Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site
Barford Road
Marlingford
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR9 5HU
Tel: 01603 759658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Louiel 1 review from this member

 Our stay here at swan harbour as always a very lovely quiet and relaxing place to chill out.

It’s a hidden gem. The couple who own the site are always very pleasant and John the groundskeeper is always around to lend a hand. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: KaiLewis 1 review from this member

 Me and a few friends( 3 campers) came here as somewhere to stay as we were going out in Norwich

Site wasn’t to hard to find, making sure you get the right post code from the website, just have to go a mile past it,

When arriving, it looks lovely and clean, things for sale in reception and an unmanned reception, the owner will come visit you for you to pay, lots of hard standing pitches, nice and quiet location,

We enjoyed our stay, few things they could of improved on, permanent caravans needed a wash, the shower where lovely, apart from when the shower next door is turned on, your against the wall as it dribbles out! Overall a good site, and I will be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Digger64 2 reviews from this member

 Had a few nights at this site, tidy appearance, nice and quiet site. Dog walking/play area for the kids. No climbing frames etc so that's always a bonus. Underfloor heated shower block, a luxury! Nice and clean too.

Visited the Marlingford Bell on the Friday for their fish and chips. Well worth the short walk.

Popped and visited recommended farm shop next door. Pandoras box! Small shed, self service on an honesty box system. Jam packed with their produce plus local produce. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick57eich 3 reviews from this member

 Probably best if the proprietors update their website and stated some truths about the place. On entering the area first impressions are favourable. However, if you drive past the toilet block on your left and round the corner it is what the majority of campers we spoke to refer to as ‘Shanty Town’. An area littered with caravans, thick with dirt and green moss having been pitched there for what looks like an eternity. Weeds growing up the sides of their awnings, dirty mattresses and quilts lay outside some of the trailers covered with mud and sodden with the bad weather. If there was once a children’s play area then there is no more, unless it is where the rusty old tractor and digger have been dumped beside the oversized stinking pond. As you push open the door to the information room the musty odours hit the back of your throat and you realise it is time to make a hasty retreat having quickly surveyed the shelves of tacky bric and brac that is marked up for sale and a notice you are being watched on CCTV.

The toilet block is something else – once in the shower you press a button and it is hit or miss whether the water that comes out is piping hot or cold, never mind - the water stops after 10 seconds and you then have to press the button again for another 10 second spurt. Try keeping your hand on the button for a continuous flow of water whilst applying soap to your flannel/sponge and washing with the other hand. After that experience there is the mop and bucket to clean up after yourself. I’d give it a miss, more germs on the mop head than in a bacteria growing clinic. Toilet brushes – I won’t even go there. Hairdryers at a cost, washing machine/tumble dryers at a cost, wifi at a cost (although very good reception). The rubbish bins were overflowing with waste. There is no security, no gate so whoever can come and go as they please.

Finally I drove to the recommended farm shop, right out of the site and first bungalow on the left. There was a wooden shed approx 6' x 4' with Farm Shop written above and a freezer and fridge that had seen better days - guess what! Yes - I gave it a miss. On the upside, we met some wonderful fellow campers! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 We found Swans Harbour to be a very good, quiet, small commercial site.

Touring pitching area is immediately inside gate. It measures very approx 50m x 80m, is laid out for around 17 pitches, with some hardstands, ample ehu points, is well sheltered, level and surface is well prepared. Surprisingly, it didn't feel crowded even when fully occupied, There is a second area that appeared to be used for seasonally pitched 'vans.

Conveniently located adjacent to pitching area is a substantial, high standard facilities block (showers heated & free) with washing up area, fridge / freezer, microwave oven, washing machine & dryer.

Very reasonably priced WiFi available.

Dog friendly (no charge), but I could not find a nearby footpath for extended walks.

To sum up: as good as a small “Club” site but about half the price. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Larry the bus 5 reviews from this member

 Found this site by chance last year after our regular site at loddon went to rot. New owners who didn't seem to care. We wanted a regular getaway site where we could just escape, Swans harbour was absolutely delightful. Geoff the owner did a very regular patrol and we we were told by residents any problems ( there were none) were dealt with and any upsets to your neighbours and you are gone. He seems to have spent a lot of money getting the site very nicely set up and wants to see his guests have a pleasant relaxing time with no problems. I spoke to a couple of chaps living in the sort of long-term area at the rear of the site and its live and let. They explained the rules and it applies to all. At the front of the site Geoff had a couple of vans in which people were visiting people in long term hospital in Norwich.

This site has everything. It's facilities are superb and all inclusive being well maintained. Lovely country position with a bus service but only a few minutes drive from the Norwich showground and it's massive retail park.

Absolutely loved it and just booked again with the friends we went with last year and we're staying on with a couple of other friends were introducing to the Site. Very recommended (and inexpensive) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Had1312 2 reviews from this member

 Me and my friends camp here every year for the Sundown festival at the Norfolk Showground.

The facilities are clean and the staff are always very welcoming. We always have a great time here.

The campsite is in a lovely rural setting close to Norwich City.

It's very reasonably priced considering how nice the facilities are. We paid just over £12 each for three nights.

We hope to book again this year. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda Atkinson 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a nights stay at this lovely site. Very quiet, we were able to pitch where we liked along the river edge. Well kept field, like camping in your garden! Very well appointed shower/ toilet blocks, shower cubicles very spacious, washbasins had privacy curtain a very nice touch. Plenty of hooks to hang clothes, towels, wash bags etc. Free showers - plenty of hot water! Exceptionally clean - we saw the owners during the afternoon, they just came round to check we were ok.

Smallish room for washing up, also washing machine and dryer provided, also microwave and fridge/ freezer. The reception area looked a little dated, but there a were a few things for sale, plenty of second hand books - not sure if any orovisions could be bought, although did notice eggs were for sale. The back of the site did look like there were long term lets - some of the caravans were quite old, but as we were camping in the front field not a problem.

Quite a way from anywhere - we were only staying overnight to attend a party nearby so were not too bothered. The ducks are very friendly and like to come and share your breakfast! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raq54321 8 reviews from this member

 Nice clean small site.

Didn't like the fact that workmen lived in caravans on the site, it wasn't truly a holiday retreat place!

Cheap wifi.

Facilities ok for such a small site.

Lots of pubs nearby but some looked expensive when we looked at their websites.

Good base for Norfolk.

Not sure we would return though.

No off lead dog walking area which was a shame.

Would we recommend? Probably not with work, en living there. It spoilt it for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharky21 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over this Easter holiday. Couple of things:-

We were expecting a hard standing pitch, but ended up on a grass pitch under trees. This was acceptable, however, the pitches were right around the back end of the site amongst the caravan storage area and where the owner puts his 'long term' visitors, which looked to us as though they were people that either lived in them year round or were staying in their caravans whilst they worked nearby.

Don't get me wrong, we all need a place to live, but when you have paid good money for a nice break, this was a definite minus for this site. The storage vans looked as though they had been there for years and were all tatty and green and even the workers vans were old and the awnings were green and in a very bad state of repair.

That said, the site as you first enter was lovely and with big hard standing pitches. The toilet block was adequate and clean with only 2 showers for both men and women and 4 wash areas each. However, they were clean and the shower cubicles were plenty big enough.

The site was clean enough and close to big Sainsburys and Norwich, but I have to say it was rather ruined by the pitches we were given which for the record were 20 and 21. TV reception was great and the Wifi worked well.

Would we return? A resounding NO. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Swans Harbour Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Norwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement