Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Ayr > Sundrum Castle Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Sundrum Castle Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Coylton
Ayr
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA6 6HX
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March - November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

This site was our rest day during our cycle touring holiday, so we were here for 2 nights. The tent pitch is on a slope so you have to plan your pitching well. Despite being given a takeaway menu the fish & chips takeaway was not open. Although the campsite is just a short walk to a little village where you can catch a bus into Ayr and there is a little shop, takeaway & bakery. We thought the bar prices are very expensive (and we live near London!). The facilities were very well kept, with plenty of hot water. We used the laundry and would have preferred to have washing lines available instead of made to tumble dry everything.

I would have not liked to stay at this park in the summer as when the entertainment finished it was like kicking out time at a pub right next to your tent.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: HEJC72 13 reviews from this member

This was our first time staying at Sundrum Castle (we usually go to Wemyss Bay) and I was very pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in a static caravan (2 adults, 2 children and the dog). OK, the caravan was an older model and a couple of the door edges were worn but it was clean, warm and had everything we needed for an enjoyable holiday.

The site itself is very pleasant and kept clean and tidy by very helpful and friendly staff. The statics are well spaced (unlike Haven and other holiday parks who seem to cram in as many as possible) and the grass areas were all well cut and pleasant places to sit out in the evenings.

The pool with flume has staggered timings so never got crowded and my boys enjoyed going there. The arcade was also well used on our visit!

The small on site shop is a Nisa, so had everything you would need and the prices were not overly inflated.

The on site takeaway provided good quality food at reasonable prices - the pizza and the fish and chips were particularly good.

There is a small playground, all weather sports pitch and crazy golf which my boys enjoyed.

There is also a laundry room on site which is useful when you have 2 boys who attract mud like mine do!

There is a cafe and Costa on site but we didn't use these so not sure how good or bad they are as we either ate out (there is a Frankie and Bennies a short drive from the site), used the on site take away or cooked in the caravan.

The site is a short drive from Ayr where you will find a good selection of shops and supermarkets as well as a gorgeous dog friendly beach with a great adventure play park on the seafront.

We went 29th August (Bank Holiday weekend) for a week for £300 so it was a bargain break at a very pleasant site.

There is loads to see and do in the surrounding areas and it is definitely a place I would return to.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RPWC 3 reviews from this member

The good points, clean well kept grounds, situated half a mile off the main road, nice swimming pool, small, but sessions are staggered, so it never gets full.

Good food, pleasant staff.

Now the bad points gents showers, only two and two toilets for 30 odd pitches, the day I visited they were dirty, and one cubicle had no provision for anywhere to leave your clothes, other than the floor. The pitches are hard standing for the caravan and gravel for the awning, poor drainage on the gravel, after 3 days of torrential rain there was about an inch of water on top' of the gravel, which took 2 days to disperse.

Not much choice of beer in the bar, mostly lager and cider.

If you don't like sport, there's not much to do on site.

All depends on your requirements.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hdorans 2 reviews from this member

Worst site I have visited in 40 odd years of camping. Weeds all over. Staff not very pleasant. Kitchen staff away before people finished meal which not what was ordered. Toilets miles away from tents. Felt they did not want campers. Gave wrong directions where to camp. Staff unhelpful. Toilets dirty. Grass needed cutting. Clup rooms ok due to attitude of management. Did not try pool so can not comment. Shop seemed to have all you would need.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marty2711 8 reviews from this member

Shorter review than normal - a bit pushed for time. It seems to me that Sundrum/ Parkdean are actively discouraging tent campers.

The tent field, although placed very centrally and close to all the amenities and money spending opportunities (!), is set on a slope, only some pitches near the front at the car park are level.

Of course, you'll find this out once you've paid, in my opinion, over the odds for a nights camping, given that there's no option for electrics.

The park itself is clean. Neat and tidy. There's a touring area for caravans and Campervans, that seemed nice and organised. There's good outdoor facilities for the kids, a well equipped swing park and a fenced off football pitch, although I had to have a word with a lad who was kicking the ball out on pupose and whacking my car with it! Care? Not he!

Amusements will attract your kids and keep your available change to a minimum. And in true Bourne Leisure style you have to traverse the entire area to get to the entertainment hall and bar restaurant. Entertainment serves a purpose I suppose, singers and bingo was the order of the day. There were also some kids activities going on too during the day, that was a nice touch.

Toilet facilities - woeful hot water pressure at the sinks, trickle at best. Showers hot but unadjustable, the wee ones might find them scorchio! Toilet facilities = 2 toilets and 2 showers for the entire caravan touring area (30ish pitches) and any campers who happen to be there (I reckon the field would take 20 tents).

It's my view that Parkdean are all about Static Caravans and getting them sold! They gear all their marketing on site towards that. There were 6 display models literally at the front entrance and a crew of slick salesmen waiting to bait you. You even get a starter pack (cups, saucers, plates, a frying pan, towels. If you spend £20, 000). Get my name down for that!

Summary - Busy weekend, facilities okay, camping - not the best, pricey, static city.

My jury is out on these kind of sites - they have a place I suppose, but give me a site that's all about camping with nice clean facilities and a nice quiet atmosphere that calms down at night anyday in the week. See my review on Eskdale, that's the difference.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jbrines 1 review from this member

Great value for money and a very well kept site. The touring area was will kept and clean, the toilet blocks were clean if not a bit small for the site, I can only imagine that in the summer it would be very busy.

The complex was clean. The bar area was nice and again clean. The amusement area was clean but very cold. Prices for alcohol and soft drinks very expensive which is a shame as I think we would have spent more time in the place. We went swimming on the Saturday, nice pool, clean but the changing areas were very cold.

Having looked on the web site this site gets very expensive during the children's holidays which is a shame as I think it would be nice to go then.

Booked up for another weekend in May so let's hope it is a nice weekend and they have sorted out the cold areas :)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HClan 1 review from this member

Site on a slight slope, so you need to pick your space carefully.

Facilities good, although I will admit I do feel like I am treated like a second rate citizen as a camper, when we are only trusted to have showers that have a 'timed press button'. They were a bit too hot for my young children so it annoys me that you can't be trusted to adjust the temp(I have found this on several sites though). They ran out of toilet paper a lot, and toilets were rather wet. They were never closed, so they were not just used by tourers, shame really.

There is definitely animosity between owners and campers, in fact some were really rather rude, so avoid camping anywhere near them!

There is a cashpoint on site (charges £1. 75) and shop is well stocked. They will also freeze icepacks for you. No EHU is a bit daft considering the quality of all the other facilities.

Good entertainment, kids well catered for.

Restaurant was very slow service, but food was good quality.

We will return, but only if we can avoid owners!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elly68 2 reviews from this member

Well arrived Friday to be told not on our requested pitch even though we requested it as we have a German Shepherd and long caravan that we didn't want near the football pitch. Instead we were in the middle where everyone just walks through even at 12midnight on way home from bar.

Toilets security number given however door was open all weekend so used by kids from statics as well as tourers and campers, they insist on cleaning them at 9 am when everyone is using them, have to say reasonably clean on this visit.

Son age 9 loves the astro pitch and was not seen all weekend.

There is a bit of a owners versus tourers/campers attitude on this site, witnessed more than once which is ironic as inlaws own a static on Sundrum.

The meal on the Friday was ok however Saturdays meal was a disaster and mother in law said they had the same issue the week before.

Daughter age 11 bought chips from on site chip shop and brought them into the club ready to go home an attendant shouted at her saying takeaway food not allowed after saying we were finishing our drinks and going another member of staff approached and shouted at us again. This was the same attitude we got from staff all weekend.

Maybe these sites aren't for us if you like haven go for it.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jay.r70 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Sundrum Castle after 3 days camping 8th July, with wife and nearly 4yr old son. We had a great time, quick check in,

Pitching area just round the corner, literally seconds drive from reception, we drove to the car park at the top of the pitch area as it was closer to where we wanted the tent pitched,

There is a football area just at the bottom of the tent area and the ball went astray many a time hitting the cars on a few occasions.

The pitching area can be a bit slope here and there but other than that it was fine, we used the Hi Gear Voyager 6 and the tent area looked like a Hi Gear convention.

The camp site has a very cosy feel to it all the areas of interest ie utility block, pool, entertainment areas and the children's play area/crazy golf is directly opposite the camping area, our son loved it, as did all the kids and its at the side of the restaurant so you get peace to eat the great food, while the wee ones are in and out

Don't let that worry you as we had no problems with noise from the entertainment area, as the cabaret/disco area is on the farthest point from the camping area,

The utility block was clean and tidy, men's toilet/shower area was constantly clean, showers were lovely and warm just takes a few pushes of the button to get the heat through, and pretty powerful.

Wife mentioned the ladies area a little wet, but due to users not closing shower doors properly also not a lot of tissue paper in the toilet cubicle no such problems in the gents,

Dish washing area has 2 sinks so pick your times but you can see from tent area if anyone is in washing up through the Windows.

We are looking at going back this weekend for our sons 4th birthday as the children's entertainment is excellent.

We thought it a little pricey for no EHU, be aware there is no cash machine on site, not even the the ones that charge you and you can only switch if its over a tenner and they don't do cash back, cash machine is under 10 min drive, just a minor grumble, we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anna21 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night at the end of July 2011. Staff were very helpful with directions to the site and very polite and informative at reception.

We took full advantage of the swimming pool, which was very quiet and very clean. It is very well managed and they only allow a set number in the pool at any one time for safety.

On site is a well-stocked shop, swimming pool, hot food take away and bar. Plenty of space on the tent field and very close to toilet block and entertainment.

It was just under £32 for two adults in any size tent. Site did go quiet at around 11 o'clock however was a bit noisy before this, so not great for adults with small children.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5125 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019