Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park
Llangynog Road
Snowdonia
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7PH
Tel: 01678 520549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 156 Reviews
                9/10 from 156 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  156 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisrob70 1 review from this member

 Beautiful we often return to. Well kept, chilled and friendly. Mixture of tents, caravans and on site gypsy clamping caravans. We always take our tent and get an electric hook up.

Toilet block is spacious and cleaned regularly. Office has a small shop on site. Bala lake is a short 5 min walk away and the town is just a little further.

Highly recommend to those wanting a beautiful small clean site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Millie0 1 review from this member

 Warmest of welcomes by lovely site staff to a very well maintained, pretty little campsite close to so many lovely areas to explore.

From the minute we arrived to the moments we left, nothing was too much trouble 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brian-A 10 reviews from this member

 Friendly site in an excellent location. Many walks and dog walks and the narrow-guage train right on the doorstep and Bala itself only 15 minutes walk.

The site is well drained (we had our awning on the grass and after 3 days of heavy rain there was no flooding).

Toilets and showers are a bit old (push button showers with a communal drain) but clean enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aceselect 13 reviews from this member

 The site itself is very pretty and well kept. Lots of hardstanding pitches, although not all perfectly level and grass pitches for campervans and tents. They do not allow caravans on grass pitches.

We had a very poor welcome to be honest, we were given an envelope and told that everything we need to know was in there. It was a photocopied list of how gas and carbon monoxide can kill in a tent and awning and a price list of items that they sell in the little on site shop, no site rules etc.

We didnít like our pitch but the manager the following day said they would look at it and give us a call later in the day, this never happened. So we spent a week on a pitch with the main road behind us, which although is quiet at night, is busy with speeding traffic in the day. Traffic also starts at about 4 to 5am, so if your pitch backs into the road, earplugs would be a good investment.

The facilities are clean but not spotless, lots of cobwebs and cubicle frames etc that could do with a clean and on occasions had a very unpleasant smell. There are showers and toilets, a laundry and pot wash area, although on one night a group of cyclists were washing all their laundry in the pot wash sinks and then hanging it up around the pot wash area. Not the sites fault though.

All that said, the site is ideally located for Bala and Bala lake and also, as we did, perfect for visiting other towns etc in North Wales. The miniature railway is a couple of minutes walk from the site entrance and the town of Bala about 15 mins walk away.

The on site shop sells essentials, but the coop in town is a good place to stock up. All in all not a bad stay but couldnít say if we would go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mozzer1966 3 reviews from this member

 Great location and super clean facilities, great level hard standing pitches,

Owner super friendly could not do enough I had a problem getting TV service but soon sorted with a new aerial from the well equipped shop on site

approx 15 minutes walk into Bala town and to the lake 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 54 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff greeted us and made us very welcome. This is a pretty, well-tended site. A bit of road noise but not intrusive. You will need chocks almost everywhere.

The steam railway is a couple of minutes walk. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes where there is a wide range of pubs and restaurants to suit every taste and pocket.

The owners send you an email listing recommendations and discounts. The cafe at the Yacht Club (lakeside and a five minute walk) gives a 10% discount on all meals.

The site is good value at £17 pn. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trampbeard 1 review from this member

 Brand new to camping and I couldn't have chosen a better first time site.

From arrival the girl on reception explained where my pitch was, where the various facilities where and how to park. She also gave directions to Bala which was a 15 minute walk away.

The site itself is landscaped on a slope and tiered over several levels, with mostly tents at the top and caravans and motorhomes at the bottom. The tent pitches are a good size, mostly level but do have a slight slope but nothing that will turn your sleeping bag into a sled through your tent door.

There is a small shop on site with all the basics and some camping gear such as pegs, mallets etc.

WiFi is available at a very reasonable rate and had a good connection across the whole site. Firepits are also available to hire from reception.

The showers are free, hot (even at 5:30am) and work off a push button. Both the showers and toilets are always spotless. The washing up area is right outside the shower block and again has plenty of hot water. It is a steepish slope from the top of the site to the bottom though if you have any walking difficulties.

Whilst I was there it was hot and sunny, overcast and also raining. At no point did the pitches or gravel roads become muddy or boggy.

A lot of the people there seem to go back year upon year, but as a first time camper and being on my own, was I made to feel like an unwelcome intrusion.

All in all an excellent choice for my first introduction into the wonderful world of camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beckywellsearp 16 reviews from this member

 Great little site, quite and peaceful, very close to the lake which you can swim and paddle in. Bala has what you need, lots of pubs and a few shops. The site was easy to find, we booked months ago as week required three weeks. There are lots of walking opportunities.

A small train runs along side the lake. Nice for a slow paced break if that's what your after. The site is very clean and tidy. Would definitely come here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rarea 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned home from this site and have enjoyed our time there. They managed to find us a space even though we had only called at very short notice and at the beginning of school holidays.

Showers, toilets, and washing up area were always clean and well supplied with hot water, even though the site was busy there were enough facilities to always be available. (some other sites should take note).

Staff were friendly and helpful. Although when we first drove onto site, it looked busy but it was deceptive as the pitches are tiered and there was plenty or space.

Great area to visit walking to town and short drive to other attractions, good walks and lake bala to fish/boat/paddle in. Would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nutshell53 1 review from this member

 We thought this was a great campsite, one of the best we have used in the UK. The camping pitches have been levelled as best they can but we still had a bit of a slope once we had pitched our tent.

The track beside the camping area doesn't usually have any traffic, but since this is a working farm we did have a few noisy tractors and trailers very early in the morning - it was not really a problem.

The toilet block is one of the best, very clean with washing cubicles and good hot showers, and with washing up sinks outside.

The location was ideal for us. You can walk into Bala, for shopping or to eat, in about 15 minutes, so you don't need to get in the car and drive. The Bala Lake Railway is just around the corner.

There are goods walks around the lake from the campsite, and lots of other attractions within a reasonable drive. It's a pity the local tourist office has closed down, as the nearest one is now in Betws-y-Coed. 


Previous     156 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pen Y Bont Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


18693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020