Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bainbridge Ings

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Bainbridge Ings
Near A684
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3NU
Tel: 01969 667354
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: April - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
                9/10 from 159 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Demmo 16 reviews from this member

We had a night here on the way back from a vw festival. Phoned up and were booked in on arrival by the very pleasant owner. Toilet block basic but functional. On our visit the water in them was off so we had the use of on of the pods. Great location, easy walk into Hawes with some great pubs and a good chippy. Look forwards to returning in the Summer.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dean S 1 review from this member

My friend & I turned up in the camper van for a weeks stay & were given a plot to park on. 1st impressions, bainsbridge ings is a clean beautiful place with no muddy roads! Very impressive layout & hard standings with power & water, the properties look amazing, there’s a washing up station, showers, toilets for campers. The staff Colin & Karen are amazing & very helpful, they made our stay very enjoyable. The shops are a lovely walk away in awesome surroundings, a photographers gold mine, 1st impressions of surroundings, awesome! 2nd impression, wow we found a beautiful place & will be back for another peaceful stay. Thank you Colin & Karen for your amazing hospitality & making our stay awesome.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 3 reviews from this member

Tidy well kept site, owners very friendly, location to Hawes and surrounding attractions was ideal. Views from the site are exceptional, we visited over the busy bank holiday and the facilities were often found wanting. Site of this size could do with updating and increasing the facilities, that said, I would return. I have marked this site 8 out of 10 based upon the lack of facilities and the age of the utilities block,

But the rest of the experience makes up for any shortfalls

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northern Monkey 1 review from this member

This has been one of my 'go to' sites for years, consisting of simple facilities kept to an outstanding standard. Unfortunately, I have to agree with the reviewer below, the changes introduced by the new owners have markedly changed the site's character.

Several 'pods' have been erected, which I find quite intrusive. They also have a marketing deal with Hoseasons, further indicating the change in focus.

That said, the owners/managers were efficient, friendly and helpful and I completely understand that increasing revenue might be necessary following the recent change in ownership. The facilities were still clean and well kept. Doubtless many will still enjoy fabulous holidays here. Hawes remains a beautiful area, and overnighting to enjoy calmer atmosphere of the village after the daytrippers have gone is recommended.

However, I may not be back; for those of us who enjoy simple no frills camping there may now be better options.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 31 reviews from this member

The site is beautifully situated in the Yorkshire Dales, a short walk along a footpath to Hawes, the home of Wensleydale Cheese (visit the factory/shop/cafe).

The owners exploit this setting by charging a high price all year round. I was charged £25 (over 28 Euros) and told 'There is no low season'. This is too much for a site rightly described by ACSI as 'basic, with only the necessary amenities'. The facilities are indeed dated, with coin-operated showers. The owner said new facilities are planned.

The 2018 ACSI book actually lists the price as £22-£24, and this ACSI website shows a price of 21. 8 Euros low season and 26. 2 high season.

The laundry has a washer and drier, though I didn't use the washing machine after seeing the debris and moss inside the door rim.

The free WiFi did work well and the setting is lovely, but I cannot recommend the pretentiously named ‘Country Park’ at its current price.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nosbod 1 review from this member

We have visited several times over the years to this site. It is a lovely site but facilities are desperately in need of updating. I showered twice and twice there was no pressure and the shower ran hot for a very short while then it was cold. Wouldn't have minded but I had washed my hair. Husband says his showers were fine pressure wise and hot.

It is a lovely site the people are very nice. Short walk into Hawes which is ideal, but they need to update both toilets and showers moving forward.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keen_Camper 2 reviews from this member

Like a lot of people, we have enjoyed visiting Bainbridge Ings for many years. We returned for the second time this year with the site under new management. I'm sorry to say that things are changing at the site, and in my personal opinion not for the better. I have always found the campsite to be sympathetic to its most beautiful surroundings, especially in the camping field with unspoilt views all around.

It would now seem that the new owners are swaying more towards a 'caravan park' style of site. Rather amazingly there is a large gawdy Caravan / Lodge Style unit now placed in the tent field, which obscures the view of the beautiful old house and the Shunner fell beyond. Dry stone walls have been partially knocked down to accommodate new caravans and new paths laid in the lower field and some kind of a partially finished block paving speed bump (?) at the entrance. Why this work couldn't have been undertaken when the site closes later in the year is a little confusing.

I appreciate that the site is a business and that revenue is important; however people go to Bainbridge to spend time in the stunning scenery that is Wensleydale, the no thrills facilities have complemented this environment for years. I envisage the site turning in to a Butlins style 'leisure park' which will be truly tragic.

I'm not sure we will return to Bainbridge, it's heartbreaking to see a classic campsite being manipulated in to something that the area doesn't really need.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Howards of hessle 4 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site a few times with caravan and a motorbike and tent and love it. The owners are friendly, but sadly they're selling up. He has a triumph tiger like myself, so had a bias natter. The views are amazing and a steady walk in to Hawes. The toilets/showers are clean and well maintained. This is one of my favourite sites.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wedger1 2 reviews from this member

Booked this site about two weeks ago when we could not get in the caravan club site, we were not disappointed, arrived about 1. 00pm on the Thursday and booked in within minutes of arriving, got pitched on the edge of a nice open field with a few vans and tents around the edge of the field.

The shower block and other facilities were just fine, clean and smelling of cleanliness. Walk into town which took all of ten mins and that to me was fantastic. Come back after a look around hawes and sat outside the van admiring the view and watching all the families enjoy there night together. We left on the Sunday morning early but it won't be long before we book again and this time it will be our first choice.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barry-77 1 review from this member

I have visited Bainbridge Ings many times and have always found the site to be well maintained, clean and tidy. The quiet family run site is always quiet and well managed. Janet and Mark are always very helpful. This time (May 3rd) Janet drove me and my heavy rucksack into Hawes to catch the Little White Bus to Garsdale, and the train home.

Thank you so much.

Barry 77!

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019