Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Three Lochs Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Three Lochs Holiday Park Reviews

Three Lochs Holiday Park
Balminnoch
Kirkcowan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 0EP
Tel: 01671 830304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 167
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppiepiechucker 3 reviews from this member

An excellent site. It has its own bar and restaurant with good food and drink at very reasonable prices. The showers and washrooms/loos (ladies at least) are extremely clean and I was only ever the only one using them! The swimming pool is available for you to book for your own use only which was fantastic. There is fishing in the lochs, cycling (flattish routes too) right on the door step, and Newton Stewart or Wigtown is just a short drive away. Half an hours drive is Portpatrick which is always worth a visit for the food as well as the views. This site is improving all the time (we have had 4 visits so far) and the addition of their own bar/restaurant is excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillilotsatents 2 reviews from this member

3 Lochs is set amongst the bonnie braes of Balminnoch, seven miles from Glenluce village, nearest beach is Stairhaven just a mile or two from Glenluce at Luce Bay, twelve from Newton Stewart, (great shops, 2 supermarkets and friendly locals and twenty or so miles from Stranraer, lots of shops/supermarkets, ferry, trains, and is one of the most scenic sites I have ever been on. Find a beautiful place and get lost? Yes I sure did, and what a lovely view of Loch Heron I had and what a delight to be so near to all the ponies and horses. The staff are a great team, friendly and helpful and there are basic supplies available in the shop at reception. At the weekends there is always entertainment up in the friendly pub and a chance to dance and a great time is to be had with the static owners and visitors alike. It is wonderful to meet folk from all over the UK and also the hard working, friendly contractors from Europe (the Polish and Scottish are the best dancers!)

There is a nice clean restaurant with really good food too. There are lots of outdoor pastimes to do with shooting, archery, fishing, pony trekking, cycling, and a small heated swimming pool as well as a nice play park for the wee ones and a cute wooden barbecue hut for the big folk. I call this park 'Middle Age Paradise' and I hope to return soon. I heard the owners have big plans for this place, perhaps luxury lodges with hot tubs down by the Lochs???

As for the dreaded Scottish midge, if you burn incense sticks they will stay away and if you put any kind of oil (margarine even works in an emergency i. E. After rain when they swarm )on your skin they will stick to it and be unable to bite. Fly mesh sprinkled with Eucalyptus oil on the caravan door also helped and fly paper in the awning, and of course there are no midges in the pub! If you really can't hack them, then ask staff when they are the worst, and choose to go either early or later, but when the breeze blows they are not a problem. I heard Christmas and New Year are fantastic on the site, and vans and lodges get fully booked months ahead. I really really Loved it here and cherish the wonderful summer I had which was a real bonus after having serious health problems. Happy days and happy memories. Thank you 3 Lochs, love you all, Spooky

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey1412 1 review from this member

Great location if you're looking for something out of the way, peaceful and long walks with gorgeous scenery.

It's also not that far from Stranraer and Portpatrick to go away for the day or visit the shops. The shop on site has very limited supplies but this doesn't bother us as we arrive after doing our holiday shop. Great for kids as you can hire bikes for them or they can play football in the park or play on all the facilities in the park.

Also on site is a small swimming pool which can be hired out for 45 minutes at a time which is great if you're looking for a peaceful swim or just want it to be you and the family. It's also free to hire out too.

For additional cost, you can book pony trecking, archery, fishing or shooting. These are all reasonably priced and the people who run them are lovely and take great care and attention in explaining what you will be doing and how to do it.

This place wont be your cup of tea if you're looking for a park that has full on entertainment every night as the small pub and restaurant is just that. They do have occasional singers or karaoke and the odd party for halloween or christmas etc. The food in the place is gorgeous too, generous portions and reasonably priced.

We've stayed here twice, in different vans and were happy on both occasions. The vans are clean, have ample appliances ie microwave, cooking utensils, dishes etc although I take my own slow cooker.

We are due to go back again and have booked the same caravan as before as it has a hot tub and large decking for sitting outside on lovely sunny days or clear starry nights.

I have grown up going to my parents caravan for years so love caravan holidays but stumbled upon this site by accident and can honestly say I love this place more. Quiet, peaceful and away from it all.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canyaker 5 reviews from this member

A nice sized site. Facilities and activities for children. Small shop but with limited opening times. Handy for fishing in the lochs and with canoeing / boating in one of the lochs where there are some nice landing spots.

Good for dog walking. One thing that shocked me was getting zapped by an electric fence while trying to pet a horse. There were little warning signs but not so obvious in the gloom and the one where I was had fallen off. But a lot of younger kids can't read or notice signs day or night. It does seem strange, even irresponsible that a live electric fence be sited where it was. The other thing to beware of is the MIDGES, but that is common to the whole Galloway area. Apart from the bites, dead bodies carpeted the caravan and tables in the awning and all round the window seals.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melvi 5 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. It has a very relaxing atmosphere about it but also has lots to do. We stayed a long weekend and in that short time we managed rifle shooting, clay pidgeon, archery, fishing and pony trekking. You might think this would be pricey but in fact the best value for money I have come across as Paul the instructor couldn't do enough to make it a great experience. Great views over one of the lochs. Good playpark for the kids. Nice pool and never too busy as you book a time in for your family. Very friendly staff. Takeaway food was good and reasonably priced. Will be back next year for a week long stay.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David831888 1 review from this member

Three lochs holiday park was average and overpriced. Camping fee of £9 per night was a bit much and the facilities were pretty dated and inadequate (only two showers in male toilet for entire campsite and dirty sinks).

Although the staff were friendly and the assault course, indoor pool, games room and cafe were awesome the main problem was the midge infestation. These midges aren't repelled by anything and will eat you alive, they are simply unbearable so forget the fishing at the lakes in the summer.

I was intending stay for two nights but left after one and have vowed never to camp in or near the Galloway forest during summertime. Horrible experience (due to the midges).

To sum it up in one word. Boufin'

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Curries 1 review from this member

First visit and will return.

Excellent friendly staff, laid back but, still attentive and cheerful.

We arrived a bit late into the afternoon, and received a warm friendly greeting.

Loads of information available on the site, fishing, swimming, horse trekking as well as great walking and cycling on roads that are quiet, and all this in beautiful surrounding countryside.

We had planned to Clay Pigeon Shoot, we were disappointed that the clay launcher was out of order, but, we were however offered the alternative Air Rifle shoot but, not for us.

The three lochs are close and lovely to walk around, popular with fisherman, my husband and son had more than a few happy hours participating, while me and the dog wandered the countryside.

Excellent road standard all around the area if your a cyclist, we enjoyed covering many miles.

A great site suited us perfectly!

Negatives - the toilets and showers need up grading, but there are future plans to build a new touring site hooray! It's a place that deserves it.

Midges! and they wear tackity boots ! But they won't stop me returning.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zeb74 9 reviews from this member

Myself and my 2 eldest sons (13 and 10) are just back from 3 nights at the 3 Lochs and we really enjoyed ourselves.

The site is in an beautiful location and only 7 miles from Newton Stewart.

We found the staff immediately friendly and welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay.

We went to the 3 lochs primarily for a spot of fishing. The first, Loch Heron is literally just across the road from the site and a little further up the bumpy lane is Loch Ronald which is the biggest of the 3. We fished both Ronald and Heron and we had a selection of small Perch, Jack Pike and Skimmer Bream.

A lovely location to fish and we will definitely be back for more.

We also made use of the on site cafe which was great for the first night when I couldn't be bothered to cook in the caravan, the food was superb.

We all made use of the indoor swimming pool which was lovely and warm!

The site toilets were always clean although only one shower unit was available at the time. The shower itself was the hottest I've ever known on the coolest setting be warned!

The shop on site seemed well stocked with the essentials and the fishing tackle shop was excellent for any bits you've forgot or for replacements.

There is a great outdoor play area for the kids and we also had a go at the 'pitch and putt' some of the holes were quite long so be prepared for a good walk!

There is also a small games room for those not so sunny days that we get a lot of in Scotland.

My one word of advice is make sure you take midge repelant! the area is well known for the abundance of midgies! and even with repellent I have brought home a few bites, this is by noway enough to put us off returning for a 2nd trip to the 3 lochs in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Koozi1 2 reviews from this member

What a place to visit, the staff bent over backwards to help and made it extra special.

For activities for young and old alike it is wonderful. We tried the archery, clay pigeon shooting and the pool. The pool is a godsend if the weather turns it keeps the kids happy for hours. We never got to try the many other activities on offer, but on our return visit we will make an effort to see what we missed.

The gamesroom is small but well kitted out, the cafe is good and the shop will get what you need.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rabona 1 review from this member

Just returned from a four day trip to Three Lochs and loved it, myself husband and two teenagers. The sites facilities were all you need from a campsite, in some cases have more than other campsites we've been to (which is quite varied all over Scotland) The campsite, toilet block was very clean and tidy as was the play area games room and little cafe, swimming pool although a tad small was a godsend, my two teenagers enjoyed it a lot. Never once moaned at being bored, all of the above was within walking distance away.

The Lochs where a great place to fish, sit and relax (nice sized Pike,Perch, roach and breem)Pike can go to 50+lbs. All in all this place was so good we've booked for a long stay,the staff are so friendly in fact anyone we met there was friendly. Newton Stewart's only 7 miles away if you forget to bring anything with you, although the shop has plenty of supplies if needed.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019