Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Pentewan Sands Holiday Park Reviews

Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Pentewan
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6BT
Tel: 01726 843485
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 22/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           22/03/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vanhens 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two weeks at Pentewan with Children and Grandchildren Ages 5-7. Due to COVID we did not use the indoor facilities.

Everything was clean and toilet blocks well ventilated.

Hubbox does great burgers (better than daddies ones) and breakfasts.

All of us really enjoyed our first holiday together for two years. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin1010 15 reviews from this member

 I won’t repeat what is in previous reviews regarding the facilities as they are very comprehensive. Excellent for young families in particular.

Just a few “balancing” comments. This is now our second visit to Pentewan Sands

Many families had come as group bookings and each evening were clearly a very social get-together which looked good. Could be noisy but for a site at that time of year relatively minor and the security usually had words after 11pm

To go in school summer holidays you have to enter a ballot that occurs in October. For 2021 a lot of people missed out because so many bookings from 2020 were carried over. However, the mythology is that many long standing customers who have been going for years are “looked after” and return to the same pitch year in year out. Not sure if true but we did notice a fair number of people we recognised in the same pitches. Prerogative of the owners I guess.

The position is excellent with proximity to the beach if that matters. In hindsight we didn’t really use it so we could have considered a wider option of sites.

There are no serviced pitches. However, many people bought hose reels with them and tap splitters so they had a constant water supply. Some pipe runs were 50 odd metres! For those that couldn’t do that, and had to use their tap meant disconnecting it all and getting splattered as they were under high pressure which was an utter pain. It wouldn’t have mattered so much if one outlet tap had been left free. Most pitches had a rap between 4 pitches but for some reason those plugged in viewed it as “their” tap but apologised when I struggled to disconnect the apparatus. The owners really need to put a stop to it as this year for some reason it was ridiculous and I I saw some conflict on occasions.

Both years we have experienced either a storm or very high winds. Given the position of the site it is fairly inevitable so strong pegging and storm straps are advised and use the fatter plastic legs than metal as they ground is soft for legging purposes. What I have found problematic is that the pitches are all “grass”. However by mid summer the footprint of where caravans and tents have been are dead and are just hardened soil. The effect in heavy rain is that water rapidly flows into the awning and soaks the ground cover far worse than I have known in 10 years of caravanning. The ground just can’t absorb as well. I would in future (and several of my neighbouring families had through experience) taken waterproof floor carpet/covers which shouldn’t be used on grass but in reality there is no other option.

We didn’t use the on site restaurants this year. They were closed several days each week due to staff shortages (as were many in Cornwall). We did use the on site takeaway for Fish and Chips which were excellent but expensive at £11 per portion…. But convenience outweighed that.

The shower block was cleaned 4 times a day. I couldn’t fault it but there were lots of negative comments on a unofficial Facebook page for Pentewan Sands.

The Ship Inn in Pentewan is 200m from the site and it’s custom is virtually exclusively from Pentewan and a further site down the road. Clearly had suffered from lockdown. We tried to go one night and were told it was a minimum wait of 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Returned another night. Told an hour wait which was fine and then food came in 8 minutes. It was pretty awful fayre…Luke warm and from a very limited menu so we swerved going again.

If the beach is not a priority then there are other nice sites to consider. However, for boating and body boarding etc (some families spent all day every day in the beach) then it really takes some beating. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 76 reviews from this member

 When we finally realised that getting to France this year was going to be out of the question because of Covid and I started to look for sites in Cornwall, I quickly discovered that most of the type of quiet sites that we would normally use were fully booked. Pentewan Sands had a pitch available though so we decided to bite the bullet and go for it, however I was very nervous beforehand as this is definitely not the type of sites that we would normally go to.

The site is enormous and laid out quite informally in long rows. There are no rules about what direction you can pitch your Caravan, as long as you’re within the bounds of your pitch you can pretty much do what you like!

The pitches are quite flat and we just needed one 1inch plank under one wheel to bring us level so it was quite easy to site the caravan. The pitch we had was massive, 12 m x 12 m and it shared a water tap with three other pitches so access to the water was very simple.

The facilities on the site were excellent. We were amazed at the number of toilets and showers that there were! We are used to caravan club sites where there might only be three or four toilets, whereas this site had several toilet blocks each with 10 or 12 toilets, all kept spotlessly clean and tidy.

There was also an excellent laundry which we made good use of as we we were away for a month in total and this week at Pentewan was right in the middle. There is also an exceptionally well stocked shop that sells great bread and pastries as well as Cornish pasties and a wide range of other food stuffs, along with their usual ice creams etc.

There are a couple of different eating places on site. Because of Covid we were a little bit nervous about going inside so we didn’t use the restaurant however we did use the fish and chip takeaway which although not outstandingly great was satisfactory.

The site is well situated on its own beach and directly on the coastal path so you can walk in both directions, however be warned that this section of the coast is extremely hilly. We set off on a walk heading east from the site and ended up not getting very far because part of the walk was almost vertical!

However we did have a nice walk in the other direction to Mevagissey, which was really nice but still very hilly! We visited the lost gardens of Heligan, and a range of National Trust places nearby and really enjoyed our week.

I was expecting the site to be noisier than the usual caravan club site, and it was a bit noisier, however because the schools hadn’t broken up yet it meant that most people on site were actually quite like us, slightly older couples without children with a few students thrown in.

I was very surprised to find that I loved the site and really had no need to be nervous before we went. I can imagine in the height of peak season when it’s overrun with children it could be very unpleasant if you want peace and quiet but at the time of year we went, end of June beginning of July, it was ideal and we had a really enjoyable time. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sbott2 1 review from this member

 Love this site but sadly we our unable to go anymore as they don't except dogs.

So lovely to open your caravan door and be so close to the sea.

We passed by this year such beautiful views 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Welshscot 2 reviews from this member

 Large site with lots of facilities, unfortunately not all available due to COVID restrictions during our visit.

Great location with beach and Pentewan village only about 200 mtrs from our pitch. Pitches are large and well laid out giving an open feel to the site and in September site was not overly busy. Added advantage was being able to book a specific pitch online through their well presented website.

Beach lovely, had good weather most of stay so managed a few days on the beach which also offers good fishing, particularly on an evening tide when the beach was quieter.

Cycled Pentewan Valley Trail off road cycleway to St Austell which was a delight. Also cycled to Charlestown and had a day wandering the harbour and village well worth it.

Would also highly recommend Pentewan Valley Cycle Hire, we had our electric bikes serviced here, Andy and Rachel who own it are great and very helpful with good customer service.

All in all a great site and highly recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Kevd56 1 review from this member

 Good site, great location.

The staff were very helpful and the cleaners did a superb job keeping the facilities spotless.

The location next to the beach was a bonus and with the fantastic weather a great time was had. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ian29 8 reviews from this member

 This is possibly our favourite destination in the U. K. The pitches are all a good size, in fact some are massive. If you book online you can see the size of the pitch when you book.

Facilities are excellent and kept very clean by the hard working staff.

The beach is on the doorstep and the beachside water sports caters for every water sports activity you can think of. There’s on site entertainment at the clubhouse which also serves food, a shop and a chippie all on site.

The Ship in the village next door to the site serves excellent food and a good pint of beer, very friendly staff too. The bus stops just outside the entrance and takes you either into Mevagissy or to St Austell.

We have been going to this site every year sometimes 2 or 3 times in the year as it has everything a family could want.

Definitely not somewhere to go for a quiet holiday, if that’s what you’re looking for then look elsewhere but if you want a fun packed holiday then this could be the place for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Woodingsd 2 reviews from this member

 Great beachside location, lovely stretch of sand to walk on.

(in parts) The sea was a bit hit and miss (in relation to seaweed) which I realise is not the fault of the campsite, as in the seawead in the water, as some days there was loads of it at certain times and other times non at all, but obviously the seawead that gets left and dried formed big mounds on the beach and I think this could be collected by the site to keep it down. I think a routine maintenance collection with this would help a lot as this is the only thing that spoils the beach.

It is a great site for families as there is everything they need but the only thing that is lacking is an outdoor pool. (which they used to have) They do have an indoor pool but because of the amount of people on site (and we were out of school hols) it was busy.

There is plenty of room for an outdoor pool on the site which would have added to the experience of the site as a whole, especially for those with smaller children as the inside pool is ideal for older children but not so for younger ones. An outdoor pool would mean a family could all be together around the pool.

Credit must go to the cleaners of the swimming pool which I encountered several times who cleaned the changing rooms and grids which were changed daily (and needed to be as to what the cleaners came across from not so respectful people was shameful for both users of the pool and cleaners to clean up! For the girl/woman who had left a used tampon on the changing room floor is disgusting.

Overall a good site which delivers a good family holiday experience and gives good size pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cornishartist 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing site with some impressive tents, motorhomes, etc. The most upmarket site we have been. So close to the beach which was fantastic for the children. Friendly, clean and our pitch site was massive. We had gale force winds with rain yet no problems at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Dutchess 1 review from this member

 What a great site and so well placed to visit lots of interesting places. The facilities are excellent and the on site burger place Hubbox does burgers to die for. The pub in Pentewan sells great ale and tasty pub grub. Pitches are a bit dis-organised but plenty of room and no pitch is far from the beach. Great walk into Mevegissy which has become my favourite seaside place. Had crab at the Wheelhouse - it comes with the body prepared/dressed but the claws and legs you do yourself - great fun and so tasty. Cornish pasties in on site shop delicious. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Pentewan Sands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement