Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Packhorse Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Packhorse Farm Campsite Reviews

Packhorse Farm Campsite
Foxholes Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LF
Tel: 01629 580950
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Josiefaurewalker 1 review from this member

 Great easy site. Immaculate toilets and showers, well maintained grass, hedges etc.

Nice and private but friendly too. Quiet area.

Will return (again!) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caro8642 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived Sunday afternoon and registration pack was waiting for us. Found the pitch easily, plenty of space, in fact we were told to use 2 pitches.

Close to toilet block, which was cleaned daily, and the showers were lovely and warm.

Site got busier at the weekend, with families and others there for the weekend, but did not distract from the loveliness of this site. Still able to access facilities without queuing.

Walking the dog was easy on a designated grass area and the lanes and foot paths around the site. Easy access into Matlock and surrounding area. A bit more expensive than some sites, but worth it.

No local shop, and nearest pub about 2 miles away. But as you need a vehicle to get here not an issue as we were out and about most days.

Was still under Covid regulations at time of visit and signs were about reminding campers of this. If returning yo this area, will certainly look this site up again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Veedubmom 4 reviews from this member

 Packhorse farm is a beautiful, green campsite within walking distance of the village of Tansley and Matlock. We camped in the grass pitches that are amongst the trees and have hedge borders offering privacy and shade.

The toilet block was clean and well stocked with toilet roll and hand soap. Didnít have a shower but cubicles looked big enough and were always kept to a good standard of cleanliness.

There is a long, narrow grass dog walking area with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. Riber castle off in the distance looked wonderful.

All in all, a great site. Nice and quiet and a beautiful spot! Would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zodiacdriver 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite, Susan met us and gave us a choice of pitches. A small and very clean campsite but the pitches are generous.

We walked a mile and a half to the nearest pub, so not too far but there isnít a shop without driving.

We would definitely stay here again but only hope for better weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dobson 1 review from this member

 Packhorse Farm was an absolute delight. Quite a small site but very relaxed, very clean, lovely walk direct from the site.

Couldn't fault it.

It didn't bother us but there isn't a shop on site or a play area if you normally require these facilities. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 We were told to book the adult only site by the campsite which itself was very quiet but you could hear the children in the family site screaming through the hedge separating the sites. We were aware of this from other reviews.

The toilets were closed at the adult only site which was good as reviews had been poor. Facilities at family site were clean and modern.

The site has very friendly owners but it up a steep hill and quite remote in poor weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulcl 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite

Great location and good facilities

Would fully recommend it and will be going back

Only missing is a child play area

Very clean and great social distancing between campers 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Henryj 1 review from this member

 Cosy Site with great facilities. Well located and plenty of room on the pitches.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a few nights away. Keep note of which pitch you prefer if you plan to return in future,

There's a range of types of pitches, ie some are fully submerged in the woods where as some are in the field. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilkins 27 reviews from this member

 We have camped at Packhorse campsite every year, for well over ten years, as we have family living nearby in the Matlock area.

We have always enjoyed our stay at Packhorse campsite; we normally visit in middle of May, between to two bank holidays. On many occasions my sisters join us with their tent on the pitch beside us.

The facilities are modern & have always been kept to a very high standard of cleanliness, so Susan & Bryon were already nearly Covid-19 compliant. But have added sanitiser stations to all the entrances to the toilet & showers, along with the wash up area. All the water points & rubbish deposal areas throughout the site also have hand sanitiserís fitted & Bryon checks & refills them on a regular bases. This year Susan engaged outside contract cleaners to ensure the toilet & shower blocks are deep cleaned on a regular bases.

We are an older couple who are more at risk from Covid-19, but we felt very safe & secure at Packhorse, with pitches left empty between pitches that were occupied, which maintains a good social distance between tents.

We would recommend this site to anyone wanting a holiday in Derbyshire in normal times, but especially during the pandemic. There are lots of places to visit, with wonderful attractions & walks in the area & lots of oldie world villages to visit in the peak district.

Also there is good selection of pubs & restaurants nearby, with a good selection of foods that are reasonably priced. We would recommend to The Gate Inn, in Tansley village, it has a large outside eating area & the tables in the restaurant inside are well spaced, so you feel quite safe.

So if you are a camper or trying camping for the first time this year, because you do not wish to fly aboard, you would be pleased with this wonderful campsite, you would feel safe & secure taking your family to Packhorse.

Thank you once again Susan & Byron, for making us so welcomed during these strange times, we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Brian & Martina Wilkins. Tonbridge, Kent 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TSHart 1 review from this member

 This site is in a lovely location, a 25 minute walk to Tansley, a bit further to Matlock although we didnít do either as it was far too hot for our dog. There are some woods and a stream at the end of Foxholes Lane which were lovely and cool. We liked the layout of the site as it has sectioned off areas with hedges around, is very well kept and clean. The owners are lovely and very helpful. There are hairdryers in the showers which are really handy.

The only negative we had was with the showers. They are on only a 10 second timer which I completely get is more environmentally friendly, but I used one which kept getting stuck and I ended up leaving it as there was no water coming out in the end. The 2nd time I used them the water pressure was great but it was far too hot which in 28 degrees wasnít good! I know we donít often get weather that hot but it may have been too hot for an unaccompanied child. So not being able to regulate the temperature wasnít good. There wasnít a mop either to clean the showers after others and the floor where you get changed was really muddy.

There isnít any WiFi but you would know that prior to going.

As itís a distance from any shops it would be great if you could buy basics (other than milk) and an ice lolly maybe.

NB the prices are increased on a bank holiday ie £25/night plus extra for a dog and awning. 
via mobile


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Packhorse Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Packhorse Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Packhorse Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder