Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low House Touring Caravan Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Low House Touring Caravan Centre Reviews

Low House Touring Caravan Centre
Bucklesham Road
Foxhall
Ipswich
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP10 0AU
Tel: 01473 659437
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppys mum 2 reviews from this member

 We use this site several times a year and love it. The staff are excellent and will do anything they can to help. The facilities are clean and well looked after and we love the fact that there are no set times for arriving and leaving so we can be more relaxed 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveandwendy 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful campsite. Toilets and showers have obviously been decorated recently (judging by older reviews). Staff very helpful and friendly. A little gem in the heart of Suffolk. Can definitely recommend this place 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sad its over 1 review from this member

 Couldn't believe how quiet the site was in the middle of August. There were not many spare pitches, but lots were occupied by caravans that appeared to be long term lets and were empty.

The site had everything we needed, electricity, level pitch, loads of space (our tent is quite big), room for a second car and clean toilet and shower block. Pitches were around the outside of the field so the whole of the centre of the field was empty giving a feeling of space and room to play outdoor games.

The toilet block was not very new but it was clean and the showers were great - hot and powerful. There were so few people at the site we rarely met any one in the shower block and never had to queue.

There is a tiny hut that I think is supposed to be for washing up but there is no hot water so we quickly decided to boil our own water and wash up by the tent.

We stayed for 5 nights and had some lovely days out at Sutton Hoo, the coast (which is beautiful), Woodbridge etc.

The warden was very helpful and the site felt secure. We will definitely stay there again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hardcorecampers 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, the site was lovely and well maintained, good showers and clean toilets some reviews people moaned at the hot water in the washing up hut but come on people 10 a night for two adults with one car a rottweiler and a two man tent! How can you moan at that! If you want more then pay double somewhere else, simples! Had a fantastic couple of days and will see you again soon. Thank you 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charliems 10 reviews from this member

 Second time we've stayed here as it's great for seeing friends in Ipswich and far quieter than other sites in the area, both in terms of the number of people staying and the road noise. Feels like you're in the middle of the countryside but you can be in town in minutes.

In a nutshell:

* the facilities are basic but clean

* the site's spacious and leafy

* the reception staff are friendly and helpful

Reasonably priced too so what more can we say - we'll be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The greens 1969 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here over bank holiday,

It's a lovely little site if you want peace and quiet, near to ipswich and felixstowe so plenty to do,

Nice pitches cheap @ 14 per night

Friendly reception by on site staff,

It could become a fantastic little site if the owner just revamped his toilet/shower block and washing up facilities as others have said, wouldn't take much, then the owner could ask more for staying there, everywhere else was full for that w/end but people seemed to come and go quickly there only staying the one night.

Gripe over, I would return for a w/end as we did like it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spot n Nutty 4 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed 2 nights peace & quiet here over the Easter holiday. We booked just a week before over the phone & the owner sent us a map with confirmation by 1st class mail.

The current wardens who have been in place for the last 10 months or so were pleasant & informative on arrival. We were given a choice of pitches, & opted for the lower field which we were advised could be more peaceful as there were a couple of family groups with children in the main field.

The toilet blocks were functional,clean & tidy with plenty of hot water at the sinks & more than enough time in the shower (which takes a 50p token) OK,they may be overdue a makeover but we have certainly seen a lot worse! We noted that the play area for children was operational but there were no birds currently housed in a kind of 'pets corner'.

An easy ride into Ipswich & minutes drive from the showground. Exit from this site when towing a van does require someone to 'see you out' as on a slight bend down a country lane.

Perfect for couples or families who want a no frills site with minimal facilities. We would not hesitate returning. 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marybeare 7 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site for years and have enjoyed the peace, and easy access to shopping, coast etc.

There are long term caravans/residents on site, but these did not cause us any problems.

The toilet block/showers are overdue a make over. They now have damp areas on the inside walls, and when we visited needed cobwebs removed and general cleaning.(It was a was a wet muddy week).

This site is ideal if you want peace and are not fussy about immaculate showers or decent washing up facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike7691 1 review from this member

 This was my partner's first time camping since age 11! Didn't want to travel too far, so as we live in Colchester seemed a good option.

We had a children free period and decided it was a good time to try it out with me!

This site is the smallest site I have stayed on - about 30 odd unit space I think - and was very clean,tidy and flat! there was a small playground on site and the younger children seemed to be enjoying it. There is no shop on site and you need tokens (50p) for the showers and hairdryer. The shower/toilet block is a little aged and a bit smelly, with the shower I used having two temperatures - cold and not quite as cold, my partner saying the same for hers! That said I had my shower quite late in the morning although it shouldn't make a difference, and I wasn't informed of anything. The washing up area was an old butler sink with a hot outlet - but I failed in any attempt to get hot water from it?? There are caravans dotted around the site which are owned and the pitch paid for seasonally for those no longer towing so I guess I may have caught it on an off weekend.

We walked into Bucklesham on the first night, took about 30 minutes and went to The Shannon for dinner. This is more of a restaurant than local pub and was told we may have to wait for a while. We were seated and had finished our main course within about an hour! The service there cannot be faulted and the food was delicious. The prices were reasonably high for a pub but the quality and portion size reflected this. The walk back was rather interesting too as there is no footpath or streetlights so please remember your torch if walking. The road was not particularly busy but there are some blind corners for drivers!

We drove out to Waldringfield - approx. 20 minutes - and had a 6 mile circular walk through Newbourne, pub The Fox excellent food and drink, Hemley and onto Kirton Creek. The countryside is lovely with good views of the River Deben. Ipswich is 10 minutes away with all the main stores and Tesco/Sainbury's even closer.

Apart from the shower (and the on site cockerel at 4.45 AM!) it was a good weekend to the point we are now looking to get a large family tent for the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garland 1 review from this member

 This was our first experience of caravanning and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our stay was mainly to see relatives- our grandchildren were made welcome and they loved the play area and the pets corner.
Toilets and showers were clean, the site was neat and tidy with trees around the pitches. Quite nearby are Sainsburys and Tesco.
The staff were very welcoming. It was a totally relaxing break-even the dog had fun. We look forward to returning. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low House Touring Caravan Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low House Touring Caravan Centre?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low House Touring Caravan Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ipswich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement