Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochside Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Lochside Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Lochside Caravan And Camping Site
Carlingwark Loch
Lochside Park
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 1EZ
Tel: 07824 528 467  or  01556 504 682
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 219 reviews from this member

 We come to the area several times a year, and first camped at the site over 40 years ago. Contrary to some reviews, this is NOT one of the Council's two Traveller/Gypsy sites. It is, however, very popular for seasonal caravans: none were occupied / set up in early March (the site is closed for maintenance in Feb), so it was quiet. I'd agree the large tarmac area isn't bonny (check the satellite photo), but we have a dog and the helpful warden gave us pitch 64 backing onto the grass pitches, with a view of the loch, and we were perfectly happy. So was the dog (great park for walking, dogs were on a lead or under control).

Toilet block beside reception is newly refurbished, spotless and heated, with key pad entry; free showers. The warden advised us that the farther toilet block is not heated. Drive-over cattle grid for grey waste. Refilling MH water a bit inconvenient. Can't speak for the CDP.

Park has play equipment in good condition with boats etc to hire for Carlingwark Loch (several caravans had boats, Loch Ken is just up the road). Yes, some youngsters came to the park but they didn't vape or muck about, just sat & chatted quietly and didn't come into the caravan site. Dog walkers ditto. Security barrier operates at night. We never felt insecure.

Fee £30 incl EHU.

Castle Douglas aka "the food town" is nearby, as are the gardens at Threave House (NTS) where dogs are allowed in, good cafe. Threave castle is worth visiting (rewilding with Galloway cattle, ospreys etc). There's also a swimming pool, a theatre / cinema in a converted church, two top-notch bike shops, a golf course, and a Tesco which has the only recycling in town. Ideal for holidays, hence the many seasonal caravans. We've been before, we'll come again. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billyhicks23 6 reviews from this member

 Where to start? Friendly Warden at reception. As already stated, most pitches in basically a hard stand, car park. Dirty surface with many pitches covered in moss.

Toilets acceptable, but no more than that. NO Heating in any area of toilets or laundry. When we visited, rubbish openly lying in one area of site.

Castle Douglas is a lovely town, with friendly people. The Kings Arms is dog friendly and serves lovely meals, staff exceptionally pleasant.

Good bus service to surrounding areas and town has a swimming pool and is well served by a variety of shops.

In summary, I think the site is no more than a base camp for the travelling fraternity, many seasonal pitches with decking, lockers and boats. Pitch fee at £30 is extortionate for what it is.

Town only plus in what was a disappointing stay. Would not return. 


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 20 reviews from this member

 Welcoming reception and everything explained. Good location, handy for the town (pubs, food, chippie all close by) and right next to the loch and park area so good for dogs and children.

All well maintained tarmac hard standing which in some ways is convenient, but not very bonnie - a bit like a large car park.

To be honest, with the amount of rain we had I would have moaned had it been all grass!

Toilet/shower facilities oldish but spacious, very clean and well looked after. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alaine 1 review from this member

 I enjoyed my stay immensely. It is a wonderfully maintained site with very kind and helpful staff. I will definitely come again. Lovely shops and scenery.

My only dissatisfaction was, not everyone complied with keeping their dogs on a lead, which I appreciate no-one can fully control.

One dog cocked its leg at my tent, but I managed to stop it doing anything and also in the early morning, someone had to call their dog near my tent and woke me. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Zorro0 2 reviews from this member

 Site warden very friendly, helpful with plenty of advice on local facilities

Tarmac pitch very level

Park attached, so very good for dog walking

Toilet showers very clean

Handy site for walking up town

Overall we enjoyed our stay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jamesd 3 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome, very helpful with a slightly late arrival. Facilities are old-school but very clean and spruce.

The layout is concrete and functional. No noise at night.

The Loch is a few yards away, a community-led cinema in a converted church is a 2 minute walk, and the town centre is 5 minutes walk away. And the chippy delivers to the barrier 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jefn 6 reviews from this member

 Such a warm welcome. Lovely site close to all facilities the town had to offer including a fish and chip shop within walking distance, an artisan bakery and a gem of a craft shop.

The site is on the park with a lovely outlook.

Showers and toilet blocks excellent.

Will return! Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonide 1 review from this member

 Got a shock when we arrived to see that the site is literally a council run recreational park.

While barriers are automatic through the day for vehicles, they do require a key card after 7pm but anyone can and do walk their dogs there or use as a cut through.

I was prepared to leave the next day if I didnít feel safe overnight but to be fair it was very peaceful.

It lacks the atmosphere you get on a campsite, a lot of cans obviously park there all year so looks more like a storage facility than a camp site.

It lacked any kind of atmosphere, couldnít really enjoy sitting out of an evening like we do elsewhere.

It is a fantastic base for some great places to visit and walks for the dogs. Walking distance to town and all is amenities.

Showers are just about adequate, dates and low water pressure but you can get a wash. BUT We paid £24/night which isnít a cheap site so unfortunately we wonít be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Imclel 1 review from this member

 Had a great time facilities are near and easily accessible,

Felt reassured that the kids could play without us worrying about them.

Would use again in future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cwholm 1 review from this member

 Friendly helpful staff good location within easy reach of town.

Good for walking dog round park an lochside.

Park for children within easy reach.

Area good for arts and crafts and food 
via mobile


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lochside Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochside Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochside Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement