Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thornleigh Park Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Thornleigh Park Farm
Ferry Lane
Higher Ferry
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH1 6QF
Tel: 01244 371718
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZIZAG 25 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a cycle tour of North Wales.

This is a Rural farm campsite.

Not far from Chester and close to the Deeside cycle path.

The owners are very friendly and helpful

The Campsite mainly motorhomes and caravans in a large field.

And the campsite for tents is at the far end in a small field next to horse corral area.

So can be a bit noisy also I was the only tent, If any large tents were there you would be very close neighbours.

But It's ok for a backpacker/cyclists stopover. £6 a night.

Found only one watertap outside toilets, and only one sink.

Showers need token 40p on timer, and toilets ok very clean +pot wash area

Also leaflets on view for places to visit.

Relaxed Farming atmosphere lots of animals as expected.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dynadot 5 reviews from this member

Hi. To all those people going to visit Chester! Try the open bus tour and the boat ride worth every penny? so get your duel ticket from the bus driver! it's cheaper than the riverside. You must stay at thornleigh park farm, it's an outstanding little site. Very very clean with plenty of hot water in the shower block and the people are friendly. The dogs on the farm are friendly also? but they can get into you awning if you don't take care, so don't leave rubbish outside. Great Great site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Big Frank 26 reviews from this member

We love visiting Chester. This site appealed partly because of its location within walking distance of a park and ride and the good reviews. We were not disappointed.

The welcome was warm but not overpowering, we used a grass pitch which was fine despite all the recent rain nice and level with the grass short. We were also welcomed by the farm great dane! Yes the facilities are basic but permanently spotless, the showers were hot, perhaps a little heating wouldn't have gone amiss on a cold April morning. I am being picky at £14 it's tremendous value and we will go again

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abi620 2 reviews from this member

This site is great as a base for visiting Chester. With it's Roman history, the Cathedral, the Chester Rows, The River Dee, Chester Zoo and the outlet shopping centre all in easy driving distance. Chester City Park and Ride is also just a mile from the site.

The site itself is on a horse stables, with 3 hardstandings and 5 grass pitches all with hook-up.

The facilities were clean and tidy but dated.

There was also a washing up area and information desk with club magazines and books to borrow.

For £14 a night it's a nice place to use as a base but there are only basic facilities on site and no space for children to play. But we did enjoy watching the horses being brought in and exercised.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pandajan 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 3 nights at this site, fabulous really enjoyed it. Facilities are very good for what you pay, very impressed. Location is great especially if you rely on your bike to get around, close to Chester, taxi fare also very reasonable. Such a refreshing change to have a lovely laid back site owner, no sets of rules posted up, grass not cut around your unit early in the morning and the toilets are not closed for cleaning for a couple of hours and at a time when it is most inconvenient for customers, a relaxed cleaning programme is brilliant. The toilet and shower facilities are very, very clean. We can't wait to return, very quiet, very relaxing.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wandrinminstrel 7 reviews from this member

Location, Location, Location!

Stayed here for 6 days and loved it. Perfectly located for an easy walk (all on the flat) to the Park & Ride which takes you straight into Chester City Centre. £2. 00 return. There is also a walk for those who are fitter, and again, this is all on the flat. People also used their cycles. We arrived on a day it had poured down, but the ground was very firm and the drainage was great. Easy to site the van and set up. Purchased tokens for the shower from the owners, who were very helpful and provided a hand drawn map of the local area. This is a very small site so don't expect too much. My only gripe was that the shower/toilet block looked a bit 'tired' and could do with an upgrade but that said, it was perfectly adequate for our needs. We had a great stay at this site and would recommend it and hope to stay again some time in the future.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmol 9 reviews from this member

Small Caravan Club CL. Working farm with stables£13. 50 per night. Toilets/Shower token 40p. Re-cycling bins. 3mile walk/cycle to Chester along riverside path. Park and ride 20min walk from farm. Retail park 5min drive. Nice site away from city centre but close enough to go and visit during your stay. Great value any time of the year to visit Chester, Wirral or North Wales.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site, staying for 6 days over the Christmas period. The site is a Caravan Club CL on an acre paddock next to the owners farm. The farm has stables and horses are always in the adjoining fields. Owners are very friendly and helpful. There is also a small separate area for 3 or 4 camping pitches. Pitches with EHU are all grass but the ground drains very well so even with all the rain we have had recently there were no issues.

On site there are the usual water tap and waste disposal points but there is an added advantage of having toilets and showers. Tokens are needed for the showers - 40p each bought from the owners. They also have recycling bins.

One of the owners dogs will always be out wandering around but didn't cause any bother to our dogs at all.

The site is located at the end of a long track just under 3 miles from Chester City Centre. There is a lovely walk into the city along the cycle path next to the River Dee. Other walks are straight from the site.

There is a retail park about 20 minutes walk from the site with all the normal shops.

This is certainly a site that we would revisit in the future. At £13. 50 a night for a unit with 4 people it is well worth visiting.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 18 reviews from this member

We found this site very easily and took it slow up the long untarmaced drive; a few pot holes but no more than a general highway!

We were met by the very friendly owner who told us all we needed to know. And said to pay at the house when we'd settled in. The toilets are not heated, they are kept very clean and for the cost of £13. 50 per night and 40pence tokens for the showers;I would not expect them heated! For rainy days plently of reading matter and leaflets available;in the ladies. The site is a grassed area and as it had been raining for a few days the ground was very wet. When we left we got off onto the hard track ok; but at times it may be difficult; I'm sure there'd be help available from the farm.

This site is ideal for walking into Chester. For people who require transport it's a short walk to the main road where buses are frequent. For walkers there's three routes to Chester. Via the river cycle path, the main road pavement all the way and a little farther out, north, an old railway track.

There is really nothing for children to do and whilst we stayed none were evident; which lead to a very quiet stay.

Finally one word and it's 'Gem'; this is a gem of a site.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Themogs 19 reviews from this member

Used this site for 2 nights, so we could revisit Chester.

Cheap site @ £13. 50 per night, but the facilities reflect the price (you pays your money. Etc)

Lovely peaceful site, with a bus stop approx. 3/4 mile down the road. No nearby pubs, restaurants.

We seen very little of the owners, but we got the impression that the campsite was just a small part of their livelihood.

We would use again, as it was clean & peaceful.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019