Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchenbowie Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Auchenbowie Caravan Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Auchenbowie Caravan Site
Auchenbowie
Stirling
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that Auchenbowie Caravan Site will not reopen for the 2013 summer season. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hexham 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I visited this site over Jubilee weekend, we were unsure what to expect having read mixed reviews but I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with both the site and it's surroundings.

Access was remarkably easy, just a couple of minutes from Junction 9 off M9, we were met by staff who were extremely friendly, even invited us to their party !

The site is square and around the perimeter are a number of statics and tourers obviously sited there for the season. The touring vans, tents etc go in the middle on a part sloping site with the playground directly in front.

There are two toilet/ shower blocks, one at the entrance and one at the top of the site, although neither was very far to walk. Both are somewhat old fashioned but were clean with ample hot water. There are plenty of hook ups and water taps quite near.

Whilst most users of this site appear to be seasonal pitch holders, it is equally a great site for tourists. There is an excellent walk from just outside the site down quiet lanes which affords wonderful views over the Ochil Hills and as far as the Trossachs.

Stirling is a 5 minute drive away and there are numerous other attractions, including the Carron valley and, our reason for being there, the Falkirk Wheel, an amazing structure, well worth a visit.

In June the tariff was £11 plus £3 for electrics which seemed very reasonable as the site had all the amenities we required, Despite it being a bank holiday weekend it was very quiet and peaceful and there was no noise from the several families on site.

Being so handy to so many tourist attractions, we were amazed that the site wasn't busier, it deserve to be. It would make an excellent base for anyone visiting that part of Scotland or wanting a stopover en route North to, or South from, the Highlands. We liked it immensely and found it ideal for our needs. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red lion 1 review from this member

 Stayed on this site plenty of times during 2009/2010 on route to Glasgow and South. Value for money, cheap and cheerful!

Motorhomes and campervans might need levelling chocks if you have to park on the sloping areas.

Easy to find, just of the Motorway.

Toilet blocks could do with a little bit of upgrading but otherwise it's an OK site. Hook-ups good but I thought you needed three hands to make a safe connection, or lose one of yours when attempting it !

PS - No Shops - No Beaches - No Bars. Stirling and Safari Park not far away. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leadfree 3 reviews from this member

 Strange one this. Having read the reviews about this site I arrived feeling happy about it ,but on seeing it I have to admit to being disappointed. After setting up the van I then moved my car & promptly stood in dog mess! I asked the warden to have it taken away & she said she would see to it, but it was still there when we left next day.

On the plus side,the site is easily located & the entrance is well signposted. The play area was vacated by 22.30 & the noise that comes with it vanished too.

The toilets were fine & the site would be even better if it was updated & some time/money spent on it.

Dog doo apart it was OK, but no better than. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angp1 1 review from this member

 Just back from a one night stay at this site. It was our first camping trip so didn't want to go far and this site was excellent. Small but quiet. Managed to get a pitch for our 6 man tent with hook up for £14 - bargain. Kids played at small playpark while we struggled to put tent up! Warden was lovely.
Kids played outside til 1030 and no-one minded and up a playpark for 8am and again no-one minded. No shop or eating facilities but we didn't mind. Showers small and compact but clean. Would recommend if wanting a small and quiet site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PreeceFamily 33 reviews from this member

 We stopped here on route to Fort William and rang to ask if spaces were available to be told "just turn up".

We did just that and a friendly warden appeared. £11 for the night was a bargain and the site was ok.

Everything was clean and tidy if not a touch 'old-style' but still, for £11 a night, we've seen and used much worse.

As a simple site goes - this is great!
 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krismcewan 13 reviews from this member

 What a nice quiet site. So what no bar onsite, no shop, infact nothing for miles. Perfect if you want quiet.
Most of the tourers are situated around the central play area so it was perfect for families to let their kids run about whilst still keeping an eye of them from the caravan.
 
Downside to site:  the toilet blocks at the back of the site are basically porta cabins. Not much room and only 1 shower per gender. 
 
Apart from that nothing bad to say about the place 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazy-teeks 8 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this one. We only stayed for one night in the tent area which was amongst the playground which made it really quite noisy as the park was busy. The tent pitching area is fairly small and we ended up on a sloping area. I have to say from walking around the site the touring caravans seemed to get a better deal, much quieter, except the distant motorway noise, and cleaner, more up-to-date toilets/ showers. The tent area toilets definitely need up-dating and a closer eye on the cleanliness. Very basic site, just toilets, showers and dishwashing area. The wardens do offer good assistance however when a couple of loud groups were asked to be quiet at 3.00am it proved ineffective!
On the positive side the site is in a lovely spot if you don't need to walk to get to shops etc and it was lovely to see a wild deer leap accross the road however on this occassion I was a bit dissappointed but may try again. 


Reviewer: TheKnappyGang 4 reviews from this member

 July 2005
lovely small site, very well kept, toilet and showers at the entrance a bit dated but clean. The other ones are more modern and the shower there was great, costs 20p but enough water for three of us to shower one after the other. Kids play park was a hit with our kids and no-one complained when they and all the other kids on site were playing out till 11pm. Warden was a lovely lady, very helpful. The only down side is the lack of shop, although there is one a few miles down the road which I visited every morning for fresh milk, rolls etc. All in all a great wee site and it only cost us £10 per night for a hugh tent, 2 Adults, 5 Kids and 2 Dogs. Not bad value i'd say. Would definitely stay there again. 


Reviewer: Debsy 122 reviews from this member

 March 2005
Just stayed here for the night whilst visiting Stirling - it cost £11 with a hook up - the toilets and showers are portakabin types but absolutely fine. The warden was lovely. There's a good kids playarea which ours enjoyed and there was no one camping so plenty of space in the field to play. You can't walk to a shop from here though so get everything beforehand! 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement