Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Campsie Glen Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry > Campsie Glen Holiday Park Reviews

Campsie Glen Holiday Park
Campsie Glen
Fintry
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
G63 0LP
Tel: 01250 878 123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Murdan 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location quiet and secluded, good pitches brilliant scenery and local walks,

Nice playpark for the kids swimming pool included in your pitch fee,

Good wee bar and bistro with live entertainment at the weekends.

Have been a number of times and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Junehy 1 review from this member

 Thoroughly loved the site from the moment we arrived.

My husband and I had our 7 year old grandaughter with us, so from just showing our registration number to picking our own pitch was great as we were near the playparkp and could keep our eye on her.

The staff at the barbistro were superb. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jamesm 1 review from this member

 Very disappointed that there was no hot water to wash dishes or hands. Everything else was good.

Great location, people were helpful.

Would come back without hesitation. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanm2 1 review from this member

 Very friendly welcome.

Nice views all round. A real gem of a place to stay.

Met a few like folk who made the over-night stay feel different.

Next time it will be for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjh73 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, lots of EHU points and water points were nicely spread out.

Most pitches are nice and flat but after several days of solid rain some pitches and touring hard stands were flooded out.

The club house was nice - spent a fair bit of time there due to the terrible weather! There are 2 tier facilities, so find the better ones (away from pool and bar, these were fairly terrible and rather smelly) where the toilet waste and washing up area are - 20p for 3 mins of shower, (gents was broken so continuous hot water for 2 days!).

Lots of places to visit nearby. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LizMc 4 reviews from this member

 My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and really liked this site, although think it is definitely more geared to the static caravan owners that reside there, versus tent campers like us. This isn't major though and we would definitely return!

The grassy ground was great to pitch a tent on and made it a doddle. The location of the site is quite rural and down a relatively long country lane but still accessible by car easily enough. The site is well cared for and holds mainly static caravans, followed by some touring caravans and then a few tent pitches. In general it is relaxed.

As campers we had access to the on-site outdoor (covered) swimming pool if we'd wanted but didn't end up using it so can't comment on that.

There are 2 toilet/shower blocks, one near to the tents and one near to the touring pitches. These were pretty good facilities but I do wonder if the smaller ones (by the tents) would be quite busy if the site was fully occupied as the ladies only had 2 showers. There were also only 2 sinks in the washing up area which were by the touring pitches which again may be busy when fully occupied but were fine for what we needed.

The reception area sold basic supplies such as milk, bread etc. Which was handy. We ate in the bistro one evening which had excellent waiting service (the ladies were very friendly!) however the food was quite expensive for what it was; I guess you pay for the convenience of not having to drive off site though.

The only real downside is that on the Friday night the tent area was quite literally flooded with other campers which would have been fine, however where it was a big family (20+ people including kids) the noise levels were very high. Despite the campsite rules stating noise shouldn't be made after a certain time at night they were very loud until at least 12. 30am and the kids were also playing on the play area until late. This wasn't enough to ruin our stay but did mean we didn't sleep as well as we'd hoped and it just took the enjoyment off of the last evening for us having to walk through a big group of people to get to the shower block every time you needed the loo! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbie65 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Campsie Glen at the end of May, over the bank holiday weekend. We arrived on the Thursday, and by the Saturday the site was completely mobbed.

Touring pitches are reasonably spacious, not the biggest we've stayed on but ample for the caravan and awning and there was a wee patch of grass at the rear and side (the strip at the back of the van seemed fair game for anyone to walk behind your caravan). Hook up and water close to caravans

Staff friendly and helpful and had dealt with a request to change our booking very courteously. We were with our 2 dogs and our teenage son, and joined over the weekend by the inlaws in their caravan, and 2 of our friends in their van.

Site is a bit remote, and once you leave the main road it's an 'interesting' tow, plus the actual approach road into the site is quite narrow and wind-y. Very scenic.

There is NO shop nearby, the small shop on site sells nothing but the most basic of basics, I reckon you'd be a 20 min drive to get to the shop in Fintry.

The wee pool on site was ok, you get arm bands for hour long slots at reception, the kids enjoyed it but it is small and basic.

The weather was totally cracking over the weekend, and the kids loved going down to the river to paddle and swim. There is a wee games room on site too, and a nice play park.

The toilets and showers in the main touring block were OK, a wee bit dated, and the showers needed 20p for 3 mins (a bit annoying as it's not the cheapest of sites), the other toilets and showered at the wee club house are free, but hubby said they were not as nice.

Club house was basic, we ate there on the Sunday, food was ok I guess, nothing amazing but edible, the staff were lovely and friendly.

The one and only thing that will stop us from returning to this site is the lack of off lead dog walking nearby. Very, very limited on site, the dog walking 'field' was tiny, and the space down by the river very limited, so for an active springer it was pretty poor, but that's a personal thing and not the sites fault.

I'd say a great site for younger kids. Lots of noisy, drunken adults there over the bank hol weekend, but I reckon most sites would have been like that.

Site grounds well maintained, and the statics looked lovely. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaelypants 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in our 8 man tent.

The site was easy to find & there's no road noise as there's no main roads nearby.

Got a pitch next to friends by prior arrangement. Friendly reception greeting. Quite a large site, so wee map given to find our numbered pitch. Tent area is separate from tourers. Electric hookup posts were close & had a water tap too. We were right next to our neighbours, who were our friends so it didn't matter but maybe our tent was too big for the pitch?

The playpark was great for my girls, age 8 & 6, park is next to tent area & is well used. There's also a wee portacabin with table football, & fruit machines, which we never used.

We used the pool once, although 'heated' it was vaguely warm. The kids didn't mind though, bbbrrr.

The toilet block next to tent area was clean but dated with push button showers, the water was hot & plentiful though. The newer block is amidst the tourer area & was newer but similar. The dishwashing facilities are here too, so a bit of a walk with your dirty dishes.

We used the diner/cafe place once for lunch & it was ok & fairly priced.

Around the site Is great for scooters/bikes for the kids.

Overall a good site for a couple of nights. We were just wanting somewhere close to home to practise with our big tent. I think that tents/campers were an after thought here though. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wally69 8 reviews from this member

 We were met on arrival by a charming lady at reception who was extremely helpful & booked us in quickly & efficiently. Our pitch was a corner pitch which was very flat & easy to erect the tent on. Our EHU was easily accessible with the added bonus of a water tap on. Every so often there was a refuse bin which made things a lot easier. These were emptied nearly every day.

The toilet blocks were very clean & tidy with all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. The showers were always hot & I for 1 did not mind paying 20p for 4 mins.

All the staff were very friendly & extremely helpful especially the bar/restaurant manager. The bar/restaurant area was always clean & very reasonably priced. They did not feel the need to extort money from you as you were a captive audience. The small pool was an added bonus & helped us amuse the kids a couple of times, as did the putting green.

The surrounding area is abundant with things to do;Stirling Castle, Wallace Monument, Blair Drummond Safari Park etc. The beauty of the area is superb & not to be missed.

All in all, this site offers everything you could wish for & more, Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Davey17664 1 review from this member

 Spent a very pleasant week from Monday 23rd June to Monday 30th June at Balgair Castle Holiday Park staying in a rental caravan, toilet blocks were kept extremely clean, play area was kitted out with swings & climbing equipment.

The bistro bar is very good value for money, all the staff were friendly & helpful

The site is well placed to vist Stirling, Loch Lomond & Falkirk. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Campsie Glen Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Campsie Glen Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campsie Glen Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Campsie Glen Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fintry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window