Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monks Barn Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Stratford Upon Avon > Monks Barn Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Monks Barn Farm Certificated Location
Shipston Road
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV37 8NA
Tel: 01789 293714
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5 CAMC Only and Private 6 Pitch Site
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hannick 6 reviews from this member

We will visit again. We don’t like the big commercial sites and this was perfect for us. We got a friendly welcome and we enjoyed feeling part of the farm. Perfectly adequate facilities. If we want a big all singing and dancing toilet and shower block we’ll visit a Caravan and Motorhome site (remembering we need to precisely park with the correct corner of our campervan at the white maker post otherwise we’ll get a telling off).

We love this campsite. Recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pault156 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here on the rally field with the BCC. It is a large well mown and level field with fresh water and elsan point. Electric hookup is available as are hardstandings. It is away from the main road so only noise was the early birds and sheep. There is an info shed with all the walks and local facilities and another shed with fresh eggs and locally made jams and cakes. We did not use the facilities at the main site but they appeared satisfactory and clean despite the site being very busy. Very helpful owners who have compiled the information folder

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhysgriff 7 reviews from this member

A lovely small site in a great location, just a 2 mile walk across country into Stratford. The main road is very fast and best avoided by foot or bike but there is a nice route out of the back of the site over fields to Clifford Chambers. The site owners are very friendly and they have an honesty box for eggs, jams and delicious cakes! The toilet/shower facilities are clean albeit a little tired. We like this site and hope to use it again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarenBB 4 reviews from this member

Monks Barn Farm is well situated close to Stratford-on-Avon with excellent access from the main road. The CL site is large with good size pitches but there is a considerable amount of road noise from early in the morning until late at night. The site does advertise toilet and shower facilities but these are not good. The whole area is shabby and not clean. There is a stone tiled floor which has not been washed in a long time an there are cobwebs a plenty. There is no mop and bucket just a sweeping brush but the cleanliness of this area needs to be addressed. There are two toilets and one shower - which we would not use. These facilities are for the CL site - 5 units, another area which has approximately 9 pitches and a rally field which was in use when we stayed. These facilities are not sufficient for the number of units on site. We realise that this is a working farm but if a caravan site is part of your business then you need to make sure the facilities are adequate and clean.

Management response: We were saddened and distressed to read Karen's review of August 2016.

What the visitor has overlooked is that whilst we have 8 numbered pitches on the CL Site and 8 Numbered pitches on the Independent site (Fieldbarn Site) we only use 5 pitches and 6 pitches respectively and the extra are to allow
for changeovers and resting the ground where necessary. Therefore the maximum number of outfits that could use the toilet facilities at any one time, would be 11 -this is assuming that both sites are full. Rallies at Monks' Barn are required to be self contained and do not use the facilities.

The toilet area has been sited in an adapted brick farm barn and the walls and floor tiled as appropriate. Inevitably at certain times of the year we get cobwebs, which we attend to as and when we can, but putting cobwebs aside, and in our defence, we are always meticulous about the cleanliness of the sanitary ware. It is cleaned every day and more if required, and there are notices requesting our visitors to tell us if there is anything they are concerned about.

We feel we are being unjustly compared with
larger sites who are twice as expensive, if not more, who can therefore afford to offer a purpose built toilet blocks.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane&Lynn 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here one night on our way back to Yorkshire and so glad we did. This is a lovely little site with a friendly owner. Good value and very convenient for Stratford. More than adequate facilities. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DavidW50 6 reviews from this member

As a Caravan Club member, I had hoped for an available pitch on the CL, but instead the owners were able to put us on the Field Barn site, which is exactly like a CL behind the farm. All the facilities were very acceptable, being shared with the CL, including two toilets (which were clean but perhaps not spotless). On arrival we were welcomed and given a very detailed leaflet on access to Stratford, shops, and other attractions. Unusually there is a disused park and ride between the site and the town centre, now costing just £1, and about 15 minutes walk into Stratford along an old tramway track. We stayed during quite wet weather but the grass pitches were still usable.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bezza5 1 review from this member

We recently stayed for two nights at this wonderful site. The welcome we received was very friendly and helpful. The two toilets and one shower, were kept clean at all times. We stayed in one of two fields, which was near a fairly busy road, but hardly noticed any noise after a short while. It is a working farm, which meant fresh eggs from a little shed, also a delicious fruit cake to enjoy with our tea. Our pitch was level with awesome views & the grass was kept nicely trimmed. We shall definitely revisit when in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rubina2000 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on this lovely site for 5 nights over the Bank Holiday. Met by very pleasant owner and given choice of hardstanding or grass pitches on the Caravan Club CL area at front which we requested on booking. If you're bothered by road noise the Independent site at back may suit you better as it's further away from the road. We did find there was noise until later on in the evening but it didn't bother us. Grass was kept short and everywhere was clean and tidy the 2 toilets kept clean and the shower for which there is a 20p charge was nice and warm and lasted more than long enough.

There's a small wooden hut with a very good supply of Free Range Eggs and home made jam, also a selection of beautiful cakes baked by a local supplier. After we'd tried one we bough another 2 they were that tasty !

Plenty of information was supplied by owner about the area and various supermarkets. Dogs can be walked at the back of the site down the lane and across the fields to the village but there were sheep in the field so we took our dog to The Greenway which is a short drive away about 5 minutes and parking is free. Perfect for walking into Stratford or just a pleasant stroll or cycle ride.

We'll definitely be returning to this site and at a charge of £12 per night it's very reasonable. If you stay for more than 3 nights and you're an OAP there's a further 50p per night reduction.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juaney 1 review from this member

Enjoyed our stay on this site. The owners are friendly and my 10 year old daughter loved feeling the lambs toast in the morning.

There is one shower which costs 20p for about 8 minutes and one toilet. But you can't complain for £11. 00 a night.

There is a very pretty walk to the local village across field, but whatever you do do not eat at the pub in the village, called The New Inn. The food is disgusting, it has the ambience of a staff canteen and is a rip off. Unfortunately this is the only pub within walking distance.

Stratford upon Avon is a short drive away and there is a waitrose nearby.

Would stay at this site again if I was returning to this area.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bignose+jo 11 reviews from this member

This is a lovely CL site close to Stratford. Very friendly owners who leave you to get on with things.

The washing facilities are basic but adequate, there is a shower and toilet in the barn, that are clean and tidy. It was 20p for an 8 minute shower. We used the shower in the van, but my son said their shower was nice and warm. There is a little shed that has local information and another that sells local produce e. G. Lemon drizzle cake, jam and honey.

Some reviewers have complained about road noise. Our pitch was close to the road, and we were not bothered at all.

There are some nice pubs close by to eat at and a supermarket just up the road.

Very cheap, good value and ideally located site.

Highly recommended.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019