Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site
Silvercraigs Road
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4BH
Tel: 01557 337068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimmn 19 reviews from this member

 Nice site with good views over the town. Pitches were fine with electriciy very conveniently placed behind each. Water, waste and chemical points were all clean and accessible.

Shortcut to/from town at opposite end of site from main gate - down the path through the swing park.

Minor point is that there's no recycling on-site - everything goes in the same bin. Goes against the grain a bit for us.

Would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Swiftowner 15 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Fantastic location within easy walk to town.

Great views from site. Big play park and playing field next to site.

Toilet block big and always spotless. Free hot showers.

Friendly wardens.

Would love to return again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pkenne 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site, very friendly and very helpful warden.

Pitch for the motorhome was flat, but the grass part was on a slope, but we managed, without falling over in our chairs!

Nice walk in to town, for shopping, food and drink.

We would stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bellringer18 9 reviews from this member

 Our 5th yr of staying here, we love this site, well kept, shower block immaculate clean,

Kirkcouldbright very friendly town,

Marred this year by 3 families both sides of us very noisy 8kids playing football outside our van when there is a massive playing field next to site, they left bags rubbish out on a night the seagulls started at 6am rubbish all over the pitch, we were gonna leave but the Warden acted swiftly and they were removed from site. Well done to him.

We will certainly be back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Woodst 1 review from this member

 Great site with nice staff and spotless toilets, but unfortunately the waste bin by the tenting area was full to bursting when we arrived on Friday and was overflowing till about 4 pm on Saturday.

Also, perhaps the pitch boundaries could be clarified. Maybe because of the beautiful weather more people turned up than expected or maybe because were normally on a club site, but the pitching seemed very haphazard.

Having said that, enjoyed our weekend at a place Id recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suestu 1 review from this member

 Loved it at Silver Craig campsite. Spent 5 days chilling and enjoying the views over Kirkcudbright, which is a 10min stroll to reach.

The site is very well maintained and very Covid Aware, the Shower / toilet block was lovely and clean as was the whole site.

I would definitely recommend it for a relaxing break and we will be going again in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davedenise 4 reviews from this member

 Great open site. Set on a hill above town with great views across the hills. Many level pitches but some of the grass ones can be uneven. Friendly staff. Community owned and gradually being improved further.

Short walk (5 mins) to Kirkcudbright centre, deli, bakers, butcher, Co-op, Tesco, pub, chippy, chinese, cafes etc. Also local swimming pool and gym can be used by visitors. But call to book first, especially the pool.

Some nice walks from the site.

This was our second visit and it definitely won't be the last. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ceejayed 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. Perfect situation with town in front and woodland behind.

Good Covid precautions in place.

Facilities very clean and well kept.

Reasonably priced and easy booking system. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 192 reviews from this member

 A return visit to one of our favourite sites. Covid security good, and there was never any need to queue for the "3 people maximum" toilet block even though the site was (surprisingly) almost full.

Always love the sunsets and night skies here. Loved watching the Red Squirrels up at the hide in Barhill Woods. Recommend the prize winning butcher on St Mary's Street (J Hall & Sons) - their Scotch Pies are the best we've tasted.

Took the bus to castle Douglas one day (more shops than Kirkcudbright including a big Tesco), and to Gatehouse of Fleet another (plenty of walks in the Cally estate); bus stop is at the harbour, they leave every hour.

We commend the wardens, who also work at the community owned swimming pool, so they're only on site when there's work to do - cleaning the toilets 12-2, grass cutting, site maintenance etc.

One went out of his way to help several older couples move their caravans; another replied to my mid evening email within half an hour and sent me another confirmatory email before 08:30 next morning.

There are two mobile numbers displayed on the office door, they always replied quickly to my calls or texts. There is also very discrete CCTV coverage of the site.

There's continued investment by the community owners, we noticed improvements since our last visit.

We'll be back again next year, no doubt of it. It's open all year so we might even try a winter camp! 22 pn. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gregor 1 review from this member

 The site was basic, friendly and well kept, toilets and showers were immaculate.

The views over the town from the site were spectacular. A short walk from the site to the town was a great advantage,

All in all worth a visit and feel we will return again.

The only fault was our pitch was was short and not level with the tarmac road making it difficult to get hitched up on departure. also the grass parking beside the gravel pitch was wet when we were leaving which made it difficult for the car to grip. 
via mobile


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1883 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement