Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sunnysands Caravan Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Sunnysands Caravan Park Ltd Reviews

Sunnysands Caravan Park Ltd
Talybont
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL43 2LQ
Tel: 01341 247301
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25 - No tents
Open: March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Tina76 2 reviews from this member

I'm due to come again on 19th of August 2017 but for 2 weeks this year. I've been coming to sunny sands for the last 22 years and will keep coming the staff are lovely and friendly. The caravans are beautiful and the views are amazing I have sea view van every year yes they cost a lot of money for a week. But I pay it for the comfort of the van and the fact that is so family orientated no loud music till silly hours no groups of men an women just family's me an my children love this place even so that my daughter had the lovely Mr stick the entertainer travel to host her 4th birthday. My children have spent there holidays here every year. Absolutely love the office staff they can never do enough to help you no matter what. I would recommend sunny sands to anyone and I will continue to spend my summers at sunny sands. Looking very forward to coming on the 19th kids are extremely excited xxx

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChristopherHarr 1 review from this member

We paid quite a lot for the tourer pitch we stayed on, and our expectations were quite high as a result.

I wish we would have booked to stay at a different site to be honest. The touring field was a mess, completely boggy with deep ruts everywhere.

The staff are friendly and helpful enough. I do hope however that they decide to either put partial hardstandings on the tourer field, or find some way of improving the drainage of the field.

I never used the laundry room, cafe, indoor heated swimming pool or club, so I can't comment on those. However, the facilities there are good. They also have a chip shop, shower block, arcade, and general store on site too. All of these I have used, and were good. However the shoer block is looking tired, and could do with being updated.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shauntbh1 4 reviews from this member

We went there last week and overall it was ok.

The staff in the office didn't seem to like their jobs as they couldn't talk to you. The disabled toilet in the shower had no soap or hand towels all week.

The swimming pool was excellent as were the prices in the shop and fish and chip shop.

All the ground in the touring section was soaking wet, I know you cant blame the owners or staff for the weather, but a little drainage would go far.

We really did enjoy ourselves at this site and would return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ellie Elddis 2 reviews from this member

Visited recently for one night on a West Wales 4 night tour. This was night 3 & we enjoyed our stay here.

The touring pitch facilities are not very well appointed compared to some sites we have been to, but never the less decent enough. I would love to see a little investment from the company here in the way of level pitches offering some hard-standing & motorhome service point/s with water connection.

The site is well located next to the beach which has great sand & easy access. There is on-site club house, shop & chip shop. There is also a decent swimming pool.

Happy with the toilet & shower facilities which are accessed using a key for which a 10 returnable deposit is required. This seems to be a good idea which I am in favour of as it keeps the use to just the tourers & cleanliness up. We would suggest some management training in customer service in some areas though.

We did say however we would visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tenttotty 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week long stay over half term at Sunnysands. We were a bit dubious after reading previous reviews before we went but we were very pleasantly surprised.

The touring field was well spaced out and had beautiful views all around. We were put on a pitch near to the water tap which was good (although would have been nice to have had our own tap, but never mind).

Field did get a bit soggy by the end of the week due to terrible weather while we were there, but that was to be expected. Very close to the beach, brilliant swimming pool, very fairly priced shop and staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The shower/toilet block were immaculate at all times of the day and night with plenty of hot water. Have to agree with previous review - the bridge, especially on exiting the site, was hair raising and we did experience some little kids kicking a football into our car and riding bikes a little too close to the caravan, so I agree, a member of security or staff patrolling periodically would benefit the site.

Overall, a great family site and we will return one day.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxcleva 2 reviews from this member

Booked this site due to it's location (30 seconds walk to the beach) and for the swimming pool for the kids.

Unfortunately when booking we were informed the pool was out of action (pity), although we were told we could use Harlech baths free of charge.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the take away chippy was amazing! Without doubt the best fish and chips I have ever had anywhere!

The on site shop was very reasonable price wise, and again staff very friendly.

As others have mentioned the bridge entering the site is an experience to say the least (my wife closed her eyes!) but the kids thought it was very exciting! (cheaper than the rides in the fair in Barmouth).

The facilities, club house and site in general were immaculate. The showers were hot (a bit too hot to be honest) and again very clean. The beach is superb and very clean with gorgeous white sand.

Now the negatives. I've been camping for 15 years so this isn't from a 'green' camper.

The complete lack of any member of staff periodically wandering around the site to check up on what people were upto is a real negative. The amount of feral kids roaming around this site at all hours using very graphic language had to be seen to be believed. Ball games are also banned on site according to the website, but in reality if you are regular you can pretty much do what you like without consequence. I had to have a polite word with large groups of kids on several occasions for bouncing a leather football off both the caravan and car. Eventually someone else must have complained as a young member of staff wandered over who addressed the kids by name (obviously regulars) and apologetically asked them to move to the beach as people making compaints 'were doing his head in!'

So in conclusion, the site is superb, the complete lack of staff ensuring that a small few didn't ruin everyone elses break was dire.

Would I go back ? Maybe.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ranger69 2 reviews from this member

Firstly the bridge is not for the faint hearted you realy need to take care on it. The touring pitches are level and quiet big to be fair.

The drainage on them needs to looked at as when it rains they get very boggy and wet, there's lots for the kids to do nice heated swimming pool and new kiddie park.

There's a cafe on site and shop. But steer clear of the fish and chip shop. The chips have got so many black marks in a bag its unbelievable.

The shower block is clean and tidy. But the water is way to hot you can not stand under them and believe me I like a hot shower. I think they have them this hot so you don't have a long shower its not possible too.

The staff are helpful if a little slow. There were a lot of youths who run round the site late at night and seem to be allowed to by management and use a lot of colourful language. Don't think we will come back

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Wombilly 1 review from this member

Pro's. Great Park, close to beach, clean and tidy, friendly staff and neighbours, not too close and not too far from town centre, within easy drive to a lot of activities. Great Family Park. Amusement arcade, Clubhouse, swimming pool, launderette, indoor cafe, snack bar, children's play area, on site shop,

Cons. The club is by far too small, most of the entertainments begin around 8ish, get there for 7 or you will have to stand. What annoyed me, was mom, dad, were saving 6 seats for there kids, who were in the amusement arcade next door, staff weren't bothered. This was by far in excess, and what annoyed me more, was when the kids returned, they sat on the dance floor.

The price of drinks is expensive, beers are 3. 50 a pint, and kids pops are around 1. 50 to 2. 00 a bottle, so a round will be at least 10, we spent almost 80 in one night in the club.

The entertainment isn't that great, but far from poor. The indoor cafe, is clean, and the staff polite, but be prepared to wait, to be served and the arrival of your food.

The pool staff, the red shirt just isnt interested, but the yellow life guard is second to none, a yound lad fell in the deep end, and the guard just flew in and saved him within seconds, if he hadn't of gone to get changed afterwards I would of shaked his hand and told him so.

The arcade staff talk to you like your stupid, but then I put that down to the assumption that the park employs a lot of disabled and/or backward people, ( I'm not being nasty )

Drivers speed, the speed limit within the park is 10mph but not many driver's followed this, and nobody was saying anything to them,


So to summarise, its a great park, but others attitudes will get you down if you let it.

As for the bridge, its not a problem, just take your time in first gear, and allow a lot of room between cars,

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alansj 2 reviews from this member

Ok, This was my 2nd time out in my tourer so I don't have much experience of towing. We booked the site and then I read the reviews, Which filled my with horror and I was on the verge of cancelling. THE BRIDGE ISNT THAT BAD so don't let that put you off I went over it with ease in a Mondeo pulling a 5 berth caravan. There are traffic lights on either side so you wont meet anyone coming the opposite way. My advice is to stick in 1st gear and go over the top of it at a steady but slow pace. I would try to avoid being behind someone else going over at the same time or at least give them some distance. Like I said its only my 2nd time towing and it wasn't an issue.

So then the site.

Good points, very close to the beach, great swimming pool friendly staff, Great kids entertainment, nice bar. Good chipshop, good cafe.

Small arcade.

The toilets were always clean.

Free showers

The beach is great the pool is fab for kids and is included in the price.

The not so good.

Its a small field that gets very wet in the rain,and has a lot of pot holes in the field. There is electric and water on the field but you have to empty your waste water at the same point you get your fresh water from. There are no pot washing facilities. The Elsan points are in the Toilets. There was 2 locks missing off the gents toilet doors. The children's play area is right next to a car park and isn't separated from the road by a fence. There isn't a footpath leading from the field to the toilets/showers so you couldn't really let young children go on their own as the area around them is very busy with cars.

A few other points.

The shop was ok it took debit cards but you have to spend over 10. To my surprise this was the only place offering debit card transactions and didn't offer cash-back. The bar didn't take cards and at 11 for a bottle of wine you would have thought they would especially in this day and age. You could use the cash machine in the arcade but it charges you 1.85 to withdraw.

We paid 125.00 for 5 days which was quite cheap. However the kids enjoyed themselves and that's all the matters. Tourers are an afterthought at Sunnysands and it really does show. If they spent some money it could be so good.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oweneta 7 reviews from this member

Firstly I must point out the bridge that you must use to access this site , it is horrendous. Believe me , as I was coming out of there it was that steep that my car struggled to get over it. Take note of this please it's very dangerous in my opinion you have been warned !

The site was ok but the touring field is very poor, it was raining when we arrived and the ground was sodden, ruts and holes full of water. They could so much more with it pitches are pretty level and you do get a lot of space.

Toilets and showers were very clean, but no washing up facilities

Swimming pool and clubhouse I couldn't fault , great cafe and chip shop on site and a well stocked shop, beach nearby also great.

This site could be really good if they sorted the bridge and the field out.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019