Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Biggar > Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site
Abington
Biggar
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
ML12 6TA
Tel: 01864 502 369
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC Members Only
Open: 26/04/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (5)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dwils4 1 review from this member

 Stayed the one night only as a break in a long journey.

If you like the idea of being away from all the hustle and bustle of modern life then this site is for you. We are very content with no TV, no WiFi, no apps, no gizmos, only nature, bird song and fresh air.

As still under Covid Rules no access to facilities but who cares. A delightful place. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Due to the ongoing COVID19 pandemic, Lettershaws Farm is temporarily closed during 2020 and will remain closed in 2021. We will review this decision as the situation evolves.  


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Very basic 20 pitch CL site located 2 miles from Abington (the highest village in Scotland!) at an even higher wind swept desolate location!

One ladies WC and one gents (no hot water), one shower (20p) and sink. Books available in toilet area. Level site with grass and hardstanding pitches plus EHU. Little/no TV reception and phone connection only available by making hike further up the hill. The site runs parallel to the surprisingly busy B797.

The site is only 3 miles of the M74, and at 10/night with electric ( 8/night without) is ideal for a one night stop off travelling North or South.  


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 37 reviews from this member

 Perfect stopover on the way to Scotland, only about 10 minute easy drive from A74M.

Warm welcome and beautiful views. There is the CS area and also a rally field.

The facilities are basic but clean when we visited and at 10 a night with EHU or 7 without, a bargain. Cash payment only.

Sat nav might want to make turn left too early. Carry along the road and you will see the farm well before you reach it.

No wifi, patchy phone signal - it works if you walk across the bridge over the stream, turn right on the foot path and there is a hot spot. A lady was walking her dogs off lead there and it seemed a safe area with LOADS of rabbits. We saw Oyster catchers over there too.

They have a TV booster and we had good reception but only BBC1 and ITV, like being back in the 1960's!

We booked 1 night but 10 days later we were so fed up with midges in the Highlands, decided to head south a day earlier. I called, left a message to check there was room for us and I got a call back about an hour later to confirm

Thankfully very few midges there, when we got back.

It's not far from Lockerbie memorial garden which was moving but interesting with a little visitor centre and a very enthusiastic guide inside 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

 The biggest 5 site we have ever been on. We counted at least 35 pitches!

Owners very nice facilities basic, would have been stretched if the site was full. A good clean wouldn't go amiss

Having said that we used our own facilities in the van so not an issue for us.

A very reasonable 10 per night

The site is in a lovely location with a fantastic river walk where dogs can run free. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dale3353 2 reviews from this member

 This small site is in beautiful surroundings with a crystal clear beck running through it. Perfect for off lead dog rambles. The lady who we spoke to on the phone and who visited us on the site was lovely.

The facilities were awful. Cold water only, everywhere but the grimy showers and shower use was metered.

The nice lady explained to us that they planned to install a whole new facilities unit but from the reviews she has been telling people this for a couple of years. Fair enough, these things take time but what can't be explained away is the overflowing bin, spiders, long deceased daddy long legs and a toilet brush so disgusting ( crusty disgusting, not new disgusting) that I froze on the spot before making a hasty retreat.

Yes it is very cheap for a one night stopover but I would prefer to pay a bit more and have warm water in the washing up and washbasin/ toilet area. No. Even then I wouldn't have used the facilities because they were horrible. A good clean would improve them no end. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gwennol17 10 reviews from this member

 This was our stopover on the way further up Scotland and is ideally situated for that. Good flat site and a ready welcome from the on site manager. We paid just 8 (no electric) for one night.

Loo block is being updated and at present looks rather grim from the outside. Inside however is absolutely fine. Manager came straight away when we had an issue with the shower.

Electric and water easily accessible.

Some great off site walks available through a gate on the site. Tracks went over the moor in both directions, so good for dog walking. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Highlander09 22 reviews from this member

 I agree with Polly!

We had an overnight last week on our way home from Yorkshire. Friendly greeting but that was the only positive thing I could say about the site. The grass was long (over boot tops)and it was boggy underneath so we got very wet.

The toilets are a disgrace and could be considered dangerous with broken tiles, uneven floor and only cold water for handwash. They claim to have washing up but the kitchen was full of broken equipment. I did wonder what the piece of guttering which was hanging from the ceiling was for then discovered it went through the shower wall and looked as though it was for rainwater from the roof into the kitchen sink!

The site is listed as a CS in the Camping and Caravanning book but I understood that to be for 5 vans. I counted at least 6 unoccupied units, 5 tourers/motorhomes. This was in the field, there was a permanent static van on the approach and a motorhome by the gate.

This is definitely a site that I will be removing from my virtual brochure. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gini and George 2 reviews from this member

 A gem of a site, stunning views and terrific walks. Situauted on a shooting estate which is 2 miles from Abington. Hotel, shop and post office here and 7 miles from Leadhills.

Hotel with good food open to non residents. A well stocked general store for your newspapers etc. Wildlife is fantastic and we got some lovely photos of Grouse with babies, Oyster catchers and Lapwings.

The owners were helpful and very pleasant. More than willing to spend a little time for a chat. Have booked again and will be back often. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site as an overnight stopover on route to Scotland. Good location - just a few miles off the motorway.

Enjoyed the surrounding countryside - walked along the grouse moor by the stream after a long drive.

Agree that the facilities are neglected - cobwebs, dead spiders lurking in the corners off the shower/loo/kitchen area and would recommend use your van facilities in preference!

However as a stopover for 9 a night it was ideal.

Looked lovely in the sun - not sure as good in poor weather! 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lettershaws Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Biggar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement