Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coastal Kippford

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie > Coastal Kippford Reviews

Coastal Kippford
Kippford
Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4LF
Tel: 01556 620636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 32
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mikeseton 2 reviews from this member

 Large park on steep hills but well laid out, Shower block somewhat old but clean and Wifi can be a bit of a hit and miss affair. There are some really nice walks about and a small shop on site which is open during summer months for basic items. The kids play area is first class could not get them away from it 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 A really nice holiday park.

We stayed here for one night in a large tent with EHU next to two touring vans.

The park is beautifully landscaped and is a fair size to walk around, it also has some pretty stunning woodland walks which can be done from base. There is an on site shop with all the basics you need, although not licenced.

The main toilet block was no doubt built in the 1970's, but having said that kept cleaner than some CC sites I've stayed on therefore more than acceptable by my standards. I also liked the idea of the small satellite toilet the other side of the site.

The children's play area looked superb.

Kippford can be reached on foot in 15 minutes, my second visit to the Anchor but like before they tend to shut early for food which can be frustrating.

One major downside we found on this site was ground condition.

On booking I requested EHU, they mentioned I should bring only steel pegs as the ground has gravel under the grass for drainage. In reality the gravel was so close it was coming through the grass with no soil. In 15 years of camping this was the worse ground I have ever pitched on and took well over an hour, it was near to impossible, no doubt turing vans with awnings have the same issue on certain pitches. I wish I had reported this now and be requested to move.

Having said the above the value for money was great and the feel very welcoming. I would return - with a 4blb steel hammer though. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Margaret T 1 review from this member

 Lovely landscaping, let down by antiquated showers and toilets. Too expensive for what was on offer. The super pitch we were allocated had a blocked and smelly drain. This was quite quickly rectified, but still got occasional whiffs during our stay. The washing up area never had sufficient hot water each time I visited, ended up washing pots in the caravan. On the last morning, had to report that the chemical disposal point was also backing up! All in all, a disappointing stay.

The area was very attractive, the short 15 minute walk to the village was fine, and the pub we tried served average pub fare. Highlight was visiting the red kite feeding station, quite spectacular. Kircudbright also worth a visit, would definitely recommend the cafe there 'Harbour Lights' great food at very reasonable prices, and dog friendly! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robanrosie 1 review from this member

 We have been back home a week now and totally miss this site we had a very relaxing break. We were on a superpitch which was very good about 15mtr's from main road which after reading some other reviews thought was going to be noisy but honestly never heard much traffic our child never went to the park but from what I saw it was good the site starts at a bottom of a hill an climbs up to the top with statics and lodges me an the dog loved the walks and abt a 15min walk into kippford (downhill) lovely village now I don't want to tell the next bit some lovely secluded beachs shingle but never caused our dog any problems will defo be back 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 We spent the first 2 nights with our 4 Tibetan Terriers of our trip round Scotland at Kippford Holiday Park. It's a lovely site on the side of a steep hill - not for the unfit if you want to walk up to the woodland walks. Pitches are a good size and flat. Some pitches are separated by hedging which made you feel hemmed in. There are also static caravans and lovely wooden lodges on the site.

Reception staff are very friendly and the site shop sold basics and local produce.

There is a lovely 20 minute walk down to Kippford with a couple of dog friendly pubs and further along to Rockliffe where there is a nice cafe.

There is a children's play area. Shower and toilet facilities were a bit dated but very clean. It's certainly a site we would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suewo 8 reviews from this member

 Loved this site, so peaceful. We were on pitch 29 right next to the road but it didn't bother us all.

Lovely friendly staff, spotless facilities and great ambiance.

Showers were spotless, whatever time we went. The shop has a good selection of local produce and essentials. Great biking across the road in Dalbeatie forest. Loved the walk through the woods to Rockliffe. Twenty min walk to kippford with two super pubs. We had several drinks in the anchor enjoying the wonderful views. They have a good selection of local beers and a wonderful sitting out area with amazing views across the estuary. If you are in the area do take care not to stray on to the area owned by the yacht club. We miss read the signs and didn't realise the area was a no go area for the general public, despite Scotland's freedom to roam. They really need to make the signage clearer to avoid our humiliation. We were greeted by an elderly small gentleman who said ' arhg. New members' to which I replied 'oh I wish but we live too far away '

He replied ' you obviously didn't go to a very good school'.

At this point I was completely baffled! He pointed out with great delight that the area down to the pier was for members only, , we were mortified and left quickly, our visit to Kippford spoiled. Be warned ! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dexterslab 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay at Kippford Holiday Park. Park is on a hill but all pitches are level because they are all tiered. Site is immaculately kept and landscaped.

We were on pitch 25 near accessible toilets which were heated and very clean. You are quite near the road on this pitch which is fully serviced with water electric and tv point. Road is not that busy and did not disturb us.

Site has a healthy rabbit population which interested our terrier and lab.

Site has a shop that sells essentials.

Nice woodland dog walk but not for the less mobile.

Adventure playground and park for the kids.

Kippford is lovely right on the estuary lovely views and nice dog walk along front which takes you to some secluded beaches. Dog friendly pubs where you can get a meal.

Dalbeatie has a few shops supermarket and takeaway both fish and chips and Chinese.

In all we had a good trip although weather could have been a bit better. The park was fine but we found there wasn't enough to do in the area so won't be returning to this area. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

 Despite booking 2 months before arrival we were allocated a pitch 50m from the entrance and 10m from the busy road which passes the door! Traffic noise, even at 5, 00 p. M. , was unbearable. I guess that, as we were only staying 2 nights, they thought it would be o. K.

Consequently we were located at the opposite side of the site to the showers / chemical waste facilities. There was a loo closer.

We had hoped to have a quiet stay before a long journey home. Two hopes: No hope and Bob Hope.

Having booked for 2 nights we stayed just one.

If booking, make sure you get a good pitch. The road noise, during the day, is constant. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Iggycamper 36 reviews from this member

 Pros:

Very scenic and well-laid out making the most of a steep hill. Each pitch between hedges with it's own pic-nic bench/table etc.

Good shop

Lots of rabbits for our dog to watch.

Easy 10 mins walk down to village with 2 dog -friendly pubs and reasonable prices.

Nice woodland walks above site.

Cons:

Some steep climbs for the less fit.

Relatively expensive.

Pitches too short for Motorhomes exceeding say 21 feet in length. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris_db 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with friends; we camped others had lodges or used their camper vans.

The site is meticulously tidy and well kept, the staff are all very friendly and the facilities are brilliant. There is even a wee shop selling basics and fresh bread at good prices. At 22/night for a pitch I'd say that was great value. Every pitch includes electric hookup and showers are also included in the cost. Arranged like the hanging gardens of Babylon, I'd say there wasn't a single site / pitch at the same elevation throughout.

I guess my disappointment was with the camping pitches which, whatever the site says, are only grassy on the perimeter and otherwise bare gravel-like substrate for the rest. This really gets everywhere if you aren't careful and will definitely shorten your groundsheet's life if you don't use a full groundsheet protector. We had the biggest pitch on the site 8x8m; the rest are all much smaller and would only really accommodate an average family tent before you fell off the the side of the pitch.

Overall it feels like the camping pitches are an addition rather than a reason. Some of them are right next to the road and others are by the entrance and would suffer from constant glare as traffic enters the site. The road adjacent isn't very busy so, in that respect, we didn't suffer from any noise sufficient to disturb our sleep.

If you rent a lodge / static van, have a tourer or camper van you will give this site 10/10. As a camper I can only give it 6/10; the 4 missing points being due to the gravel pitches.

Chris 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coastal Kippford child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Coastal Kippford dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2648 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement