Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Reedham Ferry Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Reedham Ferry Touring Park
Reedham
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR13 3HA
Tel: 01493 700999
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suffolk-Camper 1 review from this member

On arrival there was no-one about, just a board with our name on it. As there was no pitch number for us I (correctly I hope) assumed that we should just find a space near the other tents and pitch. I think you get an allocated pitch if you have paid for an electric hook-up. It was a little unnerving, as there were no instructions anywhere, and nobody obvious to talk to.

The site was right by the river and we spent some time watching the boats sailing by before taking a short return trip on the ferry (no charge from the ferryman - thanks). All in all, an ideal location for a peaceful, relaxing weekend's camping.

The toilet/shower block is fine, but had had mud plastered over the sinks and walls. Presumably this was kids being little sods but the mess was there when we turned up, and hadn't been cleaned when we left the next day. The wash-up/laundry area looked in need of some refurbishment and regular cleaning.

As noted by others, the dog bin by the gate was not emptied in all the time we were there and was overflowing.

Notwithstanding its few shortcomings, we had a great weekend with the kids and they want us to go there again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gert1166 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site and the pub is a delight. Great food and awesome service. Site is basic but in a lovely location. Facilities are well maintained and has everything you need. Fishing was great very peaceful lake and some great catches.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hucknall 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site end of April 2017 great location plenty of wild life and walks. Bad points, pitches are not marked just number on hook post. Caravans parked where they liked and any way round leaving no room for late arrivals. My daughter had a van parked less than 3 foot from the front of her van because it had been parked across the pitch. Dish washing area was a disgrace, sinks had not been wiped down after use and no plugs for sinks. Some one had left a dirty old rag which they had used to block plug hole.

On the plus side toilets were clean and warm. Did not use restaurant as it was rather pricey

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Littlewhitebus 7 reviews from this member

Had booked three nights at this site, but left after only one!

On arrival we were met by a chalk board with name and pitch number. This site has no wardens or visible staff and no information about facilities etc. The lovely 'water feature' pictured on their webpage was obviously taken some time ago as unfortunately it now resembles a drainage ditch complete with overgrown plants and green slimy water, certainly not a water feature to be proud of!

The toilet facilities were good, but not so new now and could do with a 'proper' clean.

Reading reviews and information, we thought we could walk from the site, along the river bank, to Reedham village. However the path has been closed for some time. Walking along the narrow roads without pavements was not a safe option with our two dogs.

Sorry if this review appears negative, but we had high expectations of this site and were somewhat disappointed!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BigSis2012 7 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site. Not a lot has changed and that's a good thing. It was a little boggy underfoot in places as there had been a lot of rain but the pitch we had this time (number 8) was dry enough for a tent.

The Reedham Ferry pub is still good - they appear to have gone a bit more upmarket in their food since last time we were here (2 years ago) - so none of the usual scampi and chips etc on the menu this time and the pub seemed busy with diners (not all from the campsite either). I would recommend booking at weekends.

We walked into the village - the previously smelly and run-down Lord Nelson pub seems to be having a face-lift which is good news because it's in a prime location. Shame it wasn't open but looks like it will be in a few months.

Facilities on the site are still good - clean showers, washing up area, freezer for ice blocks (and free to use too) and a washing machine and tumble drier. I'd be happy to come back again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murphybrown 3 reviews from this member

First visit to Norfolk and we where very pleased with the chosen site. Peace, quite and tranquility. Very well laid out pitches with a good mix of tents, caravans and camper vans. Liked the fact that all types of camping units where mixed rather than the usual segregation. Plenty of easily accessible water and electricity points. Toilet/shower facilities where very nice and modern, with under floor heating and time delay lighting.

The whole site seems aimed at nature/wildlife enthusiastes, so was perfect for us. We saw Barnsley Owls, Marshall Harriers, Marshall Titsey and Great Crested Grebes. And of course the resident Ducks, which are very friendly and greedy.

Access to the surrounding area is easy going north through the village or south back over the ferry. We didn't use the Reedham Ferry Pub as we thought it to be a little expensive, instead we used The Swan Inn, at Reedham Quay at the reedham village, which is only a 15 minute walk along the lane or a nicer walk along the river bank and footpath into the village.

