Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Goosewood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Goosewood Holiday Park Reviews

Goosewood Holiday Park
Sutton On The Forest
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 1ET
Tel: 01347 810829
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 02/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 02/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sophierobinson81 1 review from this member

 The touring pitches had seen better days. we were on a hard standing pitch but because of the amount of rain during the week before we arrived the pitch was a bit muddy, so was having to constantly wipe the dogs paws every time she went into our caravan.

Apart from that the site was fantastic had a brilliant park for the kids the bar was open so could sit outside with a drink and watch the kids play.

Toilet and showers were sparkling clean with sanitiser stations dotted all round with a fishing lake too.

The staff were all so helpful and the site was only 6 miles from York.

Would definitely recommend- we are booking up to go again but for longer this time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LINDOPS 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site many times. Although it would appear they are trying to make all pitches seasonal we always have a great time. A swimming pool (which there is a small charge for), - playground, bar serving good food (gluten free too) & a games room. The site is well kept even though there are a lot of ducks in the lake. Itís a lovely quiet location. Fishing is popular here & our children enjoy doing this, often other fishermen offer advice to them which they like. All in all a great site to visit. If you are wanting bus &, loud his site isnít for you. Itís a hidden gem if you ask us! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slander1 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four day visit to this site which is located on the northernly outskirts of York, thus a car trip for everything off site.

This is a site that really doesn't want tourers its desperate to be an all exclusive static or seasonal site.

The electricity isn't included in the price and likewise the swimming pool.

There is a fishing lake which has good fishing but £4 per day again seems a little excessive.

This site is lacking the fundamentals for children who want to play football, cricket, rounders etc. There is no playing field whatsoever which is a shame as the overflow area has been transformed into a static caravan area which is sparse of caravans thus plenty of unused space.

The clubhouse / restaurant is like something from Faulty Towers. We waited over 90 minutes for a food order for four adults and two children. Complaining falls on deaf ears so don't bother. This is not a flat site so you will need your levellers. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donna3 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Goosewood, on arrival the staff were very friendly, you have to leave a £10 deposit for a barrier card and electricity is metered (we spent £7 in total), it was very quiet and we had a choice of pitches, 2 chaps helped us to position the van and explained where all the facilities were. The shower block was very clean. Good playground for the little ones, swimming pool was lovely apart from being a bit cold, my 2yr old only lasted about 15 mins before her lips turned blue! There is an extra charge for swimming, if cost us £5. 50 for 2 adults and a child. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as it was closed on the night we wanted to eat there but it looked nice and was reasonably priced. The site itself was lovely, there are a lot of resident ducks and geese which my little girl thought was great! The site is quite isolated and its at least a 10 minute drive to the nearest shop and pub, there is a shop on site which seemed quite well stocked. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheTurn 4 reviews from this member

 We decided to try Goosewood this August, we had visited the 'sister' site (Flower of May Lebberston) several times.

First impressions were of an ideally located site, away from main road traffic noise, surrounded by rural land.

On arrival the deposit for gate card was handed over, along with a few quid for electric cards.

A chap helped us park up on our pitch, insisting on hand balling the van into place, which while being bothered by more than a few wasps at the time seemed a little daft considering the money we'd spent on the mover. When he'd left, I corrected the position slightly so I could erect the awning and peg it. He was a little positive in his attitude, and since I was recovering from open heart surgery at the time, couldn't be bothered with a 'discussion' over the position.

I wanted to try Goosewood personally because of the fishing pond. I have to say, after the fees we had paid, the £4/day to fish seemed excessive to say the least, especially with the number of children fishing the pond (who hadn't paid - checked) who were unsupervised, catching fish, placing them in a plastic tub, then tipping them into a puddle by the lakeside, then kicking and flicking them back into the pond. I will stress this particular group were from two families holidaying together, but with the language being shouted among the adult group while they hot-tubbed together, I decided to leave it well alone. I did of course report this behaviour at the site office.

Non of the other adults I questioned around the pond were aware they were meant to pay to fish either.

I was surprised also to learn that the site office staff wanted £5 extra to exchange my lightweight propane cylinders. I asked why, and was told it was 'because they cost £5 more' When I stated yes, you have told me that, but why is the same 6kg of gas £5 more than a standard cylinder? I was met with blank stares (never paid more anywhere else, still don't)

My father had used this site in the past, and 'news to him' was the addition of the swimming pool, which while being fine for the kids, did a great job of making the bar rather unpleasant with humidity and a chlorine smell. Poor design and planning on layout there.

That said, the total lack of evening entertainment (other than wall mounted TV) and bar prices also kept us away.

The children's play area was a blessing for both our kids (10 & 2) that said, it need at least twice the equipment it had to handle the number of children using it. The site was not at capacity at the time.

The large extractor blasting humid pool fumes into the seating area did nothing to improve the situation, and was a lot of white noise, I imagine for anyone pitched near the park / pool, it could be an issue. This area also became muddy and waterlogged, after rain.

The toilet block was quite nice, the showers clean and adjacent to both male and female block are two 'family' shower rooms and toilets

Non of the toilet seats (gents anyway, and including those in the family rooms) were securely or properly fastened over the pots. One of the family rooms also had a broken drain cover (mid floor) which was quite dangerous for a small child (or anyone really) Did report it.

ONE hand drier per toilet block. Need I say more?.

The site had many ducks, which were charming and always turned up to be fed. Duck poop not withstanding, we loved this. If Canada Geese get a foothold, the poop will be more of a problem.

Disposal facilities were fine as were dish washing facilities.

'Green' chemical additives are absolutely insisted upon here.

All in all a lovely site, let down in my opinion by pricing : charging full service prices for essentially non-service pitches.

Oh - remember to bring your long hook up lead - needed my 30 meter lead here. BBQ's allowed ; try not to kill the grass.

Ideally situated for day trips into York and surrounding attractions, even a trip to Ebor World for more stuff we didn't need (as you do).

Will not return unless options become somehow really limited. There are many better sites, for the same money out there, who somehow manage to go the extra yard. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the early May bank holiday and the site was full. When we arrived we were shown to our pitch which was very near the entrance and the park, although we had our 10 year old son with us, I wasn't overly pleased at the location of the pitch. Having said that it didn't prove to be an issue whatsoever. Everything was quiet at night and it was nice to watch all the kids getting on and having fun. The toilets and showers were fine, very spacious and clean despite the park being full. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which was very pleasant and although we didn't eat in there the food did look amazing. I would disagree about it being full of kids and being reminiscent of a youth club. You have to walk through the games room/arcade and entrance to the pool before going through to bar so undoubtedly you are going to come across kids at this point. I didn't find the bar full of unattended kids whatsoever.

I have to say it took us a couple of days to suss out the electric, having paid £10 in just over a day we realised that we could just turn the van onto battery and once we did that, we used less than £3. 00 in 2 days!

There are some beautiful villages within walking/cycling distance and york itself isn't too far either.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and my son loved it. We will look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Walshford101 4 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a 2 night stay and we had a lovely time. The entrance was lovely and was instantly welcoming. When we arrived we were given a very friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch by a very helpful member of staff who showed us how to use the electric card. This I found to be reasonable, we only used £2. 80 worth of electric in 2. 5 days so very pleased with this. We were a short distance from the lake which was a perfect setting, the only noise we found were the ducks quacking as they waddled by. The pitch sizes were a very good size and held our twin wheeler no problem. The electric hook up and water were only a short distance away from us so again ideal as a site. We ate twice in the bar and were pleased, it was good value for money and fresh food. We had to wait quite a bit for our order to come but it was a busy Friday night so we didn't mind. The staff were again very friendly and made us feel welcome, saying hello as soon as we walked in. The pool was very clean and even though a little cold you got used to it the longer you were in. The depth was ideal too my 4 year old could just stand in it so was safe. And the changing rooms were clean and the showers were hot. We didn't use the toilets or shower block but they looked very clean. The playground was also great even the larger of the 2 was used by my 6 and 4 year old, even if we did have to keep a very close eye on them as it was very high. Overall a good sight, close to York and ideal if you want a peaceful break away 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pagey290 10 reviews from this member

 My and my family have just revisited goosewood for the first time since the new changes to the site. It is clean and tidy with a great play park for kids the new toilets are spotless, the pond is well stocked and easy to fish, my option the new bistro/bar is its a bit like a youth club while I was in there the teenagers on site use to meet up there, There was a young barman working who swapped between playing pool and chatting to the teenage group the kids were sat with feet on the tables making lots of noise and messing around

Also when I revisit I would get a pitch away from the new toilet block as the door Slams and echoes and will annoy you till late at night then starts again at 6. 30 in the morning and wakes you up and I'm not a light sleeper, I did ask if the closer could be adjusted to stop this but the guy at reception just laughed. After been woke up 3 morning on the trot I wanted to leave

2 small problems which I'm sure will be resolved

Great location for visiting York 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bocman 3 reviews from this member

 Nice clean toilet block with family room. Indoor pool now available at £1.50. Bar open with a range of meals available. Clean site with lake and many geese which made walking on the grass between geese droppings difficult or impossible near the lake, but that's what you get when there are geese and ducks around. Would go back again, electric on prepaid meter and paid by electric card available at £1 and £5 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rorkie13 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site with a nice fishing lake with fountain in middle. The site has log cabins around the lake.

The toilets are nice and clean with lovely powerful showers.

Childrens play area looked very good.

They are in the process of building a swimming pool and bistro and when these are finished it will complete this lovely site. There is a pub in the village but it isn't really in walking distance so the bistro/bar will be a welcome addition. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Goosewood Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Goosewood Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Goosewood Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Goosewood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder