Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wasdale Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Wasdale > Wasdale Campsite National Trust > Reviews

Wasdale Campsite National Trust
Wasdale National Trust Campsite
Wasdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1EX
Tel: 01946 726220  or  01539 432733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: NicciMac 65 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location and very clean facilities. Position is great for walking, climbing, and fun on the lake.

Pub 20 minute walk with mental prices but they have a captive audience so to be expected.

Overall a great stay, with just a couple of points for future bookers to bear in mind. Firstly, it does feel like camper van pitches have been added as a bit of an afterthought.

The van pitches are too small for you to put your awning up - we managed to get a half canopy erected but no hope of getting pegs in to the hardstanding so we used the hedge for guy lines.

Sadly the septic tank (I think? Could be the Elsan point) absolutely honks and thereís an unpleasant smell wafting across the site. Such a simple thing to fix.

A couple of extractor fans in the loo/shower block would stop it turning into a sopping wet steam room at peak times too.

Hope I donít come across as overly critical, just some pointers!

Lovely spot. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nijfitch 7 reviews from this member

 This is a truly excellent site! Camping here cost me more than I usually pay, as I usually go to small farmers fields type sites, but it was worth the extra cost. Facilities alone are truly 5 star! and the staff are friendly and very helpful too.

No cars allowed next to tents so you take your gear in a wheelbarrow to your choice of pitching fields. Pitch where you like, keeping at least 6 metres between tents. This works great and ensures a nice peaceful stay, even when the site is fully booked. There was just a really nice chilled buzz around the whole site, even on a fairly busy weekend.

The location is a walkers heaven and the views are breathtaking. Right at the foot of Scafell Pike and the head of Wast Water, with more walking on your doorstep than you can shake a stick at. My car never moved once from the site car park (included in pitch fee) during my entire 4 night stay, which is exactly how I like it. Even the short walk up to The Wasdale Inn is beautiful, and the food, beer and service up there is excellent.

I loved my stay here. The National Trust have nailed it with this site. Superb place! 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marty1 3 reviews from this member

 Location - beautifully situated in the eskdale valley, dark sky area with many walks and close to wast water.

Amenities are very good, shower block / Pot wash clean with your water fill ups etc available. Great On site shop which sells most things.

One word of warning, if you are travelling in motor home be prepared fr small roads with passing areas ( our motor home was roller 747 ) any bigger and you could have issues.

Only one pub about 30 mins walk from site but very friendly, good food and great ales !

Would highly recommend especially for hiking 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bandy3376 6 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Views are out off this world, surrounded but mountains and a lake, what else can you ask for.

Dark skies, quite and peaceful,

Clean and warm toilets and showers. Drying room (very warm), laundry and washing up facilities we great.

The staff we extremely friendly and helpful. Great site for hiking and right next to Wast water, which is a lovely lake to walk and enjoy.

No phone signal at all made it even more relaxing for us. Short walk to Wasdale head.

Lots of birds on the site which come really close to you. Funny cows and balls in next field, the calves liked to shout, we thought this was very funny.

Will definitely be visiting again next year and will hike Scafell pike 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Imthwa 1 review from this member

 Great campsite in a fantastic location with all the facilities you require to make your stay unforgettable

Warm welcoming staff and we didnít want to leave and canít wait to return Thankyou. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Beri 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite never disappoints.

The location is stunning with many excellent walks directly from the site.

The facilities are good, and the staff friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location for views (outside the wooded site) and for walking. Nicely newly-refurbished shower/toilet/dishwashing block. 20-minute walk to the pub, slightly quicker on the road than on the footpath.

Sensible Covid precautions; there were still things for sale in the little shop at reception. No phone or wifi signal (but there is one at the pub). Our motorhome is 6. 3 metres long and 2. 3 wide.

The pitch we were on (we were allowed to choose from the available empty ones) was perfectly roomy enough. The access road is tight but manageable, after all minibuses and service vehicles to the pub manage it.

The notice on the road at 3 miles distance 'no vehicles over 6'6" except for access' had disconcerted us initially.

It is extremely dark here at night, the site clearly aspires to be close to nature. A good torch is needed to get to the loo. In the end we left after 1 night due to increasingly bad weather and forecast, having had to pay for 3 nights in advance to secure our booking. Ah well, back another time, I hope.

Would give it a score of 11 for location, were that possible. Very nice knowledgeable staff. Just a slight mark down for the slightly higher than standard price. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 We reviewed this site in May 2017 but this time we hired their pre-pitched "Bell Tent". We felt it was also worth another review as the site has developed over the years.

Coronavirus restrictions meant that all bookings had to be made advance and the little on site shop was only taking card payments. There was a large tub of alcohol gel by the washrooms and a request to wear matsks if possible but otherwise the site was an oasis of "new normal" in this strange year.

It remains, at heart, a tent campers site for those exploring the lake and hills of Wasdale. There is more glamping, pods and motorhome pitches than before but if you are expecting playgrounds, wifi or even a decent mobile signal then you will be disappointed. The site is sheltered but can be swampy after heavy rain and prone to midges!

The washrooms have been re-vamped since our last visit. The Ladies is a considerable improvement though whoever signed off the order for the square loos needs a lesson in internal decor. Maybe they were cheap in a sale???

And thinking of prices: this is not a cheap site but is all about location, location, location and trying to raise funds for The National Trust who look after the surrounding fells.

The welcome was friendly and practical.

The Bell Tent was great fun with a lot of space for a couple! Check the "what to bring" list carefully. Torches essential and a low wattage travel/camping kettle will make your stay more pleasant.

There is room inside for camping chairs and small table.

All cooking has to be outside.

We had a good stay only spoilt by one noisy group of campers on the first night. The usual combination of a mixed sex group in one large tent with added booze.

Otherwise, hard to fault but I would wait until a decent weather forecast as days of continuous rain would make for a miserable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Beri 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. Stunning location, good facilities, well managed.

Friendly and professional staff.

Excellent walking all around.

Good pub within walking distance.

Can be reached by public transport but requires a bit of a hike. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend. The greeting on arrival was friendly and given a choice of pitches to park in.

Our van is 6m long and a couple of the pitches would have been too short for us, but as we were early in the day we just picked a long enough pitch. The pitches are also very close together, too close I thought. Between us and our neighbour was a small hedge and only about 1. 5 metres.

Facilities are what you'd expect from a walkers site, not the best but not the worst either. I don't think the wardens do the rounds on the site, as despite being plenty of signs, people on the pitch next to us lit an open fire at the back of their van.

The main reason for staying here is the location and it certainly doesn't disappoint with the ease and availability of walking. And once off the site and out of the trees, the views are great.

I'd use this site again if I wanted a base in Wasdale for walking. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wasdale Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wasdale Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wasdale Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wasdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement