Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Pentewan Sands Holiday Park Reviews

Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Pentewan
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6BT
Tel: 01726 843485
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 22 March - 2 Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cornishartist 2 reviews from this member

Amazing site with some impressive tents, motorhomes, etc. The most upmarket site we have been. So close to the beach which was fantastic for the children. Friendly, clean and our pitch site was massive. We had gale force winds with rain yet no problems at all.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Dutchess 1 review from this member

What a great site and so well placed to visit lots of interesting places. The facilities are excellent and the on site burger place Hubbox does burgers to die for. The pub in Pentewan sells great ale and tasty pub grub. Pitches are a bit dis-organised but plenty of room and no pitch is far from the beach. Great walk into Mevegissy which has become my favourite seaside place. Had crab at the Wheelhouse - it comes with the body prepared/dressed but the claws and legs you do yourself - great fun and so tasty. Cornish pasties in on site shop delicious.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

It would be difficult to better the location of this site especially if you visit 'out of season' when you can have the pick of pitches with fantastic, uninterrupted sea views - it is only literally a stones throw away. The site is easy to find and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was on grass but it was plenty firm enough and there were units there a lot bigger than ours so I can't see the lack of hard standing would ever be a problem. The facilities are clean and warm and there is a really good on site shop which we used for the good offer on local beers! On the drink theme, there is a lovely pub in the village which is a few yards from the site. There is also a pub on site but we used the village pub. There is plenty of walking from the site and several gardens nearby including Eden Project and Heligan. I ran in the Eden Half Marathon and would certainly use this site as a base again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Family mac 1 review from this member

This is by far our favourite holiday destination! The pitches are very generously sized compared to many sites, enabling you space to bring your own boats and other water sports equipment, and wherever you’re pitched it’s no more than a couple of minutes’ walk to their privately owned beach. For us as a family this is a huge bonus as it saves the hassle of packing the car for a day at the beach, finding somewhere to park, paying to park the car for the day and staggering to find a spot like a pack horse with everything in tow. There really is nothing nicer than wandering down to the beach without the military precision of packing everything you could possibly need for a day’s visit – instead we take the basics, and when it’s time to eat, a quick game of “stone, scissors” decides who will amble back to the van and get food for lunch, a refill of drinks and anything else we need! The beach has dedicated areas for swimmers, paddle boarders etc. Separate from the motorised water sports, and the very gently sloping sea bed makes it possible to wander quite far out and still just be up your knees in water! Knowing we have this great beach on our holiday doorstep leaves us more eager to jump out of the car and explore lots of other different coves and beaches that we pass while out and about, but rather than staying for the day, we have a quick wander and paddle knowing once we’re back to the campsite we can settle with everything we need on our beach! Equipment can be hired for water sports on site as well as life jackets and we’ve always found the staff helpful and nice!

Pentewan Sands is a dog free site (except guide dogs) which also appeals having one child who is terrified of them, giving us all a relaxed week in the knowledge that no one will be scrambling up our bodies and trying to balance on our heads to escape from an excited canine running around at the sea front!

We spend many an evening on the beach playing ball games, trying a spot of sea fishing and collecting shells. All of which is our idea of a perfect family holiday evening! If you need to be entertained however, then the clubhouse is the perfect place to go where you can also order food, use the wifi and join in with the fun and games!

The site also has 2 indoor pools, tennis court, pub, Hubbox diner, large shop, Chippie and laundrette. Toilet and shower blocks are situated around the site, and the power of the showers is second to none! The Ship Inn located in Pentewan village has a great menu for the whole family, does a lovely Sunday roast, and is just a stone’s throw from the campsite.

If sitting still isn’t for you, The Pentewan Cycle Trail is a great way to burn off a few holiday food calories while taking in your surroundings and bikes can be hired from Pentewan Valley Cycle Hire which is just outside the campsite. Failing that, you can take to the coastal path on foot and explore!

When the weather is on our side, most of our time is spent on the beach! However we always take a few trips to the harbour town of Mevagissey which is just a few minutes’ drive down the road, or if you’re wanting some exercise and fantastic views, there’s a coastal path which requires some sensible walking footwear! The kids love Crabbing off the harbour walls in Mevagissey and we’ve taken the odd boat trip to Fowey and back – well, excluding me as I’m not partial to boats and I’ve used the time to look around all the lovely little souvenir and local shops while the rest of the family sail the seas. They’ve also enjoyed a couple of sea fishing trips with Aquila Charters and had a brilliant time as well as bringing home mackerel for tea!

Cornish Market World is the biggest indoor market in the southwest and is only 6. 5 miles from Pentewan. It’s definitely worth a look round although the rest of the family don’t always agree (more shopping!) The incentive however, is that its right next to Kidzworld which is a fantastic place for the children to let off steam! It has a huge indoor soft play area including a roller-skating rink as well as things outside like dodgems, crazy golf and a skytrail. For one price you can revisit for 7 days making this a popular stop off on our way home from days out. A quick cuppa for us and the use of their free wifi while the kids have umpteen goes on the dodgems, yet another round of crazy golf and a quick skate before we head off home via the supermarket to stock up on food for the barbeque!

*Football Golf (6 miles) was a great few hours of exercise, fun and laughter as we all did our best to get the ball into the holes with the least kicks possible. With obstacles on the way it’s not as easy as it sounds, and with a broken toe I was bound to loose, although I think I would have lost anyway!

Other places close by include

*The Lost Gardens of Heligan (2 miles)

*The Eden Project (8 miles)

*Wheal-Martyn China Clay Museum (6 miles)

There are so many places to visit while staying at Pentewan Sands

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Faberje 1 review from this member

Welcome pack ready and waiting on arrival. Staff friendly, helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable.

Grounds beautifully kept, grass neat and tidy. ( flowers around reception beautiful)

Electric hook up and water on each pitch.

Waste water and chemical disposal point within easy reach.

Masses of room for each unit.

Showers etc. , clean at all times.

Garden/park wardens always working. And it shows!

Beach clean and tidy and massive amount of space. ( sand a little 'course' in places. )

Nowhere on site is more than 2minutes stroll from the beach. Flat and level walk.

Pub and restaurants good.

Entertainment for adults ( evening) and children. We did not use personally but reports from neighbours was excellent.

Pools excellent.

Shop has a good range of essentials and gifts.

Mevagissey 5mins by car or bus ( bus stop right outside park main entrance)

Very quiet, so probably not for those wanting a more ' boisterous ' holiday.

Excellent!

Already booked to go again!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Just got back from an absolutely marvellous week at pentewan sands. The location is well worth the price in my opinion. Bars on site very good, but tended to close early on occasions, but staff friendly. The Ship in Pentewan Village worth a visit, good food and beer, also Jude's Brasserie for excellent food within easy walking distance.

Food of a good standard at The Seahorse and the Hubbox / Driftwood Bar on beach also.

We were lucky and had good weather, this made sitting on the beach outside the Driftwood at a lunchtime a pleasure watching the kite surfers traverse the bay.

On site shop good, though St Austell offers Asda, Tesco, Aldi etc.

Mevagissey is only a stone throw down the road and is delightful.

The only downside is the lack of shower blocks and chemical and waste water emptying points. The shower blocks, though clean, are woefully outdated and not up to the capacity of the site. Waste water and chemical toilet emptying are all reliant on the physical ability to lift them up off the ground. Most modern sites have them sunken.

We stayed on H field on a very sizeable and level pitch, this meant that we had to lug our waste up numerous steps to enable us to empty them. Not good.

Moaning about waste aside, we had a great time and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LSMITH29 12 reviews from this member

We booked this site after reading lots of different reviews, and I don't think we'll be returning.

Positives-clean, tidy site, very friendly staff, lovely area. Fish and chips are lovely, nice clean pool.

Negatives-pricey! We paid nearly £800 for 2 weeks. We have a caravan, small awning and pup tent. I refuse to pay an extra £75 to put a pup tent up on the pitch when others have huge awnings with bedroom annexes on each end, plus a boat at no extra charge. We were in the field nearest the very busy road. However, the pitches by the beach are even pricier and are more packed in-looked very tight to get a large 'van in. The toilets and showers nearest to us needed work-the hand drier in the toilets was out of use for most of our stay. The showers smelt damp constantly-there are no windows in there, and a plastic corrugated roof so absolutely no ventilation.

The beach is nice, however the prices in the beach bar are high-nearly £10 for a pint and a glass of wine. Wifi has to be paid for-and it's not great. However it's free in the clubhouse (because they know you'll spend money while you're in there). Phone signal is practically non existent.

The shop sells more beach and gift tat than it does food, so the nearby asda was handy!

My major complaint with this site is this-it's expensive-partly because it has it's own 'private' beach, which it boasts about constantly on it's website. However, there is a constant stream of people walking in from other sites/B&B's in the area to use the beach. Some days it was heaving. To me, this is extremely unfair, when we paid probably double what they are paying on their campsites because we had the use of a private beach!I did speak to the manager about it, but he wasn't bothered-probably because they would be spending money on his site while they were there!

This is a premium site with premium prices, but they don't offer premium facilities. I've stayed on better sites that were cheaper and we won't be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt4666 11 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit and last year the site was top notch; however a year is a long time in tourism! Things have definitely gone very down hill at this site. Toilet blocks (mens) I have never had at shower last 3 seconds when pressing the button, at the sinks a few of the taps either twisted round or you could pull them from the sinks easily. Toilets were ok though so there is one saving grace (womens) showers sinks and toilets worked well. Beach block often very dirty on the floors as beach users came it to rinse off their sand (gravel) from the beach. Pitches, our pitch was clearly well used and we found that the when when it rained it flooded as the ground was so compacted it wouldn't drain freely. Our neighbours pitches were no better. The Seahorse club is a basically a joke, older kids bullying younger kids in the soft play area, I lost count how many parents pulled traumatised and crying toddlers and under 10 ' out of there. The pool was dirty overcrowded and the life guards looked bored and totally not interested. The entertainment was lazy I mean if if I wanted to watch mama Mia or grease then I would have let the wife bring bring the dvd along. Drinks prices were ok comparable to the ship Inn. The new site wide WIFI is a joke, poor signal strength and slow speeds, and who in their right mind is going to pay £25 a week for something which is offered free everywhere else, not me. The beach isn't neccessarily a private as the camp makes out, you only have to pay to park and you can use it, plus I saw a few dogs on the beach which is supposed to be dog free. Now I come top my biggest bug bear at this site will, when I enquired about another matter I overheard that in order top book a pitch on the site will you have to fill in a ballot form which will be reviewed on 1st November and then you will be informed of your pitch allocation, this used to be for the premium beech front plots only, now it for the whole site. Ask others about this and they informed me no one wanted to complain about anything any longer for fear they won't get an allocation next year, this this is clearly very very wrong. Time to find another site for next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue warner 7 reviews from this member

Just back for 13 night stay at this lovely site. Although the site is very big it was very quite and very clean. The site was easy to find on the main road into Mevagissey. Also liked the fact you can pitch any way you want within you pitch and as we went with friends we were able to set up a cosy camp. Toilet/shower blocks were a bit dated but clean and water was a nice temp but it would help is there was a shower curtain to stop you cloths from getting wet and mop and bucket so you could wipe them over before and after use. A few days the showers were very sandy where they were used following a visit to the beach.

It is also nice to be able to walk to the beach and being able to pop back to our van to make lunch was an added bonus. Also easy for our friends who used their kayak.

The Swimming pool was very nice and even had adult only times in the large pool. The shop was well stocked a little expensive for some items but Asda and Tesco were not that far away.

The Jolly Roger bar opened during our stay and we spent a couple of evenings enjoying a quiet drink. We found the Sea Horse Bar a little noisy for us. Food was also good in the beach bar. We had a meal in The Ship pub which was fantastic.

All members of staff on the site were friendly and helpful. We would definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DAZ248 8 reviews from this member

Just had 2 weeks at Pentewan Sands (but that should be stones) as the beach is horrible. The pictures on their website are misleading. The site itself is very large with statics and touring. The site is in a nice location. However it seemed to be well looked after and clean. Showers/toilets were shut at certain times for cleaning however they closed them to clean when they felt like it. One of the new shower blocks the showers only stayed on for 3 seconds!.

Our first week was quieter than the second and that's when we noticed the pitches were smaller than we first thought. Either side of us was large twin axle caravans with awnings which made us all cosy! I wouldn't like to be there at peak times.

They say the beach is private but anyone can walk on from the village side of beach. And be aware the indoor pool and other on site activities are open to the public. On a rainy day we went to the pool only to find a long queue as the public were using the pool and they had a one out one in policy so we left as not wanting to queue for an hour with 2 small children.

Beach was popular with water sports and boats.

There is very little phone and TV signal and forget internet unless you pay for Wifi.

On site shop was expensive and we thought the bar on the beach was expensive for food. On site chippy was ok though.

Pentewan village has a pub and a couple of cafes. You need to travel to St Austall for Asda/Tesco and Aldi.

We thought that there was not enough for the kids on this side of Cornwall so travelled to New Quay area a couple of times. Wouldn't stay here again or the area.

Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019