Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pettycur Bay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Kinghorn > Pettycur Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Pettycur Bay Caravan Park
Burntisland Road
Kinghorn
Fife   (Browse area)
KY3 9YE
Tel: 01592 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: February To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 16 Reviews
                5/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanakerr 8 reviews from this member

This looked stunning in the brochure so we decided to try it out. We were quite disappointed for a number of reasons.

1. The touring section wasn't very child friendly. It is next to a busy road with a fence that a child could step over and fall down onto the path or road.

2. There is a main road, a railway line and another caravan park (which does not take tourers) between you and the stunning bay?

3. To get to the bay you have to cross the road, the railway line and then follow the most horrible dark, narrow, closed in between the other caravan park and a fence path. It really isn't nice and feels like it goes on for ages.

4. To get to the main reception, shop and playpark you have to cross a carpark and the road leading into the main park. For most of this there is no path so the kids don't have the freedom of going to the park themselves as you cant see them from the touring section and there isn't a path all the way.

In my opinion the touring section at this park would suit people without children but for us it just wasn't relaxing. On a positive note after the ordeal of getting our three kids, two dogs and all the beach stuff to the beach it was stunning and we have some lovely photos.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jaykay22 1 review from this member

We have only recently purchased a static caravan on this site, and so far we've found all the staff we have encountered to be extremely friendly and helpful. We did have a choice of pitch, and have chosen one not too far up the hill, and right at the end of the path. This means we have no passing traffic, foot or vehicular. The views all round are sensational, the location is very relaxing, irrespective of the weather. If you want guaranteed sunshine don't come to Scotland- one day we had hot sunshine, hailstones, and torrential rain all within less than one hour. No problem recommending Pettycur Bay Caravan Park.

Our grandchildren love the play park!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LolB 1 review from this member

Lovely views and great beach over the road from the site. Very noisy road only a few feet away from the touring area with traffic all night long. Small pitches and very cramped. Good facilities up at the main building but would definitely not stop in the touring field again due to the traffic noise.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry10 3 reviews from this member

Found this to be great park although tent near to road small brick wall separate park and road it wasn't a problem with 7 kids youngest only 1 year old there is a play park but my kids find there own entertainment even in the rain lol. Staff helpful shop well equipped got caught in downpour so laundry was adequate we never used pool because kids like flumes but we walked to beacon pool 15 minute still we never go back to same site trying to use all pools will flumes in Scotland lol but if we were to go back this would be one of the sites we would use again we travel by train and with luggage in tow its quite a trek but it do able, taxi is probably a better idea

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandlisa 1 review from this member

Absolutely rubbish. Tight sloping pitches next to a busy main road AND a train line! Way to dangerous for kids. Bar and entertainment great, but who pays over 20 a night to have to pay again to use the pool. Such a shame as the views are amazing and the area lovely. A trip into Burntisland is a must and if you have kids fork out half the price of the site pool to use the local pool with its slide and wave machine. The beach in Burntisland is lovely too with notice clean sand

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjmac 2 reviews from this member

Just awful. Pads are small, very uneven and sloping. Power for central pads all from one location so cables everywhere including under neighbouring caravans. Facilities OK when site was very quiet but with less than half spaces occupied became dirty and unpleasant. Despite being presented with a list of 22 rules on arrival (plus a key for the facilities with a 10 deposit and I never found the door locked!) it appears that the rules, such as no ball games, bbqs, unattended kids in the toilet/shower block etc, mean nothing. However, we drive a pick up, our only vehicle, and were told that we would not be allowed to park near our caravan as it was a working vehicle (not true, it's new, not signwritten and we are both pensioners!) So we were banished to the car park down the hill, by the park entrance and had to walk! Wouldn't ever visit again, wouldn't recommend. Bad attitude and pricey. Shame really - nice spot.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummyof5girls 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 1 night and that was enough.

We were really disappointed in the tourers site. The pitches were uneven, it is right next to the busy main road with constant noise of traffic during the whole night,

There is only a small wall and fence dividing the site from the road which I found really unsafe as it would be so easy for a child to climb over,

The play park was away up at main caravan site therefore nothing much to do on tourers site,

I wouldn't recommend as a Family site.

The toilets/shower blocks were in much need of an upgrade.

Would Not go back

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stellamaris 10 reviews from this member

On arrival we where able to select our own pitch, all of which are very small and many did not have enough room for caravan, awning and car.

Elderly male member of staff came for site fees and gave some information.

Facilities are of the worst seen and for this reason alone we would not return back.

We had a static caravan on this site few years ago, however clearly Mr Wallace and his family have failed to put any effort or money into the touring side of the park, which is a pity as there are not many touring sites in the area and this could clearly become a bigger advantage to all if only some effort was returned.

At 26 a night with awning this is clearly unacceptable.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1875steve 1 review from this member

Me and my family absolutely love this place.

My granny owned a static on this site for 30 years, right up until she sadly died a few years back.

Anyway.

Id recommend this site to anyone.

The only down side is the pitches are very tightly put together and are on some pretty steep hills at some points, and there isn't room for putting an awning up.

The toilet facilities are nice and clean and pretty modern, and the showers are nice and hot.

The pitches all have elctric hook-up, but I suppose they could do with a few more water points as well.

The views from the pitches out to the firth of Forth and over to Edinburgh are just stunning.

As for facilities, there is an excellent on site complex that's just been built for M's, with a good sized pool, and an excellent bar / restaurant and nightlife. When we were there last, Phil Taylor and James Wade, amongst others, were playing in a darts exhibition, and there is also a lot of local comedians and singers on as well.

The on site shop can be a bit sparse, especially if you like your morning papers, get up there early!

There is a nice play park for the kids as well.

As for things close by, at the top of the site ( a big climb, it's huge) there is Kinghorn golf course (which has stunning views right along the fife coastline), which is also good for walking the dog.

You also have Kinghorn Loch for fishing, boating etc a couple of miles along the road.

You have the stunning Pettycur Bay Beach withing 5 mins walk of your pitch.

You also have the lovely little town of Kinghorn (exit site and turn left) about 1 mile away, which also has a stunning beach, as well as the usual pubs, take aways and supermarkets.

If you exit the site and turn right, about 2 miles down the coast is Burntisland.

If you go to Burntisland in the height of summer, its a busy place with loads to do, the funfair fills the huge local park, they also have an excellent beach, local pool, amusement arcades, trampolines, crazy Golf, bouncy castles etc etc.

All in all the whole surronding area makes going to this site well worth your while.

Also a special mention to the warden, an older man, who's name I missed, but a lovely and very helpful bloke.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HunniCxx 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 night after a lovely stay at shell bay caravan park. Decided to extend our holiday but as shell bay was full we couldn't stay so decided to try Pettycur unfortunately they would not let us pre book so we took our chances.

On arrival the warden met us and showed us to our pitch, pitches were on a slope hard to get in and out of and also all very cramped together. A lot of caravans had to open there doors direct onto the sites road which is not ideal for children or dogs, also many people did not have room even for a car beside there van so would have to leave there car either in the main carpark or by other vans.

The shower block was very old and dated but clean.

The tent and tourer pitches are right beside the busy main road and footpath. Which was very noisy.

We did not use the restaurant or go to the entertainment in the evenings but we did use the pool. Decent enough pool but could be doing with more showers as only 2.

Park was great for all ages of kids but as it was up next to the complex. Young children would be unable to go to park themselves as quite far away from tourer pitch. Over priced at 23.50 per night.

One good thing about it was the lovely view!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kinghorn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019