Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pettycur Bay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Kinghorn > Pettycur Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Pettycur Bay Caravan Park
Burntisland Road
Kinghorn
Fife   (Browse area)
KY3 9YE
Tel: 01592 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/02/2020 to 15/01/2021
           15/02/2021 to 15/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 18 Reviews
                5/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clairie77 2 reviews from this member

 Myself and my daughter pitched up here for two nights. Treated like 2nd class citizens hidden down in the depths away from playparks and leisure facilities.

No lights on at night, warden is a pretentious git who patronised me and made me feel uncomfortable. The showers were cold and the shop lacked in the basics! Down trodden and sad to see it in such a poor state.

Fellow campers made it a good weekend but all in all I won't be back. The fact that you pay 30 a night (not stated on website) 10 deposit for toilet key and the swimming isn't included! Poor show. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stubbs21 1 review from this member

 The site had good views but pitches were very small

No hot water for two days and chemical toilet was always blocked as it was just a toilet with seat off. On last day part of the floor was collapsed

Not very good for 30 PER NIGHT 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanakerr 8 reviews from this member

 This looked stunning in the brochure so we decided to try it out. We were quite disappointed for a number of reasons.

1. The touring section wasn't very child friendly. It is next to a busy road with a fence that a child could step over and fall down onto the path or road.

2. There is a main road, a railway line and another caravan park (which does not take tourers) between you and the stunning bay?

3. To get to the bay you have to cross the road, the railway line and then follow the most horrible dark, narrow, closed in between the other caravan park and a fence path. It really isn't nice and feels like it goes on for ages.

4. To get to the main reception, shop and playpark you have to cross a carpark and the road leading into the main park. For most of this there is no path so the kids don't have the freedom of going to the park themselves as you cant see them from the touring section and there isn't a path all the way.

In my opinion the touring section at this park would suit people without children but for us it just wasn't relaxing. On a positive note after the ordeal of getting our three kids, two dogs and all the beach stuff to the beach it was stunning and we have some lovely photos. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jaykay22 1 review from this member

 We have only recently purchased a static caravan on this site, and so far we've found all the staff we have encountered to be extremely friendly and helpful. We did have a choice of pitch, and have chosen one not too far up the hill, and right at the end of the path. This means we have no passing traffic, foot or vehicular. The views all round are sensational, the location is very relaxing, irrespective of the weather. If you want guaranteed sunshine don't come to Scotland- one day we had hot sunshine, hailstones, and torrential rain all within less than one hour. No problem recommending Pettycur Bay Caravan Park.

Our grandchildren love the play park! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LolB 1 review from this member

 Lovely views and great beach over the road from the site. Very noisy road only a few feet away from the touring area with traffic all night long. Small pitches and very cramped. Good facilities up at the main building but would definitely not stop in the touring field again due to the traffic noise. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry10 3 reviews from this member

 Found this to be great park although tent near to road small brick wall separate park and road it wasn't a problem with 7 kids youngest only 1 year old there is a play park but my kids find there own entertainment even in the rain lol. Staff helpful shop well equipped got caught in downpour so laundry was adequate we never used pool because kids like flumes but we walked to beacon pool 15 minute still we never go back to same site trying to use all pools will flumes in Scotland lol but if we were to go back this would be one of the sites we would use again we travel by train and with luggage in tow its quite a trek but it do able, taxi is probably a better idea 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Davidandlisa 1 review from this member

 Absolutely rubbish. Tight sloping pitches next to a busy main road AND a train line! Way to dangerous for kids. Bar and entertainment great, but who pays over 20 a night to have to pay again to use the pool. Such a shame as the views are amazing and the area lovely. A trip into Burntisland is a must and if you have kids fork out half the price of the site pool to use the local pool with its slide and wave machine. The beach in Burntisland is lovely too with notice clean sand 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjmac 2 reviews from this member

 Just awful. Pads are small, very uneven and sloping. Power for central pads all from one location so cables everywhere including under neighbouring caravans. Facilities OK when site was very quiet but with less than half spaces occupied became dirty and unpleasant. Despite being presented with a list of 22 rules on arrival (plus a key for the facilities with a 10 deposit and I never found the door locked!) it appears that the rules, such as no ball games, bbqs, unattended kids in the toilet/shower block etc, mean nothing. However, we drive a pick up, our only vehicle, and were told that we would not be allowed to park near our caravan as it was a working vehicle (not true, it's new, not signwritten and we are both pensioners!) So we were banished to the car park down the hill, by the park entrance and had to walk! Wouldn't ever visit again, wouldn't recommend. Bad attitude and pricey. Shame really - nice spot. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyof5girls 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 1 night and that was enough.

We were really disappointed in the tourers site. The pitches were uneven, it is right next to the busy main road with constant noise of traffic during the whole night,

There is only a small wall and fence dividing the site from the road which I found really unsafe as it would be so easy for a child to climb over,

The play park was away up at main caravan site therefore nothing much to do on tourers site,

I wouldn't recommend as a Family site.

The toilets/shower blocks were in much need of an upgrade.

Would Not go back 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stellamaris 12 reviews from this member

 On arrival we where able to select our own pitch, all of which are very small and many did not have enough room for caravan, awning and car.

Elderly male member of staff came for site fees and gave some information.

Facilities are of the worst seen and for this reason alone we would not return back.

We had a static caravan on this site few years ago, however clearly Mr Wallace and his family have failed to put any effort or money into the touring side of the park, which is a pity as there are not many touring sites in the area and this could clearly become a bigger advantage to all if only some effort was returned.

At 26 a night with awning this is clearly unacceptable. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pettycur Bay Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Pettycur Bay Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pettycur Bay Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pettycur Bay Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kinghorn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1890 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement