Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site
Silvercraigs Road
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4BH
Tel: 01557 332050
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 A return visit to one of our favourite sites. Covid security good, and there was never any need to queue for the "3 people maximum" toilet block even though the site was (surprisingly) almost full.

Always love the sunsets and night skies here. Loved watching the Red Squirrels up at the hide in Barhill Woods. Recommend the prize winning butcher on St Mary's Street (J Hall & Sons) - their Scotch Pies are the best we've tasted.

Took the bus to castle Douglas one day (more shops than Kirkcudbright including a big Tesco), and to Gatehouse of Fleet another (plenty of walks in the Cally estate); bus stop is at the harbour, they leave every hour.

We commend the wardens, who also work at the community owned swimming pool, so they're only on site when there's work to do - cleaning the toilets 12-2, grass cutting, site maintenance etc.

One went out of his way to help several older couples move their caravans; another replied to my mid evening email within half an hour and sent me another confirmatory email before 08:30 next morning.

There are two mobile numbers displayed on the office door, they always replied quickly to my calls or texts. There is also very discrete CCTV coverage of the site.

There's continued investment by the community owners, we noticed improvements since our last visit.

We'll be back again next year, no doubt of it. It's open all year so we might even try a winter camp! £22 pn. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gregor 1 review from this member

 The site was basic, friendly and well kept, toilets and showers were immaculate.

The views over the town from the site were spectacular. A short walk from the site to the town was a great advantage,

All in all worth a visit and feel we will return again.

The only fault was our pitch was was short and not level with the tarmac road making it difficult to get hitched up on departure. also the grass parking beside the gravel pitch was wet when we were leaving which made it difficult for the car to grip. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jeanlc 1 review from this member

 What's not to like. Great location very close to the town but also very peaceful. Great woods to walk the dog.

Plenty of water and rubbish points around the site.

Clean warm toilet/shower facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rachel 1 review from this member

 Great site in excellent location for town.

Well organised re COVID 19 restrictions. Top marks for the person who devised card system re facilities- so simple and effective. A winner! Stay Safe at Silvercraigs!

We will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Minoltaman 7 reviews from this member

 Large site handy for visiting Kirkcudbright been on the edge of town. Owing to the current situation the toilets were restricted, toilets were ok but no locks on the separate washing cubicle which was a bit disconcerting.

The washing up facilities is small, only one sink and very dark In a evening until the light came on. Walks up into the woods for your four legged friend. Hard standing pitches were large enough for a caravan plus awning.

Some issues which caused me concerns the number of units on site including tents for the restrictive facilities especially in a morning. The office only open a certain number of hours and never seeing a warden. Safety concerns there was a motorhome on a pitch which also had a car at the side of it then an awning on the grass which was a very short distance from a caravan with awning, with no obvious concern about maintaining a safe distance between units. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Helene 1 review from this member

 Love the site and how well it is looked after. The trust has done well. Grass cut and cleared regularly.

Warden always around.

Great little hut with fridge in and usb port. Hot water would be great in here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bairnsfan 1 review from this member

 This was our second stay at this site. Given that we are living in difficult times our stay in Kirkcudbright was most enjoyable. This is an excellent wee site in a lovely location. The facilities are excellent, well kept and good facilities given they where slightly restricted due to covid 19.

Clean and tidy and accessed by key, no issues with the staff or the site and would recommend you visit for yourself. The town is well serviced by the local businesses. With a good selection of places to eat and drink, we would recommend the Garret Hotel and the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel as our two favourites.

Tesco and Co-op are within easy walking distance of the site. The town has tennis courts bowling green and excellent golf club where visitors are made welcome, cycling and walking routes are plentiful but hilly Barnhill Wood is close to the site and has various hard standing paths very close to the site ask the warden for directions.

On both our stays we’ve found the locals very helpful and friendly, there are galleries museum and other places of interest within the town itself but most were closed this time due to the virus restrictions. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kathy2 1 review from this member

 Nice sight with fantastic views over the town. Feels secluded but your only 5 minutes walk into town. Covid procedures were very well organised. Toilets and showers were

Also very clean. Kircudbright is a Lovely wee town. There is normally a lot going on throughout the season but currently is a bit quiet due to Covid.

We have been here before and we will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martylel 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. toilets nice and clean

Short walk to town

Very friendly

Will return again

Weather wasn't great ,storm denis but really enjoyed the site

Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Buggyduo 3 reviews from this member

 Had the pleasure of staying here for Hogmany. Super site run by the community with excellent views over the town.

As mentioned on other reviews this site must be one of the closest to any town center, literally only 2 minutes walk to the shops, bars and restaurants

Only downside of the site was the icy temperature in the toilet block.

We would love to return and explore the area in summer. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement