Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brecon Beacons
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 16/03/2021 to 29/10/2021
           16/03/2022 to 29/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peterw 1 review from this member

 Immaculate,

Dedicated wardens always willing and happy to share their enthusiasm for a very special site

Very spacious lay out

Great position for walking into Brecon or touring the Beacons - the walk into Brecon along the canal is special

The facilities are second to none- it appears that users respond to the quality and care — and respect other users in a way you rarely experience

Don’t consider any other site

DW 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frankval 6 reviews from this member

 Site is excellent clean and tidy

Quiet and peaceful

Warders were very helpful and full of local knowledge

Close to brecon town, nice walk alongside the canal 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 82 reviews from this member

 More of an update really having left a review back in November. Despite restrictions in Wales being partially lifted, site was no more then half full.

Toilet blocks still closed but wouldn't have used them anyway preferring to use our own facilities. Site shop open though despite it stating on the information sheet given on arrival that shop still closed. Must be losing a lot of business because the shop is well stocked but no-one going there.

Information sheet also says playground closed but government rules in Wales say they can open. Hardly any children on site anyway but there is also a large field for ball games.

Battle ground opposite very quiet this time apart from a few helicopters coming and going and wedding venue and children's soft play barn still closed.

Canal walk to town very pleasant, most shops open now but not cafes or pubs yet in Wales so had to make do with a sandwich and drink from Aldi and sat by canal basin to eat.

Site itself very clean, sanitisers at every water point and chemical waste point. There are now 53 fully serviced pitches out of 150+ so at busy times you may have to pay super pitch price when you actually don't need one. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 82 reviews from this member

 Despite this website stating the site is closed, it is not, as it's had the season extended due to lockdowns.

The site is well kept, shower/toilet blocks using rubber band system but can't comment on them as we didn't use them, preferring to use our own onboard facilities.

It's between two main roads so some road noise to be expected but not too bad compared to the infantry battle training ground opposite which started one morning before 8am and continued for 3 hours and the Barn wedding venue and play barn just behind reception. With wedding restrictions and children's parties could not understand the music blasting out from there in the middle of the afternoon.

The town of Brecon is a half hour walk away along the canal towpath, pleasant town with range of independent shops and a cathedral with tea rooms serving delicious food (can recommend the Welsh Rarebit). Hay on Wye and Abergavenny both close by and worth a trip to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 58 reviews from this member

 This a quite a large but spotless site with 2 facilities blocks that are very modern in comparison to other CC sites. We were fortunate with the good weather and had a lovely large pitch in the centre of the site.

Yes there is road noise from the dual carriageway, particularly on a weekend with motor bikes but that is what you get with such an easily accessible site.

Walk into Brecon along the canal was pleasant and its a nice town to wander around with several pubs and cafes. Walked in the other direction to the Three Horseshoes but turned around as soon as we got there - tiny little place, full to the brim so not ideal in these Covid times.

Overall a great site that we’ll most likely return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SRPhoto 13 reviews from this member

 The site has a mix of tent, grass, hardstanding and serviced hardstanding pitches. The serviced pitches have a tap and grey water drain, toilet waste is disposed of in the normal way at various service points around the site.

Regarding water supply on the pitch a 10m to 20m hose may be required depending upon pitch and the greywater drain is near the centre of the caravan so you may need 2m to 6m of hose depending upon you outlet location.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the on site shop is well stocked with caravan spares, hoses, and typical groceries and sweets, the prices are very reasonable compared with supermarket prices and you don’t feel taken advantage of.

The road noise many talk about, yes there is some on most of the site, but greatly reduced by pitching away from the roads, If a motorbike opens it up off the roundabout then most can hear if outside or with windows open, but generally it is not a massive annoyance and rain or wind in the trees often makes more noise than the road traffic.

The pitches are a reasonable size many of the hardstanding pitches are separated by 6 feet or so of grass, some have hedges at the rear to separate rows.

The toilet blocks are modern and very clean also with the usual dish washing and laundry rooms, even with a full site no queues for showers are experienced, the toilet blocks are sensibly closed for cleaning at staggered times morning and afternoon.

The caravan club WiFi is the usual rubbish it just about manages email, but struggles with internet browsing and any form of streaming is a waste of time. So yes it ‘works’ and is cheap pre year, however if you have data with the mobile package then you will do much better with you phones own 4G, you can also create your own hot spot with your phone providing you have enough data allowance and share this with your family.

You can obviously create your own caravan club WiFi hot spot using certain devices that connect and share locally getting around the single device limit of the CC WiFi.

Typical download speed 0. 5mb ! Even some basic popular on line phone games fail to function with slow ping rates and flaky connections 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LHaines 1 review from this member

 Spotlessly clean and well maintained site. Pitches are flat and facilities were great and easily accessible. We stayed in a fully serviced pitch and everything was so easy. Even for us newbies!

Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful too! It was expensive to stay but that was because we weren’t members of the caravan and camping club.

Would definitely stay there again though! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 96 reviews from this member

 After driving past this site for over 8 years, we finally decided to give it a try. We got a very friendly welcome and chose a nice open pitch with good views. The site map provided indicated a nearby service point but we couldn't find it anywhere and it turned out the location is now an extra pitch.

Several people were surprised how sparse the water taps were, especially as this is the first C&MC site we've ever been on without any taps outside the toilet blocks. Ah well, I'm fit enough for a longer walk, but it was a bit of a mystery.

The toilet blocks were absolutely spotless and full marks to the wardens for cleaning them so well.

We walked down to the canal and fortunately didn't find the traffic too busy, crossing the two dual carriageways. We also walked to the Three Horseshoes Pub and found the paths OK, but slightly tricky given all the rain.

However, the worst section was just outside the site on the lane, which was very muddy, so be careful there. To be honest, we found the pub very pretentious, although the owner was reasonably friendly, but wouldn't go there again.

It's a shame there isn't a local chippy or pizza 'van visiting, as there's surely enough folk on site to warrant it, and it's a fair old trek to the town itself.

One other thing that strikes me as odd, is what it isn't open in winter. There are so many hardstanding pitches and excellent roadways, that I'm sure it would be an attractive proposition. We'll probably leave it another 8 years before revisiting. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shellbobs 1 review from this member

 Site clean but tired. Main issue was the road noise which was a major issue being HGV traffic using the road next to the site 24/7.

There is a rifle army range which practices daily the noise is awful and there is no mention of this on their website we had to get off the site in the day to escape the noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: *deb* 23 reviews from this member

 Having had 2 nights at this site I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a site in the area.

As with most CMC sites, this is clean, well laid out with facilities close to hand.

We booked late and had to book a serviced pitch. This was a bit short as our hitch was almost on the road and we only have a compact van, though to be fair we have to fit our awning annexe in at the back. We had bins and a CDP a very short walk opposite. On the pitch we had a tap (wrong side for the water inlet point though so if we'd had an adaptor kit it wouldn't have been long enough!), waste access point and electrics.

There are two toilet blocks. We only visited one and the facilities were excellent.

The site is bordered by two fairly main roads so consider this if you want total peace. It didn't really bother us though I may choose a pitch away from the border with the road next time.

The site shop is useful and the staff very helpful. My daughter always enjoys Tourer Explorer and the associated treasure hunt / trails.

Towing to the site from the Midlands was fairly straightforward, though it can be a wait to turn right into the site if there is oncoming (fast) traffic.

Wouldn't hesitate to come again. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement