Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site
Silvercraigs Road
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4BH
Tel: 01557 332050
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The swifties 10 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite above the town of Kirkcudbright. Clean and well kept, nice hot and spacious showers. Now run by the local community so nice to be able to contribute to the local economy.

Booked on line as requested and received a confirmation email the next morning so very efficient.

Nice and peaceful despite being so close to the to the town. Pitches on hard standing a little small, grass pitches more spacious.

Definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Al1966 1 review from this member

Great location, easy walking distance into town, and good sized pitches. Toilet facilities are a little tired. And closed between 12-2pm every day. Not a problem for us as we were out, but worth noting. However they were very clean and the showers were great.

Everything you need is a short walk away, pubs, supermarkets, takeaways, and there are some lovely walks at the back of the site. I'd definitely go back to explore these more fully as we were only there 1 night.

I'd be happy to stay at the site again and would recommend if you are in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DHanson 4 reviews from this member

First visit, lovely site, two minute walk into town. So peaceful with great hard standing or grass pitches.

Showers are well maintained as is the site itself. Now run by the community I would recommend it 100% no complaints.

Morning cuppa sat outside listening to the birds sing and watching the rabbits running about. Support the town and stay at this site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellringer18 7 reviews from this member

What a fantastic little site. Stayed for 17 days. Showers and toilets always clean, hot water. Grounds kept very clean and tidy, staff very helpful.

Lovely wood behind site with red squirrels great for walking dogs. First time to this area Kirkcouldbright great friendly town.

We have booked for 3weeks for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteD178 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Silvercraigs (first was August 2017). Pleased to see further improvements to the site following the community takeover. Staff are very friendly and the site has a spacious feel and facilities are very well maintained.

Pitches are well positioned and we love the view over Kirkcudbright especially as the sun sets. Kirkcudbright is a great base for cycling or touring South West Scotland. Local amenities and shops are good and just a few minutes walk from the site. We have dogs so appreciate the easy access to woods on Barrhill (just behind the site) to exercise them. We'd recommend the fish and chips from Polarbites and also be sure to check out Cream of Galloway ice cream which is available in many places.

We hope to visit again next year on our annual road trip to Scotland which I hope sums up how we feel about this site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Razamataz 6 reviews from this member

This is our second visit in 3 weeks, that in itself should say it all.

Site is on an elevated position above the town which is great for food and bars.

Selkirk Hotel for beer garden and lunch

Wardens live on site and are very friendly.

Very good facilities, very well priced 24

Definitely one of our favourites.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lippy45 1 review from this member

Great site, situated in a great spot. 2 min walk into Kirkcudbright. With two dogs its woodland for walking was brilliant. Youngsters do sit in the park at night(which you go through to the town and woodland) but was not off putting to walk through for us, even me on my own. Overall I can't say enough about Silvercraigs we loved it. Will be back Thank you for a lovely stay

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 181 reviews from this member

The new owners have made recent improvements: additional hardstanding pitches (but you'll still need chocks); more hook-ups; you now get one key for the toilet block (was a key pad before); there's a drive-over motorhome dump (on a slope - very effective at draining the grey water tank!) with a long fresh water hose.

There is a new wooden fence to separate the camp site from the Council play area, where youngsters can gather after school. Plus a keypad security barrier at the vehicle entrance, and CCTV overlooking the right of way through the site. If that makes it sound a potentially troublesome site, it very much is not. Lovely & quiet at night, good night sky.

The Town Hall redevelopment will be completed very soon, bringing even better exhibitions to The Artists' Town. Our dog loves the extensive woods behind the site. 22 for hardstand & EHU; they do take cards for payment, but no recycling (a Council matter, not the site's fault). Ask for a pitch at the edge to get the best views over the town to the hills beyond at sunset.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bellowhead 7 reviews from this member

Lovely place for a motorhome stay because it is so convenient for town. Go out at the play park end and there is a small supermarket; another fifty yards and you are in the town centre shopping and like many small Scottish towns it has some good independent stores.

The site is part of a municipal park with swing and roundabouts for children.

Now run by a trust which also runs the municipal swimming pool.

We would recommend the Selkirk Arms for a quality meal but not low cost.

If anything the showers were too hot. Be careful with small children.

A lovely site, our second stay and we will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldpapa 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a nice wee stay at Silvercraigs the campsite gave a very safe feeling for we had kids with us and this alone is worth the fee. A big plus is the view from the site and the long term campers who love this site and return year after year thy are so nice it makes me very proud to say that I have stayed at this site. The Wardens are just so helpful even the grass cutting team have got to be up there with them at five star. The facilities are clean and tidy and kids loved the playground and football park. Shops very handy at bottom of hill. The locals are fun and warming. Hope to go back soon.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019