Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Packhorse Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Packhorse Farm Campsite
Foxholes Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LF
Tel: 01629 580950
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 137 Reviews
                9/10 from 137 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  137 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emjayhaslett 1 review from this member

NOT to be confused with Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site - next door to each other - one adults only caravan only, the other tents and families! (originally after adults only sites - but luckily such few campers being low season it didn't bother us)

Looks are deceiving and admittedly we worried upon arrival at a working farm (with traditional farm smell!) but once into the pitch it is not noticeable. We were warmly welcomed and advised of the walk to Lumsdale falls (worth it - even if we got lost), local pubs, and a fantastic Indian restaurant (Maazi) that will pick you up and drop you off, and from then left to our own, knowing they were there if we needed.

A lovely spacious camp site. We bought a new (huge) tent and as low season we were granted plenty of space to try it out. Being such a cold April (and the Easter holidays varying massively) the site was relatively empty, the site is sectioned off by hedges and those who arrived during our stay were situated at opposing ends of the site, so we had plenty of room and privacy, and plenty of picnic tables to pick form had it been warm enough to sit out.

The shower blocks were clean and warm, plenty of hot water - a little too hot for my husband. Showers are push button operated which although great for the environment, only last 15 seconds and you have to wait for them to reset (even if you pre-empt the switch off), the showers and / or sink cubicles would benefit from a stool or chair to aid with putting your socks and pants on - a minor gripe.

Washing up facilities are good and plentiful (though only 2 of the 5 sinks were working) and a freezer is provided for communal use. The site has lots of signs up advertising a vending machine for fresh milk but the machine looked like it had be decommissioned years ago.

The site was immaculate and plenty of water and rubbish bin points, though there was no labelling of recycling bins (I presumed the one green bin amongst 5 other black bins was mixed recycling)

We would gladly go back if venturing to Derbyshire again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alnjane 1 review from this member

If you want beautiful countryside, helpful owners, clean site, then visit here. We absolutely loved our four night stay and are already planning our next visit. It is also central for visit nearby towns and attractions. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing holiday to camp here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 12 reviews from this member

Just 40 minutes away from home but it felt like we could have been anywhere! We had a fabulous short break here and cannot wait to go back!

We love that the pitches are all situated in amonst the trees, it feels like 'proper' woodland style camping. That said, the pitches either side of us weren't occupied, meaning we could pop our car on one of them, if the site had been full, I'm not sure if we might have felt a little cramped. Something to bear in mind. The site as a whole is super flat making pitching up very easy.

The facilities are excellent and so clean- obviously very well cared for. I love having the little sink cubicles for having a private wash in the mornings.

Location wise. Spot on for local walks and good road links if you'd prefer to drive out further afield to explore the Peaks. It is a shame that the road can just be heard which is our only tiny gripe- it isn't really loud but it is there and noticeable.

The owners obviously really care about the site and it shows, we're looking forward to being back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff66 7 reviews from this member

This was our second and not our last visit here, by far my favourite site, facilities spotless, owners wonderful people cant help enough,

Grounds are well looked after, gently awoken every morning by bird song, heavenly.

Just a short stroll outside of site then youve got walks galore

Cuckoldstone walk is lovely wooded areas fields country roads and waterfalls looking forward as to when we can get back again

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 19 reviews from this member

We have used the Packhorse Camp site now for many years, as we have family in the area, the welcome we received Susan & Byron is always the same, so pleased to see & welcome us and indeed we are made to feel a part of the family.

We normally visit over the May Day weekend, but this year we decided to spend 10 days at Packhorse, from 9th May, we had been working over the past three months on a container to Malawi & needed a restful break & we thought there was no better place to unwind than Derbyshire.

The campsite is as good as all the review rate Packhorse, the facilities block is always spotlessly clean, whatever time of day you use it, there are plenty of showers & a good disabled wet room. The washing up area has five sinks all under cover & always plenty of hot water.

The site is well laid out with lots of matured trees & most of the pitches now have electric hook up with a 16amp supply. The whole site & grass is maintained to the very highest standards. A credit to both Susan & Byron, keep up the good work, as we plan to visit family for many years to come.

We are campers of many years’ experience & would rate Packhorse in our top ten sites in the UK, I would have no hesitation recommending this site, and indeed they deserve all the wonderful reviews that are posted on UK Campsites.

I always use UK Campsite to select campsites that is how we find & enjoy some of the best campsites in the UK.

Brian & Martina Wilkins (Tonbridge Kent)

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Talbot Calypso 5 reviews from this member

I have to admit that first impressions were not good … but it did get much better. We drove up the drive and noted a good number of caravans parked on the right hand side. There was a notice for the caravan site reception and another notice further down the yard for ‘Tents only’. I chose the first one as we have a motorhome. There was what appeared to be a very friendly black Labrador behind the gate. I love dogs so was not fazed by this. However, having entered the grounds of the house, the dog lunged at me and kept trying to jump up, aiming at my chest. I shouted at him, several times, to stop him but this seemed to make him more determined. I made my way to the door of the house, bellowing at the dog and trying to fend him off. Fortunately, when I rang the bell the door was opened almost immediately and the dog disappeared into the house.

The lady apologised and said that she would not have let the dog loose had she known that we were coming. “But we’ve booked!” I said and showed her the receipt. “No, that’s not for my caravan site, ” she said, “it’s for the campsite next door, ” and directed me to the sign that said Reception for Tents only! When I got to the second Reception no-one was there but there was a note on the door directing us to choose one of three pitches.

We decided on a pitch and, while my husband was setting up our motorhome, I had a look around. The campsite has about six areas separated by hedges and in the section where we were there were just two more pitches. It all seemed to be well maintained with sufficient water points and rubbish bins.

The toilet and shower block was next to be inspected and this is where the site excels. It was modern and clean and there were toilets, showers (with plenty of space and adequate clothes hooks), separate wash cubicles and hand-wash basins. Also good quality hand dryers and hairdryers. Very impressive and easily competes with the CC & the C&CC facilities. There’s even a large and separate shower room/toilet for the disabled. At the side of the shower block is a covered dishwashing area and a freezer for use by campers.

About an hour after we arrived Susan, joint owner with Byron, came to see us and gave us a leaflet on a local walk. She was very friendly and when we said that we were considering going out to the local Indian Restaurant for a meal (The Maazi in Matlock which turned out to be really good) Sue gave us directions.

The two nights we were there we had very peaceful sleep and opening the door in the morning we were greeted by the melodious sounds of birdsong.

All in all we had a very happy time and would recommend the Packhorse Farm Campsite to others.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlechickkie 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to packhorse farm. This time for a 2 night stay to test out our new trailer tent. On our last visited we camped with friends & so we had 2 large pitches together in the bottom field.

This time we were assigned pitch 6 & it wasn't until we pulled up that I noticed the electricity cables running above the pitch. I don't like being in close proximity to they electromagnetic radiation the emit so we asked to move. The lady was fine about it so we moved to pitch 3 which was a bit further away but I would have preferred to have been in the bottom field like last time.

Same as our last stay the toilets and showers were clean & there was ample hot water. If anything the water was too hot, I decided against washing my hair as it was too hot to put my head under. I wouldn't have been able to shower my 5 year old son as it would have been too hot for him. But as we were only staying for 2 nights it didn't matter would have been a problem if we were staying longer though. So have only given 7 out of 10 for facilities.

Overall the site is good value for money & we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Couple - early 50's - look for peace, quiet and tranquility, but with a few mod cons.

Stayed 2 nights - Fri 02/12 to Sun 04/12

Cost - 2 adults + Tent + Car + EHU = £22pn

Would normally look at going a little further afield, but after struggling to get other sites to accept a tent on grass, and/or even answer the 'phone, despite them all claiming to be 'Open all year', Packhorse Farm had the courtesy to answer my call, and indeed allow us to pitch our tent on grass.

Very pleasant/welcoming initial call (a couple of days before arrival) and the bill was settled there and then. Full pre-payment isn't something I'm used to being asked to do, booking so late, but we had no intention of failing to turn up, so not a problem!

After a welcoming reception, we were given a pitch in amongst some trees, close to the shower block/amenities. In all honesty, this group of pitches could easily be described as a bit on the small side, and in very close proximity to the neighbours. We were pretty much pitched on one pitch, and the car parked on the next one. Needless to say, as this was December, and we were the only tent on site, that wasn't a problem for us or the site owners, and it suited us perfectly. I can only presume that during more popular periods, cars would need to be left on the car park area? After a subsequent stroll around site however, it was clear there is a good number of much larger, more spacious pitches/areas, with ample room for the larger family, with the larger set up. Some seemed quite impressive on that score, to be fair.

The shower block is described as heated. There was no sign of heating during my evening shower, but in fairness, the radiators were on in the morning. As it was chilly, rather than freezing, again it was no problem. Good all round amenities. Showers reasonably spacious, plenty of hot water. All spotlessly clean, and all ample in number.

Outdoor wash up sinks, but well covered. There was also a fridge/freezer, which is presumably available for campers'use.

Great setting, on a working farm, in the heart of rural Derbyshire.

As it was 'Victorian Xmas market weekend' in nearby Matlock, we seeked the help and advice of the campsite owner, who kindly gave us a walking map and wise words, so left the car by the tent, and thoroughly enjoyed the walk through countryside, picturesque woods, the disused (Lumsdale) Quarry, almost deserted lanes, and even took in a slight detour to the local mini-attraction, namely Lumsdale Falls. All in all, it took a couple of city urchins about 1. 5 hours from camp site to Matlock. Pro's would do it comfortably within an hour, I'd imagine!

Took a slightly more 'road based' route for the return walk (Fear of getting lost in the woods as the early winter's darkness fell! LOL!), but again a good hour or so, including a decent climb up the road out of Matlock (A632), finishing off on a section of public footpath (Cuckoostone walk?) which encircles the rear perimeter of the camp site, and emerges on the farm lane/site entrance.

The campsite is actually advertised as 'No caravans', which strictly speaking appears to be true, but immediately adjacent is a perfectly presentable caravan site, which has a separate reception from the camp site, despite being on the same farm, and sharing the same approach road. There were a couple of caravanner's taking in the country air, but most of the 'vans on site appeared to be seasonal, but unused on this particular weekend. I can't envisage any negatives from this, even in the full swing of summer?

Have to say, despite almost being on our doorstep, we saw a part of 'Matlock' that we had never seen before, and thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend, both on and off site.

If we ever have need or desire to camp so close to home again, winter or summer, we'd have no qualms about staying on this site again, and no qualms about leaving the car on site, and the walking boots on.

Thanks for allowing us to stay on your wonderful site, and thanks for answering the phone!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheffie 5 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite at the start of our Summer holiday and found it outstanding. Its one of the best campsites we have stayed at ( and we stay at many). Its facilities are spotlessly clean and well kept.

On arrival we were given full information on local services and walks. Although we didn't use it there was even a free transport service to and from a local Indian restaurant, which also did a fre takeaway service.

There was a supply of fresh eggs and milk available on site.

Each pitch was spacious and there were many picnic benches scattered around.

I am more than happy to recommend this site to anyone and I hope to return there some time soon.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torrington 4 reviews from this member

This site is appallingly cramped. It looks lovely on the ukcampsite website and also their own website but the pictures are deceptive. The photographs are all taken using a wide-angle lens and make the place look spacious. It is much smaller than the site plan or photos show. The plan shows 50 pitches. Actually there is space for no more than 12 pitches - 16 at very most. My friend and I, each with our own modest tent were allocated 2 adjacent pitches. To erect our tents centrally in each pitch would have had the guy ropes crossing each other. If two family sized tents were next to each other they would be just inches apart and unable to peg out their guy ropes properly. Another tent was opposite us and was far too close for comfort. There was no privacy at all. Some of the pitches were underneath needle-shedding conifer trees and were very dark and I saw at least one ants nest. After a few minutes we concluded that camping here was not worth doing. Thankfully I had not yet paid for the site and we left for another site 20 miles away.

Previous     137 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!