Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park)

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Masham > Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park) > Reviews

Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park)
Fearby
Masham
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 4NF
Tel: 01765 689477
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 72 Reviews
                5/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Biosdoctor 4 reviews from this member

 The site is just outside Masham in a pretty village, Fearby. Located behind the Black Swan Pub, the site slopes down with a horseshoe gravel circuit with a toilet / potwash block in the middle.

I noticed there was no security barrier/gate/chain which was a concern.

We were allocated a pitch at the bottom of the hill and quickly got set up. I was surprised at a charge for an awning (I must lead a sheltered life).

We were there for Easter weekend and the following week and expected the site to be busy, but it was in my opinion far too crowded, with units and campers packed in. We were unlucky with our opposite neighbours who had loud "boom boom" music playing the first Saturday and Sunday to entertain the 3 families with 5 dogs and numerous kids.

The crowded site meant we suffered power cuts across the first weekend presumably as the site couldn't handle the occupancy.

Once the Easter weekend was over I found the facilities good. The showers were clean and hot, the chemical waste facility was adequate, but at the top of the hill, which as a pensioner necessitated carrying the toilet cassette in the car boot to empty.

The site needs more drinking water taps and waste water disposal.

The only other observation regarding facilities was the bins were packed and overflowing for the duration of our stay which may have been due to the Easter break. 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Theash 1 review from this member

 Out biking trip was a disaster.

We couldn’t use the electricity for cooking, heating, or charging our bike batteries as it would trip the system.

No hosepipe for cleaning the bikes and no answer on the contact number over the weekend. This issue was the same for the vehicles left and right of ourselves.

We ended up having to pay for electric and use our own gas. If we turned everything off we could use one item at a time except the George Foreman Grill which has never failed on any other site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JanTiggy 2 reviews from this member

 Loved the location, pub on site served great food and drink,

Friendly polite staff and owner,

Toilet and shower facilities great very clean,

Site well maintained.

If we could have had access to wifi would have been nice

But all in all was a fabulous weekend break

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Harleyfatboy 1 review from this member

 Good location. Relatively expensive.

No lights in shower block

Will not be returning I am afraid

Didn't try the restaurant so cannot coonent.

Good location 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Campergranny 1 review from this member

 Liked location, nice views. Disliked toilet block, dirty, never cleaned, pot wash you get wet feet, when you pull plug dirty water goes all over feet, rubbish bins overflowing,

Too crowded, vans parked very close together, not a very warm welcome, we were put in the middle section of the site on the slope, if you don't have ramps look for rocks to try and level up.

Couldn't find the dog walks for awnings and vans being close together obscuring the entrance, didn't want to go tramping through the middle of them with two dogs, not the campers fault.

Will not be going back, quite expensive for very poor dirty facilities.

Can't comment about pub as didn't go in. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pen21 8 reviews from this member

 The location of the site is great - lots of walking straight from the site and it's always handy to be close to a pub.

But. I used UKcampsite to find a site with toilets and showers (my caravan is very small and has no amenities) and this site came up. I then emailed the site direct to ask the owner if a pitch was available, which it was, I then paid for my pitch in advance using the Black Swan website. We then rocked up, set up the caravan and awning and then went to find the toilet block only to find the toilet block was closed!

I went into the pub to ask about the amenities and the owner was very off hand and said the toilets had been closed since July and it was clearly marked on his website. When I said I had chosen his site through UKcamping which stated that his site has WC and showers he said that wasn't his problem as he didn't pay for his listing on UKcampsite and it had nothing to do with him. When I asked what was I going to do (3 days keeping my legs crossed was going to be a challenge) he said I could use the toilets in the pub during pub opening hours.

I suppose that was something but I was pretty upset - he completely lacked any empathy and was emphatic that it was clearly stated on his website and this was not his problem and entirely my own fault. I was upset but couldn't argue with him about this as I'd just gone on to his website to pay so may well have missed the statement on his website - but now, looking a his website on the right hand side of the home page' underneath Facilities it states that WC and Showers are available - so I've no idea where on his website it states the facilities are closed.

If you're looking for a site with a pleasant owner then this is not the site for you. It's really overpriced considering there are no facilities, there is still a pot wash point - but the u-bend had become dislodged so when I pulled the plug the dirty water went all over my feet.

The waste and recycling area is overflowing and you need to hold your breath when going there. The site is on a steep slope but to be fair, that is on the UKcampsite description and we did manage to get a pitch towards the bottom of the site which is fairly level.

I can completely understand why he's closed the toilets and showers if he doesn't have the resources to clean them regularly but he needs to make it really, really clear on his website and when emailing just mention at the bottom of his emails that there are currently no amenities and lower his prices to acknowledge this. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sk8128 1 review from this member

 Very steep site unable to get our unit level.

Campsite over crowded and electrics on site kept tripping.

Toilet block not clean and not enough facilities for number of people. Bins over flowing with waste. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Goffey two 1 review from this member

 For the price this was a disgrace. The toilet blocks in both the men and women's had one toilet 'out of order'. We where only there 24 hours and never saw them cleaned. The waste and rubbish bins where overflowing. Disgusting.

We had a evening meal with a drink and the pride was ridiculous. The staff where not over friendly apart from Scott, the bar man. He was professional, friendly and I would agree with one of the locals. If it wasn't for him we would have asked for our money back.

As other reviews say 'don't book'. Absolutely atrocious. Worst value for money ever. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davebentham 1 review from this member

 Not really for Motorhomes

Positive

Managed to get a pitch with a very good view and there were nice walks going straight from the site.

Negative

Inflated pub prices to negate any advantage of using the complimentary vouchers.

Could only use one voucher a night.

No facility for grey water waste (basic requirement for long stay)

Dated toilet block with not enough hanging/storage space in showers and not cleaned enough.

People thinking its OK for dog fouling around your pitch when eating outside.

Ridiculously sloping pitches.

Bins overflowing.

No Wi-Fi as advertised. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oneof8 10 reviews from this member

 This site is ok really BUT very over priced!

The pros, the shower block was clean and had plenty of hot water. The site was pretty quiet all of the time not just after 11 pm.

The cons, £28 a night for a tent with 2 people and no electric hookup! If you book with them direct, they give you a £5 voucher to use in their restaurant.

But, you can't use it for breakfast or use more than 1 a time and you have to pre book the restaurant when you want to said voucher.

The 'owner' is not terribly friendly and saw our arrival as an inconvenience - at nearly £30 a night a smile wouldn't be a hardship surely?

There are no other facilities which would make you think 'Aah, that's why it's so expensive ' no play park, no free board games or books - they may have had these in the pub, but the surly owner and voucher fiasco meant we never went in there. My daughter asked me if the showers were gold plated, played music and dried you with special dryers after each shower. Er no.

I don't think we'll stay again, primarily because of the price to be honest. If we could've used the voucher for breakfast, I think we would've used them and had breakfast in the restaurant each morning. We gave it a miss and went elsewhere, so they missed out on our custom that weekend. Poor call Black Swan. 4 breakfasts, 4 evening meals and drinks adds up to around £100 of income they missed out on. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Black Swan Country Park ( Was Black Swan Holiday Park) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Masham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement