Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Queensberry Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > Queensberry Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Queensberry Bay Holiday Park
Powfoot
Annan
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG12 5PN
Tel: 01461 700205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Januaryto November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Edridsdale 5 reviews from this member

Revisited this site for third time and it has been taken over by a multi site company who seem to be turning it into a static site very rapidly. Tourers are being accomodated on shoreside which is fine but it isnt very child friendly now, apart from the beach, statics are being sited everywhere on site and the kids playing field looks likely to be sacrificed too. The small animal compound has gone as have the alpacas and ponies in the adjoining field. Great pity as they were a lovely distraction.

The toilet block is fine but there was no hand dryer in the gents all week even though they were notified on my first visit. Not even paper towels and waste bin provided. Disgusting.

If you are into spa use then you will be fine, also short breaks in small cabin like pods or static van hire. Campervans and tourers are coming and going like a stopover site. Not at all welcoming anymore. Will not be returning. Great pity as it was a great site before albeit a bit expensive.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AMATEUR 7 reviews from this member

We booked Queensberry Bay on the recommendation of some friends who had come across it whilst walking and decided to book one of the seafront Pods. They said that you could book seafront caravan pitches which sounded great. However, on calling to book, we found that our caravan was over the length limit for these pitches, so we were given a different pitch.

The road down to the site is very potholed, so take care.

On arrival, we checked in – and were directed to our pitch – driving past the seafront pitches on our way. We were surprised to see a couple of caravans and a motorhome which were definitely longer than our unit, so I popped into the shop to ask – but was told that they shouldn’t have been there and were having to move, so we accepted and pitched up on our grass pitch with electric hook up which was fine, and we did have a bit of a sea view.

Showers and toilets were immaculately clean, opened on a keyfob which had a very hefty deposit. There were individual rooms with toilet, shower and basin – more like a wet room. However, one of my big irritations with campsites is having to pay to use a shower when you have already paid to stay on the site. £1 per shower, which can add up for a family. The shower ran for 5 minutes – decent shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are included. However, as in many sites, the floor was then so wet that on one occasion I decamped to a next door cubicle to dry – but you can only do this when it’s quiet. It would have been helpful to have a few mops or squeegees left out so you could give the floor a mop over. Otherwise the facilities were spotless. There is wifi on site but we couldn’t get a connection.

There’s an on-site shop selling basics, a camping kitchen overlooking the sea, complete with games and binoculars for wet days, and a laundry.

There were animals surrounding the site – Llamas, Donkeys, Ostriches, Horses, which were nice to see. The shop sells food for them too.

There is a nice hotel within walking distance of the campsite, with a great restaurant called Del Amitri (I suggest that you book). If you are a golfer, then the Powfoot Golf course is close too. Annan is close by too – a nice little town with individual shops.

We enjoyed our stay, but there were a few little irritations – the length restriction which wasn’t adhered to (except by us!), the hefty deposit for the keyfob and the cost of the showers. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 6 reviews from this member

It's the third time we stay at Queensberry Bay Holiday Park and it is as good as the first time : clean facilities, a nice view on Solvay firth, and very quiet. Add a nice welcome and all is said.

I forget to mention that even after all the rain this year, the grass was not too much soaked.

The only drawback is the small road through Powfoot, which is full of potholes, so you have to drive very carefully

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juekaz 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Queensberry Bay. Very relaxing break. Lovely walks with the dog and the site is very dog friendly. Facilities are excellent. We were on the shoreside pitches and they are great. The only downside for us was the only pub within walking distance doesn't allow dogs in so as the weather wasn't great had to sit out in the cold :-(

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Helenmears 5 reviews from this member

We have used this site many times on our way to and from elsewhere in Scotland and it never disappoints. The shoreside pitches have wonderful views of the Solway and you can walk on the beach (at low tide!) and along the shore. The facilities here are spotless and although the shower is £1 it is a fantastic power shower and worth every penny.

We have never managed to stay more than one night at a time due to always being on our way somewhere else, but there is plenty in the area to keep you occupied on a longer stay e.g. Caerlaverock Castle, wildlife reserves, Dumfries, Burns trail etc.

There is a small shop on site selling essentials and a restaurant at the nearby hotel, main shops are in Annan approx 5 miles away.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Haylesbeth 1 review from this member

This is my 4th visit here and every time I come I feel welcome, the staff are great. Nice that you have the personal touch as they know me now! Stayed in an S Pod again. The towels were arranged into swans on the bed (lovely touch by talented staff!). The pods have anything you could need with full cutlery/utensils, heating and even a DVD player! The views were even more amazing as tide changes from last year created different views. People on site friendly as they recognised me and met new people as everyone talks to each other. Have read the review about the road. This is not the owners fault as their road is smooth it is the council road on approach that has a few bumps. Just drive carefully and its fine! Also Joanne and her husband are always very friendly and have time for a chat when I'm here, they even let me late checkout as the pod wasn't being used that night which was a lovely touch and I felt very welcomed by them. It was also lovely to see all the great friendly animals and the little ducklings who have grown since May! Look forward to coming back in May

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roadsterles 6 reviews from this member

Had another great weekend at this site. Getting a shoreside pitch is great. Views are fantastic and right at the walkway to the beach. Staff couldn't be any friendlier and even when we got home was phoned to tell us we had not received our discount with being a frequent user so they refunded my bank card with the funds, wouldn't have known any different. First class service and shop has everything you need.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

I thought I was back in the East Riding of Yorks, the final 2miles of single track road was full of pot holes and loose gravel.

After booking in, we were shown to our serviced pitch on the shore side, a EHU tower with a cold water tap, the pitch was a disappointment, muddy potholes and sand.

The reception has a decent licensed shop with the usual products for sale, laundrette and waste/fresh water points. There is a small petting Zoo on the park.

The shower/WC cubicles are kept clean, however it is a £1 for approx 5 minutes of shower time, included in the price was hair shampoo from dispensers, the toilets are in the same cubicle.

There is a £20 pre payment for a key fob, this is refundable on leaving the site. The bay is tidal and I would not recommend unsupervised children playing along the shore area. Have a look on Google earth and view the area from above.

I was disappointed at the premium rates and £2 per night for my wee Dog, I was told it was to pay staff to clean up after it, however there was 4 old farm dogs crapping at will amongst the pitches.

The staff were warm and friendly, also a beauty spa on the park, however we will not be returning

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper4692 3 reviews from this member

Well laid out site with spotlessly clean facilities! The owners obviously take a lot of pride in the upkeep of the park and amenities. We were placed in the Croft section with nearly every kind of animal imaginable in the enclosed field wandering past our back window!) Adult section ensures you get a long lie in after working hard all week. Bliss! Shower cubicles are exceptional with a nice touch including shampoo/conditioner dispensers included in the price of a shower at £1 which was well worth the price, although my other half grumbled at being charged then admitted after being dragged to have a shower that it was rather nice!

My only small complaint about the site was that I would have loved to been able to use the Powfoot spa and it was fully booked in advance (only 4 allocated time slots in the day, bookable online). We had a peep in the window and the spa looked quite big and would imagine it could hold at least 8/10 people at the one time. But as its for 'your own private time' there might only be 2 people using it at the one time. The owners have obviously decided this is popular but unfortunately limits the amount of visitors being allowed to enjoy this facility.

Unfortunately no on site bar/restaurant so we walked 15 mins down the road and had an enjoyable meal and a few drinks at the Powfoot Golf Hotel (take a torch if walking back in the dark).

4 miles country road cycle/car to the nearby town of Annan.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamdude 1 review from this member

After reading the many previous reviews, we went with an open mind & were prepared for the 'breezy weather'. We were welcomed on a torrential rainy Saturday afternoon & directed to a fab size pitch with EHU in the Paddock area(Pitch 20), we eventually got the tent up & settled in for an extremely windy night, 1 0f a few windy nights! The shower block is exceptional & one of the best we have encountered & despite many reviews mentioning cost of £1 per shower I have to say they are well worth a £1, the level of cleanliness is perfect, nice hot showers & a 5 minute timer is more than adequate. No waiting, hairdryer too(20p), whilst I agree other sites may not charge for showers they sometimes charge for wi-fi, Queensberry do not charge, so 'swings & roundabouts' really. There is a launderette type room, a communal kitchen. The animals in pets corner are great, Alpacas, emus, horses, ducks, rabbits, hamsters, donkeys, some fab characters. The main attraction for us was the vast expanse of beach, fantastic for dog to run around. No complaints for us whatsoever regarding this fantastic site, staff are so friendly & helpful, only a minor gripe that some of the regular owners do not pick up doggy doo in the grassed areas down to beach(we actually witnessed an owner), you actually need to walk on this area to get to the beach if you don't want to wade through a large pool of water, personally I'd rather take risk of pool water as opposed to stepping in doo! Cant wait to go back there, soon hopefully!

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Annan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019