Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park)

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park) Reviews

River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park)
Leisure Park
Symonds Yat West
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6BY
Tel: 01600 890672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 55 Reviews
                5/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lynja3 1 review from this member

 Apparently I had a booking, but it was never confirmed to me in spite of several phone calls and emails. As a solo traveller being advised not to pitch up in the dark was totally inappropriate.

Site was level, but waterlogged due to heavy rain. Toilet block small but clean and tidy. Nice location.

I won't be putting myself through the uncertainty associated with trying to book a site here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulanddavid69 3 reviews from this member

 Eyewateringly expensive for what it is. Yes, the location is very nice; we had a riverside pitch.

But the vans are crammed together.

The toilet facilities are basic. You pay £1 for a shower.

The site is linked to a horribly run down and decayed amusement park of sorts.

We won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 First the pros (these are the three out of the ten)

A glorious location, and very easy to get to. The pitches are flat and level, not too close together. Borders the River Wye – beautiful. This should be (and we are told was at one time) as beautiful a site as you could find anywhere.

Then the cons (this is why only 3 out of ten)

The site is now sadly scruffy and uncared for. A couple of the buildings are so dilapidated they look as if they’re about to fall down. Benches and seats are dirty, look like they’re rarely cleaned.

There are two wash blocks. The cream one is tiny, scruffy, broken mirror, the grouting had lots of black. Soggy bits of carpet scattered on the floor that look like they could walk out on their own. Floor not clean.

The second block, the brown one, is smelly, both the men’s and women’s. Only one tap worked in the men’s and it was cold water only. The hand dryer didn’t work. We used this toilet once.

Alongside this block are the 2 bins. They were overfull, lids could only be half closed and we saw the staff start up a JCB type machine, lift the lids, and crush the contents down so more could go in. The smell could have stripped paint.

Footballs banging into tents and caravans is bad, bad, bad. On the one grass-only field, there was plenty of this. Thankfully we were not on this field. And loud music that could be heard 50 yards and more away – we were near one (I’m sorry to say they were from my home town Cardiff) where the ‘music’ went on from 8am to 9pm. Drove us nuts. In fact, drove us off the site – we spent little time on it. That was no bad thing though; this area is beautiful.

The staff were nice, but there were very few of them – no doubt that is the problem. On a site this size, you'd normally see a good few staff. We only saw three including the receptionist.

Not the worst site we’ve been on, but close to it. It could be perfect. We won’t be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alitimforman 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed bank holiday. Location of the site is great but that is all.

You are crammed in like sardines! Other campers had no respect for others with regard to noise, we were a group but were mindful of others. The toilet and shower facilities were awful dirty mouldy and you had to pay a £1 for a cold shower used them once couldn't bring ourselves to use them again they were that bad!

The management didn't care about the campers awful campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy11 6 reviews from this member

 We are a family and friends group booking and thought from the website we would all be together but electric hook up and non electric are separate which caused problems.

Tents were crammed in leaving no room between and the main field where the children were supposed to be able to play with a ball was being used as a car park.

There are nowhere near enough shower/toilet facilities for the amount of people on site. The shower cubicles are dirty and there is no room to get dried and dressed in a dry area. The mens shower/toilet block nearest to us has three toilets, two urinals and two showers. The ladies shower/toilet block has just two toilets and two showers which we had to queue for and we also had to queue just to wash our hands! To add insult showers cost £1 and constantly vary between hot and cold.

Two of our group are disabled but could not shower as the cubicles did not have seating.

The amusements arcade if it could be called such, was filthy with many broken machines. Two members of staff were just sitting by the door smoking and their smoke was wafting in.

We brought our own kayaks and had to pay £2 to launch each one which was not mentioned on the website.

This site is so very run down. With a bit of thought and a lot of tlc this could be a fabulous site with its great situation, a good pub next door, lovely walks and lots to do in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigela8 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site, level pitch, on site was shop, amusement arcade and bar. Lovely views close to river. We stayed on family field. However the family next to us was very loud well into the early hours. The toilet block needs cleaning and up dating to say the least. We intend to go back again and hopefully get quieter neighbours.

They need more water points and although there appear to be three toilet blocks (very old) only one is open. The staff were quite helpful and friendly.

Showers are £1. 00 which was not good as they were very poor quality and as stated above they needed cleaning. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annamarie22 1 review from this member

 We camped in the family field for the bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The site is in a great location and convenient for walking, cycling and local attractions. The butterfly park, maize and crazy golf is next to the site and perfect for families.

The site was reasonably quiet and the atmosphere on the site very friendly.

The site facilities are not so great, they are outdated and tired. There were only two female toilets because the toilets in the family field had been vandalised and not repaired. Two toilets was not sufficient for a busy bank holiday weekend. The showers were not very nice and were cold. £1 for a cold shower is poor. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 A lovely pitch by the river for us you do pay extra for this on a site that is mainly seasonal pitches and a big camping field(please make sure you go to Symonds Yat West not East) the toilet and shower facilities are adequate but could do with a bit of TLC. There is wash up sinks and a washing machine. No shop on site but a gift and grocery shop that sells anything you may need with newspapers local products and coffee to take away, in the village you have to walk round over the bridge across dual carriage way to get there. There is an amusement arcade with lots for children, boat trips and café. Close to the entrance is a lovely hotel, maize, butterfly house with café and a lovely church. We walked along the river to the ferry inn about 30 minutes for us crinklies. Lovely place very old well worth a visit good food and there is a pull along ferry if you want to cross the river. We enjoyed it the weather was good to us. Lots of walks in the area also canoeing and fishing there is a a bus stop next to the shop. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs.withstandards 5 reviews from this member

 I can't believe I'm on the same site as other reviewers. We stayed riverside in a motorhome and was pleased with our pitch, which gave brilliant views of the Canadian geese, swans and all the traffic on the river. A couple of hundred yards walk from the van took us to the boats for a river trip with a running commentary which was interesting. On our return we were able to go to the pub (about a 100 yards) and have a snack. There is an amusement arcade, ice cream and plenty of space for picnics with tables. It is a bit tired but clean. We shall definitely return! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TubznMoon 1 review from this member

 I was going to symonds yat east and went to the wrong site, I arrived and I was welcomed by a nice man very friendly and helpful, my pitch was great under a tree with lots of space around me.

The toilets were fine, the shower was hot and powerful enough (my pound lasted longer than my 8 minute shower).

There is a bar/bistro and another bar next door, all staff were nice and friendly, the food was good enough, nothing spectacular but no complaints, the beer was cold and £3 a pint (good enough).

There's a fridge and a washing machine and washing up facilities, the waters very hot!

The toilets we're cleaned regularly and always had toilet roll (it's the little things).

I left my essentials in the fridge and my beer & wine for 4 days without a problem.

All in all I loved the place as it's a small slice of British paradise with fantastic scenery.

Charging my phone was not a problem weather in the bar or the office or even in one of the seasonal residents caravans, everyone was glad to make my stay better, the arcade will be great for the kids and I recommend you try out the canoeing, very pleasant indeed.

This is my opinion only but I'll be returning soon

Oh and wifi over a lot of the camp the office wifi and the Bistro bar have it (free)

Also the Bistro owner made a decent effort for the football massive screen free chips can't be bad 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is River Wye Camping ( Symonds Yat Caravan And Camping Park) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2994 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement