Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Packhorse Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Packhorse Farm Campsite Reviews

Packhorse Farm Campsite
Foxholes Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LF
Tel: 01629 580950
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dobson 1 review from this member

 Packhorse Farm was an absolute delight. Quite a small site but very relaxed, very clean, lovely walk direct from the site.

Couldn't fault it.

It didn't bother us but there isn't a shop on site or a play area if you normally require these facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 We were told to book the adult only site by the campsite which itself was very quiet but you could hear the children in the family site screaming through the hedge separating the sites. We were aware of this from other reviews.

The toilets were closed at the adult only site which was good as reviews had been poor. Facilities at family site were clean and modern.

The site has very friendly owners but it up a steep hill and quite remote in poor weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulcl 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite

Great location and good facilities

Would fully recommend it and will be going back

Only missing is a child play area

Very clean and great social distancing between campers 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Henryj 1 review from this member

 Cosy Site with great facilities. Well located and plenty of room on the pitches.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a few nights away. Keep note of which pitch you prefer if you plan to return in future,

There's a range of types of pitches, ie some are fully submerged in the woods where as some are in the field. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilkins 25 reviews from this member

 We have camped at Packhorse campsite every year, for well over ten years, as we have family living nearby in the Matlock area.

We have always enjoyed our stay at Packhorse campsite; we normally visit in middle of May, between to two bank holidays. On many occasions my sisters join us with their tent on the pitch beside us.

The facilities are modern & have always been kept to a very high standard of cleanliness, so Susan & Bryon were already nearly Covid-19 compliant. But have added sanitiser stations to all the entrances to the toilet & showers, along with the wash up area. All the water points & rubbish deposal areas throughout the site also have hand sanitiserís fitted & Bryon checks & refills them on a regular bases. This year Susan engaged outside contract cleaners to ensure the toilet & shower blocks are deep cleaned on a regular bases.

We are an older couple who are more at risk from Covid-19, but we felt very safe & secure at Packhorse, with pitches left empty between pitches that were occupied, which maintains a good social distance between tents.

We would recommend this site to anyone wanting a holiday in Derbyshire in normal times, but especially during the pandemic. There are lots of places to visit, with wonderful attractions & walks in the area & lots of oldie world villages to visit in the peak district.

Also there is good selection of pubs & restaurants nearby, with a good selection of foods that are reasonably priced. We would recommend to The Gate Inn, in Tansley village, it has a large outside eating area & the tables in the restaurant inside are well spaced, so you feel quite safe.

So if you are a camper or trying camping for the first time this year, because you do not wish to fly aboard, you would be pleased with this wonderful campsite, you would feel safe & secure taking your family to Packhorse.

Thank you once again Susan & Byron, for making us so welcomed during these strange times, we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Brian & Martina Wilkins. Tonbridge, Kent 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TSHart 1 review from this member

 This site is in a lovely location, a 25 minute walk to Tansley, a bit further to Matlock although we didnít do either as it was far too hot for our dog. There are some woods and a stream at the end of Foxholes Lane which were lovely and cool. We liked the layout of the site as it has sectioned off areas with hedges around, is very well kept and clean. The owners are lovely and very helpful. There are hairdryers in the showers which are really handy.

The only negative we had was with the showers. They are on only a 10 second timer which I completely get is more environmentally friendly, but I used one which kept getting stuck and I ended up leaving it as there was no water coming out in the end. The 2nd time I used them the water pressure was great but it was far too hot which in 28 degrees wasnít good! I know we donít often get weather that hot but it may have been too hot for an unaccompanied child. So not being able to regulate the temperature wasnít good. There wasnít a mop either to clean the showers after others and the floor where you get changed was really muddy.

There isnít any WiFi but you would know that prior to going.

As itís a distance from any shops it would be great if you could buy basics (other than milk) and an ice lolly maybe.

NB the prices are increased on a bank holiday ie £25/night plus extra for a dog and awning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Romogape 14 reviews from this member

 When phoning to book, the, very helpful, lady I spoke to offered us either the adult only caravan site, or the normal campsite, we opted for the campsite as we liked the sound of it more.

Had a excellent welcome, a card with a number to call was at reception, and came to meet us straight away. Gave us a choice of where we wanted to stay, and lots of of good advice on where to go, eat and drink etc. Made to feel very welcome.

The facilities were kept very clean, considering the weather we had, a pretty tough job! Not having many showers etc may be a bit of an issue when the site is very busy, but can only comment on our experience, which was spot on!

Bare in mind that this is a working farm, and lovely and rural, if you don't like the countryside, then stay at home!

Excellent location for tourists, excellent places to eat and drink in the village and Matlock, even and Indian restaurant that'll pick you up, drop you back and give you a discount! Highly recommend the Gate Inn.

Will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wilkins 25 reviews from this member

 We visited Packhorse Campsite on 9th May for 6 days; we use this site often, as we visit family in the Matlock area, always camping at Packhorse Campsite during the summer months.

Susan & Byron are like family to us now, always making us very welcome.

The site is a credit to them everywhere is spotlessly clean; the facilities block is as good as the day they built them.

Always plenty of hot water for showers & washing up, the washing up area has lots of sinks, which are under cover & well-lit.

The prices are very reasonable, they do not charge more for the high season and in fact the prices are very good for the facilities that are provided on site.

If you are looking for a site in the Matlock area, I would recommend you take a good look at Packhorse Campsite, you will not be disappointed.

Brian & Tina Wilkins.

Tonbridge, Kent 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emjayhaslett 1 review from this member

 NOT to be confused with Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site - next door to each other - one adults only caravan only, the other tents and families! (originally after adults only sites - but luckily such few campers being low season it didn't bother us)

Looks are deceiving and admittedly we worried upon arrival at a working farm (with traditional farm smell!) but once into the pitch it is not noticeable. We were warmly welcomed and advised of the walk to Lumsdale falls (worth it - even if we got lost), local pubs, and a fantastic Indian restaurant (Maazi) that will pick you up and drop you off, and from then left to our own, knowing they were there if we needed.

A lovely spacious camp site. We bought a new (huge) tent and as low season we were granted plenty of space to try it out. Being such a cold April (and the Easter holidays varying massively) the site was relatively empty, the site is sectioned off by hedges and those who arrived during our stay were situated at opposing ends of the site, so we had plenty of room and privacy, and plenty of picnic tables to pick form had it been warm enough to sit out.

The shower blocks were clean and warm, plenty of hot water - a little too hot for my husband. Showers are push button operated which although great for the environment, only last 15 seconds and you have to wait for them to reset (even if you pre-empt the switch off), the showers and / or sink cubicles would benefit from a stool or chair to aid with putting your socks and pants on - a minor gripe.

Washing up facilities are good and plentiful (though only 2 of the 5 sinks were working) and a freezer is provided for communal use. The site has lots of signs up advertising a vending machine for fresh milk but the machine looked like it had be decommissioned years ago.

The site was immaculate and plenty of water and rubbish bin points, though there was no labelling of recycling bins (I presumed the one green bin amongst 5 other black bins was mixed recycling)

We would gladly go back if venturing to Derbyshire again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alnjane 1 review from this member

 If you want beautiful countryside, helpful owners, clean site, then visit here. We absolutely loved our four night stay and are already planning our next visit.

It is also central for visit nearby towns and attractions.

We would highly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing holiday to camp here. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Packhorse Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Packhorse Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Packhorse Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2867 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement