Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park
Llangynog Road
Snowdonia
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7PH
Tel: 01678 520549
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful staff greeted us and made us very welcome. This is a pretty, well-tended site. A bit of road noise but not intrusive. You will need chocks almost everywhere.

The steam railway is a couple of minutes walk. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes where there is a wide range of pubs and restaurants to suit every taste and pocket.

The owners send you an email listing recommendations and discounts. The cafe at the Yacht Club (lakeside and a five minute walk) gives a 10% discount on all meals.

The site is good value at 17 pn.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trampbeard 1 review from this member

Brand new to camping and I couldn't have chosen a better first time site.

From arrival the girl on reception explained where my pitch was, where the various facilities where and how to park. She also gave directions to Bala which was a 15 minute walk away.

The site itself is landscaped on a slope and tiered over several levels, with mostly tents at the top and caravans and motorhomes at the bottom. The tent pitches are a good size, mostly level but do have a slight slope but nothing that will turn your sleeping bag into a sled through your tent door.

There is a small shop on site with all the basics and some camping gear such as pegs, mallets etc.

WiFi is available at a very reasonable rate and had a good connection across the whole site. Firepits are also available to hire from reception.

The showers are free, hot (even at 5:30am) and work off a push button. Both the showers and toilets are always spotless. The washing up area is right outside the shower block and again has plenty of hot water. It is a steepish slope from the top of the site to the bottom though if you have any walking difficulties.

Whilst I was there it was hot and sunny, overcast and also raining. At no point did the pitches or gravel roads become muddy or boggy.

A lot of the people there seem to go back year upon year, but as a first time camper and being on my own, was I made to feel like an unwelcome intrusion.

All in all an excellent choice for my first introduction into the wonderful world of camping.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beckywellsearp 16 reviews from this member

Great little site, quite and peaceful, very close to the lake which you can swim and paddle in. Bala has what you need, lots of pubs and a few shops. The site was easy to find, we booked months ago as week required three weeks. There are lots of walking opportunities. A small train runs along side the lake. Nice for a slow paced break if that's what your after. The site is very clean and tidy. Would definitely come here again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rarea 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned home from this site and have enjoyed our time there. They managed to find us a space even though we had only called at very short notice and at the beginning of school holidays. Showers, toilets, and washing up area were always clean and well supplied with hot water, even though the site was busy there were enough facilities to always be available. (some other sites should take note). Staff were friendly and helpful. Although when we first drove onto site, it looked busy but it was deceptive as the pitches are tiered and there was plenty or space. Great area to visit walking to town and short drive to other attractions, good walks and lake bala to fish/boat/paddle in. Would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nutshell53 1 review from this member

We thought this was a great campsite, one of the best we have used in the UK. The camping pitches have been levelled as best they can but we still had a bit of a slope once we had pitched our tent. The track beside the camping area doesn't usually have any traffic, but since this is a working farm we did have a few noisy tractors and trailers very early in the morning - it was not really a problem.

The toilet block is one of the best, very clean with washing cubicles and good hot showers, and with washing up sinks outside.

The location was ideal for us. You can walk into Bala, for shopping or to eat, in about 15 minutes, so you don't need to get in the car and drive. The Bala Lake Railway is just around the corner. There are goods walks around the lake from the campsite, and lots of other attractions within a reasonable drive. It's a pity the local tourist office has closed down, as the nearest one is now in Betws-y-Coed.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 7 reviews from this member

Nice site, I did not like the allocated pitch but was allowed to change, nothing to dislike. We never go in school holidays The noise from the road could be heard but was not a bother. A reasonable walk in to town to a choice of restaurants. Suffered from midge bites though from walking by the lake in the evening.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 73 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights there over a weekend and I was a bit worried it would be busy and noisy.

Busy, yes. It was full to bursting, but I felt the site looked better completely full. Beautifully kept and glorious spring colour from the many trees full of blossom.

Noisy, no. It was so peaceful and all the kids there seemed well-behaved.

The facility blocks were pristine, the showers very hot, though the dreaded plunger buttons only lasted for around 15 seconds and the flow from the sinks was so limited, it would take ages to fill up for a decent wash.

The young lady on reception and shop was very welcoming and charming and the whole atmosphere was very friendly.

And location-wise it was great, although the road noise was a bit disturbing at times. Very handy for walking into the town, the nearby heritage railway and as a base for cycling the many steep hills in the area!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

We visited this site during the Easter school holidays.

On arrival we were greated by a very friendly young lady who checked us in and gave us all the necessary information.

Our pitch was plenty large enough for our 4 birth caravan, awning and car. Toilets and showers were great, always very clean and the showers always delivered plenty of hot water.

First night was rather noisy, due to a group of inconsiderate caravanner's who decided to have a mini party until after midnight. It would have been nice if the owners has confronted them about this, especially as the site rules say quiet after 10:30pm! luckily the noisy people left the site the following day.

The location of the site is brilliant. Just a five minute walk from Bala lake and 15 minute walk from Bala town.

In all, a great site that we'd definitely return to.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 30 reviews from this member

We stayed on this lovely site for 5 nights. We were given a friendly welcome and offered a choice of a different pitch as the pitch we had booked was a little wet due to the recent rain. The toilet block was extremely clean and well looked after. The showers were the push button type but I didn't find this a problem. The wash cubicles were a great advantage. The site is very peaceful, with lots of bird life, although there is some traffic noise from the road if you are on the side of the site adjacent to it. There is not much lighting on the site so a good torch is a must.

Bala is just a short walk from the site, as is the lake. There is a Co-op and a Spar and Roberts, the butchers, is to be recommended.

If you want to launch your own boat or kayak, go to the car park on the other side of the lake where you can purchase a permit for much less than you will be quoted at the boating club.

Unfortunately, the weather was against us this trip but will return to this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SvEg 1 review from this member

We were let down by Glanllyn Caravan and Camping Site (simply refused space on arrival, despite booking in advance, because our VAN would damage their grass) and late in the evening were driving around trying to find somewhere to stay. Reception at Pen Y Bont was already closed, however the lady answered the door bell and warmly welcomed us. This is what you can call immensely helpful and highly professional staff. Stayed at the camping site for a couple of days and had really great time. Our boy was extremely excited! The camping site itself is very well equipped and managed, also clean and tidy. Around are beautiful views and lots of different activities including water activities. Would be definitely recommending Pen Y Bont to others and looking forward to stay there again

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1141 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019