Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochside Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Lochside Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Lochside Caravan And Camping Site
Carlingwark Loch
Lochside Park
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 1EZ
Tel: 07824 528 467  or  01556 504 682
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janice 1 review from this member

 Was given a very nice welcome from two wardens who also came over and made sure we got set up ok very nice touch.

Site itself is very clean and tidy and 5min walk to centre of town had lovely two nights here 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cristi 1 review from this member

 Beautiful place, lovely staff!

Great for families or anyone. Well maintained park with clean facilities. 5 minutes walk to the town centre.

Would definitely recommend! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Eileen Devine 7 reviews from this member

 We received a lovely welcome from the charming warden, and told to pick any site we wanted.

The site is large with loads of space. We chose next to the loch and the whole place to ourselves-lovely.

The facilities were clean and comfortable. Castle douglas town is just down the street with good pubs and shops.

We shall be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Touring on two whee 3 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth day on tour so we decided to have a quiet day and stop early so this site looked good as it was around a lake and within walking distance to the town.

The campsite is in a nice location and we where the only campers on the field the toilets where adequate but the carpark is very busy all day and into the evening.

We picked this site for the walk into the town and for that reason it turned out very good for us the town has plenty of restaurants and shops to look around so we where pleased with that.

After a nice meal and 2 pints of Guinness for me we headed back to the tent and had a quite night

I would recommend this site for the walk into town, toilets are adequate so some may not like for that reason I also see that it is a public site and park for that is the reason carpark is so busy 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spadgesparrow 2 reviews from this member

 This is a council run campsite on the edge of Castle Douglas. It looks like a council run campsite - my wife thought it was a traveller site. There is a lot of hard standing and units are parked close together.

It is handy for a walk into Castle Douglas which apparently has some nice eating establishments. The loch (Carlingwark) adjoins the site.

The site basically has public access day and night. We were disturbed on the Saturday by noise from people - I am not sure if they were campers or others accessing the lochside.

The wardens were polite and well meaning. But despite the toilet and shower blocks only being accessible with a key card they were grubby and toilet seats were hanging off. They were not much better than the other public convenience in the town car park.

The cost of over 26 a night for a van and 2 occupants was expensive.

The list of Rules is impressive!- see the Council website or the prominent sign at the entrance.

In summary - maybe ok for an overnight stop if you want a night out in CD. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftycorn 3 reviews from this member

 This has been our second visit to this site the previous one being in the summer of 2010.

We originally booked a serviced, grass pitch and on arrival we were delighted with the pitch, near kids play area and views over Carlingwark Loch - sun was shining - over night the heavens opened and by the following lunch time we had to ask to move as ground was wet through and huge puddles were appearing around us - the warden was fantastic and allocated us a serviced pitch on the hardstanding area ( ok a big tarmac carpark ) again near the play area so we could watch son (7) playing safely.

There is so much for kids to do here, skate park, play areas x 2, mini golf course, boats on loch, pathways for cycling.

Being just a couple of minutes walk from the shops of Castle Douglas is brilliant, we had daily walks to supermarkets as well as local shops - we can highly recommend the butchers for fresh produce / BBQ meat.

Warden staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. On arrival they informed us of all the free events that were due to take place throughout the week as it was 'Civic week' - this was great as there was events everyday finishing of the week with the parade, live music and firework display on the Saturday evening - all free.

Disadvantages:

* There is some traffic in and out of the car park used by the public for visiting the lake, and this goes right by the play park.

* The toilet / showers are looking a little dated, but they were cleaned on daily basis.

* Some issues on the Friday night with idiots off the site causing disruption in the gents toilets and showers but was all sorted by morning - this was not the sites fault.

* Issues with dogs not being on leads - irresponsible owners and only challenged by other visitors.

Advantages;

* The toilets / showers are card access to stop the 'public' visiting the lake using the facilities.

* wardens on site throughout the day and evening and always happy to help - no matter.

* 7 & 14 night stay discounts available - every little helps.

Overall:

Nice site, well worth a visit, plenty to do in local area or within short drive. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Happybunny 7 reviews from this member

 I'd hate to be on the giant 'car park' section of the site (all tarmac), but on the grassy section this was a pleasant site. A decent play park, with more kids play stuff on the adjoining public park, and OK facilities.

The wash blocks are looking a little dated, but were always clean, and the staff were very helpful.

Being next to Carlingwark Loch is nice - we had a pleasant paddle around on it in our canoes for a couple of hours, and would have liked to do the walk all the way around it if we hadn't had such rotten weather (not that the site can help that. )

Being just a couple of minutes walk from the shops of Castle Douglas is handy.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Only slight disadvantages - there is some traffic in and out of the car park used by the public for visiting the lake, and this goes right by the play park, and the toilets are card access, which is a bit faffy with younger children who could normally go to the loo on their own, but can't be trusted to remember to look after a card, yet.

So - lots of pluses, and only some minor negatives. The more personal factor is that for me, I can't quite 'love' Castle Douglas, or this site, and I prefer a more rural location.

Overall: Nice site, well worth a visit, but not quite my style. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maza55 1 review from this member

 I went to this caravan park with my sister last year as she had become a widow and had a seasonal caravan here and did not know if she wanted to keep it or sell or even if she could cope without her husband. I fell in love with the place at first sight and spent a few weekends with my sister. The staff are very helpful and helped us with lots of things as well as other caravanners that had got to know my sister and her husband very well over their 6 years of going there for the full season. I decided to save and this year I have my own wee tourer going there for the season. There is plenty for the grandkids to do and the toilets are kept clean. If they are not clean you can go tell a member of staff and they will take care of the problem. I for one am looking forward to my many days I will spend on this caravan park. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susiekershaw 2 reviews from this member

 Our family of 6 stayed for three nights at the beginning of the Bank Holiday weekend with my parents who came along in their caravan. The warden was very accommodation when we booked so that we had pitches next to each other even though we didn't require electric hook up.

The pitches were fantastic, a big space surrounded by trees and far enough away from the road with the option to keep our cars next to us or park them elsewhere. The hardstanding pitches don't look too pretty though, just like a car park but the pitches have a lovely view of the loch.

While the toilet blocks don't look swanky, they were always clean, quiet and the showers were great, (No push buttons that stop and start). You get in with a swipe card rather than key so the kids could manage on their own!

The park is great and we could see the children fron the tent and always felt they were safe and a lovely walk around the loch for our dog. The site was very peaceful in the evening with no disturbances.

An easy walk to the lovely main street and also a CO-OP and Tesco in the town.

Lovely places to visit nearby; Kirkubright, Kippford, Sandyhills.

All this for a bargain price! We only paid 13.50 a night and my parents paid 16.00 with electric! Fantastic value for money. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chuchie 1 review from this member

 Been going to this site for a few years now, staff are very friendly and helpful. Site is always clean, and when we have been there nice and quiet on a night The loch is a nice bonus, to look out of the window on a morning its a treat.

Castle Douglas has its very own brewery, lots of great little shops, great butchers. Everyone we have met in the town are very friendly. Pity the campsite wasn't open all year. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lochside Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochside Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochside Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement