Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lettershaws Farm Certficated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Biggar > Lettershaws Farm Certficated Site Reviews

Lettershaws Farm Certficated Site
Abington
Biggar
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
ML12 6TA
Tel: 01864 502 369
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC Members Only
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Very basic 20 pitch CL site located 2 miles from Abington (the highest village in Scotland!) at an even higher wind swept desolate location!

One ladies WC and one gents (no hot water), one shower (20p) and sink. Books available in toilet area. Level site with grass and hardstanding pitches plus EHU. Little/no TV reception and phone connection only available by making hike further up the hill. The site runs parallel to the surprisingly busy B797.

The site is only 3 ½ miles of the M74, and at £ 10/night with electric (£ 8/night without) is ideal for a one night stop off travelling North or South.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

Perfect stopover on the way to Scotland, only about 10 minute easy drive from A74M.

Warm welcome and beautiful views. There is the CS area and also a rally field.

The facilities are basic but clean when we visited and at £10 a night with EHU or £7 without, a bargain. Cash payment only.

Sat nav might want to make turn left too early. Carry along the road and you will see the farm well before you reach it.

No wifi, patchy phone signal - it works if you walk across the bridge over the stream, turn right on the foot path and there is a hot spot. A lady was walking her dogs off lead there and it seemed a safe area with LOADS of rabbits. We saw Oyster catchers over there too.

They have a TV booster and we had good reception but only BBC1 and ITV, like being back in the 1960's!

We booked 1 night but 10 days later we were so fed up with midges in the Highlands, decided to head south a day earlier. I called, left a message to check there was room for us and I got a call back about an hour later to confirm

Thankfully very few midges there, when we got back.

It's not far from Lockerbie memorial garden which was moving but interesting with a little visitor centre and a very enthusiastic guide inside

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

The biggest 5 site we have ever been on. We counted at least 35 pitches!

Owners very nice facilities basic, would have been stretched if the site was full. A good clean wouldn't go amiss

Having said that we used our own facilities in the van so not an issue for us.

A very reasonable £10 per night

The site is in a lovely location with a fantastic river walk where dogs can run free.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dale3353 2 reviews from this member

This small site is in beautiful surroundings with a crystal clear beck running through it. Perfect for off lead dog rambles. The lady who we spoke to on the phone and who visited us on the site was lovely.

The facilities were awful. Cold water only, everywhere but the grimy showers and shower use was metered.

The nice lady explained to us that they planned to install a whole new facilities unit but from the reviews she has been telling people this for a couple of years. Fair enough, these things take time but what can't be explained away is the overflowing bin, spiders, long deceased daddy long legs and a toilet brush so disgusting ( crusty disgusting, not new disgusting) that I froze on the spot before making a hasty retreat.

Yes it is very cheap for a one night stopover but I would prefer to pay a bit more and have warm water in the washing up and washbasin/ toilet area. No. Even then I wouldn't have used the facilities because they were horrible. A good clean would improve them no end.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gwennol17 6 reviews from this member

This was our stopover on the way further up Scotland and is ideally situated for that. Good flat site and a ready welcome from the on site manager. We paid just £8 (no electric) for one night.

Loo block is being updated and at present looks rather grim from the outside. Inside however is absolutely fine. Manager came straight away when we had an issue with the shower.

Electric and water easily accessible.

Some great off site walks available through a gate on the site. Tracks went over the moor in both directions, so good for dog walking.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

I agree with Polly!

We had an overnight last week on our way home from Yorkshire. Friendly greeting but that was the only positive thing I could say about the site. The grass was long (over boot tops)and it was boggy underneath so we got very wet.

The toilets are a disgrace and could be considered dangerous with broken tiles, uneven floor and only cold water for handwash. They claim to have washing up but the kitchen was full of broken equipment. I did wonder what the piece of guttering which was hanging from the ceiling was for then discovered it went through the shower wall and looked as though it was for rainwater from the roof into the kitchen sink!

The site is listed as a CS in the Camping and Caravanning book but I understood that to be for 5 vans. I counted at least 6 unoccupied units, 5 tourers/motorhomes. This was in the field, there was a permanent static van on the approach and a motorhome by the gate.

This is definitely a site that I will be removing from my virtual brochure.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gini and George 2 reviews from this member

A gem of a site, stunning views and terrific walks. Situauted on a shooting estate which is 2 miles from Abington. Hotel, shop and post office here and 7 miles from Leadhills.

Hotel with good food open to non residents. A well stocked general store for your newspapers etc. Wildlife is fantastic and we got some lovely photos of Grouse with babies, Oyster catchers and Lapwings.

The owners were helpful and very pleasant. More than willing to spend a little time for a chat. Have booked again and will be back often.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site as an overnight stopover on route to Scotland. Good location - just a few miles off the motorway.

Enjoyed the surrounding countryside - walked along the grouse moor by the stream after a long drive.

Agree that the facilities are neglected - cobwebs, dead spiders lurking in the corners off the shower/loo/kitchen area and would recommend use your van facilities in preference!

However as a stopover for £9 a night it was ideal.

Looked lovely in the sun - not sure as good in poor weather!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PollyPeacock 3 reviews from this member

I have just come home early from this site. I paid for 2 days, but didn't even stay 24 hours.

What the other reviewers have said is all true - at £9 per night (for non-members) for a pitch with electric, it is VERY cheap, but I would have rather stayed at home. The people who own the site are nice enough and are hardly charging much, but they would be much better off charging more and investing in the place.

As it is, you have a field in the middle of nowhere with a fence around it (the stream that everyone talks of is over the other side of the fence and is the only thing there, apart from a few sheep dotted on the distant misty hills). The whole area looks a bit like parts of the Yorkshire moors. The owners live on a bungalow on the hill overlooking the field ('site') and her son and daughter in law live in a static in the site itself. There are a handful of tourers that seem to be pitched there for the season.

The field was mostly empty (apart from the seasonal tourers) but we were told to pitch right next to the entrance gate because they were spiking the grass with a tractor the next day.

We are not in the slightest house proud at home and are used to camping, even with a tent (we just recently got a caravan) but the facilities at this site were the most primitive we have come across in non-wild camping.

The toilet/shower/kitchen are so horrible as to be unusable. On entering the toilet / shower / kitchen block, my 5 year old said, 'This is disgusting!' I had to agree. There were dead insects everywhere. There was no hot water, either in the toilet or in the kitchen, which was in the same room as the shower!

It rained all night so in the morning, the field turned sodden. I tried and tried to get my caravan out (it had been difficult enough to get it in, even before it rained) before the owner's daughter-in-law came running down the field to say her mother-in-law had been on the 'phone to tell her to get me to stop. Basically, they told us off for ruining their field, then went off to get their tractor to pull us out. The son then also told us off for our driving in the wet field (as though we had deliberately wanted to be flailing around, getting our car and caravan covered in mud and ourselves stuck and in a panic!).

The people were nice enough (despite chastising us)- and we were glad they towed us out.

The site has the potential to be good, if you don't need to use the toilet/shower or kitchen and don't mind bland surroundings; or being pulled out of a muddy field with a tractor; it's very cheap and handy for the motorway (M74).

Management response: Lettershaws Farm is a Camping and Caravanning Club certificated site, rather than a full commercial site, and as the club itself notes, facilities can be basic. That said, as caravanners ourselves, we have over the years added electric hook ups, toilet facilities, TV signal distribution etc. to provide better service to our customers. We have many repeat visitors who come to Lettershaws to enjoy the quiet and tranquil surroundings of the Scottish countryside, and the site has repeatedly had positive feedback from other visitors. At just £9 a night, including hook up, we believe we offer a good value stay in the Clyde Valley area.

Given the British weather, there are times following heavy rain where we may ask a visitor to park in a particular spot, or hardstanding pitch, in order to avoid problems getting in or out- although the site is well drained, waterlogging is inevitable after the heavy rain of 2012. As the reviewer notes, during their stay we were about to aerate the grass on the site, to help dry the field out - but we accommodated the reviewer's request to pitch on grass rather than hardstanding. We do also help to tow anyone who is inexperienced at handling caravans in order to prevent damage to the grass, and more importantly to their car/caravan.

As our website, and maps of the area show, Lettershaws Farm is indeed in a very rural setting - nestled at the bottom of a valley between a heather moor and hill farm land. Despite being just 2.5 miles from the M74 motorway and an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow, our site offers visitors the chance to get away from it all for some peace and quiet - something which the vast majority of our visitors enjoy and savour the tranquillity.

We do recognise that improvement is required to the toilet facilities, and this is something which we will look at – in the mean time we have stepped up our cleaning and maintenance to avoid a repeat of such concerns.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Honk Honk 2 reviews from this member

It was our first time at a CL site and our 6th caravan holiday.

Lovely wee site, great location in the valley. Very flat pitches, we were on a grass pitch near the stream, it was pretty wet when we were there although the drainage was good and had no problems driving off site.

Toilets could be doing with a upgrade although they are tidy and clean.

We were charged £8. 50 per night which is great value for money and that's probably the reason the toilets are a portacabin.

Lovely walks along the stream, quiet site, will go again.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019