Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Burnham On Sea > Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays)
Marine Drive
Burnham On Sea
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA8 1LA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sitestayer 1 review from this member

 Been going to this site every year for the past 8 years.

It looks like they don’t want tourers on their site anymore.

This year the site reflected that because it was noisy, dirty, and the cleaning left a lot to be desired.

I will be looking for somewhere else and from our last holiday there, I won’t miss the place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sidecutter 14 reviews from this member

 Good site nice and level, toilet/showers clean but busy first thing in the morning,

Trees /bushes around touring site could do with a good trim.

EHU/water/wastewater on pitch.

A two minute walk out of the back gate on to the sea front and 5mins to the town centre.

A good location for exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 25 reviews from this member

 We spent 10 nights here, our first lengthy holiday in our caravan, the site is well located for Burnham being within 10 minutes of the M5 and easy walking distance of the town and beach (just outside the gate).

The site itself was kept clean and tidy although it is looking tired with some visible damage to light bollards etc. The Main complex has everything you expect of a Haven site, providing the usual children's entertainment, arcades etc, the show bar being upstairs from the arcade does make it a little difficult for younger children to come and go to the arcade when you are in the bar.

The swimming pool was ok, it got busy quick especially when the weather wasn't great. The pool had a padded floor however my wife did cut her knee on one of the filter covers.

The on site chippy did decent chips and a good amount however for over £5 for a fish I would expect something resembling a fish not a fishfinger! Breakfast in the Mash and Barrel was a bit chaotic however the evening meals in there were good.

The touring site was unusually close to the main facilities, we had booked on a grass pitch as we were originally planning on being in a tent. The grass pitches can't really be called that, they consisted of a grass perimeter with mud and wood chippings where the unit would go, pretty glad we didn't have the tent as the state of the pitch could have easily caused damage to the groundsheet.

The toilet block was clean and we never had to queue to use the showers. Jim and Ceri the wardens were welcoming and friendly.

The site is a good location for visiting Burnham-on-sea if we were to visit the area again (which I doubt we would). The site could do with some investment to freshen it up. Don't visit Burnham if you plan on going for a paddle in the sea, when the tide is out it is gone! and leaves masses of sinking sand / mud which is too dangerous to allow you to the sea (good sand for sand castles though!). 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ga-rat 1 review from this member

 A great location for our first family camping holiday.

It needed to have all the facilities to ease us into camping. Very pleased we picked this site.

It has its own little shop where you can get all your necessities from, morrisons is just a five min drive though.

The site is within easy walking of the beach and town centre. Overall a great break.

Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JEN2008 3 reviews from this member

 We paid over 30 pounds per night for our two berth caravan and looked forward to our five day break. But the entertainment was dire, drinks and food way more expensive than the Wetherespoons in town As for the site itself, we were surrounded by screaming families (not just children, the adults screamed too!) and kids booting a football around right outside our caravan, hit the window a couple of times and were an absolute nightmare. The shower block was ok but didn't stay clean long due to kids leaving taps running and not flushing toilets. There was no stool or seat anywhere in the ladies which made life difficult and the toilet roll holder is stuck on the wall next to the toilet where it bangs into your shoulder if you lean forward. Not impressed. We were told we had to leave the site by 10am in the morning. But they were letting new vans on then, justas we and others were leaving which led to paths/roads being blocked and general confusion. Couldnt they have waited till half ten before letting new vans on?

On the plus side. The town is only a couple of minutes drive or just ten minutes stroll away. The local Wetherspoons is good and I would recommend it.

So to sum up. Expensive. No peace and quiet. Bad management. A total disaster of a holiday. I would not visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: B6warden 9 reviews from this member

 Did not expect to go here but as having bad visit at other haven site moved here, what a transformation wardens at office showed us to pitch toilets showers brilliant. Site very impressive and outstanding staff, if you want a brilliant holiday touring or statics this is the place totally flat site nr beach and town 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paullong 32 reviews from this member

 Welcome – on arrival we were met by the owners who are the funniest and friendliest wardens you could hope to meet. We were shown to our pitch which was shady and all I had to do was ask and it was no bother for the owner to show us to a sunnier pitch around the corner.

Pitch – we booked a Euro pitch which had hard standing, electric and water. The hard standing for the caravan is block paving which isn’t ideal because it sinks a bit at the edges but it only took a ramp on one wheel to fix this. The hard standing for the awning is very hard indeed – it took quite a bit of effort with my metal mallet to get the rock pegs in.

Environment – the touring site is kept very well indeed with proper tarmac roads, tarmacked driveways to the pitch itself and well cut grass in excellent condition. I did notice that the grass pitches were not in as good condition and I’d be concerned about using those in the rain due to the amount of hardened mud. The whole site was also kept extremely clean and was very pleasant to walk and cycle around. It was nice to see a sign that read “Ball games are more fun on the sports field” rather than the usual “no ball games” that you find at other sites.

Facilities – the indoor swimming pool was brand new in March this year and was still immaculate. There were plenty of refundable deposit lockers and plenty of changing booths. The showers were lovely and warm and the water was too. The slide was good fun. We mainly used the outdoor pool due to the hot weather that we were able to enjoy. The pool was not exactly warm, but it wasn’t cold either and we were able to stay in for fairly long periods of time.

Other guests – the other guests that we met were friendly and considerate. One person was playing music a bit loud but they were very happy to turn it down when asked.

Staff – we have never experienced such friendliness from staff at a campsite. Everybody went out of their way to help, to be polite or just to start a conversation. All the staff were very positive in their attitude and it was a really pleasant experience to meet them all.

Food and drink – we were not impressed with the food. We had a guest and all 3 meals were very disappointing and also very expensive. Drinks were also expensive with a pint of cider costing £3. 55 and a milkshake costing £3. 50.

Toilets – these were very well kept indeed and were cleaned at sensible times of the day. Even when they were being cleaned, we were welcome to use them.

Local amenities - we were just 3 minutes cycle from pitch to sea. There is a Morrisons just a couple more minutes ride down the road. We didn't need to use our car all week. The promenade is lovely and the beach is very clean. Don't miss the 50p ice-creams just before the pier.

Conclusion – we will definitely be coming back here one day. This site surpassed our expectations and it was a welcome change from Park Resorts where I could have said the opposite on all areas of my comments. I’d recommend pitch 31 – it is a corner plot with extra grass and South West facing perspective. We were in plot 33 and also enjoyed the evening sun. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yoggie5709 3 reviews from this member

 Maybe this is a bit of an unfair review because it looks as if the site has just opened for the season, however, here's my thoughts, pitches of adequate size, hard standing for caravan and awning, however, if like us you have a porch awning, then make sure you have some thunder pegs or pegs capable of going through real hard ground, we had to go and by some from the caravan place (high ridge) not sure how long the awning hard stands can tolerate pegs being driven in and taken out though, it's bound to get weaker as time goes on, I know we left a few holes from our pegs. Also make sure you have a ground sheet, because the awning hard stands are covered in tiny gravel, within 10 minutes of arriving, our caravan carpet was covered in gravel.

The shower blocks look new, very clean and in perfect condition, however, the lack of hooks in the shower cubicles make it rather awkward, there is a wooden plate there for hooks, but as yet only cubicle has a hook on the plate, there is 1 hook on the back of the door, but that's not enough, There is building work still going on, on the site, so things are not finished, no swimming pool available as yet, looks to be loads of things in the play parks to keep the children occupied, even though there is building work on going, it didn't disturb us in anyway,

The tourers side of the site is within a 10 minute walk to the beach and about 15 minute walk to the town centre. All in all, the site isn't our cup of tea, it's perfect for young families who want things for children and a club house, we are past that now lol, we like the quiet side of life, even though the site wasn't noisy in any way, it's a bit on the busy side for us, the site is huge, mostly statics but it's massive and I would say very popular ? We were there early to mid march, and there wasn't many pitches on the tourers site left. Would we come back. >>>>>> put it this way, it wouldn't be our first choice, but we wouldn't rule it out altogether! but we are just a couple, if we had young children, then it would be a contender. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr_jprice 6 reviews from this member

 This is a really good site with lots of things to do for all the family.

We will definitely be going back

Good points:-

The playgrounds are kept clean and tidy with a lot of variety

The range of activities was good and inclusive of all ages (though booked up quickly)

The shows were fun and engaging.

There was a play barn setup during the day in case it rained

The restaurants and bars were reasonable and good quality

Toilets and facilities kept clean and tidy

The on site security did a great job of stopping a group of adults having a party at 11:30pm and were very fair and professional.

It is right on the seafront so a great location for an early morning or late evening stroll into town

They have an excellent location with luxury safari tents - I'd definitely consider them in the future as they looked great

Down sides:

Some customer service gripes - the life guards in the pool seemed more intent on flirting with each other than guarding (to such an extent that you could almost feel as though you were intruding)

I got the feeling some of the younger staff were working there for the summer because they had to rather than they wanted to.

One smoking area is in plain sight of the children's pool and it looked quite unsightly to see the smokers aggregating in an otherwise pleasant place.

The gate into the campsite from the main road was unguarded and anyone could walk in off the street. If there was a key coded door there it would feel safer. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparks03 4 reviews from this member

 Found this site a series of highs and lows, the lows being a disappointment given the price I'd paid for last year's camping break (£110 less)

The up-side to the site is its location and proximity to the sea. Couldn't believe what a short walk it was to find ourselves on the beach. Also an easy and pleasant walk into the town and well situated for heading out to other locations (Cheddar, Wells, Axbridge etc) Also the clubhouse/ facilities offer plenty to do for kids of all ages.

However despite these positives there were negatives that seriously detracted from our holiday. Upon arrival it looked like staff had left people to their own devices so that we had less than the two pitches booked. Tents and cars everywhere and upon surveying the pitches it appeared our EHU was in use by a pitch that shouldn't have been using it. Our issues were registered with site staff who shrugged and plugged us into an opposite pitch with the prompt that people arriving on it might not need EHU. Also got the impression that where we were based was once three pitches onto which they'd squeezed a fourth.

Another issue that became a bane through the week was the sheer lack of amenities. Three toilets and four showers in the men's just wasn't enough and although they were cleaned (anywhere between 0700-1100) they quite often smelled. Simply not enough for a site that was full for the whole week.

The shop on site is split 50/50 between groceries and tat. Surprisingly there is nothing for the camper- no gas, pegs, poles and so on.

Going into the club house the smelly toilets issue ran on, especially in the show bar (couldn't use them one night)

BUT, the staff were friendly, most places were clean and tidy and it was a quiet and safe place for the kids to be. My review may seem rather negative but it is mainly based on previous camping holidays. There are smaller places that charge less who can get the basics right and can boast almost as much in the way of facilities for the punter. Not a bad site, but given experience not a good one either which is disappointing given the premium charged. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Burnham Holiday Village (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Burnham On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement