Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park
Relubbus Lane
St Hilary
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR20 9EF
Tel: 01736 76 33 26
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39
Open: 1st March - 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee + Caroline 9 reviews from this member

 Well kept, attractive site and a very warm, friendly welcome on arrival. Really clean toilet/showers. Small shop for the essentials but we didnít need to use it as there is a Morrisons just the far side of Marazion.

We had a level hard standing pitch with an open grassed area in front - pitches are positioned around the outside of the site so it doesnít feel crowded, and there is a large grassed area for tents and also three static mobile homes for rent. Cars are parked a short distance from the pitches.

We look forward to returning to try the newly built bistro, and I believe there are plans for a new shower/toilet block.

Friendly pub in the next village (the Trevelyan Arms), and delicious sausage rolls and pasties from the bakery if you visit St Agnes!

Ideally placed for visiting Kynance Cove (arrive as soon as the tide goes out. It has a popular cafe just above the beach selling enormous pasties!), the Tin Coast (we were glad we purchased the small leaflet produced by the NT at Botallack which gave the history and explained what we were seeing), Minack theatre, Trelissick, St Agnes, St Ives, Praa Sands beach.

A lovely holiday and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martinandjudy 1 review from this member

 Martin and I have just enjoyed 2 wonderful weeks at the above site, beautiful surroundings well kept and very peaceful.

Congratulations to the owners on the opening of a Bistro, which offers breakfast and delicious meals in the evening,

The owners Craig and Jean are always very helpful, so happy with our stay there, and looking forward to staying next year,

As well as a perfect site close to St Michaels Mount and Beautiful surrounding beaches, PERFECT, 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clyde70-001 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here, Jean is very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble to help.

The site is very clean and toilet/ showers are spotless. If you want peice and quite this is the place for it and the location is good for Penzance or porthleven directions and not far to some beaches being only a few mins in the car.

All in all a great site and looking forward to return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Leeb2801 5 reviews from this member

 Peaceful, Tranquil, clean, tidy and very well organized. We stayed for 13 nights at this lovely site. Location wise it was a short 20 min walk to the local amenities in the very quaint village where there are two nice pubs both serving food.

There is a village shop which supplies much of what a camper requires but if you don't want to walk, the site offers a small but well stocked supply of. 'damn, I forgot to pack. ' essentials!

The owners are new and are trying to balance maintaining the high, firm standards of the old owners with making their own mark on the place, something they are most likely to achieve given a little time, so far it is promising.

I note a previous comment that the signage is a little harsh, something which was leftover from the previous owners, but in my opinion, something that is sometimes required for those who lack the ability to read a sign or two for the benefit and convenience of others. Anyway, no to prattle on about other people.

Showers

Cleaned very regularly, hot and free to use, not something that all money grabbing owners offer. A mop is supplied to clean out your mess ready for the next customer.

Toilets

Very clean and fresh. Toilet cleaner provided in all cubicles allowing you clean up your own mess, along with a cloth and spray cleaner for the sinks. It was nice that these were being used by others for everyone's comfort.

Site

Very quiet, regularly maintained to a very high standard (perhaps the lawnmower was in use a little too much but that is just my opinion, that said, it wouldn't stand for being neglected very long}. The pitches are quite well spaced, however it is left to each customer to limit how far they impeach other pitches.

Kept to a small boundary this could be avoided (perhaps a small section of picket fencing to mark out the boundary?)Electric hook up was adequately positioned along with water supply taps around the perimeter, as well as a central communal brick barbecue, which did not see use whilst we were there.

Other amenities include a laundry room, disabled access showers, a washing up room and a very well stocked tourist information room which also contains some games to borrow for inclement weather days.

Access

This, in my opinion, is the only real downside. Entering the site is simple from the village, a little hair raising from the other side as the site entrance is located on a blind bend. Leaving the site is a little dicey as the right bend is completely obscured by the building itself and with no convex mirrors adjacent to the property, looking for oncoming traffic is impossible, a 'close your eyes and put your foot down scenario' (I do not endorse this manner of driving. )

Perhaps in the future a mirror would completely alleviate this risk. We were assured there have been no incidents but it is, all the same, a concern. That said, a simple word with the owner on leaving and she will stand in the road and risk her life to let you leave!

Overall, we loved the site, no real negatives, the only noise coming from the nightly badger activities and the wood pigeons, but that's nature for you. Also a rather impressive bird of prey (I believe a sparrow hawk) was visiting, lots to see if you look.

Jean and Craig have taken on a well established going concern and so far they are doing a sterling job of maintaining and improving, given time they will personalize it, making it an even better place to visit. Thank you for all your help and attentive customer service, which will be very hard to match anywhere else in the country! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheshire blue 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful two weeks camping at the Wayfarers site. The new owners are very helpful and run an extremely well organised and spotlessly clean site.

Nothing seems to be too much trouble, even 'blitzing' a can of tomatoes when there was no passata in the shop.

Within an easy drive to most attractions and the food at the Falmouth Packet was wonderful, 5 min drive away well worth a visit.

Will definitely return here when we next visit Cornwall.

Good luck with your new venture

Steve and Lesley. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manglemender 6 reviews from this member

 A well maintained and peaceful site located close to Penzance. Grass pitches for tents but potential visitors should be aware that these are mostly under trees - liked by some but generally a bad idea.

We chose this site specifically because it is Adults Only and it is, as a consequence, very tranquil and you don't get woken up early by other peoples children.

The toilet and shower facilities are good and cleaned regularly but you may need to queue at busy times.

There are two pubs about 1 mile down and at least one serves food (didn't try the other). Better food can be had a little further away at The Falmouth Packet.

Some of the notices posted around the place might be worded a bit harshly and may come across as aggressive eg. 'EXCUSE ME' written in very large lettering above a request. I hope that the owners will consider revising some of the notices. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robcav 1 review from this member

 Our fourth visit to the wonderful Wayfarers which is situated in a lovely part of Cornwall, convenient for excursions to many places of interest. The owners of this adult only, dog free, caravan park are very helpful and the facilities are extremely well kept. The pitches are well spaced and look onto an open green area. It's a brilliant place to relax and pubs and shops are within easy reach.

Rob and Julia 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave139 7 reviews from this member

 Visited Wayfarers July/August for two weeks, what can I say about this wonderful site, Adults only, dog free, makes this site very quite, its also like being in a tropical setting with landscaped setting, pitches are large enough for your Caravan and awning with the car being parked away from the vans but always in view, Owners very helpful, Toilets/showers always clean and tidy, short walk to the village for basic things, also local pubs to chose from, numerous places to visit, Penzance, Marazion only a few miles away, numerous Beaches not to far away, will be visiting this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Missfi 7 reviews from this member

 So, we visited here for three nights. The site was spotless, the owners friendly. Everything was well thought out, clean, neat. I cannot fault them or the site.

It was beyond peaceful, the other people friendly.

Local pubs are good, crown especially. Mostly we got takeout booze and enjoyed the tent. My only slight gripe was we would have preferred to choose a different pitch from an empty site. But were told they were all taken. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelsis68 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from 4 glorious days at this campsite. We were, luckily, blessed with beautiful weather too. The owners are lovely, really helpful and friendly. The site is meticulously clean and tidy. The shower block and toilets are perfect, with a small hairdryer in the Ladies (20p that lasts forever!). The campsite was very quiet which was an absolute blessing. No children, no dogs. Just the sounds of nature. Will definitely be returning here, sooner rather than later hopefully. Highly recommend that you stay here if you want peace and tranquillity. Such beautiful surroundings too. Simply marvellous ! 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wayfarers Adults Only Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2254 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements