Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crossways Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Crossways Caravan Site
Holt Road
Little Snoring
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 0AX
Tel: 01328 878335
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 26
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Proxewa 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here as we were visiting a friend nearby - wouldnít seek this place out again but it was fine for a short stop off. They have obviously addressed comments made here eg fence has been replaced and facilities have had a lick of paint and though basic were very clean. Itís just an odd place reminiscent of a French camping municipal, or even a travellers site as there are many permanent (friendly) residents. Itís flat and adjoining field has good kids playground and ample dog walking possibilities itís also handy for the airfield and Fakenham is 5 min drive away. So if you donít mind basic and need a stop off itís fine.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hazellamb 1 review from this member

I was really impressed with what the new owners had achieved in a very short time. From the road, the site may look somewhat doubtful, but the welcome, the attention, the pitch and the price were excellent - with fab. Views all around and easy access to various local attractions. We had a lovely two days, using the old but immaculate facilities (due to be upgraded), and, on asking to borrow a screwdriver, having help from Matt, the handyman, to repair a loose hose under the 'van - while he refused any payment. Regular seasonal visitors are friendly and I imagine that this site will achieve 10/10 by next season, if the improvements continue at the same pace. Sophie and Kate deserve to have a lot of success and I wish them well!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cueball1967 2 reviews from this member

A lovely location but unfortunately the facilities on the site are out of date. The site is overlooked by a housing estate with a battered and twisted wire fence running the length of the site between the estate and the site. I understand that they are going through a refurbishment but you would expect this to be reflected in the price which is the highest I've paid this year. This is also the first caravan site that I have had to vacate at 10am. There is no time for the sun to dry your awning. The location is good if you want to visit places in the area but you do get a lot of road noise from the A148. I've stayed at much nicer sites for half the price.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeterjF 1 review from this member

Excellent site, facilities were clean and tidy, shower and wash room had constant hot water, site owner was very friendly and helpful.

On site shop was stocked with everything we required and we could also buy hot tea and coffee.

Local pub close by,

If and when in the area again we will return and we recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Damianmellor 1 review from this member

My family have kept a caravan on the Crossways caravan site for over 10 years. The owners have always been very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The site is perfectly situated, close to the market towns of Fakenham and Holt and is only 20 minutes from the North Norfolk coast. The on site shop/post office is very convenient and well stocked, with essentials and a daily supply of fresh bread, milk and local produce. The football pitch and play area behind the site is safe and convenient for youngsters. In the 10 years we have been there, we have never had a problem with noise or disturbance. Although there are other sites with more modern facilities (and much higher rates), I feel this sites simplicity adds to its charm. If you expect 5 star facilities, consider the Hoste Arms hotel at Burnham Market! I spent my first holiday here almost 40 years ago at the age of 2 months. I will come back whenever possible because it is a wonderful site in a beautiful location.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judith1964 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site for the August Bank Holiday weekend as a base to visit along the Norfolk Coast. The facilities were quite adequate Ladies enjoyed a shower room, loo and electric shower, as much hot water as you wanted, space to dry and dress. Although the mop to clean up after your self does need replacing!

Saturday night brought a deluge of rain so being parked on concrete and the awning on quick draining grass was a godsend.

The playing field, local team plays on a Saturday afternoon, children's play area, quite modern equipment, didn't impose noise onto the site. Dog walk along the outside edge of the campsite leading onto the fields - gated entrance.

The Green Man pub almost opposite is open (re-opened 5 weeks ago) made to feel very welcome. The site shop stocks all you need or pop into Fakenham.

The site does have history attached to it related to the nearby Lt Snoring wartime airfield the owners are more than pleased to pass the time of day with you.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Saxonplace 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from three nights at tis campsite over the August Bank Holiday.

Very friendly welcome and well presented site, site was nearly full but never had to wait for shower which was hot and free or the toilets.

We used this as a base to go to Blakeney and along the coast road to Cromer for trips out.

We were pitched with the caravan on a concrete hard standing but placed so we could peg down our awning onto the grass area also.

The pub just across the road is now open again and served a good pint of Aspall Cider (or 2). We went in Sunday lunchtime but did not eat ourselves although there was a number of people having the Carvery.

Morrisons just down the road towards Fakenham was useful although the Camp Site Shop was also well stocked and opened every day.

It is just off a main road but we did not find the noise a problem ourselves, neither did we find any problem with the playing field behind the site.

Only slight criticism would be that there were no hand towels or dryer in the toilets, but that is probably the only this that could be improved.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5521 1 review from this member

We stayed two nights with two children and a dog, the campsite was well presented, very quiet and friendly. We didn't experience any problems at all.

We booked the site as a 'last resort' as all sites on the North Norfolk coast were full and were pleased to find it was only an enjoyable 20 min drive from Blakeney and ideal for the North Norfolk coast.

We never had to queue for the toilets or showers and there was always toilet roll.

We were disappointed the pub down the road was closed, but, were happy to discover Morrisons was only 3 mins down the road for supplies and the post office/local store on the camp site was brilliant for a newspaper etc. in the morning.

We found the site a 'lucky find' and would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tessan 2 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights at the campsite. On all of the days either the ladies or mens shower was out of order and we had to use the shower in the 'health suite'. The toilet in the health suite was not cleaned all the time we were there.

The layout of the site meant that the tents which needed the toilets and showers were the furthest away and caravans were nearest to the facilities. The site is in need of modernisation.

Unfortunately the pub is also closed and therefore there are no places for evening meals within walking distance.

Shame as it is in a convenient location for sightseeing.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingmol 3 reviews from this member

Asked owners if they had lots of kids booked on and they said no, they omitted to say that the other side of the hedge from our pitch was a children's playground with lots of very d teenagers until well after dark and very early in the morning.

The site itself is tired, and that's probably being generous! Used the shower but not a lovely experience. A mop and bucket to allow people to clear up there own hair from the area might have been an idea. Wash up area not very appetising and fridge I think circa 1970. This all said owner friendly and owns the shop and post office also.

Just not our sort of place and we couldn't wait to get out of there. Noise from the main road that it is situated on did not really add to the ambience for us either. Was central to the area however, but still won't bring us back.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2469 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019