Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wasdale Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Wasdale > Wasdale Campsite National Trust Reviews

Wasdale Campsite National Trust
Wasdale National Trust Campsite
Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1EX
Tel: 01946 726220  or  01539 432733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 49 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location for views (outside the wooded site) and for walking. Nicely newly-refurbished shower/toilet/dishwashing block. 20-minute walk to the pub, slightly quicker on the road than on the footpath.

Sensible Covid precautions; there were still things for sale in the little shop at reception. No phone or wifi signal (but there is one at the pub). Our motorhome is 6. 3 metres long and 2. 3 wide.

The pitch we were on (we were allowed to choose from the available empty ones) was perfectly roomy enough. The access road is tight but manageable, after all minibuses and service vehicles to the pub manage it.

The notice on the road at 3 miles distance 'no vehicles over 6'6" except for access' had disconcerted us initially.

It is extremely dark here at night, the site clearly aspires to be close to nature. A good torch is needed to get to the loo. In the end we left after 1 night due to increasingly bad weather and forecast, having had to pay for 3 nights in advance to secure our booking. Ah well, back another time, I hope.

Would give it a score of 11 for location, were that possible. Very nice knowledgeable staff. Just a slight mark down for the slightly higher than standard price. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 45 reviews from this member

 We reviewed this site in May 2017 but this time we hired their pre-pitched "Bell Tent". We felt it was also worth another review as the site has developed over the years.

Coronavirus restrictions meant that all bookings had to be made advance and the little on site shop was only taking card payments. There was a large tub of alcohol gel by the washrooms and a request to wear matsks if possible but otherwise the site was an oasis of "new normal" in this strange year.

It remains, at heart, a tent campers site for those exploring the lake and hills of Wasdale. There is more glamping, pods and motorhome pitches than before but if you are expecting playgrounds, wifi or even a decent mobile signal then you will be disappointed. The site is sheltered but can be swampy after heavy rain and prone to midges!

The washrooms have been re-vamped since our last visit. The Ladies is a considerable improvement though whoever signed off the order for the square loos needs a lesson in internal decor. Maybe they were cheap in a sale???

And thinking of prices: this is not a cheap site but is all about location, location, location and trying to raise funds for The National Trust who look after the surrounding fells.

The welcome was friendly and practical.

The Bell Tent was great fun with a lot of space for a couple! Check the "what to bring" list carefully. Torches essential and a low wattage travel/camping kettle will make your stay more pleasant.

There is room inside for camping chairs and small table.

All cooking has to be outside.

We had a good stay only spoilt by one noisy group of campers on the first night. The usual combination of a mixed sex group in one large tent with added booze.

Otherwise, hard to fault but I would wait until a decent weather forecast as days of continuous rain would make for a miserable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Beri 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. Stunning location, good facilities, well managed.

Friendly and professional staff.

Excellent walking all around.

Good pub within walking distance.

Can be reached by public transport but requires a bit of a hike. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend. The greeting on arrival was friendly and given a choice of pitches to park in.

Our van is 6m long and a couple of the pitches would have been too short for us, but as we were early in the day we just picked a long enough pitch. The pitches are also very close together, too close I thought. Between us and our neighbour was a small hedge and only about 1. 5 metres.

Facilities are what you'd expect from a walkers site, not the best but not the worst either. I don't think the wardens do the rounds on the site, as despite being plenty of signs, people on the pitch next to us lit an open fire at the back of their van.

The main reason for staying here is the location and it certainly doesn't disappoint with the ease and availability of walking. And once off the site and out of the trees, the views are great.

I'd use this site again if I wanted a base in Wasdale for walking. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bicko207 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on 9/4/2018 with partner and 2 dogs in a bell tent, with ehu. Excellent all round. Staff helpful. Pub within walking distance, excellent food. Stunning location. Left car in carpark and walked everywhere. Will definitely return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpazoid 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site on two previous occasions - out of season without issue.

However this weekend I was not impressed.

As it turned out I was staying over the last weekend of 'Peak Season'.

14 per night for a 1 man backpacking tent OUCH!. I later found out we could of stayed right next to the Wasdale Head Inn for 5 pn.

Second issue was the group of people next to us being very noisy past midnight and then again at 7 in the morning. There was nobody around from the site to police the situation.