I can echo the comments of others regarding the hooks in the showers but really not too much of an issue ( just wear shorts and flipflops). Also it was commented that the site could do with a child play area NO, NO, NO, I am a parent but this site is quite and peaceful and should stay that that way. There are Plenty of 'child friendly' sites. Although their are plenty of children who love wildlife and would enjoy and respect this tranquil area.

I never usually stay at any site more than once, because I like to stay somewhere different each time, but I think I would make an exception for Reedham Ferry.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

A nice site, level with good sized pitches. This site is ideal if you want to relax as there is nothing here apart from the Ferry Inn which serves excellent food and is dog friendly. Site facilities are excellent. The shower/toilet block is one of the best I have seen. Walks along the river Ysre are rewarded with nice views across miles of flat countryside. Norwich is about 30 minutes drive away for those who need a shopping fix. Yarmouth too is not far. There is a small shop in Reedham. We will definitely use this site again. I have one small gripe which could be easily fixed. The shower cubicles are large but each has only one small hook for your clothes, towel etc. More hooks are needed. Also a soap dish and a small stool per cubicle would be nice.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Curlyk 10 reviews from this member

Lovely little site for a few nights with only a pub nearby. Modern shower and toilet block, washing facilities weren't great while we were there water was barely warm. 30 minute drive to Norwich park and ride, and the City was a lovely place to visit. In the opposite direction was a drive to the coast, the roads were single lane towards the coast but very quiet so not so much of a problem for us, coming across the Readham ferry with the Motorhome was fine, 4. 00. Non electric pitches were near a pond which might not be suitable for people with small children, ours 4, 6, 7 were fine and told not to go near the edge. Never really saw any staff had to go looking to pay someone in the adjacent pub. Cream tea in the pub was nice. Fishing ponds as part of the campsite and the river running by was ok to fish in too.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tap Retals 9 reviews from this member

On arrival there was no-one about. Our name was left on a blackboard with our pitch number. We had a brilliant super-pitch with hook-up, water and grey waste drainage. The views were fantastic, across miles of open fields. The site is right by the river and the pub is literally 150 paces from the pitch. The pub has a lovely raised paved area overlooking the river (which partly floods on a high tide), so it is great watching the boats going by and the ferry going from one side to the other. Food is very good and the pub is very busy at weekends, especially when the weather is good. It is an ideal location for a peaceful, relaxing break.

However, while the 'new' toilet/shower block is fine (nowhere to put shampoo etc nor any seats in showers) the wash-up/laundry area can only be described as disgustingly neglected. There are huge cob-webs with loads of dead insects hanging from the corners. The floor is littered with debris. The sinks are very dirty and littered with dead insects and dirt. One sink had a very gungy plug but no plug in the other one. How you are expected to wash up here is a real puzzle. And the one stainless steel drainer is so filthy you would not want to. The bin was not emptied the whole 6 days we were there.

Also while on this subject the dog bins were also not emptied in all that time and were overflowing. As one is hanging by the main entrance it does not create a very good impression a all. In all the time we stayed we saw no-one to raise our concerns with, as no-one connected with it seems to visit the campsite. Therefore the area has a look of neglect. It is such a shame, as it's in a lovely location. It would take so little effort to rectify the situation and ensure ALL facilities are hygienically cleaned daily to an acceptable standard for people using the site. Perhaps for the owner or someone in authority to visit the site daily.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroltyers 2 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Reedham Ferry, and probably not our last. It's a small site in a remote but pretty spot, flat, good pitches, pretty much free range if non-electric, which we were. Very quiet spot, with walks along the River Yare and excellent food at the Reedham Ferry Inn. We paid for our camping at the inn, but didn't really see much of the owners during our stay. Facilities kept clean and tidy. Oddly no cold water in the new toilet block, that's about my only gripe.

Plenty of places for children to run about and explore, but if you don't have children, this site is probably best appreciated out of high season when it is quieter and the wildlife is more exciting. That said, there were barn owls to be seen flying over the fields at dusk.

Handy for exploring the whole of the Norfolk Broads by car, and lots of quiet little lanes for cycling. No shops in the immediate vicinity, probably something in Reedham but we didn't visit there. Norwich and Great Yarmouth are about half an hour away.

Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019