Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Seaward Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Seaward Caravan Park Reviews

Seaward Caravan Park
Dhoon Bay
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TJ
Tel: 01557 870267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikejackiepowell 9 reviews from this member

Booked by phone with Jason in July to stay for nearly a week later that month and paid in advance. When we arrived we were told we were booked for the same date in June ?? which given we arenít time travellers would have been difficult. Eventually they found us a pitch which was a bit scruffy with huge dead thistles, we asked to move to another pitch and were told youíve got a hard standing with electricity what more do you want ? Overall the staff were unhelpful, nay rude. We complained when we got back home but didnít get a response. If we hadnít paid in advance we would have left. The road outside is not really suitable for walking anywhere and the beach isnít really a beach but a muddy estuary. We felt a bit trapped and feel the site is not great for motorhomers. The facilities were ok, the pool was busy with children who were all very happy with it. Not a site that suits us however and wonít be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcaro 6 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for a week and overall pretty impressed.

Stayed on pitch M in the middle of the site and underneath a large tree. Unfortunately we had 3 big storms during the week and the caravan, awning and car were absolutely covered in wet leaves etc. Avoid this pitch, especially with an awning. The pitches at the front with the best view are super pitches and cost extra.

Toilets and showers were spotless, showers powerful and hot, and free. There's also a family shower room and a baby change area.

For the kids there's a small play area and a grassy area with goalposts etc for ball games. Also a games room. The heated pool was open but the weather wasn't good so we didn't use it.

The town of Kirkcudbright was a couple of miles away with a good mix of shops and 2 small supermarkets. Access to the beach is along the road with no pavement so care is needed but it's quiet, we didn't have any issues with a 2 year old and a dog. There are better beaches further up the coast though. On rainy days the chocolate factory is a good option.

We would visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sona 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 4 nights over a busy August Bank Holiday weekend. Upon arrival we were told we could choose where to pitch, the tent field was almost full, but we found a nice spacious spot for our large family tent. The tent area was nicely sheltered with trees and a hedge, good for us as it got windy, but didn't have a sea view. It was slightly sloping and a little boggy close to the hedge. Its a fair step to the toilet and shower block from the field, these were fairly modern, but unfortunately not always clean, the floors were often very wet and slippery. But, as I said it was busy. I did have one cold shower, there didn't seem to be any hot water left that morning, but I had no problems on the other days. The rubbish bins were, at times, overflowing, I thought this might have been left until later in the day to avoid disturbing campers as they use a quad bike and trailer to collect the rubbish. There was a tap for drinking water nearby which was useful. The little shop has very restricted and seemingly varying opening hours. The playground is smallish but with nice equipment for younger children, unfortunately its also a fair step from the tent field, not a problem for us as our children are older. The surrounding area has many attractions close by, shopping can be done in Kirkudbright, a couple of minutes by car away. There are also good take away and bakeries in Kirkudbright itself. Overall, the site is in a beautiful setting, wildlife is often seen close to your tent and its quiet at night. Our children enjoyed roaming in the wooded areas on this site, we will probably visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johntay64 1 review from this member

Stayed at seaward caravan park at Easter. Didn't get on site till late but the warden came out to tell us where to pitch. The site is very flat and views from the pitch we were on were excellent. Cant say about the park that is in the centre of the site. The shower and toilet block was very good, warm and clean. It's a very quiet site when we were there and the shop stocked the basics, but the town is only a short drive. All in all it's a very nice site and I will be going back when it's a bit warmer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamish Motorhome 5 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a return to this site with the Motorhome having camped there years ago. Toilet block has had a complete re-vamp and is brilliant now. Motorhome services are split between water fill and waste. Both areas leave a bit to be desired but are functional. Views are excellent if you get the right pitch and the site benefits from an outdoor pool which is a bonus. Situated right next to the water with a short walk to the beach. Can be some road noise on the pitches with the good views, but the road isn't too busy thankfully.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Edmonds101 4 reviews from this member

We use this site regularly. Nice quiet site with fantastic views and in a lovely part of the country.

Very handy for visiting the area with lots to do round about. Recommend cream of Galloway and the chocolate factory for kids.

This is our kids favourite site. They love the beach, golf and swimming pool and all kids seem to congregate in the small park or games room making it easy to make new friends.

Site now has lovely looking camping pods.

Back there for the bank holiday and can't wait.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cosworth 1 review from this member

Site was excellent. Serviced pitch included electricity, water, drainage and boosted TV. Great views over Dhoon Bay. Toilets/showers were always very clean and well maintained and the wardens were friendly and helpful. There are many activities to keep children occupied including games room and nice outdoor swimming pool which was very clean. There is a ballgame field and also a pitch & putt course. The site is a few minutes drive from Kirkcudbright, where there are a few restaurants and shops. We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keswickjohn 5 reviews from this member

We chose this site because it is just a short cycle ride in to Kirkcudbright but it is a great place to visit in its own right. There are walks through the site to the beach which is all interesting top explore.

Excellent facilities and the shower block must be very new and is very well maintained. As someone has previously mentioned the powerful shower almost blows you away.

There is an excellent outdoor swimming pool which we managed to use as the weather was very good.

Probably popular with families during the summer holidays and we would steer clear of it then but the facilities are excellent and the site is well looked after.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew1963 2 reviews from this member

Reading other reviews of this site I can't believe some of the reviewers stayed at the same location.

We have just returned having stayed for the Easter week. The site is immaculately looked after and a credit to its owners and warden. There are excellent facilities including toilet blocks with the most powerful showers we have ever used and no shortage of hot water. The women's block has private enclosed cubicles with both toilet and shower and these are replicated in the unisex units for parents and children.

The site is around 2 miles from Kircudbright, known as the artist's town, with it's museums, galleries and pubs/ restaurants. There is good food to be had there and there is also a small but well stocked Tesco supermarket. The surrounding area is ideal for walkers with many fine coastal walks and of course the hills and forests of Dumfries and Galloway. Contrary to the reports of another reviewer we found the local road to be very quiet, not impeding access to the beach in any way and we regularly walked along it with no problems.

The caravan / touring touring field is quite small and has prime position overlooking the bay and good sized pitches so despite being on site during a quiet period ( no doubt due to the weather )we can't imagine the site ever feeling cramped. There is an adjacent camping field. Our fully serviced pitch directly overlooked the bay and it was a joy to look out every morning towards Ross Island and it's lighthouse, the varied local wildlife and the boats sailing in and out of Kirkcudbright - without doubt the best pitch we have had since we bought our motorhome.

Yes there are site rules with reminder notices posted around the site but these are there to ensure a pleasant stay for all campers, not just those who have dogs or children. There is a large children's play area, a games room and a TV lounge in the main building and a pleasant walk down to the local beach.

All in all, an excellent site in a stunning location, we'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Strongarm John 8 reviews from this member

I thought as my wife, children and I had been before, we would give Seaward another go.

I was still disappointed, it was like a ghost town, and if that was not bad enough, the play park is out of bounds for the children after 8pm, and the games room is closed also, (what a joke). We thought 10pm was early to close, but 8pm is ridiculous. The children and adults on the football area got banned for having fun. The Snug Bar is closed down. The grass is still long, most of the regulars have gone. Its not the same, I think its time to move on and find another place.

One thing I will say, the views are still great. I think we had been spoilt in the past and expected the place to stay the same. Good news: The toilet blocks have been upgraded.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019