Facilities ok as per usual. Free showers but cubicle design poor with single hook leaving nowhere to put clothing.

Next time when solo camping in Wasdale I'll certainly be seeking out the cheaper options. I'd certainly not bring the family along as the prices just make that option ridiculous.

Wasdale Head itself proved as awesome as ever, with fantastic walks in abundance. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Very camp 6 reviews from this member

 I love the location of this site! That it is in Wasdale is good enough, but the site's actual situation within woods makes it perfect.

It is obviously in a remote-ish area, but still walking distance to the pub/ shops at the head of the valley. And of course, instant access onto the fells.

The on site Toilet / Shower / Washing facilities are very good, as you'd expect. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ultraquasar 5 reviews from this member

 A small site in a remote location at the head of Wasdale water, Englands cleanest lake. When we were there, there was a bit of a drought to the stream/small river that passes besides it was reduced to just bedrock with a small trickle. Grass for tents is like what you'd find in a cows field or someones back garden who don't cut it often. Some undulations which can restrict where you can put a tent, various inclines interspersed with small to medium sized trees.

Facilities were basic, clean with the odd nice touch like Dysons blade hand dryers, the facilities remind me of what you'd find on some scouting sites. Washing up facilities are outside underneath a pitched roof, hot water was ok, not boiling hot like other sites we've visited.

Small shop where you book in, does most things, but it is expensive, a pass is issued to get on and off site, but there's not really a lot in the area, a trip into town would take 30-60mins round trip if you forgot something depending on time of day and how you drive.

There is a nearby pub about half a mile away which does some nice grub, but the site is probably best located for its access to Scarfell Pike. One of the popular paths up this mountain starts right beside the campsite, so if you like you walking and want to tick this off the bucket list, you probably wont find a more convenient base and start location.

Dog friendly, but there's lots of sheep in the area so you wont be able to let your dog off if they like livestock, and during lambing season, the sheep are in the fields that surround the campsite, so you and your dog will hear them throughout the day and night.

Plenty of circular walks can be completed from the site if you don't like driving to a start location.

Bins and recycle facilities are down near the shop, so can be a few minutes walking from the other end of the site. Site has some glamping teepee's with camper's parked up around the edge of the main tent area.

No kids playground on site or nearby if that's what you are looking for. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 45 reviews from this member

 We stayed three nights over a Bank Holiday weekend - 69 in total for 2 adults, 1 car, electric hook up and a tent approx 4x2m.

Busy but not full then very quiet as most people headed home on Monday.

It is essentially a large oval field with parking around the outside but there are plenty of trees providing shelter and lots of little quieter corners if you want more privacy. Fortunately it didn't rain during our stay so I can't comment on drainage. The grass was being mown as we left.

Reception opens a few hours morning and evening selling bread, milk, eggs, bacon, chocolate, ice creams etc. It also has a pay phone. If you arrive after they've shut they will leave an envelope with your car barrier card. Otherwise, park in the small car park outside the compound, pitch up and pay the next morning.

No mobile reception, no wifi, no playground, one pub within walking distance (mains approx 12-15 each with decent portion sizes).

Plenty of hot water and washing up sinks but only 4 showers in the ladies (6 for the men) meant queues at peak times. It it also a very odd arrangement - private showers but a communal changing area. If you take your clothes in with you they will get wet! Everything was kept clean and tidy though some bins near the washing up sinks would be helpful.

The nights were quiet - the 11-7 noise curfew was perfectly observed over our stay. Bring a torch. There is no supplementary lighting.

Amazing walking straight from the site in all directions for all abilities. Don't forget to visit the tiny little church, St Ofal's.

Overall enjoyable but really needs decent weather. I should add that there are tumble driers (1 for 20 mins) but no drying room. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 We were delighted with this site.

14. 50 for two people for one night. We arrived at 12. 30pm. Friendly, helpful service. Barrier entry for the car, but no problem leaving at 7am - exit doesn't require a card. We could pitch where we liked. Very good views, but there are many trees, so when the trees are in leaf you wouldn't appreciate the spectacular hills much. Good shelter from wind and sun. Some tent pitches have electric hookups. No road noise or farm traffic, and no other campers on our Monday in January! 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wasdale Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wasdale Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wasdale Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement