Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Port Eynon > Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd) Reviews

Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd)
Seafront
Port Eynon
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1NN
Tel: 01792 390795
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 144 Reviews
                8/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 25 reviews from this member

 Great location - easy walks to the beach and cliff paths and some pitches have great views.

Facilities were clean and plenty of showers so no queues. An uphill trudge with loo cassettes to the disposal point.

Staff very friendly - they found us a hook-up when we thought we might have to do without.

We left early as there was an influx of families for the weekend and we felt some of these were escaping local Lockdowns. It looked like the site would be full so we got out without taking the chance.

Local fish and chip shop was very good and the ice creams excellent.

The pub was OK - food looked pricey. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adamsm261160wat 1 review from this member

 This site had really friendly and helpful staff and there was plenty of room provided for our Motorhome.

The facilities were clean and convenient.

Would recommend and definitely coming back again soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roger Stoakley 4 reviews from this member

 Weíve just returned from a wonderful break at this great site. Our pitch had wonderful views over the bay, and the service and facilities were excellent. Perhaps the only downside was the showers. There were no shelves in the cubicle.

It really is family friendly, and they mean it. While there, two caravans with families behaved anti-socially, and were required to leave.

The beach near the campsite is ok near the town, but much better at the far end. By far the best two beaches

Were at Rhossili and Three Cliff, both just a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliec264347uqu 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful clean site overlooking sea. Lovely little village with 2 pubs fish and chip shops.

Narrow lanes but worth going to.

Very friendly and helpful site would definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Esjj 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic trip we had.

Great, friendly staff couldnít have been more helpful.

Our children warmed to them and the staff were more than happy to have a little banter with them daily.

The facilities were clean and the family bathroom made showering with two little kiddies in tow, very easy.

The pitches were well spaced and we were lucky to have a sea view as well as really nice neighbours on site!

All in all a great campsite and one we recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Suzy52 1 review from this member

 We visited this site at the beginning of September and paid £35 per night believing we were getting good value for money with clean and updated facilities. The views from the site are indeed spectacular and this is what you pay for. There are two bathroom blocks at the top of the hill in the first two fields. You must walk to them and are not allowed to take your car up there.

The first field has new upgraded facilities with toilets you can get in and out of easily. The showers however have no wHere to store clothes and shoes to keep them dry and in fact only have two hooks - one on the wall and one on the door. Both get splashed from the showers which have a good strong flow.

The block in the second field has a variety of size shower cubicles which hold 3 pegs for clothes on the door and one on the wall. I used the same cubicle three days running and it was not cleaned in all that time. It had wrappings and piles of hair all over the floor plus dirt and sand in the trays.

The toilets in this block are so small it is difficult to get in or out of them. Toilet brushes are left on the floor without a holder which I consider is unsanitary. The toilets were not clean and sinks also had scum around the bowls. They were cleaned after I complained about them - the excuse being they had a new member of staff who did not know how to go about cleaning them. When I asked why they had not kept a check on his standards of cleanliness they said they had but clearly hadnít.

From that point on though the toilets were closed once a day only And the ladies was always between 7:30 to 9 am and never the same time every morning meaning that you had to walk across two fields of long grass that was only partly cut once in the whole 10 days of our stay - in order to have a shower. When challenged he said he cleaned them twice a day but I never ever saw them closed more than once a day and at the most inconvenient time. Ens were closed directly after.

Surely in Covid times they should have been inspected every 4 hours and closed a minimum of twice a day to ensure visitors safety. Most sites close 5he toilets at around 11:30 am and again after the rush at around 7 pm to ensure the showers are clean in 5he morning and not to inconvenience their visitors.

There was a shop on site that sold a few essentials. There is no WiFi on site and to link to a WiFi provider you need to stand behind the house to purchase WiFi. I managed to purchase 1 day because the features would not work properly with such poor WiFi. It cost £2.88 and took me 30 minutes to connect to. I entered the link but was still unable to link to the WiFi unless I stood behind the house. It was absolute rubbish and I got no assistance from the Manager and his wife at all. I was on 02 and that doesnít pick up there but my friend was on Three and had full phone and WiFi coverage.

Most nights we were in bed by 10 am. Two nights we tried for fish and chips in the village. The first both fish and chip shops were closed and the second time they had no fish only sausage both shops are owned by the site owner who is a miserable little man. One night we stayed up un5il just before 11 pm and a complaint was made about us to the Manager. The fact that it was another group up until 1 pm laughing and joking in the early hours and talking in the later didnít seem to matter.

The site apparently had rules as long as your arm. Luckily they forgot to give us a copy.

I would not recommend this site as good value for money. The pitches are grass only and not serviced other than with electrics.

The only thing good I can say about the site is that pitches are spacious but they are definitely over priced. They charge you An extra £5 a night to bring your car on site and £8 a night for each Additional person More than 2. 


Date of Visit: June 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Portta41959iyg 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately was not able to visit the campsite this year because of Corona. We are hoping that next year things will be much better and we are able to visit Great Britain.

We definitely intend to book Skysea again. We always had a good time there the years before.

All are very friendly and helpful. Greetings from Germany. Hope all in your team are well. Take care. Margarita Ermsich 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pierrelafeet 2 reviews from this member

 Breathtaking views and so close to the fantastic beach at Port Eynon.

Great site, quiet and peaceful. Strict rules on groups etc so guaranteed no noise/music etc.

Recommend highly! 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Poppytop 1 review from this member

 Everything is to like about this dog-friendly site from the friendly staff approach to the cleanliness of the site and facilities and the fact that it is so near to the beach of Port Eynon with interesting walks along the coastline.

Perhaps our only niggle is the shower cubicles had but one hook. A shelf to put shampoo on would be a bonus as, perhaps, somewhere to put your glasses would be. Even two hooks would help. Beautifully clean though but, for me, the shower was a tad too hot (fine for my wife) so a shame its not temperature adjustable.

On the whole, couldn't recommend highly enough.

PS don't bother with the wi-fi unless you are parked next to the transmitter! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 55 reviews from this member

 It's all about the location and view - very busy site during Spring bank holiday week. The first field behind reception was very tightly packed and looked a little too much like a refugee camp.

However, we chose the furthest field which is the quietest but is quite a trek to the facilities. The field is on quite a slope but with chocks we managed to get fairly level and had great views of the bay. There are level pitches nearest to the beach (some but not all with sea views) which were permanently occupied - a very popular choice for motorhomers.

There is one bar in the village which looked great and was busy. There is only one shop which served as grocer, baker and tourist/beach sales. Best to stock up on essentials before you get there. Two chip shops but didn't use. New shower block was excellent.

Indoor wash-up room. Great walks direct from the site. We walked to Rhosilli/Worms Head (about 8 miles) and got the bus back. Also managed to find Culver Hole with a bit of effort and guesswork (located just the other side of the headland via a footpath that seems to disappear off the cliff. £27 a night for 1 adult, 1 child and 1 dog (non-ehu). 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Skysea Caravan & Camping Site (was Carreglwyd) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Port Eynon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement