Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wasdale Campsite National Trust

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Wasdale Campsite National Trust
Wasdale Head
Gosforth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1EX
Tel: 01946 726220
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 131 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend. The greeting on arrival was friendly and given a choice of pitches to park in.

Our van is 6m long and a couple of the pitches would have been too short for us, but as we were early in the day we just picked a long enough pitch. The pitches are also very close together, too close I thought. Between us and our neighbour was a small hedge and only about 1. 5 metres.

Facilities are what you'd expect from a walkers site, not the best but not the worst either. I don't think the wardens do the rounds on the site, as despite being plenty of signs, people on the pitch next to us lit an open fire at the back of their van.

The main reason for staying here is the location and it certainly doesn't disappoint with the ease and availability of walking. And once off the site and out of the trees, the views are great.

I'd use this site again if I wanted a base in Wasdale for walking.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bicko207 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site on 9/4/2018 with partner and 2 dogs in a bell tent, with ehu. Excellent all round. Staff helpful. Pub within walking distance, excellent food. Stunning location. Left car in carpark and walked everywhere. Will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpazoid 2 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site on two previous occasions - out of season without issue.

However this weekend I was not impressed.

As it turned out I was staying over the last weekend of 'Peak Season'.

£14 per night for a 1 man backpacking tent OUCH!. I later found out we could of stayed right next to the Wasdale Head Inn for £5 pn.

Second issue was the group of people next to us being very noisy past midnight and then again at 7 in the morning. There was nobody around from the site to police the situation.

Facilities ok as per usual. Free showers but cubicle design poor with single hook leaving nowhere to put clothing.

Next time when solo camping in Wasdale I'll certainly be seeking out the cheaper options. I'd certainly not bring the family along as the prices just make that option ridiculous.

Wasdale Head itself proved as awesome as ever, with fantastic walks in abundance.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Very camp 6 reviews from this member

I love the location of this site! That it is in Wasdale is good enough, but the site's actual situation within woods makes it perfect.

It is obviously in a remote-ish area, but still walking distance to the pub/ shops at the head of the valley. And of course, instant access onto the fells.

The on site Toilet / Shower / Washing facilities are very good, as you'd expect.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ultraquasar 5 reviews from this member

A small site in a remote location at the head of Wasdale water, Englands cleanest lake. When we were there, there was a bit of a drought to the stream/small river that passes besides it was reduced to just bedrock with a small trickle. Grass for tents is like what you'd find in a cows field or someones back garden who don't cut it often. Some undulations which can restrict where you can put a tent, various inclines interspersed with small to medium sized trees.

Facilities were basic, clean with the odd nice touch like Dysons blade hand dryers, the facilities remind me of what you'd find on some scouting sites. Washing up facilities are outside underneath a pitched roof, hot water was ok, not boiling hot like other sites we've visited.

Small shop where you book in, does most things, but it is expensive, a pass is issued to get on and off site, but there's not really a lot in the area, a trip into town would take 30-60mins round trip if you forgot something depending on time of day and how you drive.

There is a nearby pub about half a mile away which does some nice grub, but the site is probably best located for its access to Scarfell Pike. One of the popular paths up this mountain starts right beside the campsite, so if you like you walking and want to tick this off the bucket list, you probably wont find a more convenient base and start location.

Dog friendly, but there's lots of sheep in the area so you wont be able to let your dog off if they like livestock, and during lambing season, the sheep are in the fields that surround the campsite, so you and your dog will hear them throughout the day and night.

Plenty of circular walks can be completed from the site if you don't like driving to a start location.

Bins and recycle facilities are down near the shop, so can be a few minutes walking from the other end of the site. Site has some glamping teepee's with camper's parked up around the edge of the main tent area.

No kids playground on site or nearby if that's what you are looking for.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 40 reviews from this member

We stayed three nights over a Bank Holiday weekend - £69 in total for 2 adults, 1 car, electric hook up and a tent approx 4x2m.

Busy but not full then very quiet as most people headed home on Monday.

It is essentially a large oval field with parking around the outside but there are plenty of trees providing shelter and lots of little quieter corners if you want more privacy. Fortunately it didn't rain during our stay so I can't comment on drainage. The grass was being mown as we left.

Reception opens a few hours morning and evening selling bread, milk, eggs, bacon, chocolate, ice creams etc. It also has a pay phone. If you arrive after they've shut they will leave an envelope with your car barrier card. Otherwise, park in the small car park outside the compound, pitch up and pay the next morning.

No mobile reception, no wifi, no playground, one pub within walking distance (mains approx £12-£15 each with decent portion sizes).

Plenty of hot water and washing up sinks but only 4 showers in the ladies (6 for the men) meant queues at peak times. It it also a very odd arrangement - private showers but a communal changing area. If you take your clothes in with you they will get wet! Everything was kept clean and tidy though some bins near the washing up sinks would be helpful.

The nights were quiet - the 11-7 noise curfew was perfectly observed over our stay. Bring a torch. There is no supplementary lighting.

Amazing walking straight from the site in all directions for all abilities. Don't forget to visit the tiny little church, St Ofal's.

Overall enjoyable but really needs decent weather. I should add that there are tumble driers (£1 for 20 mins) but no drying room.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

We were delighted with this site.

£14. 50 for two people for one night. We arrived at 12. 30pm. Friendly, helpful service. Barrier entry for the car, but no problem leaving at 7am - exit doesn't require a card. We could pitch where we liked. Very good views, but there are many trees, so when the trees are in leaf you wouldn't appreciate the spectacular hills much. Good shelter from wind and sun. Some tent pitches have electric hookups. No road noise or farm traffic, and no other campers on our Monday in January!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campintent 13 reviews from this member

A lovely site in a lovely remote setting, but with a few issues that spoilt my enjoyment. At £122. 50 for two people and two cars for just four nights, I thought this was more than a little steep, but I believe that other National Trust campsites are equally expensive. For that money, you get a spotlessly clean wash block and a well-stocked shop, but with limited opening hours in the morning and afternoon and the staff behave more like employees (which of course they are) rather than owners. They serve you politely, but with no warmth or friendliness. However, the detailed mountain weather forecast pinned to the noticeboard every morning was very useful indeed.

The site is in a perfect location for the classic walk up Scafell Pike or the other fells in the area, but it is surrounded by trees and so the views from the site itself are somewhat restricted. However, these trees help to shelter you from the prevailing winds and are probably worth the inconvenience. Speaking of inconveniences, the site will not allow you to take your car on-site and everything has to be carried from the car park to the pitch, which can be a bit of a fag but does make for a very peaceful site. Or it would be peaceful if the ventilation fan from the shower block was switched off at night. As it was, we were pitched downwind of the fan and had to use earplugs to get a decent night’s sleep.

Being a National Trust campsite, there are loads of rules to follow which are all intended for your convenience, but become a little wearing after a day or two. There were so many signs around telling us to pitch at least 6 metres apart that it was beginning to drive me mad. And although the wash block is immaculate, the NT have decided that the way to construct showers is to have large cubicles with no shower curtain, no shelf, no stool and just one hook inside the door. So you have to strip off in the corridor along with everyone else, leave your clothes outside where money could be pinched and you have to hope that there is a chair available (only two for about 10 cubicles) that you can grab to sit on to take socks on and off etc. Having said that, the showers were nice and warm.

Although I have lots of minor grumbles about this site, I gather that the other site near the pub, although pleasant, has limited facilities, so you pays your money and takes your choice.

The walking in the area is excellent and there are good pubs in both Wasdale Head and Nether Wasdale where you can enjoy good real ale and plenty of good food to fill you up.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

This is mainly for campers but its good the NT allow campervans. There are 11 motorhome pitches with electricity on hardstanding mostly in the trees limiting the views, but if you don't need electrics there is plenty of parking elsewhere on site with the views. Staff very helpful, toilet block always clean. Walks in every direction, plenty bridleways for cycling. Plenty of buzz at weekends, loved it there.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

If you are expecting the facilities of a Caravan Club site, then this site probably isn't for you. But if you want to enjoy the evening sunshine on the Scafell crags, and be able to gaze on the night sky without any light pollution, then this site is perfect. It is right in the heart of some wonderful mountains, and so of course it is quite remote.

The washing up / toilet block is clean and fine. To empty grey water you have to carry it across the tent field to the emptying point.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3176 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!