Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mains Farm Wigwams Caravans Tents And Motorhomes

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Mains Farm Wigwams Caravans Tents And Motorhomes Reviews

Mains Farm Wigwams Caravans Tents And Motorhomes
Thornhill
Stirling
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK8 3QR
Tel: 01786 850735
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 Wigwams 12 Lux Wigwams Camping Available
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campervan life 1 review from this member

Been here a few times and have seen the site improve and develop. This is within an hours drive from home so it is handy for a wee weekend getaway if the sun's out and weather nice.

As the site has developed there have been more and more wigwams put on site. Sadly I think this is to the detriment overall as a touring site.

Owners have now decided to charge 5 for a dog on a touring pitch. So if you have two adults and a dog and want electric this puts the price in to a bracket that the site just doesn't warrant. It's fine as a cheapy night away but nothing spectacular and I feel that a fiver for a dog will kill the touring area stone dead. Perhaps that is the intention since they appear to be packing more wigwams in now. Shame :(

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnandkirsty 2 reviews from this member

We arrived for a night with our new dog to make sure she was ok with camping. Site was very quiet, only us and 4 caravans. The field was well tended to and lots of room for us to pitch. The view was great and we positioned looking into the valley.

Not sure if we would have been put in the next field if it was busy, felt we were possibly in the caravan area.

Anyway toilet block was clean and tidy, no issues and very close by. There was also a sink area for washing up which had hot and cold water.

You had to walk across the road to get to the main site with the wigwams and showers, but it's not a busy road and not very far away. 20p for 5 mins in shower is more than enough and they were perfectly clean.

We were only there for a day, so did not scope out the surrounding area, but great walk for dog into village and the village has a nice shop and 2 pubs that looked nice. The play area is next door, but is for the local children, not private to the campsite.

Only 1 downside was that there seems to be a bmx track beside the campsite and that had kids in it till around 10pm, not an issue for us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to other.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darzy 2 reviews from this member

Had a 1 night stay at Mains Farm to try out our new tent, we took the opportunity when the sun was shining and decided to go not too far from home.

On arriving we found the site to be very friendly and the owners were very helpful. The views from the site were absolutely beautiful, it was lovely sitting out next to the camp fire which we had in our pit.

We took a walk with our dog and found that the football pitch and park were immediately behind the site which was very handy and just a short walk from there onto the main street where the shop is.

All in all a very good site which we will return to when we get some decent weather.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shawad 1 review from this member

Spent one night at Mains Farm to introduce my son to camping.

Nice friendly welcome from the warden when we arrived. Surprised to have to pay for a 4 year old to stay in a tent, when the wigwam child prices start at 5 years old.

We were directed through the main campsite to what can only be described as a farmer's field. It seemed the main developed camping area is reserved for EHU only, the well cut grass and road stops and you end up in a field of agricultural grass, which although it had recently been cut the tractor had left huge tyre tracks and the cuttings had been left behind which restricted where to pitch and made it messy in the tent.

The facilities were basic, toilet block was adequate (only 1 quite open shower in the gents block), but no hot water in the dish washing area made cleaning up after eating difficult.

The site is in a nice location, handy for the Trossachs and Blair Drummond Safari Park, with spectacular views. I found it to be quite a noisy site, however, despite the 10pm no noise rule, which wasn't enforced.

It might be different if you were in the wigwams, but in a Tent with no EHU I wouldn't return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozh 1 review from this member

Just back from 2 nights camping at Mains farm. The setting is beautiful and the views are completely spectacular. We camped in the non electric field. It's a fair walk to the showers (through a field and across a road) although there are toilets and a wash up area (with no hot water though so not much point) in the next field.

We had a nice flat pitch and the pitches are not marked which is great for those of us with huge tents. We paid only 15 (2 adults and 3 kids, under 3's go free) per night which is very reasonable, although I think appropriate as it's fairly basic.

There is also a good play park just beside it which the kids enjoyed. This would have been the best weekend's camping we have ever had but for one thing - the owners seemed to have rented out the next field along for a dog owners club convention/show. On the Saturday night they had a live band which was very loud and went on till just after 11pm - I realise this isn't too late but most of us go camping for peace and quiet and to get away from it all and this put an end to our peaceful evening. By 1030 pretty much the entire campsite had retired for the night and presumably most, like us, had to lie awake listening to shouting, music and howling dogs until 1:30 am.

Added to that, the toilets were in some state. There was no loo roll left by the end of the evening and first thing in the morning there was no loo roll or paper towels, rubbish stuffed down the toilets and one was broken. I checked all 4 and none were usable - yuck! When we left the campsite at 1030 it was still the same.

What a shame the owners didn't make an extra effort to clean them considering all the extra people using the facilities. Having said all that I would still recommend it, mainly because of the incredible setting and reasonable price, but just check when booking that nothing like this is going on while you will be there - we are disappointed we weren't told this when we booked as we would not have gone.

Luckily we went with some brilliant friends and all the kids had a ball anyway.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brickiemum 6 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights in the EHU field of this site recently. The set up of the site means this is over a public road from the main site where the wigwams/showers/reception is. On the camping side of the road there are toilets in container blocks and a shelter with sinks for cleaning dishes. These are in poor condition, not well maintained and we witnessed no cleaning (this much was obvious from the state of he floors etc) The pitches themselves had incredibly long grass and were muddy and difficult to pitch on. By the time we had been there 2 days it was like a swamp. I acknowledge that the weather has been very wet but we all felt the lack of pitch maintenance contributed to this significantly. The shower blocks are in converted farm buildings, though not inadequate they are full of spiders webs on the ceilings. 20p gives a 5 minute shower with enough hot water.

There is a playpark adjacent to the camping field but I believe this to be the town park, not a private facility owned by the site, it was certainly used by all the local children.

Site is close to Blair Drummond Safari park and a small village with a very small shop. Great views from the camping field.

To summarise. Could be a lovely little campsite with a whole lot more TLC and effort.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplerain 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Mains Farm.

Brilliant camp site, pitches are a great size. Lovely views over the hills stunning.

Owners are lovely and so helpful, popping round to make sure all is ok both evenings.

Lovely dog walk that takes you through the fields and into the village.

Toilets were lovely and clean with great hot water, showers are great as well but bit off a queue in the morning.

We do not have children however this site would be very safe for them, there is loads off room for them to run around and a fantastic play park just at the back off the campsite with no roads for them to cross.

Lovely hotel/ bar in the village that does lovely food and at a good price also a great wee village shop selling everything you would need.

Enclosed fire pits are allowed as long as they are raised off the ground, you can buy a massive pack off logs and firefighters for 5.

Gem off a site, cant wait till we return.

Everyone was so friendly think the relaxed attitude off the owners rubs off on everyone.

Site was busy but by 11 pm there was complete silence till morning.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GaryAngieErinRoss 2 reviews from this member

We have just today came back from this site with friends, they had a trailer tent and we had a 3 bed / 6 man tent. We had 4 adults and 5 kids in our party.

We arrived just as they completed installing the toilet block for the camping side which having read the previous comments meant we didn't have to cross the road to the wigwam side.

The toilet blocks started off clean and well stocked the first day but when we left this morning they were in a bit of a mess. This was no fault of the wardens etc. I'd hate to see the state of some of these other campers houses if this is the state they got in.

The solution to this issue would be to supply keys to each party for the toilet block leaving a small deposit for their safe return. No negatives on the campsite; location great. We went to Callander for chips then ice creams and popped in to a few shops, as usual Callander didn't disappoint with everyone being friendly.

We all had fun at the play park and the large grassy area a short walk from the site, altogether a safe, friendly family site. We will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelse 1 review from this member

Love thornhill! Because I have big stupid tent I always use this site as within reasonable distance of relatives to help pitch but even with tent I could pitch alone I would still come back here.

Camping field now has electric so I got electric hook up for first time for 3quid. Portaloos in camping field changed weekly and were adequate. Site not busy - maybe 3-5 units per night. Water available in camping field.

Wash up still cold water but adequate. Toilets block on wigwam side fine and showers 20p for 5 mins lovely hot water.

Wardens cheerful and always around to help. Such a relaxing site - would recommend to anyone who appreciates great views and quiet area.

Pub, shop, park and facilities in callander really lovely. We go swimming at callander pool for a good clean!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Astencijo 11 reviews from this member

We have stayed there for 3 nights. It is very quiet location in a small village, but views from the camping pitch were amazing.

The camping area is on different side of the road to wigwams, so you have to go across the road to use showers, toilets, washing up area. Site is small, but neat.

Lady at the reception was very nice and helpful. Showers are outside, so it is a bit strange at the beginning, but hot water is so hot, you don't feel any cold at all from outside. 20p for 5minutes.

The only downside was, they didn't have anywhere to put our freeze blocks and washing up area just one sink with coal water.

It's only about 15 minutes drive from Stirling and about 30min from Loch Lomond.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Stirling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019