Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Queensberry Bay Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > Queensberry Bay Leisure Park Reviews

Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Powfoot
Annan
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG12 5PN
Tel: 01461 700205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: Januaryto November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 Do read reviews older than 2018 cautiously, as the site is in new ownership and many details have changed. We had 7 days on 3 pitches (had to move for prior bookings on each pitch and helpful cheerful Julie in Reception booked us the final additional single night. )

The Croft or Dunlin £25 pn - grass field, 10 EHU pitches, views of Criffel to the west & fields to the north, and glimpsed views south between statics to the Lakes and sea. The Shore £30 pn - behind the merse or salt marsh, 10 pitches on narrow hardstands with EHU and water, no drains, views to the Lakes and the silty beach (which is enormous at low tide).

You need a grey water canister as there's no MH drive-over drain. Children were happy cycling round & round the site. The shop is basics only, not licensed, big Tesco at the east end of Annan. Free Wi-Fi, stable enough for a Zoom meeting. Dog free, didn't see any mess. Showers £1. Magical night skies - Milky Way clear over the Solway, awesome! And so quiet.

Bus every hour from Cummertrees (25 min walk, use the signed path over the golf course) to Dumfries (--35) and to Annan, Gretna Outlets and Carlisle (--40) - the Scottish bus pass gets that far. (PS the bus company is strict about wearing face coverings during the current pandemic: no mask, no ticket, so take any exemption letter as proof. )

Plenty of dog walks locally - over the golf course and left through the woods behind Cummertrees and or right for the woods behind Powfoot (get home baking from Lainey's house in Powfoot - scones to die for); east along the sandy beach at Powfoot (download a tides app); follow the quiet National Cycle Route through the site as it heads west; go along the merse to the lane for the CL next door.

Walks further afield in Forest of Ae or Mabie Forest. We explored Annandale & Nithsdale and found plenty to see & do. "The Devil's Porridge" Museum at Eastriggs has won awards (it's about making explosives) but due to Covid you do need to book tickets rather than turning up. Caerlaverock castle also needs pre-booked tickets at the moment.

Would we come back? Yes, no doubt. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Edridsdale 6 reviews from this member

 Revisited this site for third time and it has been taken over by a multi site company who seem to be turning it into a static site very rapidly. Tourers are being accomodated on shoreside which is fine but it isnt very child friendly now, apart from the beach, statics are being sited everywhere on site and the kids playing field looks likely to be sacrificed too. The small animal compound has gone as have the alpacas and ponies in the adjoining field. Great pity as they were a lovely distraction.

The toilet block is fine but there was no hand dryer in the gents all week even though they were notified on my first visit. Not even paper towels and waste bin provided. Disgusting.

If you are into spa use then you will be fine, also short breaks in small cabin like pods or static van hire. Campervans and tourers are coming and going like a stopover site. Not at all welcoming anymore. Will not be returning. Great pity as it was a great site before albeit a bit expensive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AMATEUR 10 reviews from this member

 We booked Queensberry Bay on the recommendation of some friends who had come across it whilst walking and decided to book one of the seafront Pods. They said that you could book seafront caravan pitches which sounded great. However, on calling to book, we found that our caravan was over the length limit for these pitches, so we were given a different pitch.

The road down to the site is very potholed, so take care.

On arrival, we checked in – and were directed to our pitch – driving past the seafront pitches on our way. We were surprised to see a couple of caravans and a motorhome which were definitely longer than our unit, so I popped into the shop to ask – but was told that they shouldn’t have been there and were having to move, so we accepted and pitched up on our grass pitch with electric hook up which was fine, and we did have a bit of a sea view.

Showers and toilets were immaculately clean, opened on a keyfob which had a very hefty deposit. There were individual rooms with toilet, shower and basin – more like a wet room. However, one of my big irritations with campsites is having to pay to use a shower when you have already paid to stay on the site. £1 per shower, which can add up for a family. The shower ran for 5 minutes – decent shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are included. However, as in many sites, the floor was then so wet that on one occasion I decamped to a next door cubicle to dry – but you can only do this when it’s quiet. It would have been helpful to have a few mops or squeegees left out so you could give the floor a mop over. Otherwise the facilities were spotless. There is wifi on site but we couldn’t get a connection.

There’s an on-site shop selling basics, a camping kitchen overlooking the sea, complete with games and binoculars for wet days, and a laundry.

There were animals surrounding the site – Llamas, Donkeys, Ostriches, Horses, which were nice to see. The shop sells food for them too.

There is a nice hotel within walking distance of the campsite, with a great restaurant called Del Amitri (I suggest that you book). If you are a golfer, then the Powfoot Golf course is close too. Annan is close by too – a nice little town with individual shops.

We enjoyed our stay, but there were a few little irritations – the length restriction which wasn’t adhered to (except by us!), the hefty deposit for the keyfob and the cost of the showers. Staff were friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 6 reviews from this member

 It's the third time we stay at Queensberry Bay Holiday Park and it is as good as the first time : clean facilities, a nice view on Solvay firth, and very quiet. Add a nice welcome and all is said.

I forget to mention that even after all the rain this year, the grass was not too much soaked.

The only drawback is the small road through Powfoot, which is full of potholes, so you have to drive very carefully 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juekaz 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Queensberry Bay. Very relaxing break. Lovely walks with the dog and the site is very dog friendly. Facilities are excellent. We were on the shoreside pitches and they are great. The only downside for us was the only pub within walking distance doesn't allow dogs in so as the weather wasn't great had to sit out in the cold :-( 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helenmears 5 reviews from this member

 We have used this site many times on our way to and from elsewhere in Scotland and it never disappoints. The shoreside pitches have wonderful views of the Solway and you can walk on the beach (at low tide!) and along the shore. The facilities here are spotless and although the shower is £1 it is a fantastic power shower and worth every penny.

We have never managed to stay more than one night at a time due to always being on our way somewhere else, but there is plenty in the area to keep you occupied on a longer stay e.g. Caerlaverock Castle, wildlife reserves, Dumfries, Burns trail etc.

There is a small shop on site selling essentials and a restaurant at the nearby hotel, main shops are in Annan approx 5 miles away.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Haylesbeth 1 review from this member

 This is my 4th visit here and every time I come I feel welcome, the staff are great. Nice that you have the personal touch as they know me now! Stayed in an S Pod again. The towels were arranged into swans on the bed (lovely touch by talented staff!). The pods have anything you could need with full cutlery/utensils, heating and even a DVD player! The views were even more amazing as tide changes from last year created different views. People on site friendly as they recognised me and met new people as everyone talks to each other. Have read the review about the road. This is not the owners fault as their road is smooth it is the council road on approach that has a few bumps. Just drive carefully and its fine! Also Joanne and her husband are always very friendly and have time for a chat when I'm here, they even let me late checkout as the pod wasn't being used that night which was a lovely touch and I felt very welcomed by them. It was also lovely to see all the great friendly animals and the little ducklings who have grown since May! Look forward to coming back in May 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roadsterles 6 reviews from this member

 Had another great weekend at this site. Getting a shoreside pitch is great. Views are fantastic and right at the walkway to the beach. Staff couldn't be any friendlier and even when we got home was phoned to tell us we had not received our discount with being a frequent user so they refunded my bank card with the funds, wouldn't have known any different. First class service and shop has everything you need. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

 I thought I was back in the East Riding of Yorks, the final 2miles of single track road was full of pot holes and loose gravel.

After booking in, we were shown to our serviced pitch on the shore side, a EHU tower with a cold water tap, the pitch was a disappointment, muddy potholes and sand.

The reception has a decent licensed shop with the usual products for sale, laundrette and waste/fresh water points. There is a small petting Zoo on the park.

The shower/WC cubicles are kept clean, however it is a £1 for approx 5 minutes of shower time, included in the price was hair shampoo from dispensers, the toilets are in the same cubicle.

There is a £20 pre payment for a key fob, this is refundable on leaving the site. The bay is tidal and I would not recommend unsupervised children playing along the shore area. Have a look on Google earth and view the area from above.

I was disappointed at the premium rates and £2 per night for my wee Dog, I was told it was to pay staff to clean up after it, however there was 4 old farm dogs crapping at will amongst the pitches.

The staff were warm and friendly, also a beauty spa on the park, however we will not be returning  


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycamper4692 3 reviews from this member

 Well laid out site with spotlessly clean facilities! The owners obviously take a lot of pride in the upkeep of the park and amenities. We were placed in the Croft section with nearly every kind of animal imaginable in the enclosed field wandering past our back window!) Adult section ensures you get a long lie in after working hard all week. Bliss! Shower cubicles are exceptional with a nice touch including shampoo/conditioner dispensers included in the price of a shower at £1 which was well worth the price, although my other half grumbled at being charged then admitted after being dragged to have a shower that it was rather nice!

My only small complaint about the site was that I would have loved to been able to use the Powfoot spa and it was fully booked in advance (only 4 allocated time slots in the day, bookable online). We had a peep in the window and the spa looked quite big and would imagine it could hold at least 8/10 people at the one time. But as its for 'your own private time' there might only be 2 people using it at the one time. The owners have obviously decided this is popular but unfortunately limits the amount of visitors being allowed to enjoy this facility.

Unfortunately no on site bar/restaurant so we walked 15 mins down the road and had an enjoyable meal and a few drinks at the Powfoot Golf Hotel (take a torch if walking back in the dark).

4 miles country road cycle/car to the nearby town of Annan. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Queensberry Bay Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Queensberry Bay Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Annan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2068 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement