to fish while the wives went shopping in Buxton. The electric hook up could only have been 6 amp as when ever you had any 2 electrical items on the power would trip really annoying on cold nights. I thing the owners should review their charges and charge a more realistic price for the basics it provides or in this case not. Without the company of friends it would have been a very disappointing outing. Would not recommend or return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stargazerhill 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend as a group of 7. The layout of the campsite is tiered so we setup on the lowest tier which gives a lot of privacy and reduces noise upsetting other campers. The top areas are all easily accessible just the road to the bottom tier is a little steep. Cost was roughly 5:50 per person per night. The facilities were very basic but suitable, toilets were more or less clean although there wasn't any toilet roll for the first night, the owner brought some in for the following day. There are 3 shower cubicles which are outside the toilet area and used for both sexes so could get a queue, the water was difficult to get to the right temperature but was nice and hot and there is no charge for use unlike some other campsites.

Handy location just outside of Buxton, walkable if required but we were lazy and drove. Lots of daddy long legs about and got bitten a few times by bugs but that's to be expected outdoors.

Owner has two small dogs which are very friendly and came down to our campsite in the mornings, spotted dog mess on the floor once as the dogs do wander about freely but this was cleared up next time I had passed. Electric hookups for caravans and alike are only available in the top fields nearer to the toilet block. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cold Springs Farm Camp Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cold Springs Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cold Springs Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4407 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement