Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brecon Beacons
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 04/07/2020 to 29/10/2020
           16/03/2021 to 29/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 129 Reviews
                9/10 from 129 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 46 reviews from this member

 This a quite a large but spotless site with 2 facilities blocks that are very modern in comparison to other CC sites. We were fortunate with the good weather and had a lovely large pitch in the centre of the site.

Yes there is road noise from the dual carriageway, particularly on a weekend with motor bikes but that is what you get with such an easily accessible site.

Walk into Brecon along the canal was pleasant and its a nice town to wander around with several pubs and cafes. Walked in the other direction to the Three Horseshoes but turned around as soon as we got there - tiny little place, full to the brim so not ideal in these Covid times.

Overall a great site that we’ll most likely return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SRPhoto 13 reviews from this member

 The site has a mix of tent, grass, hardstanding and serviced hardstanding pitches. The serviced pitches have a tap and grey water drain, toilet waste is disposed of in the normal way at various service points around the site.

Regarding water supply on the pitch a 10m to 20m hose may be required depending upon pitch and the greywater drain is near the centre of the caravan so you may need 2m to 6m of hose depending upon you outlet location.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the on site shop is well stocked with caravan spares, hoses, and typical groceries and sweets, the prices are very reasonable compared with supermarket prices and you don’t feel taken advantage of.

The road noise many talk about, yes there is some on most of the site, but greatly reduced by pitching away from the roads, If a motorbike opens it up off the roundabout then most can hear if outside or with windows open, but generally it is not a massive annoyance and rain or wind in the trees often makes more noise than the road traffic.

The pitches are a reasonable size many of the hardstanding pitches are separated by 6 feet or so of grass, some have hedges at the rear to separate rows.

The toilet blocks are modern and very clean also with the usual dish washing and laundry rooms, even with a full site no queues for showers are experienced, the toilet blocks are sensibly closed for cleaning at staggered times morning and afternoon.

The caravan club WiFi is the usual rubbish it just about manages email, but struggles with internet browsing and any form of streaming is a waste of time. So yes it ‘works’ and is cheap pre year, however if you have data with the mobile package then you will do much better with you phones own 4G, you can also create your own hot spot with your phone providing you have enough data allowance and share this with your family.

You can obviously create your own caravan club WiFi hot spot using certain devices that connect and share locally getting around the single device limit of the CC WiFi.

Typical download speed 0. 5mb ! Even some basic popular on line phone games fail to function with slow ping rates and flaky connections 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LHaines 1 review from this member

 Spotlessly clean and well maintained site. Pitches are flat and facilities were great and easily accessible. We stayed in a fully serviced pitch and everything was so easy. Even for us newbies!

Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful too! It was expensive to stay but that was because we weren’t members of the caravan and camping club.

Would definitely stay there again though! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 85 reviews from this member

 After driving past this site for over 8 years, we finally decided to give it a try. We got a very friendly welcome and chose a nice open pitch with good views. The site map provided indicated a nearby service point but we couldn't find it anywhere and it turned out the location is now an extra pitch.

Several people were surprised how sparse the water taps were, especially as this is the first C&MC site we've ever been on without any taps outside the toilet blocks. Ah well, I'm fit enough for a longer walk, but it was a bit of a mystery.

The toilet blocks were absolutely spotless and full marks to the wardens for cleaning them so well.

We walked down to the canal and fortunately didn't find the traffic too busy, crossing the two dual carriageways. We also walked to the Three Horseshoes Pub and found the paths OK, but slightly tricky given all the rain.

However, the worst section was just outside the site on the lane, which was very muddy, so be careful there. To be honest, we found the pub very pretentious, although the owner was reasonably friendly, but wouldn't go there again.

It's a shame there isn't a local chippy or pizza 'van visiting, as there's surely enough folk on site to warrant it, and it's a fair old trek to the town itself.

One other thing that strikes me as odd, is what it isn't open in winter. There are so many hardstanding pitches and excellent roadways, that I'm sure it would be an attractive proposition. We'll probably leave it another 8 years before revisiting. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shellbobs 1 review from this member

 Site clean but tired. Main issue was the road noise which was a major issue being HGV traffic using the road next to the site 24/7.

There is a rifle army range which practices daily the noise is awful and there is no mention of this on their website we had to get off the site in the day to escape the noise. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: *deb* 22 reviews from this member

 Having had 2 nights at this site I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a site in the area.

As with most CMC sites, this is clean, well laid out with facilities close to hand.

We booked late and had to book a serviced pitch. This was a bit short as our hitch was almost on the road and we only have a compact van, though to be fair we have to fit our awning annexe in at the back. We had bins and a CDP a very short walk opposite. On the pitch we had a tap (wrong side for the water inlet point though so if we'd had an adaptor kit it wouldn't have been long enough!), waste access point and electrics.

There are two toilet blocks. We only visited one and the facilities were excellent.

The site is bordered by two fairly main roads so consider this if you want total peace. It didn't really bother us though I may choose a pitch away from the border with the road next time.

The site shop is useful and the staff very helpful. My daughter always enjoys Tourer Explorer and the associated treasure hunt / trails.

Towing to the site from the Midlands was fairly straightforward, though it can be a wait to turn right into the site if there is oncoming (fast) traffic.

Wouldn't hesitate to come again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 78 reviews from this member

 Immaculate - impeccable - helpful staff - this site is a gem! We stayed on a serviced pitch at £32. 50 but standard pitches at £25 were more than adequate and we will use one of them next time.

The bus stop at the entrance gets you into town very quickly. Brecon itself is not much - a small village. However, from the Brecon interchange you can take the T4 to Merthyr Tydfil (a bit of a dump in our view, you have to suffer a two hour turnround for the bus) but the ride (40 / 50 minutes) takes you right through and across the Brecon Beacons National Park. Lovely views - superb value at £5. 50 return - and you leave the motorhome on site - no driving!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosiecat13 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely caravan club site. Facilities good and very clean. We were on a hardstanding fully serviced pitch which was a good size.

Lovely dog walk, some steep slopes, dog friendly pub 15mins walk. Children’s play area. Well stocked shop. We will go back soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay here for one night and were not disappointed that we had chosen this site. The site is very well laid out and presented to a very high standard with the usual neat pitches and spotless facilities. We were given details of how to get to the town and also to the canal, which we were not aware was even there.

The walk along the canal is very pretty, only difficult part is crossing the two roads over the roundabout to reach the towpath. Once there, the walk is straight along to the Basin, which is the start of the canal. From there you can walk into the town.

We didn’t get to walk into town but drove through it and first impressions were that it is worth a visit. Despite being next to two roads, we didn’t have much disturbance from traffic, other than when cars drove over the yellow slow down lines across the road.

We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From Brecon A40 bypass, at the eastern end, take A470 at roundabout signed for Hereford. In about 200 metres turn right at campsite sign and campsite is straight ahead.

This site is situated near to the town of Brecon. It is a spacious site which is open from mid-March to the end of October and accepts non-members and tents. The site was refurbished in 2014. There are 130 pitches including 106 hardstandings 54 of which are serviced with fresh and waste water.

The remaining 24 pitches are on grass. In addition there are 10 tent pitches with electrics. Electric points are handy to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. Despite the site information saying that TV reception is poor there is no booster system available.

There are two really excellent toilet blocks complete with laundry and dishwash facilities. The site is well served by service points which also have chemical toilet emptying points. There is also an excellent motorhome service point with a drive over open grill for grey water disposal. For children there is a large field with playground and ball game pitch, plus space to spare.

There is site wide WiFi which seemed to provide a reasonable service although when the site was busier I did employ a booster aerial. An unusual feature of this site is that it has a fairly comprehensive site shop run by a lovely lady. No need to order papers in advance as there is usually a good supply.

Reception next door sells some guides to the area. The site also has a storage facility, not sure how this works with the limited site opening.

As the site name suggests it is a good base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The site is also convenient for those that either don’t have or would prefer not to use their own transport.

The town of Brecon is an easy walk of about one and half miles along the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal. Access to the canal is near to the site but does involve crossing two very busy roads so care is required. Also those with bikes the access down to the canal is quite steep.

Brecon is a nice town with most of the facilities you will need, there are three supermarkets including a Morrisons. The 43 bus, not the X43, service has a stop immediately outside of the site entrance. Reception will provide you with a timetable. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement