Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Brecon Beacons Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brecon Beacons
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 16/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: *deb* 22 reviews from this member

Having had 2 nights at this site I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a site in the area.

As with most CMC sites, this is clean, well laid out with facilities close to hand.

We booked late and had to book a serviced pitch. This was a bit short as our hitch was almost on the road and we only have a compact van, though to be fair we have to fit our awning annexe in at the back. We had bins and a CDP a very short walk opposite. On the pitch we had a tap (wrong side for the water inlet point though so if we'd had an adaptor kit it wouldn't have been long enough!), waste access point and electrics.

There are two toilet blocks. We only visited one and the facilities were excellent.

The site is bordered by two fairly main roads so consider this if you want total peace. It didn't really bother us though I may choose a pitch away from the border with the road next time.

The site shop is useful and the staff very helpful. My daughter always enjoys Tourer Explorer and the associated treasure hunt / trails.

Towing to the site from the Midlands was fairly straightforward, though it can be a wait to turn right into the site if there is oncoming (fast) traffic.

Wouldn't hesitate to come again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Immaculate - impeccable - helpful staff - this site is a gem! We stayed on a serviced pitch at £32. 50 but standard pitches at £25 were more than adequate and we will use one of them next time.

The bus stop at the entrance gets you into town very quickly. Brecon itself is not much - a small village. However, from the Brecon interchange you can take the T4 to Merthyr Tydfil (a bit of a dump in our view, you have to suffer a two hour turnround for the bus) but the ride (40 / 50 minutes) takes you right through and across the Brecon Beacons National Park. Lovely views - superb value at £5. 50 return - and you leave the motorhome on site - no driving!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosiecat13 4 reviews from this member

Lovely caravan club site. Facilities good and very clean. We were on a hardstanding fully serviced pitch which was a good size. Lovely dog walk, some steep slopes, dog friendly pub 15mins walk. Childrenís play area. Well stocked shop. We will go back soon.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

We booked to stay here for one night and were not disappointed that we had chosen this site. The site is very well laid out and presented to a very high standard with the usual neat pitches and spotless facilities. We were given details of how to get to the town and also to the canal, which we were not aware was even there. The walk along the canal is very pretty, only difficult part is crossing the two roads over the roundabout to reach the towpath. Once there, the walk is straight along to the Basin, which is the start of the canal. From there you can walk into the town. We didnít get to walk into town but drove through it and first impressions were that it is worth a visit. Despite being next to two roads, we didnít have much disturbance from traffic, other than when cars drove over the yellow slow down lines across the road. We would stay here again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 214 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Brecon A40 bypass, at the eastern end, take A470 at roundabout signed for Hereford. In about 200 metres turn right at campsite sign and campsite is straight ahead.

This site is situated near to the town of Brecon. It is a spacious site which is open from mid-March to the end of October and accepts non-members and tents. The site was refurbished in 2014. There are 130 pitches including 106 hardstandings 54 of which are serviced with fresh and waste water. The remaining 24 pitches are on grass. In addition there are 10 tent pitches with electrics. Electric points are handy to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. Despite the site information saying that TV reception is poor there is no booster system available. There are two really excellent toilet blocks complete with laundry and dishwash facilities. The site is well served by service points which also have chemical toilet emptying points. There is also an excellent motorhome service point with a drive over open grill for grey water disposal. For children there is a large field with playground and ball game pitch, plus space to spare. There is site wide WiFi which seemed to provide a reasonable service although when the site was busier I did employ a booster aerial. An unusual feature of this site is that it has a fairly comprehensive site shop run by a lovely lady. No need to order papers in advance as there is usually a good supply. Reception next door sells some guides to the area. The site also has a storage facility, not sure how this works with the limited site opening.

As the site name suggests it is a good base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The site is also convenient for those that either donít have or would prefer not to use their own transport. The town of Brecon is an easy walk of about one and half miles along the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal. Access to the canal is near to the site but does involve crossing two very busy roads so care is required. Also those with bikes the access down to the canal is quite steep. Brecon is a nice town with most of the facilities you will need, there are three supermarkets including a Morrisons. The 43 bus, not the X43, service has a stop immediately outside of the site entrance. Reception will provide you with a timetable.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whisper9952 3 reviews from this member

Lovely well maintained and great to stay at. Great staff, great ablution blocks. Horrible initial bit to cross over from the site to walk down to Brecon though that puts a damper on the walk along the canel. (Small note for other motorhomers that Morrisions parking is very limited and not really worth trying to get in to buy your grocery stocks there. ) I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 30 reviews from this member

This is certainly a beautiful, well kept site, and the dog walk in the woods has to be one of the best I have found on a caravan and motorhome club site. The facilities were spotless; the warden very friendly, the shop well stocked and the pitches up to the usual manicured club standard. However I must confess to one small area of disappointment. For the cost (it is one of the most expensive club sites I have stayed at), I was not prepared to find that the views of the mountains were only available from certain parts of the site - sadly not the pitch I was on - and the short walk into Brecon involved trying to cross very busy dual carriageways at a roundabout. I managed the first two crossings (with some trepidation, as the cars were whizzing round very fast and many not using indicators)but gave up at the next two because I had to wait so long and the traffic was thick and fast, though it was only mid afternoon. I had hoped for splendid mountain views all round, mountain walks from the door and an easy walk into Brecon, and without those found myself wondering why the site was so much more than other club sites? If there are other routes, these could be marked up for tourers - perhaps an OS map in the information hut may have helped. I appreciate the site cannot change its location, but it could lower its rates just a little to reflect what it truly offers.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 127 reviews from this member

An extremely spacious 168 pitch site located 1 Ĺ miles East of Brecon just off the A40/A470 roundabout producing the inevitable background traffic noise. The site has a mixture of hardstanding and grass pitches.

Two modern large a very clean toilet blocks provide adequate facilities for the site and (unusual for a C&MC site) a proper well stocked (and licenced) shop on site.

Brecon can be accessed on foot or bike by the tow path serving the delightful Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal accessed of the busy A40/A470 roundabout.

The Brecon Brecons (when not in cloud) dominate the background and the weather front (rain!).

Morrisons, Aldi and Co-op supermarkets are found in Brecon plus independent shops. The town has a lovely Cathedral and magnificent views of the Brecon Beacons and River Usk, but as mentioned by previous reviewers Ė not a lot more.

Overall Ė lovely site, friendly wardens but not a lot of attractions in the immediate area -other than some serious hillwalking.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola Harris 15 reviews from this member

Amazing site, perfect for young children. Stayed here in the run up to Easter so my husband could go fly fishing in the local rivers which was bought as a birthday gift. We are a family with two young children ages 5 and 7. The kids loved the site, especially the playground and the woodland areas. Immaculate site, spotless and well kept. The gardener even chopped a few branches off a tree for us as they were hanging a bit close to our Motorhome. The playground is in a separate field which is very well cared for. Playground equipment is aimed at younger children. Ideal for my 5 year old but 7 year old was just as happy playing football and basketball in the field. Both kids enjoyed paddling in the stream every day and the little obstacle course in the woods. We walked into town one day. Not much there but worth a stroll out if you have the time. It took us around half an hour with the kids but was a pleasant stroll next to the canal. We also used the soft play barn opposite the site entrance which was a nice little place. And free wifi! Only other recommendation is to visit the Three Horseshoes pub which is a 15 minute walk from the site. Just remember to take a torch if you are coming back after dark! It's through the woods (dog walk) and down a country lane. Fab food though and great service. Book a table though as they get really busy. Would definitely return if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and definitely won't be the last. Yes, there is indisputably road noise from virtually everywhere on the site but it wasn't overly intrusive to us and seemed to quieten down at night. An upside to the proximity of the main road is easy access to the site of course!

The site is well laid out with two spotless facilities blocks and very friendly staff. There are fantastic views of the Beacons from some parts of the site and Brecon itself is about a 20 minute pleasant walk along the nearby canal or a 5 min drive.

The town is pretty motorhome friendly with none of the dreaded height barriers although it has to be said there isn't a lot in the town itself, aside from the castle and the usual shops.

The site is well placed for touring the area. We drove to Merthyr to the Brecon Steam Railway (recommended) and the drive was through stunning scenery.

All in all a lovely site. The only point I would make is that the nearest pub, the Three Horseshoes, is posited as an easy 5 to 10 minute walk from the site. As my other half has some mobility issues, I tried this out and the walk is not easy for the unfit or less mobile. It involves descending a steep slope ( and necessarily ascending it on the way home) and the final stretch from the lane to the pub itself is also extremely steep. There is no pub car park and little on street parking either so it's either walk or taxi ( £10 from site to pub and back) The pubs reputation for good food was tempting but in the end we didn't bother. I am not detracting from the pub but think it should really be made clear that the slightly less mobile or unfit would struggle to make the journey on foot, especially in the dark or the rain.

Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019