Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Pentewan Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Pentewan
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6BT
Tel: 01726 843485
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 24/03/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 157 Reviews
                9/10 from 157 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs Lynne Houghton 1 review from this member

 This has to be the best site we have stayed on in all our years of caravanning and camping.

Will definitely be back again soon.

I'm disabled and the huge showers meant my husband could assist me.

We used a family shower room.

Everywhere was wheelchair friendly.

Thank you so much for an enjoyable stay x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fud family 4 reviews from this member

 We have been going to Pentewan for a good many years now. Sadly 2023 was our last year of going.

The prices are getting ridiculously expensive plus you are getting less value for money. All the evening entertainment has stopped. What was the clubhouse is now basically one huge restaurant. The entertainment is now in a separate tent like structure. The only thing the site has going for it now is the location and the beach.

The 2024 prices are very very expensive. It is such a shame the owners of the site have done this. A lot of people who entered the ballot for pitches are already cancelling for 2024.

So like many people we are voting with our feet.

There are a couple of sites further along the same road towards St Austell that offer more facilities for a lot less money.

We spent quite a lot of time in Mevagissey a lovely old fishing village with lots of character and some lovely characters. The Fountain Inn is a lovely olde world pub great atmosphere also serving lovely food. The social club in Mevagissey is also a nice place £5 a year membership, you can get the cost of your membership back in away due to the price of your drinks.

There are so many nice places with nice beaches within a few miles of Pentewan. We particularly liked Polkerris a lovely beach with a pub a restaurant and as you would expect a small shop selling beach equipment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sidrat 16 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place to stay. Its a big site, but the amount of space you get is huge.

The place is clean and tidy, the facilities are great and we used them all, including the pool, cafe's and restaurant, the chip shop was closed for refurbishment.

The shower/toilet blocks are cleaned so often you have to remember which ones are open!, they were always very clean.

Then lets talk about being able to walk a few steps to the beach, we had coffee on the beach every morning, even got up early one day to watch the sun rise.

There are walks to Mevagissey, but you need stout footwear and its on the coastal path. The small but lovely village at the end of the beach has a lovely cafe and pub too.

We really can't want to go again, it was that good. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Pentewan Sands, the first being a few years ago, and on the whole, we had an enjoyable holiday. A few pros and cons of the site that we noticed this time around.

Pros.

1. The location is excellent. Very easy to get to with no narrow roads if you go via St Austell. There are loads of places on both the north and south coast of Cornwall that can be reached easily for days out.

2. The pitches are very spacious, ours was about 13x13 metres, so much more spacious than other sites we have stayed at.

3. There are loads of water and waste points, very close the the caravan. In our case, 4 pitches in a square shared one tap and drain in the middle. This meant that while you couldn’t remain hooked up to the water permanently, we never had to move our aquaroll but used a hose from the tap to keep it topped up.

4. The shop on site is excellent with great croissants etc at breakfast time and other baked goods and pastries etc throughout the day along with an extensive range of beach supplies, food, camping equipment and ice cream!

5. We didn’t use it but if you like a swimming pool, the one on site looked excellent.

6. There are lots of different pitching areas to suit everyone from beachfront premium pitches to standard and non electric pitches.

Cons

1. The site was gearing up towards high season when we were there and the shower block near us (the newer block) could not keep up with the need for hot water. The showers themselves were excellent but no cold shower is going to be enjoyable. My husband managed a hot shower a few times by going very early (6am) but for me going down at around 9am meant the water was only lukewarm.

2. There were a lot of ants this year, more so than when we were here before, so remember to take your ant powder. 20 minutes after putting our awning up it was swarming with ants. We spoke to reception and they gave us 2 ant bait traps that work to eliminate the nest by the ants carrying the poison back with them. These take about 3 days to wipe out the whole nest, but they did work and by day 4 we only saw a very occasional ant. To be safe, we went to Asda and bought some ant powder and put it all around the corner steadies and wheels to stop the ants getting up into the caravan and we didn’t see any inside the caravan the whole fortnight.

3. This year it was extremely windy when we were there and as there are no hedges or any other shrubs etc around the pitches, they are all very exposed. You definitely needed storm straps for the awning. The wind never seemed to let up all day and right through until the sun went down, so even on sunny days, we couldn’t sit outside without getting our heads blown off with the wind. The site can’t control the weather, but it is worth noting that the site is very exposed.

I would return to Pentewan Sands in the future as the location is so good but the site itself needs some development, and definitely needs to sort out the hot water situation. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Oddsho 1 review from this member

 Brilliant park, lovely beach which was so close from the static. Meant we could appreciate the sunrise and have a few drinks watching the sunset so easily.

Two nice pubs within walking distance if you choose to come away from the on site facilities.

Boat hire on site is an added bonus, but will only hire out if the sea conditions are suitable so least they put safety first over money.

All round friendly site, makes a change to have statics and campers mixed together. Definitely be back again.

Can understand why so many people return every year. Ideal base also if you want to go exploring. Eden project etc 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonny6 2 reviews from this member

 I can only recommend this campsite. We normally stay on remote sites in East Anglia local to us so travelling down to Cornwall was a real post-covid adventure for us and it really paid off.

The site is clean, well run and staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent and the pool was clean, warm and brilliant for our young children.

It is a big site but we had a pitch that was literally 400 metres sq. So loads of room around us and we only used half of it.

The beach on site was superb and the local village across the street had a great pub and local shops.

We took our bikes as there is a 3 mile cycle trail to local town next to the site.

I can't fault this place and we will return for a longer trip next year. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 As per usual we had a great time whilst there…

We Would have liked the bar and chippy to be open later. Also more hot food and pastries available in the shop. We were informed we had to preorder these items the day before. Not good for business…. Maybe next time we won’t have to.

See you next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barracudafish 11 reviews from this member

 We've avoided Cornwall for over 14 years due as it's normally so busy, however this year we decided to try Pentewan out of season and what a joy it was.

The weather certainly made the difference, we were lucky and had 19C all week and nearly everyday of sun.

We went for 10 days and due to the park's policy of releasing the front pitches for 1 week at a time we used 2 pitches. We had B130 towards the back and then moved to H3 towards the front for the last 7 days. Both pitches were good.

There was definitely more toeing and froeing from the pitch at the back as people left and new people came in but the pitches are large and the campsite despite being busy was quiet at night.

At this point in the season the grass is nearly non existent on parts of the pitches which I imagine could be a big problem in wet weather as it would just be mud, fortunately for us is was just mud baked dry.

Water is available near most pitches but the disposal of grey water and the Elsan points are not quite as prolific. This involves a bit of a walk! as does the toilet block depending on where you are pitched.

We used our own facilities so this was not an issue for us. We felt that the beach front pitches offered little privacy as they are facing the beach which can be busy.

The shop was useful but there was a definite end of season feel to the place, the shop was not fully stocked, the local pubs finished serving food at 6.

We ate at the Seahorse and at Hubbox, both were good but we did not use any other facilities such as the pool although it looked quiet.

The WiFi and TV signal are non existent so you either have to pay for WiFi or use the free 1/2 hour at the Seahorse. There was an intermittent signal on the beach.

Megavissey was still very busy. The coastal walk is simply beautiful but a hard walk, not really suitable for anyone with mobility or fitness issues. You do feel that you've earned the cream tea once you've done the walk!

Megavissy itself is beautiful and although busy was perfectly manageable, masks were advised in shops, indeed necessary in some and we notice how many people wore masks which was good.

We also cycled to the lost gardens and to Charlestown, both are worth a visit but St Austell is not. The bus stop is outside the campsite for those without transport.

Would we visit again?. Yes definitely again in September and if the weather could be the same! 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vanhens 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two weeks at Pentewan with Children and Grandchildren Ages 5-7. Due to COVID we did not use the indoor facilities.

Everything was clean and toilet blocks well ventilated.

Hubbox does great burgers (better than daddies ones) and breakfasts.

All of us really enjoyed our first holiday together for two years. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin1010 15 reviews from this member

 I won’t repeat what is in previous reviews regarding the facilities as they are very comprehensive. Excellent for young families in particular.

Just a few “balancing” comments. This is now our second visit to Pentewan Sands

Many families had come as group bookings and each evening were clearly a very social get-together which looked good. Could be noisy but for a site at that time of year relatively minor and the security usually had words after 11pm

To go in school summer holidays you have to enter a ballot that occurs in October. For 2021 a lot of people missed out because so many bookings from 2020 were carried over. However, the mythology is that many long standing customers who have been going for years are “looked after” and return to the same pitch year in year out. Not sure if true but we did notice a fair number of people we recognised in the same pitches. Prerogative of the owners I guess.

The position is excellent with proximity to the beach if that matters. In hindsight we didn’t really use it so we could have considered a wider option of sites.

There are no serviced pitches. However, many people bought hose reels with them and tap splitters so they had a constant water supply. Some pipe runs were 50 odd metres! For those that couldn’t do that, and had to use their tap meant disconnecting it all and getting splattered as they were under high pressure which was an utter pain. It wouldn’t have mattered so much if one outlet tap had been left free. Most pitches had a rap between 4 pitches but for some reason those plugged in viewed it as “their” tap but apologised when I struggled to disconnect the apparatus. The owners really need to put a stop to it as this year for some reason it was ridiculous and I I saw some conflict on occasions.

Both years we have experienced either a storm or very high winds. Given the position of the site it is fairly inevitable so strong pegging and storm straps are advised and use the fatter plastic legs than metal as they ground is soft for legging purposes. What I have found problematic is that the pitches are all “grass”. However by mid summer the footprint of where caravans and tents have been are dead and are just hardened soil. The effect in heavy rain is that water rapidly flows into the awning and soaks the ground cover far worse than I have known in 10 years of caravanning. The ground just can’t absorb as well. I would in future (and several of my neighbouring families had through experience) taken waterproof floor carpet/covers which shouldn’t be used on grass but in reality there is no other option.

We didn’t use the on site restaurants this year. They were closed several days each week due to staff shortages (as were many in Cornwall). We did use the on site takeaway for Fish and Chips which were excellent but expensive at £11 per portion…. But convenience outweighed that.

The shower block was cleaned 4 times a day. I couldn’t fault it but there were lots of negative comments on a unofficial Facebook page for Pentewan Sands.

The Ship Inn in Pentewan is 200m from the site and it’s custom is virtually exclusively from Pentewan and a further site down the road. Clearly had suffered from lockdown. We tried to go one night and were told it was a minimum wait of 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Returned another night. Told an hour wait which was fine and then food came in 8 minutes. It was pretty awful fayre…Luke warm and from a very limited menu so we swerved going again.

If the beach is not a priority then there are other nice sites to consider. However, for boating and body boarding etc (some families spent all day every day in the beach) then it really takes some beating. 


Previous     157 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Pentewan Sands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement