Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site
Silvercraigs Road
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4BH
Tel: 01557 337068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dianes 4 reviews from this member

 Loved location - just a short walk into centre of Kirkcudbright, which in itself is a lovely town.

As to site, saw reviews about unclean toilets and was a little worried. I have to comment as I found it and they were perfectly clean, in fact I saw guy cleaning them daily.

Plenty of toilets and showers, hanging hooks and hairdryer.

Would definitely stay at site again but one consideration would be that hardstanding pitches are covered in small stones /chips and rabbit droppings which stick to your shoes and mess van.

Although rabbits cannot be helped hard-core would be a better option. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Purplenel 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as I was doing a swim in Loch Ken and wanted to be fairly local. I had chosen a specific pitch for the tent with EHU however it turns out that none of the tent pitches are actually reserved so it can be pot luck what you end up with when you arrive.

Fortunately the couple left when we arrived were ok and we chose the flattest one. Bear in mind that most of the tent pitches slope to some extent.

It is also worth noting that the tent field appears to be on pretty much solid rock! We struggled to get pegs in or out even with our claw hammer.

We arrived on the last Friday in August. By the Sunday afternoon we pretty much had the tent field to ourselves.

I'd read reviews suggesting the toilets and showers were dirty but that turned out to not be true. Everything was clean while we were there. The water isn't particularly hot for washing up or in the showers.

It has a good location just a short downhill walk to town. Not that many of the pubs with food were dog friendly so we only ate out the once.

It was hot while we were there so we didn't walk as much as we normally would (dogs don't like the heat) but there are some good walking spots within less than an hour's drive.

It's a nice site, not noisy. My aunty also stayed on a caravan pitch. Those pitches are all pretty small and quite close together. Read the details carefully when booking: at least one motorhome didn't fit on its pitch during our stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nickb500 13 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites we have visited! Very easy search and book facility on their website. As we use the facilities in our campervan we were able to book a pitch at the far end of the site rather than in the busier entrance area.

We received all the necessary instructions before travelling so did not need to trouble the staff. Great views over the town from the site and yet just a short walk to the centre of Kirkcudbright passing a well stocked Tesco on the way.

Although we didn't use them the toilet and shower blocks looked modern and well maintained and owners of very large motorhomes and caravans seemed happy to use them in preference to their own (we seem to be in the minority there!).

Kirkcudbright is a pretty little town with many art & craft galleries worth a browse, and a small harbour and marina.

In a very hot week our favourite place was the ice cream shop in St Cuthbert Street. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cavarno 3 reviews from this member

 We called on speck without a booking finding numerous vacant pitches.

The manager arrived on site and informed me that the site was fully booked that night with a party of 20 Dutch motorhomers.

He then kindly invited us to stay on an area without a marked pitch which was excellent and suited our purpose.

We found the site to be excellent, in a lovely position and very clean and tidy.

The toilet block was particularly clean.

I would like to commend the new manager for his excellent customer relationship and efficiency despite any of the previous reviews. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bellringer18 10 reviews from this member

 Our 7thvisit, Wat has happened to this lovely campsite, shower block dirty, laundry room disgusting, no WiFi bottom of site, no staff around, dead flowers in pots walls crumbling. Used to be site full flowers, no litter the man who used to be manager Colin was always around keeping site immaculate, apparently now run by a committee they want to get thissite back how it used to be. Don't think we be back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 I have visited this campsite prior to covid, unfortunately on this visit, I have been disappointed.

I have not seen the toilets being cleaned once since being here. There was no hand soap in the ladies toilets for 4 days out of the 7 we stayed.

I chose to mop the entire floor in the toilet facility as it was dirty and was not helped by the pools of water on the floor.

I have not seen anyone on the office for the whole of the 7 day stay, generally people do like to see someone about to maybe ask a question or have a quick chat.

The only people on site was a gardener or two on a few of the days.

I will be finding a better campsite when I return as the toilet facilities should be a priority in any campsite and where in the past.

Why change things that worked well before??? 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 216 reviews from this member

 Returning again. Fees still £25pn, quick & easy to book online.

I noticed that there is one pitch designated for campers who use a wheelchair - it's extra wide, surfaced with smooth concrete not loose chips, and on the same terrace of the hillside as the accessible toilet & shower facilities.

I think an additional pot wash room has been added, so there is now one at both ends of the facilities block.

No recycling (Council to blame, not the site), so we take our bottles down to the harbour when we leave as there are skips there. 


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stane7 1 review from this member

 Excellent site location very good

Cleanliness was also excellent size of pitched also nice size.

Shower block a little cold after a shower. But not a major problem 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 This community owned and run site was a great find. It is sandwiched between the pretty coastal town of Kirkcudbright and a beautiful woodland and sits alongside a very smart children's playpark.

The facilities, although not brand new, were immaculate and warm during our chilly November stay.

The reasonably sized pitches were mostly hard standing with EHU. There is a drive over grey waste for motorhomes, situated next to the fresh water and chemical waste, with two other water taps around the site that we could see.

There is a keycode required for the entry barrier and facilities that is emailed to you with your booking. At this time of year pitch fees are a reasonable £25 per night.

As the site sits on the side of a hill, you get views over the town and across the valley and the Dee estuary. The center of town is only a 5-10min walk, with a small supermarket along the way. The town itself is quite picturesque, with a castle in the center, a small fishing port and a few hotels/pubs and other attractions.

There are a number of good walks directly from the site. We walked around the promontory of St Mary's Isle alongside the Dee, then up to explore the woodland and spot red squirrels. Unfortunately the squirrel hide was closed, but we still managed to see four in one morning.

Don't be put off by the fairly average website and truly awful drone photos and video, it doesn't do justice to this lovely site. I'll definitely be back with a long lens to bag a few squirrel photos. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Boss truffs 22 reviews from this member

 Booked a pitch number and paid online greeted by warden, we’ve been several times before. Community run site clean and tidy added a few more hard standings.

Pitches overlook Kirkcudbright roof tops. Clean tidy toilets and showers entry by number pad over night. Busy site but quiet overnight. Plenty of walks for the dog just off the site.

5 minutes stroll either way out of site to the town with its artist and craft shops. Kirkcudbright galleries is worth a visit interesting visiting exhibitions and coffee shop.

Lunch at the Garret hotel in the garden is lovely very dog friendly inside and out. Pizza n chips for Sunday lunch, not traditional I know but bang on. 
via mobile


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Silvercraigs Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6268 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement