Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newpark Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Newpark Holiday Park > Reviews

Newpark Holiday Park
Port Eynon
Gower
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1NP
Tel: 01792 390292
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 46 Reviews
                6/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bohemia 8 reviews from this member

 We drove in via Fairy Hill, we drove in via the B4295 and Pen-Clawydd, pretty narrow bendy roads. Turn left before the King Arthur pub at Reynoldston or the road gets even narrower.

Coming back we used the A4118 a really busy, narrow road. No room for a car and caravan and cars in the other direction at Park Mill.

The site entrance is easy to find and you drive down to reception, they were lovely and friendly giving us the choice of two pitches. Then you have to turn around and go back up, OK as long as you can do basic car/van reverse work.

All pitches are large, unmarked and on a slope. You will need big chocks for the front steadies.

It's a bit crowded but not overly squashed.

Lovely views.

Toilets - clean but could do with a facelift (much like me!)

No hot water at the sinks and the shower water wasn't very warm either so hubby said.

TV - we take an aerial and had no problems.

Phone signal - OK signal on EE.

No dog walk but the site is large. Dog poo bags in the general rubbish by the second block of loos and laundry.

Easy walk to Port Eynon front. Two chippies, two pubs.

Good walking along the coastal path which is rough and steep in places.

There is a local store about 1. 5 miles from the site inland. Basic stuff, quite pricy though. There is also a farmers market there on Sundays. Meat, veg, cakes, crafts, cider etc. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lowesn 2 reviews from this member

 Clean, quiet, well kept site with amazing views across the bay.

Owners are friendly and helpful.

I feel well rested and relaxed after a week here.

Will definitely be coming again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjonesi 1 review from this member

 Fab little site that I have bypassed many times but no more. Owners are more than helpful and are very informative in everything to do with the area. Clean and tidy site with brilliant sea views if you get the right pitches. Showers and toilets were nice and clean with free hot water. Nice little park for the kids and you can walk the dog anywhere as long as you pick up after them. A basic shop with all you need as essentials and a post box too. The village of Port Eynon and the beach are just a short 5 minute walk down the hill from the park but the walk back is quite steep in places but ok. Two pubs with good food as well as a chippy and ice cream shop finish things off nicely.

All in all I was quite impressed with the site and will visit again soon.

John Jones SA18 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sbwc 1 review from this member

 This site is all about the views, they are really breathtaking. Well maintained campsite although would agree that the shower blocks could do with upgrading to include loo roll and free showers!Easy (steep) access through site to Port Eynon village and beach, bit of a pull walking back though! Lots of lovely walks from Port Eynon, we walked across to Rhosilli along the coastal path and the other way to Oxwich Bay which was lovely walking through the forest (again very steep in parts because you are basically climbing the cliff). Kids were very happy using the enclosed playground. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VLAHAKISA 2 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite sites that I will definitely revisit.

This site is large with plenty of space, we stopped in a non electric tent pitch spot and managed to park ourselves on a patch right literally in front of the beach with basically just a fence dividing us from the beach.

At this time of the year there were other beach front spaces available with an amazing sea view, obviously in peak season you might not find that so easy.

The rest of the site is gently sloping and I suspect still with sea views in some spots.

The toilet facilities were clean and simple, nothing fancy but acceptable standard.

The position of the site is second to none, you are literally a 5 minute walk away from the beach front and there is a gorgeous (and safe / easy) coastal path walk starting from the beach and heading towards Oxwich. Beautiful sand dunes surround the beach and the coastal path walk is stunning.

Indeed there is a coastal walk in the other direction that I didn't get time to try out, but leads directly from the camping field itself.

The Ship Inn near by served us the best restaurant fish and chips meal I've ever had. There is also a cafe near by the sand dunes that serves lovely affordable food and pleasant outdoor seating area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Suziestar 2 reviews from this member

 Well after a 3hr journey on a bank holiday friday we were greeted by the friendly owners who gave us the low down on the campsite. We were given tokens for the showers which were free and one toilet roll which did seem a bit odd that they don't keep toilet paper in the loos this is a little annoying having to remember to take it with you.

The toilet/shower block at the top field near the entrance looks as though its been spruced up and was clean and tidy no broken tiles as previously mentioned in reviews. There are 3 showers (ladies) and 8 toilets, one of which was out of order and another with no toilet seat. The showers were hot and lasted long enough to have a decent shower enabling you to wash and condition hair. There was a hair dryer that said 20p although I didn't use this. The shower cubicles are just about ok but could do with a little shelf so put shower gel ect instead of having to use the floor and the area to dry is a little compact especially if you were trying to shower and dry kids.

The kids play area looked good and kids seemed happy playing there.

The views are to die for and its only a short walk down to the sea front. The climb back up is a little steep in places but manageable as long as your mobile, you have to walk through the chalets to get to the seafront.

We found that there wasn't any washup facilities in the electric hook up area we stayed but we have that on board so didn't bother us too much, there was a small hut in the tent field but this was too far away for us.

The shop doesn't stock that much just a few basics like tea, bread milk, papers ect but did notice that they sold wine.

The fields are well kept, there is another toilet block near the chalets I only used this on the way back from the beach but didn't have the toilet roll on me but was lucky that I carry tissues a bit silly that the loos have no rolls in them, this block was very shabby and not as nice as the top block, it had 2 showers in it and about 5 toilets, the sinks were too close to the door and if using them would have to step aside to let someone in (not very practical if you were cleaning teeth)

The surrounding area is beautiful with some really nice walks, the beach is sandy and stretches for about 3 miles, there are RNLI lifeguards on it and doggies can go on the small beach to the right hand side during summer season but not on the beach to the left. There are a few little bays if you venture around the headland and the views from the top of the hill are amazing, we found Port Eynon to be a windy place.

There are for some strange reason 2 fish n chip shops on the front that both do tea/coffee cakes, icecreams. Also a little beach shop that sold buckets n spades ect.

One restaurant the smugglers (didn't eat here so can't comment) One pub The Ship this was very busy but we managed to get a table and the food and service was excellent, a little pricey but well worth it 3. 70 for a pint of San Miguel. The bread and butter pudding is highly recommended. In the restaurant don't forget to look for the penny mat at the bar, approx 12, 000 pennies make this unusual feature.

We had electric hookup pitch which cost 24 per night even though it was a bank holiday they didn't hike the prices up, I think it is a fair price considering the facilities.

Would say it not the best campsite we've stayed on but certainly not the worst. If the toilet blocks were given a complete overhaul and washup facilities installed this would be a lovely site as the views alone are worth the stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Browny2004 1 review from this member

 Visited new park for a couple of nights in august 2014 in our tourer. The park is nice and quiet and has lovely views over horton and port eynon. There is a shop on site which is open until 5pm. The only down side to the site are the toilet blocks. There are tiles and toilet seats missing in both blocks amongst other things. Both blocks could do with a few quid spent on them to get rid of razor sharp broken tiles etc. No hot water apart from the showers which you have to pay for. There is a children play area for the under 12's and it is a short walk down into port eynon. Would return but wouldn't be first choice for the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schmitt 1 review from this member

 The site itself is well placed good veiws of the dunes beach and sea. The pitches are terrced which is a nice change from flat fields, but has its own drawback nowhere large enough to play ball games with the kidsbut you do have 3 miles beach. The kids play ground is quite good my grandson loved it, Now for the downside toilets in 2 blocks only have

5 stalls for the showers and 6 for the toilets I'm talking about the mens you have to carry loo paper with you which is provided when you arrive you need tokens for the showers which last about 6 minutes if you have water, on the days I was there the water went off twice at about 10am for an hour or so no washing up no showers basin or toilet. The wash up was a sort of hut it was gruby as was the showers and loos. At 160. 00 for 4 nights I expected better I wont be going there again 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy vanner 2 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here several times. On the plus side-the views are spectacular and second to none. Very convenient for the beach. Port Eynon beach front has a few chip shops, quite reasonable but I feel there are no other plus sides to the site I'm afraid!

The downsides - both toilet blocks need a total revamp if not knocking down and starting again. At least one toilet door did not work. The showers are worked by a token system which I feel should be included in the price of the pitch. The toilets and showers were very smelly and unclean in fact I'm sure the moths and spiders on the window in the toilet block had been there since our visit last year! The electricity boxes are unsafe, if not should be condemned as they are a health hazard and could cause damage if not fatality to somebody. The noise levels on one night was unacceptable-it his needs to be marshalled regularly especially on bank holiday weekends. The water in the toilet blocks, showers and washing up station was intermittent with several people caught in the showers with no water.

All in all this COULD be an absolutely cracking site if some TLC and money was spent on it! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dcraddock 1 review from this member

 The views from this site are awesome, and it's literally only a short 5 minute walk downhill to the fantastic beach. Site staff were friendly.

OK, that's all the good points. This site is seriously let down by the shocking state of the toilet and shower facilities. Although I did see a young lad working very hard to clean them, he was fighting a losing battle from the start. I am amazed that some other reviewers have said that these facilities are not bad - well they must have poor bathrooms at home!

I think it's very poor that you have to buy shower tokens at 20p each, even though the site staff say that the money goes to local charities. So what are we paying site fees for then, if you still have to pay for showers? I'm not against giving to charities, but this should be voluntary not compulsory.

Also, they give you a single bog-standard loo roll (pun intended!) so when you go to the loos carrying it you might as well be announcing to other campers that you're going to have a poo!

This is a brilliant location and we enjoyed hot sun and had a great time, but we will not return to this site until they demolish and rebuild their toilets. Right next door is another campsite which looks like it has first-rate toilets, we'll be going to that one next time! 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newpark Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newpark Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Newpark Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3953 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement