Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Penrhyn Bay Camping And Caravanning Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Llanfwrog > Penrhyn Bay Camping And Caravanning Park Reviews

Penrhyn Bay Camping And Caravanning Park
Llanfwrog
Llanfwrog
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 4YG
Tel: 01407 730496  or  01407 730411
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samba07 3 reviews from this member

Amazing Campsite with nice beach and fabulous seaside look specially at sunset.

The whole site is very clean, organized, paved, levelled, good grass and a very clean toilets.

It has everything you need, toilets, hot showers, washing room, laundry room, games room, heated pool, kidís playground, chemical disposal and a shop of basics.

I had an argument once arrived as I requested a sea view pitch but found myself at toilets area. They should inform me that before booking and confirmation.

You must use a key card to use every facility in the camp including the entrance gate, however, they give one card only for the family, so we had to swap each time, and we struggled a lot to deal with that specially when two or more persons want to go toilets or any other facility.

Pool is not free, and you must pay to use it, £1. 5 per kid and £2. 0 per adult. Kids need an adult to supervise them as there is no lifeguard over there. All of that made the pool useless for us.

This campsite is very posh and aristocratic in my opinion, so tent campers like me may not like it a lot, however, the place is amazing and worth the try.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salad dodger 2 reviews from this member

Warm welcome and showed to pitch, pitches very generous and flat. Location of site is remote but signposted well enough, views excellent and beach lovely for kids, had great fun exploring rock pools.

Site facilities are adequate at best, only 3 sinks for dish washing and hot water not hot, cleanliness wasn't great, showers only warm.

While I understand card access for barrier, having to use card for wc/ shower/ dishwashing etc was a bit of a pain.

Nearest big supermarkets are next junction on the A5.

Be warned the wind can be very strong and without warning, on the Wednesday 1 guy rope broke and at least 2 other tents got ripped apart, take extra ropes or storm straps.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cirrus4 1 review from this member

Camped here for 2 nights at the end of June.

The site is well maintained and the staff friendly. Shower and toilet block are excellent and there is a well stocked shop/off-licence on site with limited opening hours.

The site is right on the headland overlooking a great beach with views across to Holyhead. Pitches are generous and flat. There is no club House on site but we enjoyed a drink in the adjoining 'Sandy Beach' site with no problems.

Part of this site's charm is its remoteness but this can also be a downside. We enjoy eating out when camping and found it difficult to find any good pubs for a drink let alone for food.

We did however get a Chinese ordered via Just Eat from Sunny Valley, which we would recommend.

Overall a great site just don't expect a huge amount locally.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vpartington 1 review from this member

Loved this site unfortunately our daughter was poorly with a throat infection when we visited so we were really happy there was so much to keep her occupied whilst there we didn't have to leave the site ( except a trip out for a food stock up) so she didn't have to exhaust herself tracking too far with little energy, Beach edge with rock area a few seconds from our tent for exploring, lovely clean beach one minutes walk away, Children's play area, Tennis courts, Indoor swimming pool, great facilities, friendly helpful staff, lovely place for adults to relax and enjoy the beautiful views, YES we would revisit!

Only thing I could fault and it does sound like nit picking but I'm putting this out there for campers who're not aware is whilst the local on-site shop is great, full of essentials and run by a lovely lady I was surprised to see children's bubble blowing pots sold there, bubbles can have a terrible effect damaging people's tents if they hit the tents the detergent in the mix spreads through the fibre and breaks down your tents waterproofing lucky for us nobodies child used them around our tent nor did I see any use of them during our stay so maybe staff could have a friendly word with the shop owner?

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ncdlloyd 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of July after a recommendation from friends. It's a lovely site at the far end of Anglesey with beautiful views out to sea. There's a huge sandy beach a few minutes walk away where a lot of sail boats launch, there are also numerous small pebble beaches right on the edge of the campsite, ideal for a spot of fishing.

Facilities were good, although the key card access to them was a bit of a pain. The small indoor pool was a big hit with the kids, although with good weather while we were there we only went the once. Nice playground for the kids too and plenty of room to run around in general.

All in all an excellent site and we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gemm47 1 review from this member

Second visit to this campsite with a touring caravan. Last year had bad weather all week but could see the potential of a great British holiday so decided to book every year until we got the perfect weather.

Result, just had wall to wall sunshine for halve term and wow this site is perfect with direct access to a massive sandy beach which is very safe for kids. Mixed site of campers, tourers, seasonal and statics but no elitism or snobbery, just everyone very friendly and enjoying the great seaside location. Site staff all very helpful with a very well stocked shop and newspapers, that don't have to be pre ordered. Indoor swimming pool for a small charge is great for the kids as Is the games room, with pool, table tennis, table football and video games. You can live out of the site shop or visit local supermarkets but do try the lobster pot at church bay for a seafood treat. Toilet block is clean and modern, but at its limit for a site of this size so expect it to be busy and this was the only negative point and it seems a shame to put in this review but best to be honest.

To sum up we have had two weeks, one was wet, the other was dry and sunny and both weeks were a great holiday for us and the kids. Book and enjoy a great British holiday.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deborah247 6 reviews from this member

Arrived for Easter weekend, site is about 2. 5 miles off main road, not very well signposted, but we found it OK. Friendly man in reception, but just wanted the bill paid! Showed us to our pitch. Fine, set up ok, serviced pitch. Guides for your allocated space which is good.

Weather abysmal (not their fault granted ) but the ground was saturated after rain, and stayed that way. Drainage is poor, which I feel poor for £35 a night + charge for the dog! The 70mph winds prob did help dry the waterlogged pitch. Close to shale beach, but nothing really nice about the beach. Toilets were quite smelly / dirty on Saturday, again not expected for price. Showers good, pool fine, and shop well stocked to be fair. Good park for small children, and chip van on site Friday and Sunday but we did not try.

Overall just feel for the price no effort made to see if people ok. Not for me am sorry. Especially considering the cost. Lesson learnt and move onto the next.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craftie2004 19 reviews from this member

Arrived to a friendly welcome at the barrier (keycard needed for a deposit) and found we had a decent pitch facing the sea. Told the keycard also opened the door to the toilets (which was bizarre seeing as the site is so remote to the nearest town?)

Pitch was fully serviced, and we were escorted by a happy chap on his ride on mower.

Told about the facilities etc, so all good.

There are quite a lot of seasonal pitches, but most were not here, so the toilets (very clean and spacious) were never too busy.

The only 'negative' thing I have to say about the site is the cost - over £35 per night for a site that has no clubhouse etc? For this price I would have expected it to have one.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chelleb8 2 reviews from this member

Penrhyn is a great friendly campsite with fantastic facilities. Lovely play area for the children along with a good swimming pool for the children. Very close to the beach and a great location to explore Anglesey. There is a small shop on site and at busier times a fish and chip van comes on site at the weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveb50 10 reviews from this member

I have already reviewed this site in April 2012, but thought I would update my review in that the kids playground has been updated with new play equipment which our daughter loved.

The campsite is still as good as ever and all previous comments I have made are still valid.

There are a lot of seasonal caravans on this site and the daily rented pitches are in certain areas, which do include areas with a sea view, in fact our pitch was about 10m from the sea but I booked this pitch a year in advance.

My advice if you want a sea view is to ask when you book, and book well in advance.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Llanfwrog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019